Halloween DealsAmazon USHalloween week deals: useful picks before month-endAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.Check DealsPC HealthRecommendedCrashes, freezes, slowdowns? Check your PC nowSpot repairable issues before they interrupt work.Check PCHalloween DealsAmazon USOctober picks are moving - compare before checkoutAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.See Picks×
FREEDOM251

Freedom251 › Blog › Australian appliances

Smeg FAB38RWHAU: What to Know Before Buying This Discontinued Fridge

By Freedom251 Team · · 12 min read

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Some links on this page are affiliate links: if you buy through them we may earn a commission, at no extra cost to you.

The Smeg FAB38RWHAU is a large, retro-styled bottom-freezer refrigerator that offers substantial storage and useful fresh-food features, but the exact RWHAU version is no longer a current Australian model. CHOICE’s 2021 record lists 504 L of claimed capacity, a $3,990 price and 569 kWh of annual energy use, while Smeg’s current white replacement listing is the FAB38RWH5AU. That newer suffix has different capacity, energy and price figures, and is currently marked out of stock on Smeg Australia’s site. The RWHAU can be worth considering only as a clearly identified clearance, used or remaining-stock appliance after you verify its condition, dimensions, energy label and warranty. If you are buying new, compare the current suffix rather than assuming the older specification still applies.

What is the Smeg FAB38RWHAU?

The FAB38RWHAU is a freestanding, white, bottom-freezer refrigerator from Smeg’s 50’s Style range. It combines a two-door layout with a refrigerator compartment above and pull-out freezer drawers below. The design is its most obvious differentiator: this is intended to look like a piece of retro furniture as well as a kitchen appliance.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

The model name matters. The final “AU” identifies the Australian-market version, while RWHAU is an older suffix. Smeg’s current Australian white listing is FAB38RWH5AU, not FAB38RWHAU. Listings that use the two names interchangeably can therefore mix specifications from different production runs.

CHOICE records the RWHAU as tested in 2021. Its listing gives a two-year warranty, Italian origin and a $3,990 price at the time of that record. It also marks the model as discontinued, so those figures describe the older model and historical pricing rather than a current retail offer.

#1 Best Overall
Elebase USB to USB C Adapter for iPhone 18 Pro Max,USBC Car Charger Adapter | 4Pack Type C Female to A Male Cable Converter for Apple Duo 17 16 15 14 Plus,iWatch Watch 12 11 10,iPad 9 8 Air,Airpods 5 4
  • Read Before You Buy — No Video Output: These adapters support charging and USB 2.0 data transfer, but cannot transmit video signals. Except for standard USB webcams (which use USB data only), they are not compatible with HDMI/DisplayPort cables, video-capable USB-C hubs, or docking stations with video output.
  • Convert USB-A Ports to USB-C: Designed to connect USB-C earphones, cables, flash drives, card readers, and other USB-C accessories to standard USB-A ports. Plug-and-play with no drivers or software required.
  • Aluminum Alloy Housing: Built with a sturdy aluminum alloy shell that aids in heat dissipation and protects against daily wear and scratches. Designed to maintain a stable and secure connection.
  • Compact & Travel-Friendly: The ultra-compact design allows the adapter to stay plugged into your device without blocking adjacent ports or adding bulk, reducing wear and tear on your original USB ports.
  • 12-Month Warranty: Backed by a 12-month manufacturer warranty for peace of mind. Designed to meet strict quality control standards for reliable everyday performance.

How much can the FAB38RWHAU hold?

On the older model’s published figures, the FAB38RWHAU has 504 L of total claimed volume, split between a 315 L refrigerator section and a 151 L freezer section. That is family-sized capacity, although claimed litres are not the same as the shelf and drawer space you can practically use.

Specification FAB38RWHAU (older record) FAB38RWH5AU (current white listing)
Total claimed storage 504 L 481.1 L
Fresh-food storage 315 L 343.7 L
Frozen storage 151 L 137.4 L
Price shown by the source $3,990 in CHOICE’s 2021 record $4,990 list price on Smeg Australia’s page
Availability Discontinued Listed but marked out of stock

The comparison shows why you should not use the current page as a specification sheet for the RWHAU. The newer model claims less total volume but more fresh-food space and less freezer space. Those differences may reflect redesign, measurement conventions or both; they are not evidence that one model will necessarily perform better in a kitchen.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

For everyday use, the older layout should suit households that buy fresh produce, large bottles and prepared meals in bulk. The freezer capacity is generous for a bottom-freezer appliance, but the drawer format can make it harder to stack tall or irregular packages than a single large chest-style compartment. Check the internal shelf and drawer arrangement in person if you are buying an existing unit, because exterior size does not reveal how efficiently the space is divided.

What are the FAB38RWHAU’s dimensions and delivery requirements?

The refrigerator is unusually tall and deep. The technical data for the FAB38 family gives 2,050 mm height and 706 mm cabinet width. Depth is 711 mm without the handle and 811 mm with the handle; with the door opened to 90 degrees, the stated depth is 1,340 mm.

Measurement Published figure Why it matters
Height 2,050 mm Check ceiling height, overhead cabinets and the angle available for tilting during delivery.
Cabinet width 706 mm Measure the narrowest point of the installation cavity, not just the benchtop opening.
Depth without handle 711 mm Use this when checking cabinet and benchtop projection.
Depth with handle 811 mm Use this for the real front-to-back footprint in the room.
Depth with door at 90° 1,340 mm Allow this clearance for door opening and access to shelves and drawers.

Before paying for a used or clearance unit, measure the complete route from the unloading point to the kitchen. Include gates, stair turns, lift doors, hallway corners and the final cavity. A refrigerator that fits the cavity can still be impossible to bring through a doorway if the delivery team cannot rotate it safely.

  • Measure the narrowest doorway and compare it with the packaged and unpackaged appliance dimensions supplied by the seller.
  • Check whether the door can open far enough to remove shelves and drawers for cleaning or servicing.
  • Leave the manufacturer’s required ventilation and installation clearances; do not design the cabinet around the cabinet width alone.
  • Confirm the floor can support a full appliance and that the unit can be levelled without blocking the door.

Because the published door-open figure is much larger than the cabinet depth, the hinge side and nearby island or wall deserve as much attention as the niche itself. Ask the retailer or delivery company to confirm the exact handling plan for the specific suffix you are buying.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

How much electricity does it use?

The older FAB38RWHAU record lists 569 kWh per year and a two-star rating in CHOICE’s 2021 entry. Smeg’s current FAB38RWH5AU page lists 328 kWh per year, energy class E and 41 dB(A) noise. These numbers belong to different model suffixes and must not be treated as a before-and-after test of the same refrigerator.

Rank #2
Sale
Anker USB-C Hub, 5-in-1 USB Hub for Laptops, 4K HDMI Multiport Adapter | USB C Dongle with 90W Max Power Delivery, 3×5Gbps USB A Data Ports, for MacBook, Dell, and More (Charger Not Included)
  • 5-in-1 USB-C Hub: Experience comprehensive connectivity featuring a Power Delivery input, two USB-A 2.0 ports, a USB-A 3.0 port, and an HDMI port. (Note: The USB-C power delivery input port is only for connecting an external wall charger to power your laptop and cannot power peripheral devices.)
  • 90W Pass-Through Charging: Achieve optimal charging with 90W pass-through power to your laptop, supported by a total input of 100W, with the hub reserving 10W for operational efficiency. (Note: Wall charger not included.)
  • Quick Data Transfers: Accelerate your productivity with rapid data transfers using a high-speed 5Gbps USB 3.0 port and two 480Mbps USB 2.0 ports.
  • 4K HDMI Display: Enhance your visual experience with a hub capable of delivering 4K resolution at 30Hz in both mirror and extend modes. Please note that this hub is compatible with MacBook (macOS 12 and newer), Windows 10 and 11, ChromeOS, and laptops equipped with DP Alt Mode and Power Delivery. Note: This device is not compatible with Linux.
  • What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (5-in-1, 4K HDMI), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.

The gap is large enough to affect running cost. To estimate your own annual electricity expense, multiply the exact figure on the appliance’s Australian energy label by your electricity tariff in dollars per kilowatt-hour. For example, a label value of 569 kWh would cost 569 multiplied by your tariff each year; your retailer’s tariff, controlled-load arrangements and seasonal usage determine the actual bill.

Use the label fixed to the appliance or the seller’s documentation for the exact suffix. A marketplace advertisement that copies the newer 328 kWh figure onto an RWHAU listing is not reliable evidence. Energy labels can also change with regulatory testing methods, so compare like-for-like Australian labels rather than importing a figure from another country.

The current listing’s class E and 41 dB(A) are published specifications, not independent measurements of the discontinued RWHAU. They are useful when assessing the newer model, but they cannot establish how quietly or efficiently an older RWHAU will operate after years of use. Door seals, room temperature, loading and compressor condition all affect real consumption.

Free tools Windows power users keep installed

One-click scans. No signup required.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Which features does the FAB38 range provide?

Smeg’s technical material describes a feature set aimed at stable temperatures and low-maintenance storage. These are manufacturer claims and design specifications; they should not be confused with independent scores for cooling consistency or food-life performance.

Total No Frost

Total No Frost is intended to prevent ice build-up in both compartments, eliminating routine manual defrosting. It does not remove the need to keep vents clear, clean door seals and deal with spills. If a second-hand appliance shows heavy frost, investigate a door-seal, fan, sensor or defrost fault rather than assuming that the feature is working normally.

Multiflow air circulation

The manufacturer says, “The Multiflow system ensures even distribution of cold air inside the refrigerator.” Air outlets should remain unobstructed, and tightly packing shelves can still create warm pockets. The statement describes the system’s purpose, not a published independent temperature test.

Inverter compressor and electronic control

An inverter compressor can vary its operating speed instead of relying only on full-on and full-off cycles. Electronic temperature control gives you a set point and alarm functions, but the available data does not provide a measured recovery time after door openings or a laboratory stability score for the RWHAU.

What’s actually slowing this PC down?

Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Rank #3
Sale
Anker USB C Hub, 7in1 Multi-Port USB Adapter, 4K@60Hz USBC to HDMI Splitter | 85W Max PD, 2 USB 3.0 & 1 USBC Data Ports, SD/TF Card Reader, for Laptops/Mac and Other Type C Devices (Charger Not Included)
  • Sleek 7-in-1 USB-C Hub: Features an HDMI port, two USB-A 3.0 ports, and a USB-C data port, each providing 5Gbps transfer speeds. It also includes a USB-C PD input port for charging up to 100W and dual SD and TF card slots, all in a compact design.
  • Flawless 4K@60Hz Video with HDMI: Delivers exceptional clarity and smoothness with its 4K@60Hz HDMI port, making it ideal for high-definition presentations and entertainment. (Note: Only the HDMI port supports video projection; the USB-C port is for data transfer only.)
  • Double Up on Efficiency: The two USB-A 3.0 ports and a USB-C port support a fast 5Gbps data rate, significantly boosting your transfer speeds and improving productivity.
  • Fast and Reliable 85W Charging: Offers high-capacity, speedy charging for laptops up to 85W, so you spend less time tethered to an outlet and more time being productive.
  • What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (7-in-1), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.

Life Plus 0°C drawer

The dedicated Life Plus drawer is designed for food that benefits from a colder fresh-food zone than the main refrigerator. It can be useful for meat, fish or delicate perishables that you plan to cook soon. Keep raw food sealed and follow Australian food-safety guidance; a 0°C drawer does not replace safe storage times or cooking temperatures.

Fast freezing and alarms

Fast-freezing mode is intended to lower the temperature quickly when adding a substantial amount of fresh food. A temperature alarm warns when conditions rise, and a door alarm can alert you when the door has been left open. The current RWH5AU specification also states a four-star freezer and a 9 kg-per-24-hour freezing capacity; those figures should not be assigned to the older RWHAU unless its own label or manual confirms them.

Lighting, ice and internal layout

The range uses LED interior lighting and includes one crisper and the 0°C drawer in the refrigerator section. The freezer layout is described as two drawers with glass shelves, a fast-freezing compartment and a manual ice maker. “Manual” means you should not expect an automatic plumbed ice dispenser; verify the supplied tray or ice-maker parts when buying used.

What is the difference between FAB38RWHAU and FAB38RWH5AU?

The suffix is not a cosmetic revision. The current RWH5AU has different published storage, energy, price and availability information, so buyers should treat it as a separate model listing even though both belong to the FAB38 family.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Buying question FAB38RWHAU FAB38RWH5AU
Is it the current Australian white listing? No; the model is recorded as discontinued. Yes; it is Smeg Australia’s current white listing, but the page is marked out of stock.
Claimed total volume 504 L 481.1 L
Fresh/freezer split 315 L refrigerator; 151 L freezer 343.7 L fresh food; 137.4 L frozen food
Energy information 569 kWh/year and two stars in CHOICE’s 2021 record 328 kWh/year and class E on Smeg’s current page
Price information $3,990 in the 2021 CHOICE record $4,990 list price on Smeg’s page
Noise information Not stated in the accessible record 41 dB(A) published by Smeg
Freezer rating and capacity Not stated in the accessible record Four-star freezer; 9 kg/24 h freezing capacity

Do not choose between the names on price alone. Confirm the model code on the rating plate, the energy label, the warranty document and the invoice. If a seller cannot show those items, you may be buying an older appliance described with newer specifications.

Is the Smeg FAB38RWHAU worth buying?

It can be worthwhile when the retro appearance, large footprint and fresh-food layout are priorities, but only at a price that reflects its discontinued status and unknown remaining support. A new, full-price purchase is difficult to justify when the exact model is no longer listed as current and the available independent test detail is restricted.

Reasons to consider it

  • The 50’s Style design is distinctive and may suit a kitchen where a conventional modern refrigerator would look out of place.
  • The older published capacity is substantial for a freestanding household refrigerator.
  • A bottom freezer keeps frequently used fresh food at eye level.
  • The 0°C drawer, frost-free design, inverter compressor, fast-freezing mode and alarms cover useful day-to-day functions.
  • LED lighting and dedicated drawers make the interior easier to organise than a single undivided compartment.

Reasons to be cautious

  • The RWHAU suffix is discontinued, so stock may be old, used, display-only or imported outside normal Australian distribution.
  • The older energy figure is materially higher than the current model’s published figure.
  • The appliance is over two metres tall and more than 800 mm deep including the handle, creating installation and delivery risk.
  • Replacement parts, seals and service availability should be confirmed before purchase rather than assumed from the newer suffix.
  • The accessible CHOICE page confirms expert testing but withholds the Expert Rating, temperature-performance scores, reliability, satisfaction and noise result behind member access.

The best case is a verified unit with a clear serial number, demonstrably cold compartments, intact drawers, a sound door seal and written warranty or service support. The worst case is an expensive appliance that cannot enter the room, uses more electricity than expected or lacks parts when a fan, sensor or seal fails.

Rank #4
Sale
UGREEN USB to USB C Adapter Combo 4-Pack, 10Gbps USB C Converter Space Gray | Data transfer & Fast charging for MacBook, iPhone 17/16/15, iPad, Samsung Galaxy, Apple Watch
  • Dual Converters, Infinite Potential:Includes 2× USB C male to USB A female adapters and 2× USB A male to USB C female adapters. Perfect for a wide range of uses—tablets with Bluetooth keyboards, expand USB ports on macbook, and more. Two different converters for all your daily needs
  • Next-Level 10Gbps & 3A Charging: No more slow 480Mbps, this usb to usb c adapter has a transfer speed of up to 10Gbps, allowing you to do more transferring in less time. This usb adapter fits both USB A and USB C charger, supporting up to 3A fast charging
  • Upgraded Exquisite Craftsmanship: With an aluminum alloy housing and metal connector, the usbc to usb adapter is extremely durable and sturdy. Rigorously tested to withstand more than 10,000 times of plugging and unplugging, ensuring long-lasting performance
  • Broad Compatible: The usb c to usb adapter widely supports all USB C/ USB A devices like laptops, tablets, cellphones, car chargers, and phone chargers. Such as compatible with MacBook Pro/Air 2023/2022, Thunderbolt 4/3 Devices,Apple MagSafe Watch 9/8/7/SE/Ultra, iPad Pro 2022/2021, Samsung Galaxy S23/S20/S10, and iPhone 17/16/15 Pro. Plug and play
  • Please Note: To reach 10Gbps speed, keep the cable under 3.3 ft. For USB A Male to USB C adapters, try flipping the USB C connector. USB C Male to USB A adapters support bidirectional 10Gbps transfer within 3.3 ft

What does independent testing actually tell you?

CHOICE confirms that it performed expert testing and records the older model’s test year, capacity, price and energy figures. However, the publicly accessible information does not reveal the RWHAU’s Expert Rating, temperature-performance scores, reliability result, owner satisfaction or measured noise result.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

That limitation matters because feature lists cannot establish cooling uniformity, compressor noise, recovery after a door opening or long-term dependability. Treat Smeg’s Multiflow, inverter and alarm descriptions as equipment specifications. If those performance scores are important to your decision, obtain CHOICE membership access or another documented test rather than inferring a result from the marketing claims.

Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

Is the FAB38RWHAU still available in Australia?

The exact RWHAU is recorded as discontinued. Remaining units may still appear through appliance dealers, clearance channels, display-stock sales or private listings, but availability and warranty terms will vary by seller.

Smeg’s current Australian white page identifies FAB38RWH5AU instead and shows a $4,990 list price while marking it out of stock. “Out of stock” does not guarantee a delivery date, so ask for a written estimate and confirm whether the quoted appliance is physically in Australia.

When contacting a seller, request the model-code photo, serial number, manufacture date if available, energy label, warranty terms and a statement of whether the unit is new, ex-display or refurbished. For used stock, ask the seller to demonstrate both compartments reaching operating temperature and to show the door and temperature alarms working.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

What should you check before buying a remaining or used unit?

A short inspection can prevent the most expensive mistakes. Work through the checks below before paying a deposit.

  1. Verify the suffix. Photograph the rating plate and make sure it says FAB38RWHAU, not RWH5AU or another regional code.
  2. Read the exact energy label. Record the annual kWh figure and star or class rating printed on that appliance.
  3. Inspect the cabinet and doors. Look for distorted panels, hinge damage, rust, cracked shelves and drawers that do not slide squarely.
  4. Test the seals. Close a sheet of paper in several places around each door; unusually easy pull-out can indicate a weak seal, although this is only a basic screen.
  5. Check cooling operation. A seller should allow enough running time to verify that the refrigerator and freezer become properly cold and that the compressor cycles normally.
  6. Test controls and alarms. Confirm the display, temperature adjustment, fast-freeze function, door alarm and temperature alarm respond as described.
  7. Confirm included parts. Count shelves, drawers, freezer glass shelves, the manual ice-maker components and any trim pieces.
  8. Get support in writing. Confirm who handles warranty claims and whether authorised service or parts remain available for the older suffix.

How should you plan installation?

Installation is mainly a measurement and access exercise. The appliance should stand level, have the ventilation clearance specified by its manual and open without striking a wall, island or adjacent cabinet.

Best Value
Sale
Anker USB C Hub, 5-in-1 USBC to HDMI Splitter with 4K Display | 85W Max PD, 1 Powered USB-C 5Gbps & 2 Powered USB-A 3.0 5Gbps Data Ports, for MacBook Pro, MacBook Air, Dell and More (Black)
  • 5-in-1 Connectivity: Equipped with a 4K HDMI port, a 5 Gbps USB-C data port, two 5 Gbps USB-A ports, and a USB C 100W PD-IN port. Note: The USB C 100W PD-IN port supports only charging and does not support data transfer devices such as headphones or speakers.
  • Powerful Pass-Through Charging: Supports up to 85W pass-through charging so you can power up your laptop while you use the hub. Note: Pass-through charging requires a charger (not included). Note: To achieve full power for iPad, we recommend using a 45W wall charger.
  • Transfer Files in Seconds: Move files to and from your laptop at speeds of up to 5 Gbps via the USB-C and USB-A data ports. Note: The USB C 5Gbps Data port does not support video output.
  • HD Display: Connect to the HDMI port to stream or mirror content to an external monitor in resolutions of up to 4K@30Hz. Note: The USB-C ports do not support video output.
  • What You Get: Anker 332 USB-C Hub (5-in-1), welcome guide, our worry-free 18-month warranty, and friendly customer service.
  • Remove doors or internal components only if the manufacturer’s instructions and the delivery team permit it; do not improvise hinge work.
  • Protect flooring during movement and keep the appliance upright whenever possible.
  • After positioning, allow the compressor and controls to settle according to the manual before loading food.
  • Load air outlets loosely, keep raw food sealed in the coldest suitable zone and avoid blocking the door from closing fully.
  • Retain the manual, serial-number photo and receipt for service calls.

If the refrigerator is replacing another unit, arrange responsible disposal of the old appliance before delivery so the route and installation space are clear. Local council and retailer collection rules differ across Australia.

Who is the FAB38RWHAU best suited to?

It suits a household that values retro styling, high capacity and a bottom-freezer layout more than the newest energy rating or the certainty of current stock. It is especially attractive when a verified remaining unit is available with meaningful warranty coverage and the room can accommodate its height and depth.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Choose a different refrigerator if low running cost is the dominant criterion, if your kitchen has tight overhead or doorway clearance, or if you need guaranteed current-model parts and delivery. In those cases, compare current appliances using usable fresh and frozen capacity, exact Australian energy-label data, door clearance, noise information, warranty and confirmed stock—not just the Smeg family name.

Frequently Asked Questions

Does the FAB38RWHAU need a water connection for ice?

The published layout identifies a manual ice maker rather than an automatic plumbed dispenser. Confirm that the tray and any manual ice-making parts are included, especially on display or used stock.

Can I rely on the newer model’s energy figure for an RWHAU listing?

No. The 328 kWh/year figure is published for FAB38RWH5AU, while the older RWHAU record lists 569 kWh/year. Read the label attached to the exact appliance you are buying.

What does a 0°C refrigerator drawer do?

It provides a colder fresh-food zone for short-term storage of items such as meat or fish before cooking. Food still needs sealed containers, sensible storage times and normal food-safety handling.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Where can I find the RWHAU’s independent noise score?

CHOICE confirms that noise was tested but keeps the measured result, along with several other performance scores, behind member access. The 41 dB(A) figure shown publicly belongs to the current RWH5AU specification.

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

Australian appliancesbottom-freezer fridgerefrigerator reviewSmeg FAB38RWH5AUSmeg FAB38RWHAU

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Recommended PC Tool
Recommended PC Tool
Outdated Drivers Are Slowing You DownFree scan - exact matches
Windows Errors? Fix Them Before They SpreadFree repair scan

Two free Windows tools

One Free Minute Could Fix That PC

Before you go - each of these free tools takes about a minute and tackles what quietly slows a Windows PC down.

Special offer. View Outbyte info, uninstall instructions, EULA, and Privacy Policy.