Some links on this page are affiliate links: if you buy through them we may earn a commission, at no extra cost to you.
HARD BULLET is the closest replacement if you want violent, physics-driven gunplay; BONELAB is the deeper mod-heavy sandbox; Blade and Sorcery is the stronger melee playground; and Beyond Sandbox is the practical choice when multiplayer matters now. None is a full micro-voxel bank-heist clone. Voxel Playground remains unusual because its Bank Heist combines destructible voxel structures with disguises, keycards, guards, drones, a dog, explosives and a getaway van. It launched in Quest Early Access on 24 December 2025 and reached Steam (VR and flatscreen) on 27 October 2026 for $6.99 in the US, with a free demo. The alternatives below trade that specific combination for better gun systems, melee physics, mods, multiplayer, survival or large-scale destruction.
At a glance
| Name | Best for | Key spec | Free plan / price | Platforms | Checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| HARD BULLET | Gun-fu and destructive combat | 100+ firearms, welding, slow motion, RIDE progression | $19.99 on Meta and Steam | Quest, PC VR | Oct 2026 |
| BONELAB | Mods and advanced body physics | Avatar swapping, ragdolls, ranged and melee weapons | Price not stated | Quest, PC VR | Oct 2026 |
| Blade and Sorcery | Physics melee and magic | 78 Crystal Hunt skills; 76 weapons; 90 armor pieces | Price not stated | Windows PC VR | Oct 2026 |
| Beyond Sandbox | Multiplayer sandbox now | UE5 platform with PvP, zombies and mod SDK | $24.99 Quest Early Access | Quest and other platforms | Oct 2026 |
| The Walking Dead: Saints & Sinners 1 and 2 | Loot, crafting and survival | Single-player RPG; physics melee; human factions | Price not stated | Quest, PSVR 2, Steam | Oct 2026 |
| Newton’s Playground: Physics Sandbox | Lower-stakes physics experiments | 15+ maps, vehicles, weapons and building | $12.99 Quest | Quest | Oct 2026 |
| Kaiju Battle Simulator | City-scale destruction | Monster destruction and building-scale chaos | Price not stated | Quest | Oct 2026 |
| Teardown | Best voxel heist if flatscreen is acceptable | Destructible voxel world; solo or up to 12-player multiplayer | $29.99 on Steam | Windows PC (flatscreen) | Oct 2026 |
Prices and ratings in this table are US figures captured in October 2026. “Price not stated” means no current official storefront figure was available in the supplied information.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
What does Voxel Playground actually do, and what are you giving up?
Voxel Playground builds every in-game object from tiny, destroyable voxels. That is a different destruction model from the rigid-body debris, breakable props and ragdolls used by most VR sandboxes. Cydream describes it as “Micro-voxel mayhem you can touch in VR,” and says the world can collapse or explode while you build, drive, fight or experiment. The official site is voxelplayground.com.
The Bank Heist map, added in update 0.7.0 on 16 October 2026, is the feature that makes the “instead of” question specific. You can steal a security uniform, use keycards to reach restricted areas, choose a pickaxe or C4, deal with cameras and investigating guards, and escape in a van with the loot. Witnesses can report violence; an alarm sends civilians running. The objective is completed only when you reach the getaway van.
Popular on Amazon
- Read Before You Buy — No Video Output: These adapters support charging and USB 2.0 data transfer, but cannot transmit video signals. Except for standard USB webcams (which use USB data only), they are not compatible with HDMI/DisplayPort cables, video-capable USB-C hubs, or docking stations with video output.
- Convert USB-A Ports to USB-C: Designed to connect USB-C earphones, cables, flash drives, card readers, and other USB-C accessories to standard USB-A ports. Plug-and-play with no drivers or software required.
- Aluminum Alloy Housing: Built with a sturdy aluminum alloy shell that aids in heat dissipation and protects against daily wear and scratches. Designed to maintain a stable and secure connection.
- Compact & Travel-Friendly: The ultra-compact design allows the adapter to stay plugged into your device without blocking adjacent ports or adding bulk, reducing wear and tear on your original USB ports.
- 12-Month Warranty: Backed by a 12-month manufacturer warranty for peace of mind. Designed to meet strict quality control standards for reliable everyday performance.
That map sits alongside Prison, Night Club, Construction Site and Bloodmoon locations, seven sandbox maps, survival with base-building and zombie waves, community mod support, and a free-form object-spawning mode. Physical reloads include a pistol slide, sniper bolt and revolver cylinder. A blood-effects toggle and cartoon-violence content label provide a limited way to tune mature content.
Quest coverage recorded 4.8 out of 5 from nearly 5,000 ratings (UploadVR, 2026); another capture listed 5,070 Quest ratings at 4.8/5 (AltLab, 2026). At Steam launch there were only six user reviews, so Steam had no meaningful score yet. Cydream says Early Access should last approximately 12–24 months, with more scenarios, building tools, progression, mods, performance work and bug fixes still planned. Multiplayer is targeted for a Christmas 2026 update, not included in the launch build.
Is HARD BULLET the best Voxel Playground alternative for gunplay?
Yes, if your priority is firearms, improvisation and destructive combat rather than a vault objective. HARD BULLET runs on Quest and PC VR and costs $19.99 on both Meta and Steam, roughly three times Voxel Playground’s $6.99 Steam Early Access price.
What you can do
Its RIDE mode sends you through endless enemies with progression; Sandbox lets you set rules, spawn enemies, customize them and weld objects together; Arena provides contained fights. The arsenal exceeds 100 pistols, submachine guns, shotguns and rifles, with melee weapons, dual-wielding, slow motion, disarming and one-handed reloads. Bullets interact differently with materials, so barricades and chained propane-tank explosions are part of the sandbox rather than scripted set pieces.
The welding tool is the defining creative system: combine objects into improvised weapons, machines or monsters. That makes HARD BULLET a better recommendation for firearm experimentation than for stealth. It has no Voxel Playground-style micro-voxel walls, bank route, disguise system or getaway condition.
Current maturity and content
AltLab recorded 4.2/5 from 4,069 Quest ratings in 2026. The Tomb Secrets update, released on Steam on 23 October 2026 and logged by AltLab on 24 October, added a Halloween tomb course, per-finger physics, physical revolver ejectors, three Japanese-inspired firearms and a refreshed RIDE sequence. The Quest listing is rated Mature 17+ for intense violence, blood and gore, and language.
Recommended Free Tools
Also popular on Amazon
- 5-in-1 USB-C Hub: Experience comprehensive connectivity featuring a Power Delivery input, two USB-A 2.0 ports, a USB-A 3.0 port, and an HDMI port. (Note: The USB-C power delivery input port is only for connecting an external wall charger to power your laptop and cannot power peripheral devices.)
- 90W Pass-Through Charging: Achieve optimal charging with 90W pass-through power to your laptop, supported by a total input of 100W, with the hub reserving 10W for operational efficiency. (Note: Wall charger not included.)
- Quick Data Transfers: Accelerate your productivity with rapid data transfers using a high-speed 5Gbps USB 3.0 port and two 480Mbps USB 2.0 ports.
- 4K HDMI Display: Enhance your visual experience with a hub capable of delivering 4K resolution at 30Hz in both mirror and extend modes. Please note that this hub is compatible with MacBook (macOS 12 and newer), Windows 10 and 11, ChromeOS, and laptops equipped with DP Alt Mode and Power Delivery. Note: This device is not compatible with Linux.
- What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (5-in-1, 4K HDMI), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
Is BONELAB better when mods and body physics matter?
BONELAB is the broadest physics-and-mods substitute, not a heist substitute. It is available on Quest and PC VR and combines a campaign, sandbox scenes, weapons, ragdolls, avatar importing and a large community-made content ecosystem.
Its physics model focuses on bodies, collisions and object handling rather than voxel-by-voxel destruction. Avatar swapping changes how your character moves and what physical capabilities they have. Ranged, melee and exotic weapons support combat experiments, while the sandbox removes most of the campaign’s restrictions. Stress Level Zero’s store description calls the system “Physics to the core” and says the original Boneworks physics were improved and polished.
Choose BONELAB if you want to install maps, avatars and contraptions for years after the base campaign. Choose Voxel Playground if the fantasy is cutting a hole through a wall, collapsing a structure or robbing a bank through multiple physical routes. A current official storefront price was not captured, so check the Quest or Steam listing before buying.
Is Blade and Sorcery the right replacement for melee destruction?
Blade and Sorcery is the strongest choice for physically swinging weapons, exploiting hit locations and mixing melee with magic. The captured listing presents the game as a Windows PC VR title; a current Quest Nomad SKU and price were not verified here.
Do these 3 things before closing this tab:
1Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minute2Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problems3Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesWhy its combat feels different
WarpFrog describes it as a medieval fantasy built around physics-driven melee, ranged and magic combat. Blades use detailed hitboxes, can penetrate or deflect magic, and react to object weight. Enemies have full-body creature physics, so positioning, momentum and contact points matter more than simply selecting an attack animation.
Crystal Hunt includes 78 skills. Sandbox provides 76 weapons, 90 armor pieces and unrestricted skills, while the mod community adds lightsabers, maps and enemy types. That is a deep combat laboratory, but it does not reproduce Voxel Playground’s voxel debris, modern bank setting, disguise route or security alarm loop.
Also popular on Amazon
- Sleek 7-in-1 USB-C Hub: Features an HDMI port, two USB-A 3.0 ports, and a USB-C data port, each providing 5Gbps transfer speeds. It also includes a USB-C PD input port for charging up to 100W and dual SD and TF card slots, all in a compact design.
- Flawless 4K@60Hz Video with HDMI: Delivers exceptional clarity and smoothness with its 4K@60Hz HDMI port, making it ideal for high-definition presentations and entertainment. (Note: Only the HDMI port supports video projection; the USB-C port is for data transfer only.)
- Double Up on Efficiency: The two USB-A 3.0 ports and a USB-C port support a fast 5Gbps data rate, significantly boosting your transfer speeds and improving productivity.
- Fast and Reliable 85W Charging: Offers high-capacity, speedy charging for laptops up to 85W, so you spend less time tethered to an outlet and more time being productive.
- What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (7-in-1), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
Which alternative lets me play with friends now?
Beyond Sandbox is the clearest answer because multiplayer is already part of its design, while Voxel Playground’s multiplayer remains a developer target. Beyond Sandbox is a multiplayer VR modding platform built with Unreal Engine 5, with Sandbox, PvP shooter modes, Zombie Horde Mode and a Reality SDK for mods.
The Quest Early Access release arrived on 23 April 2026. The captured Meta listing showed $24.99, and AltLab recorded 4.5/5 from 20,861 Oculus ratings. In a September 2026 update quoted by AltLab, developer 2080 Games said more than 125,000 people had played across all platforms in the previous 28 days and that the title had climbed from #25 to #11 on Quest’s top-selling chart.
The 22 October Nightclub update added “The Vault,” a gang-owned Los Angeles nightclub, new NPCs, a gang faction and restricted security areas. It is thematically crime-adjacent, but it is not a scripted bank heist and it does not use micro-voxel destruction. Early Access reviews are polarized; some one-star reports describe movement and physics as unfinished, so multiplayer availability should not be confused with a finished experience. The official site is beyondsandbox.com.
What is the best VR game for a structured loot-and-survival loop?
The Walking Dead: Saints & Sinners and Chapter 2 are better fits if you enjoyed scavenging, crafting and danger more than free-form destruction. Both chapters are single-player RPGs on Quest, PSVR 2 and Steam.
Road to VR’s 27 October 2026 coverage describes physical melee against walkers, supplies to scrounge, weapons to craft and human factions that create threats beyond the undead. The loop is structured around survival and resource decisions: search environments, carry useful objects, make equipment and return to danger with limited supplies. It is not a sandbox heist, and buildings are not made of destructible micro-voxels, but it supplies a stronger campaign framework than Voxel Playground’s current scenario collection.
Which lighter sandboxes focus on experimentation rather than violence?
Newton’s Playground: Physics Sandbox
Newton’s Playground is the gentler physics-lab option on Quest. Its deal page lists more than 15 maps, avatars, drivable vehicles, weapons and building tools; examples include bathtub cars and rockets. AltLab’s related-title row listed it at $12.99. It suits players who want to test chains, vehicles and contraptions without making a bank robbery or gore the center of the experience.
Also popular on Amazon
- Dual Converters, Infinite Potential:Includes 2× USB C male to USB A female adapters and 2× USB A male to USB C female adapters. Perfect for a wide range of uses—tablets with Bluetooth keyboards, expand USB ports on macbook, and more. Two different converters for all your daily needs
- Next-Level 10Gbps & 3A Charging: No more slow 480Mbps, this usb to usb c adapter has a transfer speed of up to 10Gbps, allowing you to do more transferring in less time. This usb adapter fits both USB A and USB C charger, supporting up to 3A fast charging
- Upgraded Exquisite Craftsmanship: With an aluminum alloy housing and metal connector, the usbc to usb adapter is extremely durable and sturdy. Rigorously tested to withstand more than 10,000 times of plugging and unplugging, ensuring long-lasting performance
- Widely Compatible: Transform any USB-C port into a USB-A port and USB-A port into a USB-C port, and connect up a wide range of USB-C(including MacBook, iPad Pro/Air/Mini, iPhone models with USB C ports, Samsung Galaxy series, and Google Pixel series. ) and USB A devices(including external hard drives, phones, mice, printers, and more)
- Please Note: To reach 10Gbps speed, keep the cable under 3.3 ft. For USB A Male to USB C adapters, try flipping the USB C connector. USB C Male to USB A adapters support bidirectional 10Gbps transfer within 3.3 ft
Kaiju Battle Simulator
Kaiju Battle Simulator is the better pick for scale. It targets building-level destruction and monster-driven city chaos rather than careful room-by-room heists. The supplied listing did not establish a current price, so verify the Quest store page before purchase.
Meta Store neighbours worth knowing
Meta’s “more like this” shelf for Voxel Playground also listed Paint the Town Red VR at 4.2 from 606 ratings for $19.99; Bad Inmate at 4.8 from 873 ratings for $14.99 in Early Access; Frenzy VR at 4.6 from 12,000 ratings for $14.99; and Hellsplit: Arena at 4.1 from 1,100 ratings for $15.99 (captured as reduced from $19.99). These are shelf neighbours, not evidence of identical systems: the row shows how Meta groups physics fighting, prison sandboxes and action games, but it does not establish a full feature comparison.
Is Teardown still the benchmark if I can play flatscreen?
Yes. Teardown remains the deeper voxel-heist reference, but it is not a VR game. Steambase’s ranking, last updated 23 June 2026, listed a 95 player score from 137,810 Steam reviews and a $29.99 price. Its description promises a fully destructible simulated voxel world, vehicle and explosive shortcuts, and solo or multiplayer sessions for up to 12 players.
That explains why Quest players describe Voxel Playground as “Teardown in VR.” Voxel Playground brings the physical reach-and-touch sensation into a headset and adds its own Bank Heist rules, but Teardown has the more established heist sandbox and larger multiplayer ceiling on a monitor. If VR is mandatory, treat Teardown as a design benchmark rather than an alternative purchase.
Quick wins for a faster PC:
Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteDriver Scan →Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsFix Now →Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →What hardware do these games need?
Standalone play is centered on Meta Quest 3 in the supplied coverage. A LordsiVR specification sheet lists a $499 launch price, 2,064 × 2,208 pixels per eye, up to 120 Hz, Snapdragon XR2 Gen 2, 8 GB of RAM, pancake optics, Touch Plus controllers and about 2.2 hours of battery life; a higher-storage model is also available. Quest 3 is the safer target for demanding standalone sandboxes, while Quest 3S owners should check storage carefully: one HARD BULLET review cited a 16 GB install.
For PC VR, Voxel Playground supports OpenXR and Oculus Touch or Valve Index controllers. Its published minimum is Windows 10, an Intel Core i5-8400 or AMD Ryzen 5 2600, 16 GB RAM, a GTX 1060 with 4 GB VRAM and 4 GB storage; the recommended graphics card is an RTX 2060 and the recommended storage allocation is 10 GB. HARD BULLET, BONELAB and Blade and Sorcery also use the Steam PC VR route, typically through a Quest Link cable or equivalent PC connection.
Also popular on Amazon
- 5-in-1 Connectivity: Equipped with a 4K HDMI port, a 5 Gbps USB-C data port, two 5 Gbps USB-A ports, and a USB C 100W PD-IN port. Note: The USB C 100W PD-IN port supports only charging and does not support data transfer devices such as headphones or speakers.
- Powerful Pass-Through Charging: Supports up to 85W pass-through charging so you can power up your laptop while you use the hub. Note: Pass-through charging requires a charger (not included). Note: To achieve full power for iPad, we recommend using a 45W wall charger.
- Transfer Files in Seconds: Move files to and from your laptop at speeds of up to 5 Gbps via the USB-C and USB-A data ports. Note: The USB C 5Gbps Data port does not support video output.
- HD Display: Connect to the HDMI port to stream or mirror content to an external monitor in resolutions of up to 4K@30Hz. Note: The USB-C ports do not support video output.
- What You Get: Anker 332 USB-C Hub (5-in-1), welcome guide, our worry-free 18-month warranty, and friendly customer service.
How should you choose between these games?
- Choose HARD BULLET when firearms, reload manipulation, welding and explosive chains are the main attraction.
- Choose BONELAB when mods, avatars, ragdolls and an open-ended physics toolkit matter more than a defined objective.
- Choose Blade and Sorcery when you want swords, magic, armor and hit-location physics.
- Choose Beyond Sandbox when playing with friends immediately outweighs voxel destruction and solo heist structure.
- Choose Saints & Sinners when you want a campaign built around scavenging, crafting and survival pressure.
- Choose Newton’s Playground for accessible vehicle and contraption experiments with less emphasis on violence.
- Choose Kaiju Battle Simulator when the desired payoff is smashing a city rather than infiltrating a building.
- Keep Voxel Playground if the Bank Heist’s combination of destructible walls, disguise, keycards, witnesses and a getaway van is exactly what you want. Its low $6.99 entry price and free Steam demo make that a relatively low-cost way to see whether the Early Access state suits you.
How were these alternatives selected?
The shortlist separates destruction systems and player goals instead of treating every physics game as interchangeable. It weighs whether a title uses micro-voxels, rigid-body or ragdoll physics, or melee hitboxes; whether it offers a heist or another structured objective; whether it runs standalone on Quest or requires PC VR; whether multiplayer is shipped or only planned; how substantial its mod support is; and what the captured prices, ratings and Early Access disclosures say about maturity. No title outside Voxel Playground was presented as a full micro-voxel bank-heist clone because none of the captured options meets all of those conditions.
Frequently Asked Questions
Does Voxel Playground have multiplayer yet?
Not in the Steam launch build described here. Cydream has reported a multiplayer update targeted for Christmas 2026, so the date is a plan rather than a shipped feature.
Crashes, No Sound, or Screen Glitches?
Random freezes, missing sound and display glitches usually trace back to one bad driver. Find and replace yours safely.Free scan · under a minuteWindows Errors? Fix Them Before They Spread
Repair common Windows errors and clear accumulated junk for a smoother, more stable PC - no reinstall needed.Free scan · no reinstallCan I play Voxel Playground without a VR headset?
Yes. The Steam edition supports non-VR flatscreen play as well as VR through OpenXR. The Quest edition is headset-only.
Which game has the most realistic VR weapon handling?
HARD BULLET emphasizes physical slides, bolts, cylinders, one-handed reloads and disarming across a large firearms roster. Voxel Playground added several physical reload interactions, but its central distinction is voxel destruction and heist routing rather than a dedicated gun sandbox.
Are these games suitable for children?
Check each store’s age label individually. Voxel Playground is marked cartoon violence, while HARD BULLET is rated Mature 17+ for intense violence, blood and gore, and language; Saints & Sinners and Blade and Sorcery also depict graphic combat.
Quick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.
What’s actually slowing this PC down?
Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.

