What’s actually slowing this PC down?
Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.
Some links on this page are affiliate links: if you buy through them we may earn a commission, at no extra cost to you.
The Smeg FAB32LORNA1 is a style-led, freestanding bottom-freezer refrigerator for buyers who want the brand’s 1950s appearance without a plumbed water or ice dispenser. Its published exact-model capacity is 326 litres, it is frost-free, and its Australian specification lists 323 kWh of annual energy use and 41 dBA of noise. The main caution is availability: CHOICE recorded the model as discontinued in its 2020 entry, so any current listing needs careful verification. Check the left-hand hinge, cabinet clearances, warranty terms and the suffix on the appliance before paying.
Is the Smeg FAB32LORNA1 worth buying?
It can be worthwhile when appearance, a bottom freezer and simple frost-free operation matter more than the newest efficiency label or the certainty of long-term stock. The refrigerator offers useful everyday equipment, a medium-size footprint and no plumbing requirement, but it is not a sensible blind purchase because CHOICE lists the exact model as discontinued and warranty information differs between published sources.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
For a buyer who has found a genuine left-hinge orange FAB32LORNA1 at a defensible price, the decision should turn on four checks: the appliance must physically fit, the seller must document support in your region, the warranty must be stated in writing, and the model number must be confirmed rather than inferred from a similar FAB32 listing. If those checks fail, a current model with a clearly published energy label and service coverage is the safer choice.
What the available evidence does and does not show
CHOICE records a 2020 test year and a $2,990 price, but its public entry does not expose an expert score, temperature results, reliability score or satisfaction score. There is also no broad, accessible user-review corpus that would support claims about long-term reliability or owner satisfaction. This review therefore assesses the documented design, specifications and buying risks rather than inventing a performance ranking.
#1 Best Overall
- Read Before You Buy — No Video Output: These adapters support charging and USB 2.0 data transfer, but cannot transmit video signals. Except for standard USB webcams (which use USB data only), they are not compatible with HDMI/DisplayPort cables, video-capable USB-C hubs, or docking stations with video output.
- Convert USB-A Ports to USB-C: Designed to connect USB-C earphones, cables, flash drives, card readers, and other USB-C accessories to standard USB-A ports. Plug-and-play with no drivers or software required.
- Aluminum Alloy Housing: Built with a sturdy aluminum alloy shell that aids in heat dissipation and protects against daily wear and scratches. Designed to maintain a stable and secure connection.
- Compact & Travel-Friendly: The ultra-compact design allows the adapter to stay plugged into your device without blocking adjacent ports or adding bulk, reducing wear and tear on your original USB ports.
- 12-Month Warranty: Backed by a 12-month manufacturer warranty for peace of mind. Designed to meet strict quality control standards for reliable everyday performance.
What is the FAB32LORNA1?
The FAB32LORNA1 is the orange, left-hinge version of Smeg’s 50s-style FAB32 refrigerator-freezer family. It is a freestanding appliance with the freezer below the refrigerator. The model has no water dispenser and no ice dispenser, so it does not need a household water connection or a plumbing kit.
CHOICE classifies it as a small 300–380 litre refrigerator and records Italy as the country of origin in its 2020 listing. “Small” in that classification does not mean compact in height: the cabinet is nearly two metres tall, so the kitchen’s vertical clearance matters as much as floor width.
Do these 3 things before closing this tab:
1Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errors2Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitches3Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsHow much usable space does it provide?
Exact-model listings give the FAB32LORNA1 326 litres of total claimed storage: 228 litres for the refrigerator and 98 litres for the freezer. Smeg’s family sheet uses a different gross-capacity convention, listing 229 litres for the refrigerator, 75 litres for the freezer and 304 litres total. These figures are not contradictory measurements of the same usable space; they are different conventions, so do not add or compare them as though they were interchangeable.
| Capacity figure | Refrigerator | Freezer | Total | How to read it |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| CHOICE and Appliances Online exact-model figures | 228 L | 98 L | 326 L | Published claimed storage for the specific FAB32LORNA1 |
| Smeg FAB32 family sheet | 229 L | 75 L | 304 L | Gross-capacity convention for the family; not directly equivalent to the figures above |
What is inside the refrigerator?
The documented equipment includes three quick-chill glass shelves, a bottle rack, a crisper drawer and an egg tray. The quick-chill shelves are useful when you need a dedicated cold area for recently purchased food, while the bottle rack and crisper separate common items without requiring extra accessories.
How is the freezer arranged?
The freezer has two drawers and a fast-freezing compartment. Drawers make categories easier to separate than a single open cavity, although the published material does not state the dimensions of each drawer or the maximum size of a package that will fit. Treat the 98-litre figure as the model’s claimed freezer storage, not a guarantee that every litre is unobstructed.
Rank #2
- 5-in-1 USB-C Hub: Experience comprehensive connectivity featuring a Power Delivery input, two USB-A 2.0 ports, a USB-A 3.0 port, and an HDMI port. (Note: The USB-C power delivery input port is only for connecting an external wall charger to power your laptop and cannot power peripheral devices.)
- 90W Pass-Through Charging: Achieve optimal charging with 90W pass-through power to your laptop, supported by a total input of 100W, with the hub reserving 10W for operational efficiency. (Note: Wall charger not included.)
- Quick Data Transfers: Accelerate your productivity with rapid data transfers using a high-speed 5Gbps USB 3.0 port and two 480Mbps USB 2.0 ports.
- 4K HDMI Display: Enhance your visual experience with a hub capable of delivering 4K resolution at 30Hz in both mirror and extend modes. Please note that this hub is compatible with MacBook (macOS 12 and newer), Windows 10 and 11, ChromeOS, and laptops equipped with DP Alt Mode and Power Delivery. Note: This device is not compatible with Linux.
- What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (5-in-1, 4K HDMI), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
Will it fit my kitchen?
The stated product dimensions are 600 millimetres wide, 1,926 millimetres high and 720 millimetres deep when the handle is included. CHOICE recommends allowing approximately 700 mm of width, 1,980 mm of height and 770 mm of depth for installation. The larger installation envelope leaves room around the cabinet rather than describing the metal body alone.
| Measurement | Appliance specification | Approximate installation allowance | Why the difference matters |
|---|---|---|---|
| Width | 600 mm | 700 mm | Allows side clearance and door movement |
| Height | 1,926 mm | 1,980 mm | Allows overhead clearance; measure the actual opening |
| Depth | 720 mm including handle | 770 mm | Allows the handle, ventilation and usable door swing |
Smeg’s documentation warns that specifications can change, so an installer should measure the physical appliance rather than relying only on an online drawing. Confirm the route into the home as well as the final recess: a narrow doorway, stair landing or tight turn can be more restrictive than the kitchen opening.
Why does the left hinge matter?
The FAB32LORNA1 is the left-hinge orange version. With the hinges on the left, the door opens toward the right side of the room. A wall, tall pantry or another appliance immediately beside the hinge side can prevent the door from opening far enough to remove shelves or drawers, even when the cabinet itself fits.
- Stand in front of the proposed position and identify the hinge side of the listing’s photographs or specification.
- Measure the opening width and height, then add the recommended clearance rather than stopping at 600 by 1,926 mm.
- Mark the door arc on the floor and check that nearby furniture does not block the handle or drawer travel.
- Ask the seller or installer whether the hinge is reversible for this exact suffix; do not assume that a different FAB32 generation has the same door hardware.
- Have the delivery team verify the appliance’s real dimensions before removing packaging or committing to cabinetry changes.
What features affect day-to-day operation?
The refrigerator is documented as frost-free, also described as automatic defrost. That removes the routine of manually chipping ice from the freezer. The family documentation also specifies electronic temperature control, a fast-freezing function and temperature and door-open alarms for the FAB32 platform.
Fast freezing
Fast freezing is intended for newly added food when you want it chilled or frozen quickly. The published material does not state a precise activation time, maximum load or automatic shut-off period, so use the controls and instructions supplied with the individual appliance rather than assuming a universal setting.
The Tool Desk
Outbyte PC Repair FREERepair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsFix Now →Outbyte Driver Updater FREEScan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteDriver Scan →Rank #3
- Sleek 7-in-1 USB-C Hub: Features an HDMI port, two USB-A 3.0 ports, and a USB-C data port, each providing 5Gbps transfer speeds. It also includes a USB-C PD input port for charging up to 100W and dual SD and TF card slots, all in a compact design.
- Flawless 4K@60Hz Video with HDMI: Delivers exceptional clarity and smoothness with its 4K@60Hz HDMI port, making it ideal for high-definition presentations and entertainment. (Note: Only the HDMI port supports video projection; the USB-C port is for data transfer only.)
- Double Up on Efficiency: The two USB-A 3.0 ports and a USB-C port support a fast 5Gbps data rate, significantly boosting your transfer speeds and improving productivity.
- Fast and Reliable 85W Charging: Offers high-capacity, speedy charging for laptops up to 85W, so you spend less time tethered to an outlet and more time being productive.
- What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (7-in-1), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
Alarms
A temperature alarm can warn that the compartment is warmer than its target, while a door-open alarm can draw attention to an incompletely closed door. Alarm thresholds, sounds and reset procedures are not stated in the available specifications; confirm them in the model’s manual before relying on the appliance for unattended monitoring.
No plumbing requirement
Because there is no water or ice dispenser, installation does not require a water line, filter or drain connection. That simplifies placement in a kitchen where plumbing would be expensive or impossible, but it also means there is no built-in supply of chilled water or dispenser ice.
How much electricity and noise should I expect?
The Australian specification lists 323 kWh per year, a 3.5-star energy rating and 41 dBA of noise. The 323 kWh figure is an annual label value, not a promise that every household will measure the same result. Smeg states: “Actual energy use and running costs will depend on how you use the appliance.”
To estimate an annual electricity cost, multiply 323 kWh by your retailer’s current price per kWh. That calculation is more useful than converting the number into a universal dollar amount because tariffs, supply charges and time-of-use rates differ by location. Frequent door opening, warm food loads, hot rooms and inadequate ventilation can all change real consumption.
Recommended Free Tools
A 41 dBA rating places the model’s published sound figure in the range buyers normally consider for a living-area appliance, but the number is a specification rather than a guarantee of silence. Room acoustics, flooring, cabinet vibration and compressor cycling can affect what you hear. Leave the recommended space around the cabinet and level it correctly during installation.
Rank #4
- Dual Converters, Infinite Potential:Includes 2× USB C male to USB A female adapters and 2× USB A male to USB C female adapters. Perfect for a wide range of uses—tablets with Bluetooth keyboards, expand USB ports on macbook, and more. Two different converters for all your daily needs
- Next-Level 10Gbps & 3A Charging: No more slow 480Mbps, this usb to usb c adapter has a transfer speed of up to 10Gbps, allowing you to do more transferring in less time. This usb adapter fits both USB A and USB C charger, supporting up to 3A fast charging
- Upgraded Exquisite Craftsmanship: With an aluminum alloy housing and metal connector, the usbc to usb adapter is extremely durable and sturdy. Rigorously tested to withstand more than 10,000 times of plugging and unplugging, ensuring long-lasting performance
- Broad Compatible: The usb c to usb adapter widely supports all USB C/ USB A devices like laptops, tablets, cellphones, car chargers, and phone chargers. Such as compatible with MacBook Pro/Air 2023/2022, Thunderbolt 4/3 Devices,Apple MagSafe Watch 9/8/7/SE/Ultra, iPad Pro 2022/2021, Samsung Galaxy S23/S20/S10, and iPhone 17/16/15 Pro. Plug and play
- Please Note: To reach 10Gbps speed, keep the cable under 3.3 ft. For USB A Male to USB C adapters, try flipping the USB C connector. USB C Male to USB A adapters support bidirectional 10Gbps transfer within 3.3 ft
What did it cost, and can I still buy one?
CHOICE recorded a $2,990 price and a 2020 test year for the FAB32LORNA1. That is historical evidence, not a current quote. CHOICE also marks the exact model as discontinued, so present-day stock may be residual inventory, a second-hand unit or a listing that uses the FAB32 name for a different suffix.
Before ordering, ask the seller to provide a photograph of the rating plate or carton showing “FAB32LORNA1,” the orange finish and the left-hinge configuration. A product page titled only “FAB32” is not enough: newer generations can have different dimensions, energy labels, sound figures and internal equipment.
How should I interpret the warranty information?
Appliances Online’s listing for the exact orange model states a five-year manufacturer warranty. Smeg Australia’s specification sheet states two years for parts and labour. Those statements may reflect different regions, promotion dates, channels or warranty components, so neither should be generalized to every buyer.
Quick wins for a faster PC:
Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteDriver Scan →Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsFree Scan →Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →Get the applicable terms in writing before payment. Confirm who performs service, whether transport is included, whether the term covers parts and labour or only selected components, and whether the warranty follows a second owner. Keep the invoice and the model and serial numbers because a discontinued appliance can require a more specific service path.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.How should I compare it with another refrigerator?
Compare the complete specification of the competing model, not just its brand or the “FAB32” family name. A newer FAB32 suffix may look similar while changing capacity, hinge clearance, energy labeling or noise performance.
Best Value
- 5-in-1 Connectivity: Equipped with a 4K HDMI port, a 5 Gbps USB-C data port, two 5 Gbps USB-A ports, and a USB C 100W PD-IN port. Note: The USB C 100W PD-IN port supports only charging and does not support data transfer devices such as headphones or speakers.
- Powerful Pass-Through Charging: Supports up to 85W pass-through charging so you can power up your laptop while you use the hub. Note: Pass-through charging requires a charger (not included). Note: To achieve full power for iPad, we recommend using a 45W wall charger.
- Transfer Files in Seconds: Move files to and from your laptop at speeds of up to 5 Gbps via the USB-C and USB-A data ports. Note: The USB C 5Gbps Data port does not support video output.
- HD Display: Connect to the HDMI port to stream or mirror content to an external monitor in resolutions of up to 4K@30Hz. Note: The USB-C ports do not support video output.
- What You Get: Anker 332 USB-C Hub (5-in-1), welcome guide, our worry-free 18-month warranty, and friendly customer service.
| Comparison question | What to record for the FAB32LORNA1 | What to verify on the alternative |
|---|---|---|
| How much food fits? | 326 L claimed total; 228 L refrigerator and 98 L freezer | Whether its figures are claimed storage or gross capacity, and the split between compartments |
| Will it fit? | 600 W × 1,926 H × 720 D mm including handle; allow about 700 × 1,980 × 770 mm | Body, handle, ventilation and door-open dimensions |
| What will it consume and sound like? | 323 kWh/year, 3.5 stars, 41 dBA in the Australian specification | The same region’s current energy label and sound rating |
| How much maintenance is involved? | Frost-free/automatic defrost | Whether it is frost-free and how its filters or ice system are maintained |
| Is it readily supported? | CHOICE lists the model as discontinued | Current production status, parts availability and local service coverage |
| What protection do I receive? | Published warranty statements differ by source | Written terms for the exact seller, region and model suffix |
What are the main strengths and limitations?
Strengths
- Distinctive orange 1950s-style design for buyers who want the refrigerator to be a visible part of the kitchen.
- Bottom-freezer layout keeps the main refrigerator compartment at a convenient standing height.
- 326 litres of claimed exact-model storage, with a documented 228/98-litre refrigerator/freezer split.
- Frost-free operation, fast freezing and documented temperature and door-open alarms.
- No plumbing requirement because there is no water or ice dispenser.
- Useful included fittings: quick-chill glass shelves, bottle rack, crisper, egg tray and two freezer drawers.
Limitations and risks
- CHOICE records the model as discontinued, making current stock and future parts support less certain.
- The left hinge can be a serious constraint beside a wall or tall cabinet.
- The published capacity varies by measurement convention, so buyers should not compare 326 litres directly with a competitor’s gross figure.
- The 3.5-star label is not the newest efficiency class, and actual consumption depends on use and installation.
- Warranty information is inconsistent across the cited seller and manufacturer documents.
- No public CHOICE score or broad user-review evidence is available to establish a reliability or satisfaction verdict.
What should I check before accepting delivery?
Use this checklist at the point of sale and again when the appliance arrives:
- Confirm the full model code is FAB32LORNA1, not a visually similar FAB32 suffix.
- Confirm the colour is orange and the hinge is on the left.
- Measure the opening, delivery route and door arc against the appliance and installation dimensions.
- Ask for the current energy label and verify that the 323 kWh/year and 3.5-star figures apply to the unit being sold in your region.
- Obtain the warranty duration, coverage, service contact and exclusions in writing.
- Inspect the rating plate, doors, shelves, drawers and seals before signing for an undamaged delivery.
- Keep the invoice, serial number and all manuals, especially if the seller describes the unit as clearance or discontinued stock.
Frequently Asked Questions
Does the Smeg FAB32LORNA1 have a reversible door?
The available specifications identify it as a left-hinge model but do not establish that the hinge can be moved. Ask Smeg or the seller to confirm reversibility for the FAB32LORNA1 specifically, because door hardware can differ between FAB32 suffixes.
Can I install the FAB32LORNA1 without a water connection?
Yes. It has no water or ice dispenser, so normal installation does not require a plumbed water line. You still need an appropriate electrical outlet and the clearances specified for ventilation and door movement.
How can I calculate what 323 kWh per year will cost me?
Multiply 323 by your electricity tariff in dollars per kilowatt-hour, then consider any time-of-use rate differences. The result excludes fixed supply charges and may differ from actual consumption because the label value depends on standardized conditions.
Is a newer FAB32 model automatically a replacement for the FAB32LORNA1?
No. A newer suffix may change the cabinet dimensions, hinge arrangement, capacity convention, energy label, sound rating or included equipment. Compare its own datasheet and installation drawing rather than carrying the NA1 specifications across the family.
What should I do if a listing says the FAB32LORNA1 is available but the model is discontinued?
Request a current photograph of the rating plate, the manufacturing or stock status and written warranty terms before paying. Treat an unverified listing as a different model or residual stock until the exact code, colour, hinge and support arrangements are documented.
Free tools Windows power users keep installed
One-click scans. No signup required.
Quick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

