Some links on this page are affiliate links: if you buy through them we may earn a commission, at no extra cost to you.
Yes, if you own a PS5 and enjoy cinematic action games with exploration and optional side activities. Ghost of Yōtei is a substantial one-player adventure built around Atsu’s story, and its solo campaign does not require Legends or a PlayStation Plus subscription. The main caveat is fit: players who dislike open-world detours or have little interest in replaying combat may get less from its extra activities and add-on modes.
Released on October 2, 2025, it is a standalone adventure set in 1600s rural Japan, roughly 300 years after Ghost of Tsushima. The Complete Edition’s additional solo content arrived in October 2026, so buyers can now judge the available package rather than a future roadmap.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
Is Ghost of Yōtei worth buying for solo players?
For the right player, yes. Ghost of Yōtei is designed to work as a single-player game: PlayStation lists it as one-player, and Atsu’s campaign is a standalone story set in 1600s rural Japan. You can play the main adventure without joining Legends, which is a separate online co-op mode.
The core appeal is a mix of narrative, exploration and weapon-based combat. PlayStation describes travel on foot or horseback, melee and ranged fighting, and optional activities that can improve Atsu’s abilities. GameSpot reviewer Richard Wakeling praised the exploration, story and variety across five weapons, while also noting generic bounty targets and occasional camera interference. Those are that reviewer’s judgments, not guarantees of how every player will feel.
Popular on Amazon
- Read Before You Buy — No Video Output: These adapters support charging and USB 2.0 data transfer, but cannot transmit video signals. Except for standard USB webcams (which use USB data only), they are not compatible with HDMI/DisplayPort cables, video-capable USB-C hubs, or docking stations with video output.
- Convert USB-A Ports to USB-C: Designed to connect USB-C earphones, cables, flash drives, card readers, and other USB-C accessories to standard USB-A ports. Plug-and-play with no drivers or software required.
- Aluminum Alloy Housing: Built with a sturdy aluminum alloy shell that aids in heat dissipation and protects against daily wear and scratches. Designed to maintain a stable and secure connection.
- Compact & Travel-Friendly: The ultra-compact design allows the adapter to stay plugged into your device without blocking adjacent ports or adding bulk, reducing wear and tear on your original USB ports.
- 12-Month Warranty: Backed by a 12-month manufacturer warranty for peace of mind. Designed to meet strict quality control standards for reliable everyday performance.
The strongest reason to buy is the campaign itself, not a promise of endless content. Optional exploration and later combat modes add ways to spend time, but they are most valuable to players who like investigating an open world, revisiting encounters or taking on repeated combat challenges. If you want a tightly focused story with little side content, the game’s pacing may be less appealing.
Who is most likely to enjoy it?
- Good fit: PS5 owners who like cinematic action, weapon variety, exploration and the option to pursue side activities at their own pace.
- More conditional fit: players primarily interested in the story, who may prefer to stay near the critical path rather than pursue every activity.
- Less compelling fit: players who are tired of open-world detours or do not enjoy replaying combat encounters and survival runs.
This recommendation is an assessment of the game’s published features and attributed reviews, not a hands-on verdict. The practical question is whether its exploration and repeatable combat sound like a bonus you will use or extra content you will leave untouched.
Quick wins for a faster PC:
Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsFix Now →Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsFree Scan →What kind of solo game is it?
Atsu’s journey is not an online service that expects a group, a season pass or regular multiplayer sessions. The campaign combines directed story missions with a broad Ezo setting that you can cross on foot or horseback. Combat supports five weapons and both close-range and ranged approaches, while optional activities provide reasons to leave the main route. That structure gives a story-focused player room to move on, but it also means the world can feel slower if you prefer a strictly linear action game.
PlayStation’s one-player label applies to the main experience. Legends is a free-to-owners online co-op addition, not a requirement hidden inside the campaign. You do not need to assemble a team to finish Atsu’s story, and you do not need PlayStation Plus for that solo content.
How long is Ghost of Yōtei?
There is no official fixed completion time. Sucker Punch’s FAQ answers the question with, “That depends on you, the player,” and published estimates vary widely depending on difficulty, side content and route.
| Play style or estimate | Reported time | Source and qualification |
|---|---|---|
| Story-focused, easiest difficulty | About 10 hours | PowerPyx estimate, 2025 |
| Moderate side content on Medium | 20–30 hours | PowerPyx estimate, 2025 |
| Completionist route | 50–60 hours | PowerPyx estimate, 2025 |
| Critical path | 35–40 hours | GamesRadar+ estimate, 2025 |
| Some extra content | 40–60 hours | GamesRadar+ estimate, 2025 |
| Story completion before cleanup | 53 hours | GameSpot reviewer Richard Wakeling’s disclosed playtime, 2025 |
These figures are not interchangeable measures of a standard playthrough. PowerPyx’s roughly 10-hour estimate describes an easiest-difficulty, story-focused run, while its 20–30-hour estimate includes moderate side content. GamesRadar+ gives a substantially longer critical-path estimate of 35–40 hours, and Wakeling reported 53 hours to finish the story before cleanup. The differing estimates show why one number cannot promise how long the game will take you.
Windows Errors? Fix Them Before They Spread
Repair common Windows errors and clear accumulated junk for a smoother, more stable PC - no reinstall needed.Free scan · no reinstallOutdated Drivers Are Slowing You Down
One free scan finds every outdated or missing driver and matches the right update for your exact hardware.Free scan · exact hardware matchExploration, travel, difficulty and how often you pursue optional activities can all change the pace. In particular, a completionist estimate should not be treated as the amount of story everyone gets, and a fast story-focused estimate does not represent a player who stops regularly to explore. A player who follows every lead, experiments with weapons and revisits encounters can reasonably spend much longer than someone who moves mission to mission.
The estimates also use different definitions. “Critical path” can exclude substantial optional content, while a reviewer’s disclosed time may include natural exploration and failed attempts. None is an official promise from Sucker Punch, and none should be used to calculate the length of the later paid expansion.
How long is the Echoes of Sekigahara expansion?
VGC reviewer Jordan Middler estimated about five hours for the expansion’s main campaign in an October 2026 review. Side missions and bounties add a few more hours, according to that review; this is an attributed estimate, not an official duration or a measure of the base game.
That makes Echoes a compact additional story rather than a second full-length campaign. Its value depends on whether you want another Atsu narrative in a new area and are comfortable with a shorter chapter. It should not be added to the base-game estimates as though every owner receives a fixed number of extra hours.
Free tools Windows power users keep installed
One-click scans. No signup required.
Also popular on Amazon
- 5-in-1 USB-C Hub: Experience comprehensive connectivity featuring a Power Delivery input, two USB-A 2.0 ports, a USB-A 3.0 port, and an HDMI port. (Note: The USB-C power delivery input port is only for connecting an external wall charger to power your laptop and cannot power peripheral devices.)
- 90W Pass-Through Charging: Achieve optimal charging with 90W pass-through power to your laptop, supported by a total input of 100W, with the hub reserving 10W for operational efficiency. (Note: Wall charger not included.)
- Quick Data Transfers: Accelerate your productivity with rapid data transfers using a high-speed 5Gbps USB 3.0 port and two 480Mbps USB 2.0 ports.
- 4K HDMI Display: Enhance your visual experience with a hub capable of delivering 4K resolution at 30Hz in both mirror and extend modes. Please note that this hub is compatible with MacBook (macOS 12 and newer), Windows 10 and 11, ChromeOS, and laptops equipped with DP Alt Mode and Power Delivery. Note: This device is not compatible with Linux.
- What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (5-in-1, 4K HDMI), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
What solo content do you get without the Complete Edition?
The Standard Edition includes Atsu’s core single-player adventure. Its solo replay options also expanded after launch: the free November 2025 New Game Plus update added a post-story restart that carries forward earned progress, harder difficulty options, Ghost Flowers to exchange for rewards, additional equipment upgrades and replayable post-game content.
New Game Plus requires completing the main story first. PlayStation’s live page lists 22 challenge-content locations and 27 duels as replayable material, with those counts verified in 2026. They are counts of activities, not hours of additional narrative, so they should not be added together to estimate campaign length.
New Game Plus is therefore most useful to someone who enjoyed the combat and wants to test a stronger, more demanding version of Atsu. Carrying progress forward can reduce the sense of starting from zero, while tougher difficulty options give experienced players a reason to relearn encounters. It is less valuable if you only want a new story and do not intend to repeat missions.
The October 2026 update also added Beauty of Yōtei, additional Watanabe Mode tracks, flexibility in armor appearance and a high-contrast setting for owners without requiring the Complete Edition Upgrade. These free additions are easy to confuse with paid Complete Edition content, but they are available to owners of the game itself.
The Tool Desk
Outbyte Driver Updater FREEScan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteDriver Scan →Outbyte PC Repair FREEClear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsFree Scan →What does the Complete Edition add for solo play?
The Complete Edition includes two paid additions with different kinds of replay value. Echoes of Sekigahara is another Atsu narrative set in a new area; Most Wanted is a single-player combat-survival mode with repeatable runs, perks and unlockable playable characters.
Echoes of Sekigahara: another story chapter
Choose this if you want more narrative with Atsu rather than only a way to repeat combat. VGC’s October 2026 review estimated about five hours for its main campaign, with side missions and bounties adding a few more. Middler considered the expansion worthwhile but wished it were longer; that is one reviewer’s assessment, not a universal measure of its value.
Echoes is best viewed as a focused supplement after the main adventure. It gives a solo player a new setting and another narrative arc, but its reported duration means it may not justify a purchase for someone measuring value only in hours. Players who prioritize story continuity, atmosphere and a fresh region may value it more than players seeking a large second map.
Most Wanted: repeatable solo combat
Most Wanted is a better match for someone who enjoys combat runs and wants to return for perks and unlockable characters. Its run-based survival structure offers a different reason to revisit the game than a story expansion does. VGC found the mode engaging, again reflecting one reviewer’s judgment.
Because runs are repeatable, its value is less about a single completion time and more about whether you enjoy improving builds, surviving longer and unlocking options. It is not a substitute for a second story campaign. Someone who stops playing once the credits roll may get little from it, while a player who likes mastery-oriented combat can find it the more durable addition.
If you already own the base game, the upgrade decision depends on whether both kinds of content appeal to you. A player who mainly wants the original campaign does not need the upgrade to access New Game Plus or the free October 2026 additions.
Also popular on Amazon
- Sleek 7-in-1 USB-C Hub: Features an HDMI port, two USB-A 3.0 ports, and a USB-C data port, each providing 5Gbps transfer speeds. It also includes a USB-C PD input port for charging up to 100W and dual SD and TF card slots, all in a compact design.
- Flawless 4K@60Hz Video with HDMI: Delivers exceptional clarity and smoothness with its 4K@60Hz HDMI port, making it ideal for high-definition presentations and entertainment. (Note: Only the HDMI port supports video projection; the USB-C port is for data transfer only.)
- Double Up on Efficiency: The two USB-A 3.0 ports and a USB-C port support a fast 5Gbps data rate, significantly boosting your transfer speeds and improving productivity.
- Fast and Reliable 85W Charging: Offers high-capacity, speedy charging for laptops up to 85W, so you spend less time tethered to an outlet and more time being productive.
- What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (7-in-1), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
Which edition should a new buyer choose?
The choice is between the Standard Edition and the digital Complete Edition. In the US, PlayStation’s current listing shows the digital Complete Edition for $69.99 and lists the Standard Edition as a Blu-ray release. The Complete Edition includes the core game, Echoes of Sekigahara, Most Wanted and additional in-game items. The price for the Standard Edition disc is not stated on the cited PlayStation listing.
| Option | What it includes | US price listed | Format and buying note |
|---|---|---|---|
| Standard Edition | Core game | Not stated on the PlayStation US listing | PlayStation lists a Blu-ray edition; confirm the retailer’s current price and availability. |
| Complete Edition | Core game, Echoes of Sekigahara, Most Wanted and additional in-game items | $69.99 | Digital PlayStation listing. |
| Complete Edition Upgrade | The two paid Complete Edition additions for existing owners | $14.99 | Digital US upgrade listing for owners of the original game. |
Prices and listing details checked October 2026; they are observed US listings, not a promise of the lowest retailer price. Check the current store listing before buying.
What’s actually slowing this PC down?
Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.
For a new buyer certain they want both solo additions, compare the Complete Edition’s listed price with the current Standard Edition price plus the upgrade price. If you are unsure about the extra modes, starting with Standard Edition avoids paying for content you may not play. Existing owners can consider the separately listed $14.99 digital upgrade instead of buying the game again.
The documented physical release is the Ghost of Yōtei Standard Edition PS5 disc. Do not assume that the Complete Edition content is on that disc: PlayStation’s cited listing identifies a separate digital Complete Edition and a digital upgrade, not a Complete Edition Blu-ray. A physical buyer should also confirm the seller is offering the PS5 Blu-ray rather than an incorrectly labeled listing.
The Complete Edition’s September 30 early-unlock promotion has expired. Treat any current store page mentioning that promotion cautiously and check what is actually included at checkout. The listed prices are US observations, not guarantees of future discounts, retailer stock or regional pricing.
New buyer versus existing owner
- Buying for the first time and want everything: the $69.99 digital Complete Edition is the straightforward all-in-one option at the listed US price.
- Buying for the first time but unsure about add-ons: compare the current Standard Edition price and begin with the core campaign if the extra modes are not obvious priorities.
- Already own the game: keep your copy, play the free New Game Plus and October 2026 additions, then decide whether Echoes and Most Wanted justify the $14.99 upgrade.
- Prefer resale or lending: the documented physical path is the Standard Edition Blu-ray, subject to having a compatible disc drive.
- Use a digital-only PS5: choose a digital listing; a Blu-ray cannot be installed without a compatible drive.
What hardware and subscriptions do you need?
Ghost of Yōtei is for PS5 and has PS5 Pro support; it is not available for PS4. If you choose the Standard Edition Blu-ray, you need a compatible PS5 disc drive. A digital-only PS5 changes the purchase path to a digital edition.
That hardware requirement is easy to overlook when buying a used or physical copy. Check the console model before ordering, and do not assume a PS4 disc or PS4 entitlement exists. PS5 Pro support does not make a PS5 Pro mandatory; the game is listed for the standard PS5 as well.
PlayStation Plus is not needed for Atsu’s single-player campaign. It is required for Legends’ online co-op, and the subscription is sold separately. Legends is an optional multiplayer addition, not a prerequisite for the solo story.
Will Ghost of Yōtei have multiplayer?
It already has optional multiplayer through Ghost of Yōtei Legends. PlayStation describes Legends as “a co-op multiplayer game mode free for all Ghost of Yōtei owners.” That is separate from the campaign and should not be counted as extra solo story content.
Legends is aimed at players who want online co-op, while Most Wanted is the Complete Edition’s solo combat-survival addition. If you are buying strictly for solo play, do not pay for PlayStation Plus on the assumption that it unlocks Atsu’s campaign. If you later decide to try Legends, the subscription requirement applies to that online mode and is sold separately.
Recommended Free Tools
Also popular on Amazon
- Dual Converters, Infinite Potential:Includes 2× USB C male to USB A female adapters and 2× USB A male to USB C female adapters. Perfect for a wide range of uses—tablets with Bluetooth keyboards, expand USB ports on macbook, and more. Two different converters for all your daily needs
- Next-Level 10Gbps & 3A Charging: No more slow 480Mbps, this usb to usb c adapter has a transfer speed of up to 10Gbps, allowing you to do more transferring in less time. This usb adapter fits both USB A and USB C charger, supporting up to 3A fast charging
- Upgraded Exquisite Craftsmanship: With an aluminum alloy housing and metal connector, the usbc to usb adapter is extremely durable and sturdy. Rigorously tested to withstand more than 10,000 times of plugging and unplugging, ensuring long-lasting performance
- Widely Compatible: Transform any USB-C port into a USB-A port and USB-A port into a USB-C port, and connect up a wide range of USB-C(including MacBook, iPad Pro/Air/Mini, iPhone models with USB C ports, Samsung Galaxy series, and Google Pixel series. ) and USB A devices(including external hard drives, phones, mice, printers, and more)
- Please Note: To reach 10Gbps speed, keep the cable under 3.3 ft. For USB A Male to USB C adapters, try flipping the USB C connector. USB C Male to USB A adapters support bidirectional 10Gbps transfer within 3.3 ft
Is Ghost of Yōtei connected to Ghost of Tsushima?
Ghost of Yōtei is set roughly 300 years after Ghost of Tsushima, but Sucker Punch describes it as a standalone experience. Prior knowledge of the earlier game’s story is not necessary to follow Atsu’s adventure.
That distinction matters if you are deciding whether to buy this game on its own: you do not need to play the earlier story first. The setting and series connection provide context, but the campaign follows a different protagonist in a later period. Fans of the earlier game may recognize a broader thematic lineage, but this is not presented as a direct continuation requiring a save file or previous purchase.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.How should you judge the value?
Start with the core campaign, because that is the portion every edition is built around. Then ask two separate questions: will you replay combat, and do you want another short story? New Game Plus, 22 challenge locations and 27 duels serve the first preference. Echoes of Sekigahara serves the second, while Most Wanted targets players who enjoy repeated survival runs and unlocks.
Do not use sales as a substitute for personal fit. Sony Group reported 3.3 million global cumulative sell-through units as of November 2, 2025, 32 days after the US release. That is a historical sales figure, not a current total, a playtime statistic or evidence of how many buyers played solo or enjoyed the game.
Do these 3 things before closing this tab:
1Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errors2Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitches3Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsLikewise, do not average the published playtime estimates into a made-up “normal” length. A ten-hour easiest-difficulty route, a 53-hour reviewer completion before cleanup and an 80-plus-hour completionist estimate from GamesRadar+ describe different behaviors. Your likely value depends on how much of the world and combat you actually want to use.
Bottom line for solo buyers
Ghost of Yōtei is a credible solo purchase for a PS5 owner who wants a cinematic, exploration-heavy action game with a standalone story. The base game offers a substantial range of reported playtimes, five-weapon combat and optional activities without requiring Legends or PlayStation Plus. Free updates add New Game Plus, tougher options, rewards, replayable encounters and quality-of-life features.
The Complete Edition is most persuasive for players who specifically want both a compact additional story and a repeatable survival mode. Existing owners can buy the $14.99 US digital upgrade rather than repurchase the game. New buyers should compare the $69.99 digital Complete Edition with the current Standard Edition disc price, confirm PS5 compatibility and avoid assuming the physical disc includes the paid additions.
If you dislike open-world detours, want only one tightly paced story and rarely replay combat, Standard Edition—or waiting for a discount—may be the safer value. If exploration, weapon experimentation and repeatable challenges are exactly what you look for, the solo content provides a strong reason to buy.
Frequently Asked Questions
Does New Game Plus add a new story?
The New Game Plus update is a post-story restart that carries forward earned progress and adds tougher difficulty options, Ghost Flowers, equipment upgrades and replayable encounters. It is a way to replay the existing adventure, not a separate narrative campaign.
How many replayable activities are listed for New Game Plus?
PlayStation’s 2026 page lists 22 challenge-content locations and 27 duels. Those are activity counts, not a promised number of hours.
Also popular on Amazon
- 5-in-1 Connectivity: Equipped with a 4K HDMI port, a 5 Gbps USB-C data port, two 5 Gbps USB-A ports, and a USB C 100W PD-IN port. Note: The USB C 100W PD-IN port supports only charging and does not support data transfer devices such as headphones or speakers.
- Powerful Pass-Through Charging: Supports up to 85W pass-through charging so you can power up your laptop while you use the hub. Note: Pass-through charging requires a charger (not included). Note: To achieve full power for iPad, we recommend using a 45W wall charger.
- Transfer Files in Seconds: Move files to and from your laptop at speeds of up to 5 Gbps via the USB-C and USB-A data ports. Note: The USB C 5Gbps Data port does not support video output.
- HD Display: Connect to the HDMI port to stream or mirror content to an external monitor in resolutions of up to 4K@30Hz. Note: The USB-C ports do not support video output.
- What You Get: Anker 332 USB-C Hub (5-in-1), welcome guide, our worry-free 18-month warranty, and friendly customer service.
Do I need PlayStation Plus to play Ghost of Yōtei solo?
No. PlayStation Plus is required for Legends’ online co-op, but not for Atsu’s single-player campaign or the solo modes.
Can I change how the armor looks without buying the upgrade?
Yes. The October 2026 patch added armor-appearance flexibility for owners of the game, without requiring the Complete Edition Upgrade.
Recommended Free Tools
Is Echoes of Sekigahara a full-length sequel?
No. VGC reviewer Jordan Middler estimated about five hours for its main campaign, with side missions and bounties adding a few more. It is an additional Atsu story, not a second full-length game.
Is Most Wanted playable alone?
Yes. Most Wanted is a single-player combat-survival mode with repeatable runs, perks and unlockable playable characters. It is separate from the online Legends mode.
Does the Standard Edition disc include the Complete Edition expansions?
The documented physical release is the Standard Edition Blu-ray. PlayStation lists the Complete Edition and the $14.99 US upgrade digitally, so do not assume the paid additions are on the Standard disc.
Do Ghost of Yōtei’s sales figures show that the solo game is popular?
Sony Group reported 3.3 million global cumulative sell-through units as of November 2, 2025, 32 days after the US release. That historical figure does not identify how many buyers played solo, how many still play or whether those players enjoyed the game.
Do I need to play Ghost of Tsushima first?
No. Sucker Punch describes Ghost of Yōtei as a standalone experience set roughly 300 years later, so prior story knowledge is unnecessary.
Will Ghost of Yōtei run on PS4?
No. It is listed for PS5 with PS5 Pro support and is not a PS4 release.
The Bottom Line
Bottom line: Buy Ghost of Yōtei for solo play if you have a PS5 and want cinematic exploration, flexible weapon combat and a standalone story. Standard Edition covers the core experience; the digital Complete Edition or $14.99 upgrade makes sense only if you want Echoes of Sekigahara and Most Wanted. No PlayStation Plus subscription or Legends session is needed for Atsu’s campaign.
Quick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.
Free tools Windows power users keep installed
One-click scans. No signup required.

