Some links on this page are affiliate links: if you buy through them we may earn a commission, at no extra cost to you.
The SleepMaker Miracoil Maple was a queen-size, firm, light-spring mattress that CHOICE lists as discontinued. Its documented specification is 173 springs per square metre, 12 layers, a 30 cm profile and a 31 kg weight. The listed price was $1,599, although a CHOICE shopper negotiated a purchase at $899. It is impossible to give the Maple a reliable performance verdict from public information because CHOICE’s Expert Rating and individual test results are member-only. Current Miracoil products show what SleepMaker now claims for the range, but they are not proof that a discontinued Maple used the same materials, coil layout or warranty. If you find one today, treat it as discontinued stock or a used mattress and verify the exact label, age, condition, warranty and return terms before paying.
Is the SleepMaker Miracoil Maple any good?
The fairest answer is that the Maple has useful published specifications and a documented negotiated price, but not enough public test data for a defensible quality score. CHOICE identifies it as a firm, light-spring queen mattress and marks it discontinued. Its public page shows the kinds of tests CHOICE performs, yet the Maple’s Expert Rating and category results remain behind membership, so support, motion stability, resistance to sagging, breathability, durability and warmth cannot be ranked from the public record.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
Quick wins for a faster PC:
Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsFix Now →That distinction matters when you see an old listing described as “tested” or “top rated.” A product appearing in a CHOICE test table does not mean its numerical results are visible to everyone, and no score should be inferred from the Maple’s spring count, thickness or price. The available evidence supports a description of what the mattress was, not a claim that it will suit every sleeper or remain competitive with a current model.
What the available evidence does establish
- It was a queen-size mattress with a firm feel and a light-spring construction.
- CHOICE recorded 173 springs per square metre, 12 layers, a 31 kg weight and 30 cm thickness.
- The listed price was $1,599; one CHOICE shopper paid $899 after negotiating, recorded as a 44% reduction.
- CHOICE marks the model discontinued.
- The Maple’s individual laboratory-style results and Expert Rating are not publicly stated.
What cannot be confirmed
There is no public evidence here that identifies every foam, fabric or padding layer, the Maple’s exact coil zoning, its original warranty wording, its manufacturing date range or a current successor model. Current Miracoil marketing must therefore be read separately from the Maple’s historical record.
#1 Best Overall
- Read Before You Buy — No Video Output: These adapters support charging and USB 2.0 data transfer, but cannot transmit video signals. Except for standard USB webcams (which use USB data only), they are not compatible with HDMI/DisplayPort cables, video-capable USB-C hubs, or docking stations with video output.
- Convert USB-A Ports to USB-C: Designed to connect USB-C earphones, cables, flash drives, card readers, and other USB-C accessories to standard USB-A ports. Plug-and-play with no drivers or software required.
- Aluminum Alloy Housing: Built with a sturdy aluminum alloy shell that aids in heat dissipation and protects against daily wear and scratches. Designed to maintain a stable and secure connection.
- Compact & Travel-Friendly: The ultra-compact design allows the adapter to stay plugged into your device without blocking adjacent ports or adding bulk, reducing wear and tear on your original USB ports.
- 12-Month Warranty: Backed by a 12-month manufacturer warranty for peace of mind. Designed to meet strict quality control standards for reliable everyday performance.
What are the SleepMaker Miracoil Maple’s specifications?
The following are the specifications CHOICE published for the queen model. “Light-spring” is CHOICE’s classification; it is not a statement that the mattress is lightweight overall, since the recorded weight is 31 kg.
| Specification | Maple value | How to interpret it |
|---|---|---|
| Size | Queen | The listing concerns the queen version; confirm dimensions on the sewn label before buying an old or unlabelled mattress. |
| Feel | Firm | Firmness is a comfort description, not an independent support or durability score. |
| Spring classification | Light-spring | CHOICE uses this category; the public listing does not provide a complete coil drawing. |
| Springs | 173 per square metre | A density figure only. It does not reveal wire gauge, coil height, zoning, edge support or long-term sagging resistance. |
| Layers | 12 | The number of layers is published, but the material and thickness of each layer are not stated publicly. |
| Weight | 31 kg | The recorded mattress weight; bedding, packaging and a base are not included in that figure. |
| Thickness | 30 cm | A substantial profile, but height alone does not establish comfort or service life. |
| Current status | Discontinued | New stock, if any exists, may be old inventory; listings should be checked carefully rather than assumed current. |
| CHOICE Expert Rating and individual results | Not publicly stated | The public page keeps these details behind membership, so no numerical performance claim is justified. |
Spring density is often used in mattress advertising as a quick proxy for quality. It is a poor standalone shortcut. Two mattresses can have the same number of springs per square metre but differ in coil shape, steel, zoning, edge reinforcement, comfort materials and construction tolerances. For the Maple, those missing details are precisely why the published specification should not be turned into a performance verdict.
What did the Maple mattress cost?
CHOICE recorded a listed price of $1,599 for the queen Maple. In the same investigation, its shopper negotiated the price down to $899, a $700 reduction or 44% off the listed figure. That is a historical transaction, not a current recommended retail price or an inflation-adjusted value.
| Price reference | Amount | Qualification |
|---|---|---|
| Listed price | $1,599 | The price recorded for the Maple in CHOICE’s investigation. |
| Negotiated purchase | $899 | Paid by CHOICE’s shopper after negotiation; the table records a 44% reduction. |
| Average negotiation result | 43% saving | CHOICE’s 2017 investigation average across 22 queen mattresses, not a guaranteed Maple discount. |
The negotiation result is useful context if you are comparing an old retailer quote, but it should not be used to set a present-day value. A discontinued mattress may have spent years in storage, may lack a transferable warranty, or may be sold privately without a return right. Conversely, a genuinely unused old-stock mattress with verifiable provenance can be worth more than a heavily worn example. Ask for a written price, the model label and the seller’s return and warranty terms rather than anchoring on the old $899 figure.
Rank #2
- 5-in-1 USB-C Hub: Experience comprehensive connectivity featuring a Power Delivery input, two USB-A 2.0 ports, a USB-A 3.0 port, and an HDMI port. (Note: The USB-C power delivery input port is only for connecting an external wall charger to power your laptop and cannot power peripheral devices.)
- 90W Pass-Through Charging: Achieve optimal charging with 90W pass-through power to your laptop, supported by a total input of 100W, with the hub reserving 10W for operational efficiency. (Note: Wall charger not included.)
- Quick Data Transfers: Accelerate your productivity with rapid data transfers using a high-speed 5Gbps USB 3.0 port and two 480Mbps USB 2.0 ports.
- 4K HDMI Display: Enhance your visual experience with a hub capable of delivering 4K resolution at 30Hz in both mirror and extend modes. Please note that this hub is compatible with MacBook (macOS 12 and newer), Windows 10 and 11, ChromeOS, and laptops equipped with DP Alt Mode and Power Delivery. Note: This device is not compatible with Linux.
- What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (5-in-1, 4K HDMI), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
Is the SleepMaker Miracoil Maple still available?
CHOICE marks the Maple discontinued. That means it is no longer a current model in the cited listing; it does not prove that every retailer, warehouse or private seller has stopped offering old stock. Any listing today should be treated as a separate availability question and checked for age and condition.
How to assess an old-stock listing
- Photograph the law label and model name. The label should identify SleepMaker and Maple clearly. Do not assume that a seller’s headline is accurate when the sewn label is missing.
- Ask when it was manufactured and how it was stored. A sealed mattress in a dry warehouse is a different proposition from one that has been used, displayed or stored in a damp environment.
- Confirm the queen size and physical condition. Check for stains, odour, moisture damage, broken handles, crushed edges and visible body impressions before arranging delivery.
- Get warranty terms in writing. Establish whether the original warranty still applies, whether it transfers to a second owner and who pays inspection or transport costs.
- Check the return policy before payment. A discontinued product may not have the same trial or exchange arrangements as a current mattress.
SleepMaker’s New Zealand guidance recommends using a quality mattress protector. That advice is especially practical for an older mattress because a protector helps keep the cover clean, but it does not restore worn comfort layers or convert a used mattress into new stock. A queen mattress protector is the appropriate size category for the Maple; verify the protector’s fit against the mattress dimensions you actually receive.
What does the current Miracoil range offer?
SleepMaker’s current Miracoil page describes a broader range rather than the discontinued Maple. It lists super-firm, firm, medium and plush feels, Miracoil support, Climatex quilting, KülKōte temperature-regulation material, Australian manufacture and a 10-year warranty. These are current-range or manufacturer claims and should not be read as a specification sheet for the Maple.
| Feature | Current Miracoil range claim | What is established for Maple |
|---|---|---|
| Feel choices | Super-firm, firm, medium and plush options | Firm; no evidence of other Maple feels. |
| Coil design | SleepMaker describes a 3- or 5-zone, Z-shaped continuous-coil design. | Exact Maple zoning and coil shape are not publicly stated. |
| Support capacity | SleepMaker says the current design can support two adults weighing 120 kg each. | No Maple-specific capacity claim is established. |
| Quilting and temperature materials | Climatex quilting and KülKōte temperature regulation are named for the current range. | It is not confirmed that the discontinued Maple used either material. |
| Manufacture | Australian manufacture is claimed for the current range. | The Maple’s manufacturing location is not stated in the available public specification. |
| Warranty | The current product page states a 10-year warranty; SleepMaker’s New Zealand site says warranties vary by range from 3 to 10 years. | Maple warranty wording and duration are not established here. |
SleepMaker describes the current coil as a “3 or 5-zoned ‘z’ shaped continuous coil design that provides total body support for people of all ages and stages.” That is manufacturer copy, not an independent test conclusion. It can help you understand what a new Miracoil model is intended to do, but it cannot fill the evidence gaps around an older Maple.
Rank #3
- Sleek 7-in-1 USB-C Hub: Features an HDMI port, two USB-A 3.0 ports, and a USB-C data port, each providing 5Gbps transfer speeds. It also includes a USB-C PD input port for charging up to 100W and dual SD and TF card slots, all in a compact design.
- Flawless 4K@60Hz Video with HDMI: Delivers exceptional clarity and smoothness with its 4K@60Hz HDMI port, making it ideal for high-definition presentations and entertainment. (Note: Only the HDMI port supports video projection; the USB-C port is for data transfer only.)
- Double Up on Efficiency: The two USB-A 3.0 ports and a USB-C port support a fast 5Gbps data rate, significantly boosting your transfer speeds and improving productivity.
- Fast and Reliable 85W Charging: Offers high-capacity, speedy charging for laptops up to 85W, so you spend less time tethered to an outlet and more time being productive.
- What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (7-in-1), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
What is the difference between the Maple and a current Miracoil mattress?
The Maple is a single discontinued firm model with a known historical specification. “Miracoil” is a current product family with multiple feels and updated materials, so a newer Miracoil mattress may be a replacement in name only.
| Decision factor | Maple | Current Miracoil range |
|---|---|---|
| Availability | Discontinued; only old stock or second-hand examples may remain. | Presented by SleepMaker as a current range, subject to local retailer inventory. |
| Firmness | Firm. | Super-firm, firm, medium and plush choices are described. |
| Support construction | 173 springs per square metre are recorded; detailed zoning is not public. | SleepMaker describes a 3- or 5-zone continuous Z-shaped coil. |
| Comfort materials | 12 layers are recorded, but layer materials are not public. | Climatex and KülKōte are named on the current page. |
| Thickness and weight | 30 cm and 31 kg. | Not stated in the cited current-range information. |
| Warranty | Not established from the public Maple information. | 10 years on the cited current page; SleepMaker also says warranties vary from 3 to 10 years by range in New Zealand. |
| Independent results | CHOICE scores are not publicly visible. | No independent score is supplied here for the current range. |
If you want a direct replacement, match the feel first, then verify the support system and comfort materials. A medium or plush current model will not reproduce the Maple’s firm feel, while a firm model may still differ in pressure relief because its padding and quilting are different. Ask the retailer to identify the exact model and written specifications instead of accepting “Miracoil” as proof of equivalence.
Recommended Free Tools
How much should you trust the Maple’s missing CHOICE scores?
You should treat the missing scores as unknown, not as average or poor. CHOICE’s public page exposes the test categories but keeps the Maple’s Expert Rating and individual results behind membership. There is therefore no defensible number for support, stability, sagging resistance, breathability, durability or warmth in the public record used for this review.
This limitation also prevents a fair ranking against another mattress unless that other mattress has comparable, published testing under the same method. Retailer descriptions, spring counts and warranty length measure different things. A long warranty may describe the manufacturer’s remedy conditions, while a laboratory test addresses a specific performance characteristic; neither substitutes for the other.
Rank #4
- Dual Converters, Infinite Potential:Includes 2× USB C male to USB A female adapters and 2× USB A male to USB C female adapters. Perfect for a wide range of uses—tablets with Bluetooth keyboards, expand USB ports on macbook, and more. Two different converters for all your daily needs
- Next-Level 10Gbps & 3A Charging: No more slow 480Mbps, this usb to usb c adapter has a transfer speed of up to 10Gbps, allowing you to do more transferring in less time. This usb adapter fits both USB A and USB C charger, supporting up to 3A fast charging
- Upgraded Exquisite Craftsmanship: With an aluminum alloy housing and metal connector, the usbc to usb adapter is extremely durable and sturdy. Rigorously tested to withstand more than 10,000 times of plugging and unplugging, ensuring long-lasting performance
- Broad Compatible: The usb c to usb adapter widely supports all USB C/ USB A devices like laptops, tablets, cellphones, car chargers, and phone chargers. Such as compatible with MacBook Pro/Air 2023/2022, Thunderbolt 4/3 Devices,Apple MagSafe Watch 9/8/7/SE/Ultra, iPad Pro 2022/2021, Samsung Galaxy S23/S20/S10, and iPhone 17/16/15 Pro. Plug and play
- Please Note: To reach 10Gbps speed, keep the cable under 3.3 ft. For USB A Male to USB C adapters, try flipping the USB C connector. USB C Male to USB A adapters support bidirectional 10Gbps transfer within 3.3 ft
How should you inspect a used Maple before buying?
A hands-on inspection is more important than the old retail price when the mattress has been used. Bring a phone light, photograph the label and inspect the mattress in a bright, dry room before accepting delivery.
Check the cover and hygiene
- Look for stains, mould, dampness, persistent odour and tears around seams.
- Check whether the cover has been removed or altered; a missing original cover can complicate warranty claims.
- Ask whether the mattress has always been protected and whether it came from a smoke-free, pet-free environment, while recognising that seller statements are not independent verification.
Check support and shape
- View the mattress from the side and end for a permanent dip, bowing or collapsed edge.
- Press across the centre, shoulders and edges and compare the recovery response. A temporary impression from packaging is different from a persistent body sag.
- Confirm that the base or frame is compatible and stable; a poor base can change how any spring mattress feels.
Check paperwork
- Request the original invoice, model name, purchase date and warranty booklet if available.
- Ask the seller to state in writing whether the sale is final and whether any manufacturer warranty can be transferred.
- Keep photographs of the label and condition at delivery in case the item differs from the listing.
Do not buy solely because the mattress is unused or still sealed. Sealed packaging confirms little about storage conditions, age or whether the seller can honour a warranty. Conversely, a clean, lightly used mattress may still have comfort-layer wear that is not visible until you lie on it.
What should you compare when researching a replacement?
Use a like-for-like checklist rather than comparing names. The following fields expose the differences that a shared “Miracoil” label can hide.
| Comparison field | Questions to ask | Why it matters |
|---|---|---|
| Feel | Is it firm, super-firm, medium or plush, and can you test it in person? | Firmness is the Maple’s clearest comfort characteristic; a different feel changes pressure distribution. |
| Support system | What coil design, zoning and edge reinforcement are specified? | Spring count alone does not describe how the mattress supports different body areas. |
| Comfort layers | What are the materials and thicknesses above the springs? | These layers strongly influence cushioning, heat retention and how quickly the surface changes. |
| Profile and weight | What are the finished thickness and mattress weight? | These affect base compatibility, fitted-sheet depth and handling. |
| Warranty | What period applies to this exact model, what defects qualify and who pays transport? | Warranty ranges differ even within a product family. |
| Price | Is the quote current, negotiable, promotional or clearance stock? | The Maple’s $899 transaction was a historical negotiated price, not a universal benchmark. |
| Availability and returns | Is the model current, and what happens if the feel is unsuitable? | Discontinued products can have limited stock and fewer remedies. |
| Independent data | Are test methods and results actually published? | Do not treat an inaccessible rating or a retailer claim as a verified score. |
Who should consider the Maple, and who should skip it?
The Maple is worth investigating only when you can verify the label, condition and seller terms and when you specifically want a firm feel. Its known 30 cm profile and 31 kg weight may also matter if you are checking delivery access or fitted-sheet depth. Those facts do not make a used example a safe purchase without an inspection.
Best Value
- 5-in-1 Connectivity: Equipped with a 4K HDMI port, a 5 Gbps USB-C data port, two 5 Gbps USB-A ports, and a USB C 100W PD-IN port. Note: The USB C 100W PD-IN port supports only charging and does not support data transfer devices such as headphones or speakers.
- Powerful Pass-Through Charging: Supports up to 85W pass-through charging so you can power up your laptop while you use the hub. Note: Pass-through charging requires a charger (not included). Note: To achieve full power for iPad, we recommend using a 45W wall charger.
- Transfer Files in Seconds: Move files to and from your laptop at speeds of up to 5 Gbps via the USB-C and USB-A data ports. Note: The USB C 5Gbps Data port does not support video output.
- HD Display: Connect to the HDMI port to stream or mirror content to an external monitor in resolutions of up to 4K@30Hz. Note: The USB-C ports do not support video output.
- What You Get: Anker 332 USB-C Hub (5-in-1), welcome guide, our worry-free 18-month warranty, and friendly customer service.
- Consider it if the mattress is genuinely clean, the age and storage history are documented, the price reflects its discontinued status and you have a written return or warranty position.
- Be cautious if the seller cannot show the sewn label, describes it only as “Miracoil,” or relies on the old $1,599 list price to justify a modern asking price.
- Choose a current model instead if you need a selectable feel, a clearly documented warranty, a retailer return policy or current construction details.
- Do not infer performance from the 173-spring figure, 12-layer count or 30 cm height because the public Maple record does not include the test results needed to connect those numbers with durability or comfort.
In short, the Maple is a documented discontinued mattress, not a currently verifiable recommendation. Its historical price and specifications can help identify a listing, while the absence of public CHOICE scores means the buying decision must rest on condition, paperwork, feel and risk tolerance rather than an invented rating.
Frequently Asked Questions
Does a 10-year Miracoil warranty apply to the discontinued Maple?
Not automatically. The 10-year statement belongs to SleepMaker’s cited current product page, while SleepMaker also says warranty periods vary from 3 to 10 years by range in New Zealand. Ask for the Maple’s original warranty document and written confirmation that it applies to the specific serial or owner before treating it as covered.
What’s actually slowing this PC down?
Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.
How can I verify that an online listing is really a Maple?
Request a clear photograph of the sewn law label, the model name and any original invoice before arranging delivery. A listing that says only “Miracoil” does not identify the Maple, because Miracoil is also used for a broader current range with different feel options and materials.
Is the old $899 price a fair amount to pay today?
It is evidence of one negotiated purchase recorded by CHOICE, not a present-day valuation. Compare the seller’s price with the mattress’s age, storage, hygiene, return rights and transferable warranty; an old unopened unit and a used unit should not be priced the same way.
What if I want a softer mattress than the Maple?
The Maple is recorded as firm, so look at a current model’s stated feel rather than assuming every Miracoil product feels alike. SleepMaker describes medium and plush options in the current range, but test the exact model and confirm the retailer’s exchange terms before buying.
Quick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

