DriversRecommendedOutdated drivers can make a good PC feel brokenScan driver issues before chasing fixes manually.Scan NowEarly Black FridayAmazon USEarly Black Friday picks are worth checking nowAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.Check DealsClean PCRecommendedOne scan can reveal what keeps slowing WindowsLook for cleanup and repair opportunities.Run Scan×
FREEDOM251

Freedom251 › Blog

Xbox Series X or Series S for Shockwave Triggers? What Graphics and FPS Are Confirmed

By Freedom251 Team · · 11 min read

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Some links on this page are affiliate links: if you buy through them we may earn a commission, at no extra cost to you.

Both Xbox Series X and Xbox Series S support Shockwave Triggers, but no reliable evidence proves that either console delivers higher resolution or a steadier frame rate in this specific game. The Xbox store lists the title as Optimized for Series X|S with 4K Ultra HD and 60 fps+ capabilities. Those are official capability badges, not a side-by-side measurement: the listing does not state each console’s render resolution, sustained frame rate, frame times, visual preset, or loading performance. Series X has more graphics hardware and is designed around true-4K gaming, while Series S targets 1440p and can upscale to 4K. Those are console-level specifications, not proof of Shockwave Triggers output. The practical choice therefore depends more on your display, disc requirements, storage and budget than on a confirmed game-specific performance advantage.

At a glance

Name Best for Key spec Platforms Checked
Xbox Series X Players who want the greater hardware headroom and may use discs Microsoft positions it for true-4K gaming; console supports up to 120 fps in suitable games. Shockwave Triggers is tagged 4K Ultra HD and 60 fps+, but its output is not published. Xbox Series X Nov 2026
Xbox Series S Players buying digitally who use a 1440p-class display or want the smaller, lower-cost console Microsoft positions it for 1440p gaming with 4K upscaling; console supports up to 120 fps in suitable games. The game has the same 4K Ultra HD and 60 fps+ badges, without an X/S breakdown. Xbox Series S Nov 2026

What is confirmed about Shockwave Triggers on Xbox?

Shockwave Triggers launched for Xbox Series X|S on October 14, 2026. The official Xbox product page lists both consoles together and marks the game as Optimized for Series X|S, 4K Ultra HD and 60 fps+. It also lists Smart Delivery and Xbox Play Anywhere.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Smart Delivery means one Xbox purchase supplies the appropriate available Xbox version for the console on which it is played. Play Anywhere links an Xbox-console entitlement with a Windows entitlement and synchronizes supported ownership and progress. Microsoft’s publishing documentation explains the capability labels, but neither feature supplies a frame-rate or resolution measurement for this game.

The publisher describes a vertical-scrolling, post-apocalyptic shoot-’em-up with two pilots, Amira and Turbo B, six stages, several difficulty levels, Boss Rush and local two-player co-op. Players collect crystals to trigger shockwaves that cancel incoming projectiles. Those systems make timing and visibility important, but they do not establish that one Xbox renders the game faster or more sharply than the other.

Popular on Amazon
Elebase USB to USB C Adapter for iPhone 18 Pro Max,USBC Car Charger Adapter | 4Pack Type C Female to A Male Cable Converter for Apple Duo 17 16 15 14 Plus,iWatch Watch 12 11 10,iPad 9 8 Air,Airpods 5 4
  • Read Before You Buy — No Video Output: These adapters support charging and USB 2.0 data transfer, but cannot transmit video signals. Except for standard USB webcams (which use USB data only), they are not compatible with HDMI/DisplayPort cables, video-capable USB-C hubs, or docking stations with video output.
  • Convert USB-A Ports to USB-C: Designed to connect USB-C earphones, cables, flash drives, card readers, and other USB-C accessories to standard USB-A ports. Plug-and-play with no drivers or software required.
  • Aluminum Alloy Housing: Built with a sturdy aluminum alloy shell that aids in heat dissipation and protects against daily wear and scratches. Designed to maintain a stable and secure connection.
  • Compact & Travel-Friendly: The ultra-compact design allows the adapter to stay plugged into your device without blocking adjacent ports or adding bulk, reducing wear and tear on your original USB ports.
  • 12-Month Warranty: Backed by a 12-month manufacturer warranty for peace of mind. Designed to meet strict quality control standards for reliable everyday performance.

Does Shockwave Triggers look better on Series X than Series S?

It may have more hardware headroom on Series X, but a visible or measurable advantage in Shockwave Triggers has not been verified. The public Xbox listing does not disclose dynamic-resolution ranges, internal render resolutions, texture settings, anti-aliasing options, shadow quality, ray tracing, or a console-specific visual mode.

Microsoft describes Series X as a console aimed at true-4K gaming and Series S as a 1440p gaming console that can upscale output to a 4K television. These descriptions explain the platforms’ design goals. They do not mean that every Series X game runs natively at 4K, or that every Series S game renders at a particular fixed resolution.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

The game’s 4K Ultra HD badge should be quoted exactly. Microsoft says this capability tag indicates native-4K gameplay for a reasonable amount of a game, but the store page does not say whether that applies equally to both Xbox models, whether it is limited to certain scenes or modes, or whether dynamic scaling is used. It is therefore inaccurate to state that Shockwave Triggers is confirmed native 4K on Series X and confirmed lower-resolution on Series S.

For this title, the most concrete visual information comes from the publisher: HD 2D sprites, anime-style cutscenes and selectable tate and yoko orientations. A shooter built around sprites and projectiles can look crisp on either system without exposing the same differences seen in a demanding 3D game. Display size, viewing distance and the quality of a television’s scaling can affect what a player notices more than an unreported internal resolution.

Is Shockwave Triggers 60 fps on Series S?

The Xbox listing advertises 60 fps+, but it does not publish a sustained Series S frame-rate result. The badge confirms that the title has a 60-fps-or-higher capability classification; it is not a promise that every scene maintains a measured 60 frames per second on every console.

No official frame-time chart, busy-scene capture, co-op measurement or version-specific benchmark has been published for Series S. The same absence applies to Series X. Dense projectile patterns, Boss Rush encounters and two-player local co-op are precisely the situations in which a fixed target and frame pacing would matter, yet the available materials do not report performance in those conditions.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Also popular on Amazon
Sale
Anker USB-C Hub, 5-in-1 USB Hub for Laptops, 4K HDMI Multiport Adapter | USB C Dongle with 90W Max Power Delivery, 3×5Gbps USB A Data Ports, for MacBook, Dell, and More (Charger Not Included)
  • 5-in-1 USB-C Hub: Experience comprehensive connectivity featuring a Power Delivery input, two USB-A 2.0 ports, a USB-A 3.0 port, and an HDMI port. (Note: The USB-C power delivery input port is only for connecting an external wall charger to power your laptop and cannot power peripheral devices.)
  • 90W Pass-Through Charging: Achieve optimal charging with 90W pass-through power to your laptop, supported by a total input of 100W, with the hub reserving 10W for operational efficiency. (Note: Wall charger not included.)
  • Quick Data Transfers: Accelerate your productivity with rapid data transfers using a high-speed 5Gbps USB 3.0 port and two 480Mbps USB 2.0 ports.
  • 4K HDMI Display: Enhance your visual experience with a hub capable of delivering 4K resolution at 30Hz in both mirror and extend modes. Please note that this hub is compatible with MacBook (macOS 12 and newer), Windows 10 and 11, ChromeOS, and laptops equipped with DP Alt Mode and Power Delivery. Note: This device is not compatible with Linux.
  • What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (5-in-1, 4K HDMI), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.

Series X and Series S hardware can support up to 120 fps in games that implement an appropriate mode. That general console ceiling must not be turned into a claim that Shockwave Triggers runs at 120 fps. The Xbox page identifies 60 fps+, not a game-specific 120-fps option.

Is there a 120 fps mode?

No verified 120-fps mode is listed for Shockwave Triggers. The store page’s 60 fps+ capability label is the highest game-specific information currently available. Microsoft’s technical-capability guidance treats 60+ and 120-fps capabilities as separate labels, so the absence of a 120-fps label matters.

A compatible 120-Hz television or monitor cannot create a 120-fps mode that the game does not provide. The display can accept a 120-Hz signal from the console, but the title still has to render and present frames at that rate. Until a patch note or an updated product listing names a 120-fps mode, it is safest to treat 120 fps as unconfirmed on both consoles.

What graphics and performance differences should players expect?

There are two different questions: what the consoles are capable of in general, and what this game actually does. Series X has a stronger GPU and a design target centered on higher-resolution output. Series S has less graphics hardware and a 1440p-oriented target. Those differences can give developers more room for resolution or effects on Series X, but the developer may choose identical settings, a dynamic-resolution scheme, or a simple presentation that does not expose much variation.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Shockwave Triggers’ 2D sprite presentation reduces the usefulness of assumptions based on large open-world 3D games. A game can use a 4K-capable badge while still allocating performance to effects, animation layers, menus or cutscenes in ways the store page does not describe. Without a controlled, version-matched comparison, claims such as “Series X is sharper,” “Series S drops frames in co-op” or “Series X has shorter loads” remain unsubstantiated.

Loading times are also undocumented. Neither the Xbox listing nor the publisher materials provide a Series X-versus-Series S load measurement. Solid-state storage exists in both consoles, but storage architecture alone does not justify a numerical claim for this game.

Also popular on Amazon
Anker USB C Hub, 7in1 Multi-Port USB Adapter, 4K@60Hz USBC to HDMI Splitter | 85W Max PD, 2 USB 3.0 & 1 USBC Data Ports, SD/TF Card Reader, for Laptops/Mac and Other Type C Devices (Charger Not Included)
  • Sleek 7-in-1 USB-C Hub: Features an HDMI port, two USB-A 3.0 ports, and a USB-C data port, each providing 5Gbps transfer speeds. It also includes a USB-C PD input port for charging up to 100W and dual SD and TF card slots, all in a compact design.
  • Flawless 4K@60Hz Video with HDMI: Delivers exceptional clarity and smoothness with its 4K@60Hz HDMI port, making it ideal for high-definition presentations and entertainment. (Note: Only the HDMI port supports video projection; the USB-C port is for data transfer only.)
  • Double Up on Efficiency: The two USB-A 3.0 ports and a USB-C port support a fast 5Gbps data rate, significantly boosting your transfer speeds and improving productivity.
  • Fast and Reliable 85W Charging: Offers high-capacity, speedy charging for laptops up to 85W, so you spend less time tethered to an outlet and more time being productive.
  • What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (7-in-1), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.

How does the game use its performance budget?

The design emphasizes readable projectile patterns, rapid scrolling and short-form arcade repetition. The publisher identifies six stages and collectible crystals that activate shockwaves and cancel enemy projectiles. Multiple difficulties and Boss Rush provide reasons to replay stages, while local co-op adds a second player to the same screen.

Those features suggest that consistent timing and clear bullets are more relevant to playability than ultra-high texture detail. That is an editorial interpretation of the published design, not a hands-on performance observation. There is no published evidence that either console compromises projectile readability or input timing in a particular mode.

What’s actually slowing this PC down?

Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

The two orientation options, tate and yoko, are presentation choices rather than console-specific graphics settings. Tate is commonly associated with a vertically oriented playfield, while yoko uses a horizontal layout, but the practical result depends on the display, its mounting and the game’s implementation. Do not assume that every television setup can be physically rotated safely or that every monitor offers the same aspect-ratio controls.

Which Xbox should you buy for Shockwave Triggers?

Choose Series X for broader hardware headroom or disc support; choose Series S if you buy digitally and have no need for discs. Do not pay for Series X solely on the assumption that this game is proven to run at a higher resolution or frame rate there.

Series X makes more sense when:

  • Your library includes physical Xbox games or you want a console with a disc-drive configuration.
  • You have a large 4K display and prefer the platform Microsoft positions for true-4K gaming, while accepting that Shockwave Triggers’ exact resolution is unpublished.
  • You want the stronger general hardware platform for other games, not a guaranteed Shockwave Triggers benchmark advantage.
  • You are considering an all-digital Series X model but still want Series X-class hardware; check the exact model’s storage and drive specifications before purchase.

Series S makes more sense when:

  • You will purchase Shockwave Triggers digitally and do not own Xbox discs.
  • You play on a 1080p or 1440p display, or are comfortable with the console’s 1440p-oriented design and 4K upscaling.
  • You want access to the same Xbox listing, Smart Delivery entitlement and Play Anywhere support without paying for Series X hardware.
  • You understand that the 4K Ultra HD and 60 fps+ badges do not reveal a fixed Series S resolution or sustained frame rate.

Both consoles can run the title’s documented features: the six-stage campaign, two pilots, difficulty options, Boss Rush and local co-op. The choice is therefore a hardware, display and media-format decision rather than a confirmed game-performance ranking.

Can you buy a physical Xbox copy?

The publisher announced an Xbox release digitally and announced standard and deluxe physical editions for PS5. The available announcement does not establish a physical Xbox edition. A PS5 disc is not an Xbox copy and cannot be inserted into either Xbox console.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Also popular on Amazon
Sale
UGREEN USB to USB C Adapter Combo 4-Pack, 10Gbps USB C Converter Space Gray | Data transfer & Fast charging for MacBook, iPhone 17/16/15, iPad, Samsung Galaxy, Apple Watch
  • Dual Converters, Infinite Potential:Includes 2× USB C male to USB A female adapters and 2× USB A male to USB C female adapters. Perfect for a wide range of uses—tablets with Bluetooth keyboards, expand USB ports on macbook, and more. Two different converters for all your daily needs
  • Next-Level 10Gbps & 3A Charging: No more slow 480Mbps, this usb to usb c adapter has a transfer speed of up to 10Gbps, allowing you to do more transferring in less time. This usb adapter fits both USB A and USB C charger, supporting up to 3A fast charging
  • Upgraded Exquisite Craftsmanship: With an aluminum alloy housing and metal connector, the usbc to usb adapter is extremely durable and sturdy. Rigorously tested to withstand more than 10,000 times of plugging and unplugging, ensuring long-lasting performance
  • Widely Compatible: Transform any USB-C port into a USB-A port and USB-A port into a USB-C port, and connect up a wide range of USB-C(including MacBook, iPad Pro/Air/Mini, iPhone models with USB C ports, Samsung Galaxy series, and Google Pixel series. ) and USB A devices(including external hard drives, phones, mice, printers, and more)
  • Please Note: To reach 10Gbps speed, keep the cable under 3.3 ft. For USB A Male to USB C adapters, try flipping the USB C connector. USB C Male to USB A adapters support bidirectional 10Gbps transfer within 3.3 ft

Series S has no disc drive, so it cannot use any physical game disc. Series X configurations include disc-drive and all-digital models; only a disc-drive model can read Xbox discs. Because edition availability and retailer stock can change, verify the current Xbox store entry and the exact console model before buying. The publisher’s release announcement is evidence of what was announced, not proof that future physical shipments occurred.

How does Smart Delivery affect the purchase?

Smart Delivery is useful if the same account may move between Series X and Series S. Microsoft’s system supplies the appropriate Xbox version from one purchase rather than requiring separate console licenses, provided the game is enrolled in Smart Delivery as the store page indicates.

Play Anywhere is relevant to players who also use a compatible Windows PC. Microsoft describes it as a unified entitlement and progress system for participating titles. The store listing identifies Shockwave Triggers with that capability, but individual save behavior can still depend on being signed into the same Microsoft account and meeting the service’s requirements.

What is included in local co-op?

The publisher and Xbox listing document local two-player co-op. That means two people can play on the same console and display; the materials do not establish online co-op. A second compatible Xbox Wireless Controller is the practical accessory to budget for, because two-player local play requires two input devices.

Free tools Windows power users keep installed

One-click scans. No signup required.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Co-op is a sensible reason to prioritize a comfortable display and stable setup over theoretical resolution differences. However, there is no published co-op benchmark showing that Series S loses frames or that Series X maintains a higher mode. Treat the mode as supported on both consoles, with performance details still unreported.

Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

What should you check before starting?

  1. Confirm the edition and platform. Open the Xbox product page and verify that the purchase is the Xbox version. Do not confuse a PS5 physical listing with an Xbox entitlement.
  2. Check your console model. Series S is digital-only. Series X may have a disc drive or be all-digital depending on the configuration.
  3. Update the console and game. Patches can change presentation or capability labels. The store page is the authoritative place to check the current listing.
  4. Set the display mode you can use. Choose the orientation that fits your television or monitor. Rotating a display is optional and depends on safe mounting and the display’s controls.
  5. Connect a second controller for local co-op. Pair and sign in the second controller before launching a two-player session.
  6. Use the right expectation for 4K and 60 fps. The badges indicate capabilities, not a console-by-console benchmark. Avoid changing hardware solely to chase an unverified number.

What evidence is still missing?

A definitive comparison would need the same game build on both consoles, a documented patch version, capture of internal resolution, frame-time data and tests in ordinary stages, heavy projectile sequences, Boss Rush and local co-op. None of those measurements appears in the official materials available for this article.

Also popular on Amazon
Anker USB C Hub, 5-in-1 USBC to HDMI Splitter with 4K Display | 85W Max PD, 1 Powered USB-C 5Gbps & 2 Powered USB-A 3.0 5Gbps Data Ports, for MacBook Pro, MacBook Air, Dell and More (Black)
  • 5-in-1 Connectivity: Equipped with a 4K HDMI port, a 5 Gbps USB-C data port, two 5 Gbps USB-A ports, and a USB C 100W PD-IN port. Note: The USB C 100W PD-IN port supports only charging and does not support data transfer devices such as headphones or speakers.
  • Powerful Pass-Through Charging: Supports up to 85W pass-through charging so you can power up your laptop while you use the hub. Note: Pass-through charging requires a charger (not included). Note: To achieve full power for iPad, we recommend using a 45W wall charger.
  • Transfer Files in Seconds: Move files to and from your laptop at speeds of up to 5 Gbps via the USB-C and USB-A data ports. Note: The USB C 5Gbps Data port does not support video output.
  • HD Display: Connect to the HDMI port to stream or mirror content to an external monitor in resolutions of up to 4K@30Hz. Note: The USB-C ports do not support video output.
  • What You Get: Anker 332 USB-C Hub (5-in-1), welcome guide, our worry-free 18-month warranty, and friendly customer service.

Future patch notes or a developer technical statement could clarify dynamic-resolution ranges, a 120-fps mode, graphics presets or loading behavior. Until such evidence is published, a responsible comparison can report the badges and console specifications but cannot name a game-specific winner.

The Xbox listing, console capability descriptions and publisher pages should be rechecked after November 6, 2026. Store metadata, patches and edition availability can change after launch, and a later update could add information that was not present at release.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

How we compared the two consoles

The comparison uses only verifiable, title-specific information: Xbox’s platform listing and capability badges, Microsoft’s definitions of technical labels and console targets, and the publisher’s description of the game’s modes, presentation and release formats. It separates those facts from general Series X and Series S hardware positioning.

No console was awarded a performance win without a published measurement. Resolution, frame rate, frame pacing, loading and visual settings were treated as unknown where the sources do not provide a result. Buying advice is based on confirmed media formats, Smart Delivery, Play Anywhere, display targets and local co-op requirements rather than an invented benchmark.

Frequently Asked Questions

Does buying Shockwave Triggers on Xbox let me play it on a Windows PC?

The Xbox listing identifies Xbox Play Anywhere, which is intended to unify participating Xbox-console and Windows entitlements and progress. Use the same Microsoft account and confirm that the Windows version appears in your library; Play Anywhere support does not imply identical graphics settings across console and PC.

Can I use the PS5 physical edition on an Xbox Series X?

No. A PS5 disc is not an Xbox license and cannot be read by an Xbox console. The publisher announced PS5 physical editions, while an Xbox physical edition is not established in the available materials.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Does local co-op mean Shockwave Triggers supports online multiplayer?

The documented feature is local two-player co-op on one console and display. The available Xbox and publisher descriptions do not confirm an online co-op mode, so do not purchase the game expecting network multiplayer without a later, explicit update.

Will a 120 Hz television make the game run at 120 fps?

No. A 120 Hz display can show a 120-fps signal, but the game must provide that mode. Shockwave Triggers is currently listed with a 60 fps+ capability, not a verified 120-fps mode.

Where should I look for a later Series X-versus-Series S performance answer?

Check the Xbox product page and dated patch notes after updates, looking for explicit resolution, frame-rate or performance-mode details. A useful comparison should identify the game build and report frame times in demanding scenes rather than relying on the consoles’ general hardware targets.

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Recommended PC Tool
Recommended PC Tool
Crashes, No Sound, or Screen Glitches?Free driver scan
Windows Errors? Fix Them Before They SpreadFree repair scan

Two free Windows tools

One Free Minute Could Fix That PC

Before you go - each of these free tools takes about a minute and tackles what quietly slows a Windows PC down.

Special offer. View Outbyte info, uninstall instructions, EULA, and Privacy Policy.