Some links on this page are affiliate links: if you buy through them we may earn a commission, at no extra cost to you.
The Shark BreatheClear Air Purifier Max HP362 is a strong fit for buyers who want a tall, sensor-driven purifier for a large open room and would rather avoid routine HEPA purchases. Shark rates it for up to 1,650 square feet at one air change per hour (ACH) on maximum fan speed, and claims 99.98% particle capture at every speed plus up to six years without routine HEPA replacement. Those are manufacturer claims under stated test conditions, not a guarantee that every setting will clean a 1,650-square-foot home equally well. The main compromises are its 23.38-inch height, uncertain app/remote support, and loud high-speed operation reported for the closely related Costco HP365CO variant. For bedrooms or very large spaces, independently measured CADR and the speed you can tolerate matter more than the headline coverage number.
Is the Shark HP362 worth buying?
Yes, if long filter life, automatic sensing and a large-room form factor matter more to you than compactness, phone control or quiet operation at maximum speed. The HP362’s differentiator is its NeverChange filtration system: Shark says the HEPA filter can last up to six years without routine replacement, potentially saving up to $350. Its sensors scan the air 3,600 times per hour and can adjust fan power automatically.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
The Tool Desk
Outbyte PC Repair FREEClear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsFree Scan →Outbyte Driver Updater FREEScan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteDriver Scan →It is not an automatic recommendation for every 1,650-square-foot space. Shark’s rating assumes one ACH and maximum fan speed. Independent testing of the closely related Costco HP365CO found good pet and bedroom suitability, but loud operation at its highest setting and insufficient low-speed CADR for larger rooms. Treat the HP362 as a tall, sensor-rich console whose real-world value depends on the speed you will actually run.
Quick verdict
- Best for: large open rooms, pet owners, allergy-sensitive households and anyone prioritizing fewer HEPA purchases.
- Less suitable for: small bedrooms with limited floor space, buyers who require a mobile app or remote, and people who need maximum airflow to be quiet.
- Buying check: confirm the current HP362 listing’s controls, price and filter availability; retailer-specific variants can differ.
What are the HP362’s specifications?
The following figures come from SharkNinja’s 2026 product information unless another source is named. The HP362’s published square-foot figure and particle-capture percentage are manufacturer claims; they should not be read as independent CADR measurements.
#1 Best Overall
- Read Before You Buy — No Video Output: These adapters support charging and USB 2.0 data transfer, but cannot transmit video signals. Except for standard USB webcams (which use USB data only), they are not compatible with HDMI/DisplayPort cables, video-capable USB-C hubs, or docking stations with video output.
- Convert USB-A Ports to USB-C: Designed to connect USB-C earphones, cables, flash drives, card readers, and other USB-C accessories to standard USB-A ports. Plug-and-play with no drivers or software required.
- Aluminum Alloy Housing: Built with a sturdy aluminum alloy shell that aids in heat dissipation and protects against daily wear and scratches. Designed to maintain a stable and secure connection.
- Compact & Travel-Friendly: The ultra-compact design allows the adapter to stay plugged into your device without blocking adjacent ports or adding bulk, reducing wear and tear on your original USB ports.
- 12-Month Warranty: Backed by a 12-month manufacturer warranty for peace of mind. Designed to meet strict quality control standards for reliable everyday performance.
| Specification | HP362 information | How to interpret it |
|---|---|---|
| Rated coverage | Up to 1,650 sq. ft. at 1 ACH on maximum fan speed | A one-air-change-per-hour condition. Coverage will be lower at quieter settings or in rooms with poor air circulation. |
| Particle capture | 99.98% at every speed | Shark’s stated result using its cited test methods; not an independent certification in the supplied materials. |
| Air monitoring | 3,600 scans per hour | Motion, light, VOC and odor sensors feed automatic fan adjustments and the onboard LCD. |
| CADR | Not stated for HP362 in the available product information | Do not substitute the HP365CO retailer figure for HP362 without confirming that the hardware is identical. |
| Power and voltage | 60 watts; 120 volts | The 60-watt figure is a product specification, not a promise that every fan setting draws 60 watts. |
| Dimensions | 12.87 × 12.67 × 23.38 inches | Measure shelf, doorway and outlet locations before buying; it is notably tall. |
| Weight | 13.56 pounds | Light enough to move between rooms, but tall enough to need a stable, level position. |
| Warranty | Two-year limited warranty | Keep the receipt and check the warranty exclusions and registration requirements. |
| Filter-life claim | Up to six years without routine HEPA replacement | A manufacturer claim that depends on household particle load and the pre-filter being maintained. |
How much space can the HP362 really clean?
Shark’s “up to 1,650 square feet” figure applies to one ACH at maximum fan speed. ACH describes how many times the purifier can theoretically process a room’s entire air volume in an hour. At one ACH, the rating represents a relatively gentle turnover rate; it does not mean every pollutant is removed after one pass, nor that a closed bedroom and an open-plan living area will behave the same way.
For planning, compare competing products at the same ACH assumption. A purifier advertised for a similar area at four or five ACH is being judged more aggressively than one rated at one ACH. Room shape, ceiling height, open doors, furniture and placement also affect mixing. The HP362’s tall cabinet can help it draw air from a broader vertical range, but that does not replace adequate airflow.
Why CADR matters more than a square-foot headline
Clean Air Delivery Rate (CADR) combines airflow and filtration performance. The available data does not provide a laboratory CADR for HP362. Costco lists 220 CFM and 220 dust, pollen and smoke CADR for the related HP365CO, but that retailer specification should not be presented as an HP362 measurement unless Shark confirms the models share the same fan and filter assembly.
If you are choosing one unit for a very large open plan, ask for an HP362 CADR measured under a recognized protocol or compare independent tests of the exact model number. Otherwise, treat the 1,650-square-foot rating as a maximum-speed, one-ACH marketing condition and plan to use more than one purifier when rooms are separated by walls or doors.
Rank #2
- 5-in-1 USB-C Hub: Experience comprehensive connectivity featuring a Power Delivery input, two USB-A 2.0 ports, a USB-A 3.0 port, and an HDMI port. (Note: The USB-C power delivery input port is only for connecting an external wall charger to power your laptop and cannot power peripheral devices.)
- 90W Pass-Through Charging: Achieve optimal charging with 90W pass-through power to your laptop, supported by a total input of 100W, with the hub reserving 10W for operational efficiency. (Note: Wall charger not included.)
- Quick Data Transfers: Accelerate your productivity with rapid data transfers using a high-speed 5Gbps USB 3.0 port and two 480Mbps USB 2.0 ports.
- 4K HDMI Display: Enhance your visual experience with a hub capable of delivering 4K resolution at 30Hz in both mirror and extend modes. Please note that this hub is compatible with MacBook (macOS 12 and newer), Windows 10 and 11, ChromeOS, and laptops equipped with DP Alt Mode and Power Delivery. Note: This device is not compatible with Linux.
- What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (5-in-1, 4K HDMI), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
Does NeverChange really mean no filter replacements?
No. “NeverChange” means Shark claims the main HEPA filter can operate for up to six years without routine replacement under its test conditions. It does not mean the filter is permanent, immune to heavy smoke or construction dust, or exempt from inspection. Shark’s launch material also claims up to $350 in avoided filter costs over that period.
The HP362 uses a washable Debris Defense screen ahead of the main filter. Shark says this screen catches dust, pet hair and lint before they reach the HEPA media. Cleaning that screen is the maintenance task that supports the long-life claim; a home with shedding pets, wildfire smoke or renovation dust can load it faster than a low-particle household.
Recommended Free Tools
What ends the six-year claim in practice?
- A visibly loaded or damaged pre-filter screen can restrict airflow before six years.
- Persistent odors or declining airflow may indicate that the main filter has reached the end of its useful life earlier than the headline estimate.
- Moisture, smoke residue and unusually dusty environments can shorten service life.
- Replacement timing should follow the HP362 indicator and owner’s instructions rather than the calendar alone.
Shark lists a HEPA filter base, filter door, Debris Defense pre-filters and Debris Defense Pro screens as HP362 service parts. Availability can change, so verify that the part number and stock status match your exact unit before ordering.
How does the HP362’s sensing and automatic mode work?
The purifier combines motion, light, VOC and odor sensing with air-quality monitoring. Shark says it scans the air 3,600 times per hour, then uses those readings to adjust power automatically. The onboard LCD shows live readings, giving you a visual indication of changing conditions without opening a phone app.
Rank #3
- Sleek 7-in-1 USB-C Hub: Features an HDMI port, two USB-A 3.0 ports, and a USB-C data port, each providing 5Gbps transfer speeds. It also includes a USB-C PD input port for charging up to 100W and dual SD and TF card slots, all in a compact design.
- Flawless 4K@60Hz Video with HDMI: Delivers exceptional clarity and smoothness with its 4K@60Hz HDMI port, making it ideal for high-definition presentations and entertainment. (Note: Only the HDMI port supports video projection; the USB-C port is for data transfer only.)
- Double Up on Efficiency: The two USB-A 3.0 ports and a USB-C port support a fast 5Gbps data rate, significantly boosting your transfer speeds and improving productivity.
- Fast and Reliable 85W Charging: Offers high-capacity, speedy charging for laptops up to 85W, so you spend less time tethered to an outlet and more time being productive.
- What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (7-in-1), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
VOC and odor sensors detect chemical or smell-related changes; they are not a complete substitute for particle measurements or ventilation. A cooking event, cleaning product or fragrance can cause an automatic response even when visible dust is low. Conversely, a room can contain carbon dioxide or humidity problems that a particle purifier does not solve.
What controls are documented?
The HP362 has onboard controls and an LCD. Independent RTINGS testing of HP365CO, a Costco-specific BreatheClear MAX variant, found five fan speeds and no app or remote. Because retailer variants can change, verify the current HP362 box and product page if phone control or a handheld remote is essential to you.
Free tools Windows power users keep installed
One-click scans. No signup required.
Is the HP362 quiet enough for a bedroom?
At low or automatic power, it may be tolerable for sleeping, but the available independent evidence warns against assuming silent high-speed operation. RTINGS found the HP365CO loud at maximum speed. It also found that the variant’s low-speed CADR was too weak for larger rooms, creating the usual trade-off: quiet settings reduce airflow, while the fastest setting cleans more aggressively but produces more noise.
The HP365CO test measured a body about 13.0 × 11.5 × 23.1 inches and 13.2 pounds, close to the HP362’s listed 12.87 × 12.67 × 23.38 inches and 13.56 pounds. Those similarities suggest useful context, not proof that HP362’s acoustics are identical. If nighttime noise is a deciding factor, listen to the unit in person or buy from a seller with a practical return policy.
Rank #4
- Dual Converters, Infinite Potential:Includes 2× USB C male to USB A female adapters and 2× USB A male to USB C female adapters. Perfect for a wide range of uses—tablets with Bluetooth keyboards, expand USB ports on macbook, and more. Two different converters for all your daily needs
- Next-Level 10Gbps & 3A Charging: No more slow 480Mbps, this usb to usb c adapter has a transfer speed of up to 10Gbps, allowing you to do more transferring in less time. This usb adapter fits both USB A and USB C charger, supporting up to 3A fast charging
- Upgraded Exquisite Craftsmanship: With an aluminum alloy housing and metal connector, the usbc to usb adapter is extremely durable and sturdy. Rigorously tested to withstand more than 10,000 times of plugging and unplugging, ensuring long-lasting performance
- Broad Compatible: The usb c to usb adapter widely supports all USB C/ USB A devices like laptops, tablets, cellphones, car chargers, and phone chargers. Such as compatible with MacBook Pro/Air 2023/2022, Thunderbolt 4/3 Devices,Apple MagSafe Watch 9/8/7/SE/Ultra, iPad Pro 2022/2021, Samsung Galaxy S23/S20/S10, and iPhone 17/16/15 Pro. Plug and play
- Please Note: To reach 10Gbps speed, keep the cable under 3.3 ft. For USB A Male to USB C adapters, try flipping the USB C connector. USB C Male to USB A adapters support bidirectional 10Gbps transfer within 3.3 ft
How do you set up and use the HP362?
- Choose the position. Put the purifier on a stable, level floor with the intake and exhaust unobstructed. Avoid wedging the tall cabinet behind furniture or curtains.
- Inspect the filter compartment. Remove all shipping film and packaging from the filter door and media before connecting power. Reinstall the door fully so the safety interlock can operate.
- Connect power. The unit is specified for 120-volt operation. Use a properly grounded outlet and avoid extension cords that cannot support the load.
- Start with automatic mode. Let the sensors establish a baseline, then watch the LCD as you cook, clean or open windows. Automatic operation is the simplest way to balance noise and response.
- Use a higher manual speed for short events. Cooking smoke, vacuuming or a dusty project may justify maximum airflow for a limited period. Return to a quieter setting once readings settle.
- Keep doors and windows in mind. A purifier cannot force clean air through a closed door. For multiple closed rooms, place a unit where people spend time or use more than one purifier.
What maintenance does the HP362 require?
NeverChange reduces routine HEPA purchases, not routine care. Follow the owner’s manual for the exact cleaning interval and indicator behavior. In general, inspect the Debris Defense screen regularly, remove accumulated hair and lint, and allow washable parts to dry completely before reinstalling them.
- Unplug the purifier before opening the filter door or cleaning.
- Clean only the washable Debris Defense component specified by Shark; do not wash the HEPA media unless the manual explicitly says to.
- Check that the filter door and pre-filter are seated correctly after service.
- Keep the intake free of loose fabric, toys and heavy dust that could reduce airflow.
- Replace a damaged or exhausted filter even if six years have not elapsed.
How much does the HP362 cost to own?
Prices are volatile. Shark’s page showed a $359.99 sale price against a $449.99 list price, while Costco listed the related HP365CO at $319.99. These are time-specific listings, not permanent prices, and the Costco model is not automatically interchangeable with HP362.
The ownership case rests on filter savings rather than the purchase price alone. Shark’s launch release says avoiding routine HEPA replacements for up to six years could save as much as $350. Compare that potential saving with the price of the purifier, electricity, shipping and any pre-filter or service parts. The six-year figure is a maximum claim; households with heavy smoke or dust may replace media sooner.
What does the 60-watt rating mean for electricity?
If the purifier actually drew 60 watts continuously, it would use 1.44 kilowatt-hours in 24 hours and about 43.2 kilowatt-hours in a 30-day month. Real consumption varies by fan speed and automatic cycling, so use your local electricity rate and a plug-in meter for a precise estimate.
Best Value
- 5-in-1 Connectivity: Equipped with a 4K HDMI port, a 5 Gbps USB-C data port, two 5 Gbps USB-A ports, and a USB C 100W PD-IN port. Note: The USB C 100W PD-IN port supports only charging and does not support data transfer devices such as headphones or speakers.
- Powerful Pass-Through Charging: Supports up to 85W pass-through charging so you can power up your laptop while you use the hub. Note: Pass-through charging requires a charger (not included). Note: To achieve full power for iPad, we recommend using a 45W wall charger.
- Transfer Files in Seconds: Move files to and from your laptop at speeds of up to 5 Gbps via the USB-C and USB-A data ports. Note: The USB C 5Gbps Data port does not support video output.
- HD Display: Connect to the HDMI port to stream or mirror content to an external monitor in resolutions of up to 4K@30Hz. Note: The USB-C ports do not support video output.
- What You Get: Anker 332 USB-C Hub (5-in-1), welcome guide, our worry-free 18-month warranty, and friendly customer service.
How does HP362 compare with alternatives?
The available evidence supports a directional comparison, not a complete laboratory ranking. Levoit’s Core 600S was faster at maximum speed in RTINGS’ comparison, while Winix’s C610 was quieter and more compact. Those statements come from RTINGS’ testing context and should not be generalized to every model revision or operating mode.
| Model or variant | Evidence available | What it means for a buyer |
|---|---|---|
| Shark BreatheClear Max HP362 | 1,650 sq. ft. at 1 ACH on maximum speed; 60 W; 120 V; 99.98% particle-capture claim; up to six-year routine HEPA interval claim; LCD and automatic sensing. | Choose for long-life filtration and sensor automation. Independent HP362 CADR and noise figures are not established here. |
| Shark BreatheClear MAX HP365CO | Costco lists 220 CFM and 220 dust, pollen and smoke CADR. RTINGS found five speeds, no app or remote, loud maximum speed and weak low-speed CADR for large rooms. | Useful context for the family, but Costco-specific hardware and measurements should not be copied onto HP362 without confirmation. |
| Levoit Core 600S | RTINGS found it faster than BreatheClear MAX at maximum speed. | Consider when maximum-speed cleaning performance is more important than NeverChange-style filter longevity. |
| Winix C610 | RTINGS found it quieter and more compact than BreatheClear MAX. | Consider when bedroom noise and footprint outweigh the HP362’s long-life filter design. |
| Shark HP302 | Comparable current CADR, noise, dimensions and filter-life figures are not stated in the available material. | Do not assume HP302 is simply a shorter or weaker HP362. Compare the exact model’s ACH basis, CADR, filter cost and controls before buying. |
What do owner ratings and retailer feedback show?
Costco’s HP365CO page displayed 4.6 out of 5 from 440 reviews, and Best Buy’s HP362 page displayed 4.7 out of 5 from 80 reviews. Those ratings indicate generally positive customer reception, but they are not controlled tests and may combine different room sizes, expectations and noise tolerances. Read reviews for comments about high-speed sound, filter access and whether the unit was used in an open plan or a closed bedroom.
Do these 3 things before closing this tab:
1Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minute2Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errors3Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesWho should buy the Shark HP362?
Buy it when these priorities match
- You want one tall console for a large, relatively open area.
- You value a washable pre-filter and the possibility of years between HEPA purchases.
- You want automatic response to motion, light, VOC and odor changes, with readings visible on the purifier itself.
- You can tolerate higher noise temporarily when maximum airflow is needed.
Look elsewhere when these constraints dominate
- You need a compact unit for a nightstand or a crowded bedroom.
- You require confirmed smartphone scheduling, remote control or smart-home integration.
- You need independently published CADR for a very large space before purchase.
- You expect the purifier to solve ventilation, humidity or carbon-dioxide problems; filtration alone cannot do that.
What is the bottom-line buying advice?
Buy the HP362 for its combination of long-life filtration, automatic sensing and a large-room form factor, not solely for the 1,650-square-foot label. Confirm the exact model’s CADR, controls and current price, then decide whether you can live with its height and the possibility of loud maximum-speed operation. For a bedroom, favor a speed you will run continuously; for a very large open plan, compare measured CADR or use multiple units rather than relying on a one-ACH marketing figure.
Frequently Asked Questions
Can the HP362 clean two closed rooms at once?
Not reliably with one unit. Air purifiers clean the air that can circulate through their intake, so a closed door sharply limits exchange; place the purifier in the occupied room or use separate units.
How much electricity will the HP362 use overnight?
Its listed draw is 60 watts, which would equal 0.48 kilowatt-hours over eight hours if it ran continuously at that draw. Automatic mode and lower fan speeds can use less, so your utility cost depends on actual cycling and your local rate.
Does a high VOC reading mean the room is unsafe?
No. The sensor is a trigger for the purifier, not a medical or building-safety instrument. Investigate strong odors and improve ventilation instead of treating the LCD reading as a complete diagnosis.
What’s actually slowing this PC down?
Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.
Can I wash the HP362 HEPA filter?
Do not wash the HEPA media unless Shark’s manual specifically permits it. The washable component is the Debris Defense screen; washing the wrong filter can damage the media and reduce performance.
Quick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

