Some links on this page are affiliate links: if you buy through them we may earn a commission, at no extra cost to you.
Verdict: The Smeg FAB32RRDNA1 is a spacious, well-equipped red retro refrigerator-freezer that works best for buyers who prioritise its distinctive 1950s styling and relatively narrow footprint. Its automatic refrigerator defrost, frost-free bottom freezer and practical interior are genuine advantages. However, the Australian specification shows only a 3.5-star energy rating, CHOICE reported that the model failed its energy check, and availability is uncertain because the model has reportedly been discontinued.
Buy one only after confirming that the exact model is in stock, the quoted price is current, delivery is available to your address and local warranty and service support are written into the sale. If low running costs or predictable long-term parts support matter more than the design, a current equivalent is the safer choice.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
Recommended Free Tools
What is the Smeg FAB32RRDNA1?
The FAB32RRDNA1 is a freestanding, red, 50s-style Smeg refrigerator-freezer with a bottom-mounted freezer. It is designed as a statement appliance rather than a concealed, built-in unit: the colour, rounded styling and chrome details are central to its appeal.
Appliances Online lists 326 litres of total capacity, divided into 228 litres for the refrigerator and 98 litres for the freezer. Those figures describe the retailer’s listed capacity; a separate usable-capacity figure is not stated. The layout suits households that want refrigerator storage at eye level and do not want to bend down every time they reach for fresh food.
#1 Best Overall
- Read Before You Buy — No Video Output: These adapters support charging and USB 2.0 data transfer, but cannot transmit video signals. Except for standard USB webcams (which use USB data only), they are not compatible with HDMI/DisplayPort cables, video-capable USB-C hubs, or docking stations with video output.
- Convert USB-A Ports to USB-C: Designed to connect USB-C earphones, cables, flash drives, card readers, and other USB-C accessories to standard USB-A ports. Plug-and-play with no drivers or software required.
- Aluminum Alloy Housing: Built with a sturdy aluminum alloy shell that aids in heat dissipation and protects against daily wear and scratches. Designed to maintain a stable and secure connection.
- Compact & Travel-Friendly: The ultra-compact design allows the adapter to stay plugged into your device without blocking adjacent ports or adding bulk, reducing wear and tear on your original USB ports.
- 12-Month Warranty: Backed by a 12-month manufacturer warranty for peace of mind. Designed to meet strict quality control standards for reliable everyday performance.
The model does not require a water connection. Its door is hinged on the right and is not reversible, so the hinge side must work with your kitchen layout before delivery.
How big is the FAB32RRDNA1?
The cabinet is 600 mm wide, 1,926 mm high and 720 mm deep when the handle is included. Height and depth are especially important: this is a tall appliance, and the handle makes it deeper than a simple cabinet measurement suggests.
Quick wins for a faster PC:
Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsFix Now →Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteDriver Scan →Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsFree Scan →| Specification | FAB32RRDNA1 listing | What to check at home |
|---|---|---|
| Total listed capacity | 326 L | Confirm whether the seller is quoting gross or usable volume; a usable figure is not stated. |
| Refrigerator compartment | 228 L | Allow space for shelves, door bins and airflow around stored food. |
| Freezer compartment | 98 L | Check that drawer travel is not blocked by a wall or adjacent cabinet. |
| Width | 600 mm | Measure the narrowest point of the route and the final installation space. |
| Height | 1,926 mm | Measure ceiling height, door frames and any overhead cupboards. |
| Depth including handle | 720 mm | Check how far the door and handle project into the room. |
| Door configuration | Right-hand hinge; non-reversible | Confirm the hinge side will open fully without striking a wall. |
Do not measure only the refrigerator alcove. Include packaging, skirting boards, lift or stair access, turns in hallways and the clearance needed to open both doors and freezer drawers. Ask the retailer for packaged dimensions if the delivery route is tight; the published cabinet dimensions do not describe the carton.
What storage and convenience features does it have?
The listed equipment is more comprehensive than the exterior’s retro appearance suggests. The refrigerator has three crystal-glass quick-chill shelves, a chrome bottle rack and a clear meat-keeper/crisper arrangement. A foldable egg tray holds up to 12 eggs, and LED lighting illuminates the refrigerator compartment.
Refrigerator compartment
- Three crystal-glass shelves: These are described as quick-chill shelves and can be rearranged for different food heights.
- Chrome bottle rack: It provides a dedicated horizontal position for bottles instead of using a full shelf.
- Meat keeper and crisper: The clear drawers separate delicate foods and make their contents visible without opening every container.
- Foldable 12-place egg tray: The folding design can free shelf space when eggs are not being stored.
- LED lighting: LEDs use little power and provide a clear view of the compartment when the door opens.
Freezer compartment
The freezer uses two drawers, including a fast-freeze drawer, and comes with an ice-cube tray. Drawer storage makes it easier to separate food by type than a single cavity, although you should check that the lower drawer can be pulled out fully in its intended position.
Is the Smeg FAB32RRDNA1 freezer frost free?
Yes. The freezer is listed as frost free, while the refrigerator compartment uses automatic defrost. In normal operation, that means you should not have to schedule manual ice removal from the freezer or scrape the refrigerator’s rear wall.
Windows Errors? Fix Them Before They Spread
Repair common Windows errors and clear accumulated junk for a smoother, more stable PC - no reinstall needed.Free scan · no reinstallOutdated Drivers Are Slowing You Down
One free scan finds every outdated or missing driver and matches the right update for your exact hardware.Free scan · exact hardware matchRank #2
- 5-in-1 USB-C Hub: Experience comprehensive connectivity featuring a Power Delivery input, two USB-A 2.0 ports, a USB-A 3.0 port, and an HDMI port. (Note: The USB-C power delivery input port is only for connecting an external wall charger to power your laptop and cannot power peripheral devices.)
- 90W Pass-Through Charging: Achieve optimal charging with 90W pass-through power to your laptop, supported by a total input of 100W, with the hub reserving 10W for operational efficiency. (Note: Wall charger not included.)
- Quick Data Transfers: Accelerate your productivity with rapid data transfers using a high-speed 5Gbps USB 3.0 port and two 480Mbps USB 2.0 ports.
- 4K HDMI Display: Enhance your visual experience with a hub capable of delivering 4K resolution at 30Hz in both mirror and extend modes. Please note that this hub is compatible with MacBook (macOS 12 and newer), Windows 10 and 11, ChromeOS, and laptops equipped with DP Alt Mode and Power Delivery. Note: This device is not compatible with Linux.
- What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (5-in-1, 4K HDMI), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
“Frost free” does not mean maintenance free. Keep air passages clear, avoid packing drawers so tightly that cold air cannot circulate, and investigate unusual ice, water or temperature changes rather than assuming the system will correct them. The retailer listing does not provide a separate freezer temperature-performance result, so frost-free operation should not be confused with an independent assessment of how evenly or quickly it freezes food.
How much electricity does it use?
The Australian specification lists 323 kWh per year and a 3.5-star energy rating. These are the figures to use when comparing Australian listings, and they should not be silently converted into an annual cost because electricity tariffs vary by state, retailer and time of use.
| Energy detail | Published value | How to interpret it |
|---|---|---|
| Annual energy use | 323 kWh/year | Smeg specification listing, accessed in 2026; actual consumption depends on ambient temperature, loading and use. |
| Australian energy rating | 3.5 stars | Australian appliance specification, accessed in 2026. |
| Nominal power | 100 W | Smeg catalogue rating; this is not the same as continuous 100 W consumption. |
| Supply | 220–240 V | Smeg catalogue specification. |
To estimate running cost, multiply 323 by your electricity price per kWh. For example, at a tariff of 30 cents per kWh, the arithmetic is 323 × $0.30, or $96.90 per year. That is an illustration, not a promised bill: the appliance cycles rather than drawing its nominal rating continuously, and the official annual figure is a standardised estimate.
Energy performance is the model’s clearest weakness. CHOICE reported that the FAB32RRDNA1 “failed its energy check.” That result is independent of the star label and is the reason to compare the model’s tested performance, not just its appearance or headline capacity, with current refrigerators.
How noisy is it, and what temperatures can it handle?
Smeg’s official catalogue records a rated noise level of 41 dB(A). That is a useful comparison point for an open-plan kitchen, but the number is a declared rating rather than a guarantee that every installation will sound identical. Flooring, walls, levelling and compressor cycling can change how noticeable a refrigerator seems.
The catalogue lists SN, N, ST and T climate classes. Together, those designations indicate that the appliance is specified for a broad range of ambient conditions, but the exact limits and operating instructions should be taken from the manual supplied for your market. Do not treat the climate-class letters as proof that the refrigerator can be installed outdoors or in an unprotected, extreme environment.
Rank #3
- Sleek 7-in-1 USB-C Hub: Features an HDMI port, two USB-A 3.0 ports, and a USB-C data port, each providing 5Gbps transfer speeds. It also includes a USB-C PD input port for charging up to 100W and dual SD and TF card slots, all in a compact design.
- Flawless 4K@60Hz Video with HDMI: Delivers exceptional clarity and smoothness with its 4K@60Hz HDMI port, making it ideal for high-definition presentations and entertainment. (Note: Only the HDMI port supports video projection; the USB-C port is for data transfer only.)
- Double Up on Efficiency: The two USB-A 3.0 ports and a USB-C port support a fast 5Gbps data rate, significantly boosting your transfer speeds and improving productivity.
- Fast and Reliable 85W Charging: Offers high-capacity, speedy charging for laptops up to 85W, so you spend less time tethered to an outlet and more time being productive.
- What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (7-in-1), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
What are the electrical and installation requirements?
The appliance is specified for 220–240 V and has a 200 cm power cable. It is freestanding and requires no plumbing, so installation is simpler than for a plumbed ice or water dispenser. Use a properly earthed outlet that remains accessible after installation, and follow the local manual for ventilation and clearance requirements.
Because the door is right-hinged and cannot be reversed, plan the final position before the delivery team arrives. A narrow 600 mm cabinet can still need considerably more room on the hinge side for the door, shelves and drawers to open. If the refrigerator is placed beside a wall, ask the seller or service team how much side clearance is required for full access; the basic width figure does not answer that question.
The Tool Desk
Outbyte PC Repair FREEClear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsFree Scan →Outbyte Driver Updater FREEFix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →Is the FAB32RRDNA1 still available?
Availability is market-specific and inconsistent. CHOICE says the model has since been discontinued. Winning Appliances marks the exact model as no longer available, while Appliances Online has presented it as a special-order item with a quoted lead time of 12–16 weeks.
Those listings can change, and a special-order page is not the same as confirmed warehouse stock. Before paying, obtain written confirmation of:
- the exact model code, including the final suffix “RRDNA1”;
- whether the unit is new, display stock, returned stock or an imported parallel model;
- the expected dispatch and delivery date;
- who will provide installation, transit-damage support and after-sales service;
- the warranty period, what it covers and whether parts and labour are included in your country;
- the retailer’s cancellation or refund terms if the lead time slips.
Appliances Online lists a five-year parts-and-labour manufacturer warranty, but warranty terms can differ by country, importer and purchase channel. Read the local warranty document rather than assuming that an Australian listing applies elsewhere.
What did independent testing find?
CHOICE’s published assessment is important because it goes beyond the manufacturer’s feature list. It states that the FAB32RRDNA1 failed its energy check and records a price tag of more than $3,400 at the time of its coverage. Denis Gallagher, a CHOICE whitegoods expert, cautioned: “Looks aren’t everything, and considering you really need it to do its job well, you really need to do its job well.”
Do these 3 things before closing this tab:
1Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problems2Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitches3Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsRank #4
- Dual Converters, Infinite Potential:Includes 2× USB C male to USB A female adapters and 2× USB A male to USB C female adapters. Perfect for a wide range of uses—tablets with Bluetooth keyboards, expand USB ports on macbook, and more. Two different converters for all your daily needs
- Next-Level 10Gbps & 3A Charging: No more slow 480Mbps, this usb to usb c adapter has a transfer speed of up to 10Gbps, allowing you to do more transferring in less time. This usb adapter fits both USB A and USB C charger, supporting up to 3A fast charging
- Upgraded Exquisite Craftsmanship: With an aluminum alloy housing and metal connector, the usbc to usb adapter is extremely durable and sturdy. Rigorously tested to withstand more than 10,000 times of plugging and unplugging, ensuring long-lasting performance
- Broad Compatible: The usb c to usb adapter widely supports all USB C/ USB A devices like laptops, tablets, cellphones, car chargers, and phone chargers. Such as compatible with MacBook Pro/Air 2023/2022, Thunderbolt 4/3 Devices,Apple MagSafe Watch 9/8/7/SE/Ultra, iPad Pro 2022/2021, Samsung Galaxy S23/S20/S10, and iPhone 17/16/15 Pro. Plug and play
- Please Note: To reach 10Gbps speed, keep the cable under 3.3 ft. For USB A Male to USB C adapters, try flipping the USB C connector. USB C Male to USB A adapters support bidirectional 10Gbps transfer within 3.3 ft
The testing statement does not provide a replacement performance score in the information available here, so it would be misleading to claim that the model is poor at every aspect of refrigeration. It does establish a material energy concern and reinforces the need to check independent temperature and efficiency results for any replacement model.
Is the Smeg FAB32RRDNA1 worth buying?
It can be worth buying when the retro red finish is the main reason you are shopping, the 600 mm width solves a genuine space problem and the seller can prove current stock and local support. The bottom-freezer layout, frost-free freezer, automatic refrigerator defrost and useful shelf arrangement make it practical enough for everyday use.
It is a difficult recommendation when electricity use, a low purchase price or dependable availability comes first. The 3.5-star Australian rating, the reported failed energy check and the model’s uncertain or discontinued status create costs and risks that style alone does not remove.
Choose it when
- You specifically want the red 1950s-inspired design.
- A 600 mm width is valuable in your kitchen.
- You accept that a special-order or discontinued product may require patience.
- The seller provides written local warranty and service terms.
- You have compared the annual energy figure with current alternatives.
Look elsewhere when
- You need delivery on a fixed date.
- You want the best available energy performance.
- You require a reversible door.
- You need a documented independent temperature test before purchase.
- You cannot obtain parts, service and warranty confirmation for your region.
How should you compare it with current alternatives?
Compare like with like rather than choosing a refrigerator solely by litre capacity or colour. A current replacement for the FAB32 format should be judged on the following dimensions.
| Comparison point | Why it matters | Question to ask the seller |
|---|---|---|
| Annual energy use | It affects ownership cost over the appliance’s life. | What test standard, market and label year produced the figure? |
| Independent temperature performance | Stable, even temperatures protect food better than a feature list can show. | Is there an independent test or only a manufacturer claim? |
| Total and usable capacity | Nominal litres may not reflect shelf and drawer space. | Are the litres gross, net or usable? |
| Width, depth and door clearance | A cabinet can fit while its open door cannot. | What clearances are required for shelves and drawers? |
| Noise | Noise is more noticeable in open-plan rooms. | What is the rated dB(A), and under which test conditions? |
| Warranty and service | Discontinued products can be harder to repair. | Who supplies parts and performs warranty work locally? |
| Availability | A long lead time can disrupt a kitchen project. | Is stock physically allocated to my order? |
A current model with a similar width and bottom-freezer layout may cost less to run and be easier to service, even if it lacks the FAB32RRDNA1’s exact colour and trim. Treat a current Smeg FAB32 replacement or another authorised model as a separate purchase decision, not as proof that the older model remains supported.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.What should you do before placing an order?
- Measure the route. Record the narrowest doorway, hallway turn, lift opening and final alcove. Include skirting boards and the handle.
- Confirm the hinge side. Stand where the appliance will sit and verify that a right-hand hinge will let the door open far enough to remove shelves and drawers.
- Request packaged dimensions. Compare them with the delivery route, not just the kitchen opening.
- Ask for a written stock statement. Distinguish allocated stock from a supplier order with an estimated lead time.
- Read the local warranty. Check parts, labour, call-out limits, exclusions and who handles claims.
- Calculate energy cost. Multiply the published 323 kWh/year by your tariff and compare that result with current models.
- Keep the order documents. Save the model code, promised delivery date, warranty and return terms in case the listing changes.
How do you care for the appliance?
Keep the condenser and ventilation areas accessible as directed by the manual, level the cabinet so doors and drawers operate correctly, and avoid blocking internal air outlets with food. Clean removable shelves and bins with the method recommended by Smeg; abrasive cleaners can damage surfaces and trim.
Best Value
- 5-in-1 Connectivity: Equipped with a 4K HDMI port, a 5 Gbps USB-C data port, two 5 Gbps USB-A ports, and a USB C 100W PD-IN port. Note: The USB C 100W PD-IN port supports only charging and does not support data transfer devices such as headphones or speakers.
- Powerful Pass-Through Charging: Supports up to 85W pass-through charging so you can power up your laptop while you use the hub. Note: Pass-through charging requires a charger (not included). Note: To achieve full power for iPad, we recommend using a 45W wall charger.
- Transfer Files in Seconds: Move files to and from your laptop at speeds of up to 5 Gbps via the USB-C and USB-A data ports. Note: The USB C 5Gbps Data port does not support video output.
- HD Display: Connect to the HDMI port to stream or mirror content to an external monitor in resolutions of up to 4K@30Hz. Note: The USB-C ports do not support video output.
- What You Get: Anker 332 USB-C Hub (5-in-1), welcome guide, our worry-free 18-month warranty, and friendly customer service.
Because the freezer is frost free, a growing layer of ice is a fault symptom rather than a normal maintenance task. Persistent ice, excessive running, poor cooling or unusual noise warrants a service call, especially while the appliance is under warranty. Do not attempt refrigerant work yourself: the unit uses R600a, and servicing and disposal should be handled according to local safety and environmental rules by qualified personnel.
Pros and cons at a glance
| Pros | Cons and risks |
|---|---|
| Distinctive red retro styling | Model reportedly discontinued in some markets |
| 600 mm width | Right-hand door is not reversible |
| 326 L listed total capacity | 3.5-star Australian energy rating |
| Bottom freezer with two drawers | CHOICE reported a failed energy check |
| Frost-free freezer and automatic refrigerator defrost | Special-order listings may quote 12–16 weeks |
| LED lighting, bottle rack, quick-chill shelves and fast-freeze drawer | Warranty and parts support must be verified locally |
| No plumbing required | Over-$3,400 price was reported by CHOICE at the time of its coverage |
Final verdict: who should buy the FAB32RRDNA1?
The FAB32RRDNA1 is a design-led refrigerator that delivers useful everyday features and a space-efficient 600 mm body, but it is not the rational choice for every kitchen. Its energy record and uncertain availability are serious enough that buyers should demand current stock, local warranty confirmation and a clear return path before committing.
What’s actually slowing this PC down?
Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.
If those checks pass and the red retro finish is genuinely important, it can be a satisfying centrepiece. If you mainly want efficient cooling, predictable delivery and long-term serviceability, compare current models first and buy the FAB32RRDNA1 only if it wins on your actual priorities rather than on appearance alone.
Frequently Asked Questions
Is 41 dB(A) quiet enough for an open-plan kitchen?
The rating is a useful benchmark, but perceived noise depends on the room, floor and compressor cycle. Ask whether the quoted figure comes from the same test standard used for the other models you are considering.
Can the FAB32RRDNA1 be installed flush inside cabinetry?
Do not assume that a freestanding refrigerator can be enclosed tightly. Follow the model’s ventilation and clearance instructions, and obtain the required measurements from the local manual before designing cabinetry around it.
What does the R600a refrigerant mean for repairs?
R600a is a hydrocarbon refrigerant. Repairs, refrigerant charging and end-of-life disposal should be performed under the safety and environmental rules that apply in your country by appropriately qualified technicians.
Free tools Windows power users keep installed
One-click scans. No signup required.
What should I do if a retailer lists the model as available but cannot give a delivery date?
Treat the listing as unconfirmed stock. Request a written allocation, dispatch window and refund terms, and do not rely on a special-order estimate when you need a refrigerator by a fixed date.
Quick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

