Halloween DealsAmazon USHalloween week deals: useful picks before month-endAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.Check DealsPC HealthRecommendedCrashes, freezes, slowdowns? Check your PC nowSpot repairable issues before they interrupt work.Check PCHalloween DealsAmazon USOctober picks are moving - compare before checkoutAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.See Picks×
FREEDOM251

Freedom251 › Blog › appliance buying guide

Samsung RR70H39FCTEU Review: Is This 386L Tall Fridge Right for Your Kitchen?

By Freedom251 Team · · 9 min read

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Some links on this page are affiliate links: if you buy through them we may earn a commission, at no extra cost to you.

The Samsung RR70H39FCTEU SpaceMax 386L fridge is a strong fit if you want a roomy, tall, single-door refrigerator that is just 595 mm wide, with flexible shelving and connected features. Before buying, check three things carefully: its 1,858 mm height and delivery route, the clearance your kitchen can provide, and the energy and noise figures on the exact appliance label. Samsung and Currys publish conflicting efficiency and sound data, so those figures should not be treated as settled.

Is the Samsung RR70H39FCTEU worth buying?

It is worth considering if your priority is substantial refrigerator storage in a conventional 595 mm cabinet, rather than a fridge-freezer or a wider multi-door design. Its 386L marketed capacity, flexible shelf arrangement, two produce drawers and smart monitoring make it a feature-rich larder fridge. The main trade-offs are its height, 79 kg handling weight, required installation space and conflicting published energy and noise ratings.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

Free tools Windows power users keep installed

One-click scans. No signup required.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

The Samsung RR70H39FCTEU SpaceMax 386L fridge is a freestanding, single-door refrigerator in Gentle Silver. Samsung describes its capacity as 386L; its specification table records 387L gross total capacity. Those figures are not necessarily contradictory: the marketed capacity and gross capacity are different ways of reporting space. Use the stated model and its energy label when checking retailer listings, since suffixes and regional specifications can matter.

This is not a substitute for a freezer or a fridge-freezer: the reviewed model is a tall larder refrigerator. Its case is strongest for households that need a lot of chilled-food storage and have the vertical room and installation clearances to accommodate it. A buyer whose first concern is a verified energy rating, very low noise, or a smaller footprint should resolve the specification discrepancies and fit questions before paying.

#1 Best Overall
Elebase USB to USB C Adapter for iPhone 18 Pro Max,USBC Car Charger Adapter | 4Pack Type C Female to A Male Cable Converter for Apple Duo 17 16 15 14 Plus,iWatch Watch 12 11 10,iPad 9 8 Air,Airpods 5 4
  • Read Before You Buy — No Video Output: These adapters support charging and USB 2.0 data transfer, but cannot transmit video signals. Except for standard USB webcams (which use USB data only), they are not compatible with HDMI/DisplayPort cables, video-capable USB-C hubs, or docking stations with video output.
  • Convert USB-A Ports to USB-C: Designed to connect USB-C earphones, cables, flash drives, card readers, and other USB-C accessories to standard USB-A ports. Plug-and-play with no drivers or software required.
  • Aluminum Alloy Housing: Built with a sturdy aluminum alloy shell that aids in heat dissipation and protects against daily wear and scratches. Designed to maintain a stable and secure connection.
  • Compact & Travel-Friendly: The ultra-compact design allows the adapter to stay plugged into your device without blocking adjacent ports or adding bulk, reducing wear and tear on your original USB ports.
  • 12-Month Warranty: Backed by a 12-month manufacturer warranty for peace of mind. Designed to meet strict quality control standards for reliable everyday performance.

What are the key specifications?

Samsung’s UK product information supplies the core dimensions and features below. The energy class and noise figures conflict with the Currys listing, so the two sources are shown separately rather than blended.

Specification Published information
Appliance type and finish Freestanding, single-door tall larder refrigerator; Gentle Silver (Samsung)
Capacity 386L marketed capacity; 387L gross total capacity (Samsung)
Dimensions 595 mm wide × 1,858 mm high × 694 mm deep with handle; 644 mm deep without handle (Samsung)
Net weight 79 kg (Samsung)
Storage layout Five shelves, including one foldable shelf; five door pockets; two fruit-and-vegetable drawers; humidity control (Samsung)
Cooling features All Around Cooling and Power Cool (Samsung)
Lighting and handle Wide-top LED lighting; bar handle (Samsung)
Door Reversible (Samsung); Currys advises qualified installation for reversal
Refrigerant and compressor R-600a refrigerant; Digital Inverter Compressor (Samsung)
Connectivity Embedded Wi‑Fi, SmartThings app support and Bixby mobile support (Samsung)
Climate class ST (Samsung); SN/N/ST/T (Currys listing)
Energy and sound figures Samsung: C class, 97 kWh/year and 35 dBA. Currys: E class and 39 dB(A). Check the energy label on the exact unit.

How much storage does 386L provide?

A 386L marketed capacity is generous for a single-door refrigerator at 595 mm wide. It can be useful when you want a full-height chilled-food cabinet without adding a wider appliance, and the five door pockets and two produce drawers provide separate places for everyday items and fruit and vegetables.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

What the interior layout offers

  • Five shelves, one foldable: the foldable shelf provides an adjustment option when the usual shelf arrangement does not suit an item.
  • Five door pockets: door storage helps keep smaller packaged items accessible, though Samsung’s listed specification does not state the volume or dimensions of each pocket.
  • Two produce drawers and humidity control: the drawers provide a dedicated area for fruit and vegetables. The supplied specifications do not establish specific freshness durations or independent performance results.
  • Wide-top LED: Samsung lists this interior-lighting feature; there is no supplied brightness or coverage measurement.

Capacity figures alone do not tell you whether a particular fridge suits your shopping habits. Check the internal layout against the height of containers, trays and bottles you commonly store. The one foldable shelf offers some flexibility, but the available product information does not give shelf-by-shelf dimensions.

How well does it cool, and what do the smart features do?

Samsung lists All Around Cooling and Power Cool, plus embedded Wi‑Fi with SmartThings support. The product information also describes AI Energy Mode as capable of reducing energy use by up to 7.9% in Samsung’s internal comparison; that is a conditional, manufacturer-reported result, not a guaranteed saving for every household.

Rank #2
Sale
Anker USB-C Hub, 5-in-1 USB Hub for Laptops, 4K HDMI Multiport Adapter | USB C Dongle with 90W Max Power Delivery, 3×5Gbps USB A Data Ports, for MacBook, Dell, and More (Charger Not Included)
  • 5-in-1 USB-C Hub: Experience comprehensive connectivity featuring a Power Delivery input, two USB-A 2.0 ports, a USB-A 3.0 port, and an HDMI port. (Note: The USB-C power delivery input port is only for connecting an external wall charger to power your laptop and cannot power peripheral devices.)
  • 90W Pass-Through Charging: Achieve optimal charging with 90W pass-through power to your laptop, supported by a total input of 100W, with the hub reserving 10W for operational efficiency. (Note: Wall charger not included.)
  • Quick Data Transfers: Accelerate your productivity with rapid data transfers using a high-speed 5Gbps USB 3.0 port and two 480Mbps USB 2.0 ports.
  • 4K HDMI Display: Enhance your visual experience with a hub capable of delivering 4K resolution at 30Hz in both mirror and extend modes. Please note that this hub is compatible with MacBook (macOS 12 and newer), Windows 10 and 11, ChromeOS, and laptops equipped with DP Alt Mode and Power Delivery. Note: This device is not compatible with Linux.
  • What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (5-in-1, 4K HDMI), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.

Cooling functions

All Around Cooling is Samsung’s named cooling feature, while Power Cool is listed as a function for cooling. The supplied specification does not include independent temperature-stability measurements, recovery times after loading, or a laboratory comparison with other refrigerators. Treat the feature names as product functions, not proof of a measured real-world advantage.

Connected monitoring and AI Energy Mode

With embedded Wi‑Fi and SmartThings support, the refrigerator can be connected for monitoring and notifications; Samsung also lists Bixby mobile support. Samsung says AI Energy Mode can reduce energy use by up to 7.9% under its internal test conditions, with results varying according to usage. The percentage should not be applied as a guaranteed reduction to the listed 97 kWh/year figure: actual savings depend on use, and the available data does not provide the test protocol or a household-specific estimate.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

How much electricity will it use, and is it quiet?

Samsung’s product page gives a C energy class, annual consumption of 97 kWh and a sound figure of 35 dBA. Currys lists E and 39 dB(A) for what it presents as this model. Since both the energy class and sound figure differ, do not choose or estimate running costs from one listing until you have checked the label on the exact unit being delivered.

For a simple bill estimate, multiply the label’s annual kWh figure by your electricity unit rate. For example, if the verified label says 97 kWh/year and your rate is R per kWh, the arithmetic estimate is 97 × R per year. This is an estimate based on the label figure and your tariff, not a measured prediction of an individual home’s consumption; the available data does not provide a tariff or independent energy test.

Rank #3
Sale
Anker USB C Hub, 7in1 Multi-Port USB Adapter, 4K@60Hz USBC to HDMI Splitter | 85W Max PD, 2 USB 3.0 & 1 USBC Data Ports, SD/TF Card Reader, for Laptops/Mac and Other Type C Devices (Charger Not Included)
  • Sleek 7-in-1 USB-C Hub: Features an HDMI port, two USB-A 3.0 ports, and a USB-C data port, each providing 5Gbps transfer speeds. It also includes a USB-C PD input port for charging up to 100W and dual SD and TF card slots, all in a compact design.
  • Flawless 4K@60Hz Video with HDMI: Delivers exceptional clarity and smoothness with its 4K@60Hz HDMI port, making it ideal for high-definition presentations and entertainment. (Note: Only the HDMI port supports video projection; the USB-C port is for data transfer only.)
  • Double Up on Efficiency: The two USB-A 3.0 ports and a USB-C port support a fast 5Gbps data rate, significantly boosting your transfer speeds and improving productivity.
  • Fast and Reliable 85W Charging: Offers high-capacity, speedy charging for laptops up to 85W, so you spend less time tethered to an outlet and more time being productive.
  • What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (7-in-1), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.

The 35 dBA and 39 dB(A) values should likewise not be treated as interchangeable confirmation: they are different published figures, and the product records do not explain the discrepancy or provide a common measurement method. If the fridge will sit beside a living or sleeping area, request confirmation of the sound rating for the precise model suffix and region, and retain the product specification or listing associated with your order.

Will it fit your kitchen and get through the delivery route?

Measure both the final installation space and the path to it. The appliance itself is 595 mm wide and 1,858 mm high; its depth is 694 mm with the handle and 644 mm without it. Currys recommends 50 mm of side clearance, 25 mm above and 25 mm behind, so a recess measuring only the cabinet width is not enough to confirm the recommended installation space.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
  1. Measure the available position. Check width, height and depth, including the handle projection, skirting boards, pipes and any nearby wall or cabinetry.
  2. Allow the listed clearances. Currys specifies 50 mm at the sides, 25 mm at the top and 25 mm at the rear. Confirm the requirements supplied with the exact unit before installation.
  3. Check the delivery route. Measure doorways, hallways, turns, stairs and lift access against the appliance dimensions. Account for the 79 kg net weight and whether the delivery team can safely manoeuvre it.
  4. Plan the door swing. The door is reversible, but ensure it can open far enough in the chosen orientation without hitting a wall, island or adjacent cabinet. Currys recommends qualified installation for door reversal.
  5. Check the location. Currys says the appliance is not designed for use in an outbuilding. Do not assume an unheated garage or shed is suitable.

The listed climate-class information also differs: Samsung gives ST, while Currys lists SN/N/ST/T. Because of that discrepancy—and because the product is not intended for an outbuilding—verify the exact appliance’s climate-class label and installation instructions if the intended room may be unusually warm or cold.

What should you know about installation, door reversal and warranty?

The reversible door is useful if your kitchen layout requires the hinge on the opposite side, but reversal is an installation task rather than a reason to assume the fridge will arrive configured exactly as you need. Currys recommends qualified installation for this work. Confirm whether the retailer will reverse the door at delivery, whether that service costs extra, and whether the appliance can be positioned safely in the intended orientation.

Rank #4
Sale
UGREEN USB to USB C Adapter Combo 4-Pack, 10Gbps USB C Converter Space Gray | Data transfer & Fast charging for MacBook, iPhone 17/16/15, iPad, Samsung Galaxy, Apple Watch
  • Dual Converters, Infinite Potential:Includes 2× USB C male to USB A female adapters and 2× USB A male to USB C female adapters. Perfect for a wide range of uses—tablets with Bluetooth keyboards, expand USB ports on macbook, and more. Two different converters for all your daily needs
  • Next-Level 10Gbps & 3A Charging: No more slow 480Mbps, this usb to usb c adapter has a transfer speed of up to 10Gbps, allowing you to do more transferring in less time. This usb adapter fits both USB A and USB C charger, supporting up to 3A fast charging
  • Upgraded Exquisite Craftsmanship: With an aluminum alloy housing and metal connector, the usbc to usb adapter is extremely durable and sturdy. Rigorously tested to withstand more than 10,000 times of plugging and unplugging, ensuring long-lasting performance
  • Broad Compatible: The usb c to usb adapter widely supports all USB C/ USB A devices like laptops, tablets, cellphones, car chargers, and phone chargers. Such as compatible with MacBook Pro/Air 2023/2022, Thunderbolt 4/3 Devices,Apple MagSafe Watch 9/8/7/SE/Ultra, iPad Pro 2022/2021, Samsung Galaxy S23/S20/S10, and iPhone 17/16/15 Pro. Plug and play
  • Please Note: To reach 10Gbps speed, keep the cable under 3.3 ft. For USB A Male to USB C adapters, try flipping the USB C connector. USB C Male to USB A adapters support bidirectional 10Gbps transfer within 3.3 ft

Samsung states that the Digital Inverter Compressor has a 10-year compressor warranty for refrigerators purchased on or after 1 April 2026, subject to restrictions and proof of purchase. That statement concerns the compressor; it should not be read as a 10-year warranty on the entire refrigerator. Check the warranty terms applicable to the purchase, including exclusions and the steps needed to make a claim.

Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

How much does it cost, and what should you compare?

An independent guide, SamsungFridge.co.uk, reported a £1,149 recommended retail price in 2026 and said discounts are common. Another publisher, New Edge Times, claimed a £1,049 RRP, but the reported testing and price claim were not independently validated in the available material. These are secondary publisher claims, not a confirmed current selling price; check live stock, delivery terms and the retailer’s price before purchase.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

The independent guide named Currys, AO, John Lewis, Argos and Very as possible stockists, but availability and prices change. Compare the delivered price rather than the headline price, and check whether installation, door reversal, removal of an old appliance and delivery to the room are included. No current stock or retailer offer is established here.

A practical comparison checklist

  • Usable storage for the width: compare the capacity and internal layout with other fridges that fit the same space, not just the headline litres.
  • Verified annual consumption: use the energy label for the exact appliance and calculate annual cost using your own electricity rate.
  • Noise evidence: resolve the 35 dBA versus 39 dB(A) discrepancy using the exact model and region.
  • Installation cost and clearance: include the recommended gaps, any paid door reversal, and delivery access.
  • Warranty terms: distinguish compressor cover from coverage for the whole appliance.
  • Delivered price: compare like-for-like totals and confirm that the seller has the model suffix and finish you want.

What are the main strengths and cautions?

Reasons it may suit you

  • 386L marketed capacity in a 595 mm-wide cabinet.
  • Flexible storage with five shelves, a foldable shelf, five door pockets and two produce drawers.
  • All Around Cooling, Power Cool and humidity control are listed features.
  • Embedded Wi‑Fi and SmartThings support add monitoring and notification options.
  • A reversible door gives more installation flexibility, subject to appropriate fitting.

Reasons to pause before ordering

  • The 1,858 mm height and 79 kg weight make route and placement planning important.
  • It needs space beyond its cabinet dimensions; Currys specifies side, top and rear clearances.
  • Samsung and Currys publish conflicting energy-class and sound figures.
  • The 10-year warranty statement applies to the compressor under stated conditions, not automatically to the whole appliance.
  • Reported RRP figures are secondary claims, and current retailer prices and stock are not established.

Frequently Asked Questions

Does the RR70H39FCTEU have a freezer compartment?

No freezer compartment is listed in the specifications for this model; it is identified as a single-door larder refrigerator. If you need frozen-food storage, plan for a separate freezer or choose a fridge-freezer.

Best Value
Sale
Anker USB C Hub, 5-in-1 USBC to HDMI Splitter with 4K Display | 85W Max PD, 1 Powered USB-C 5Gbps & 2 Powered USB-A 3.0 5Gbps Data Ports, for MacBook Pro, MacBook Air, Dell and More (Black)
  • 5-in-1 Connectivity: Equipped with a 4K HDMI port, a 5 Gbps USB-C data port, two 5 Gbps USB-A ports, and a USB C 100W PD-IN port. Note: The USB C 100W PD-IN port supports only charging and does not support data transfer devices such as headphones or speakers.
  • Powerful Pass-Through Charging: Supports up to 85W pass-through charging so you can power up your laptop while you use the hub. Note: Pass-through charging requires a charger (not included). Note: To achieve full power for iPad, we recommend using a 45W wall charger.
  • Transfer Files in Seconds: Move files to and from your laptop at speeds of up to 5 Gbps via the USB-C and USB-A data ports. Note: The USB C 5Gbps Data port does not support video output.
  • HD Display: Connect to the HDMI port to stream or mirror content to an external monitor in resolutions of up to 4K@30Hz. Note: The USB-C ports do not support video output.
  • What You Get: Anker 332 USB-C Hub (5-in-1), welcome guide, our worry-free 18-month warranty, and friendly customer service.

Is the Samsung RR70H39FCTEU frost-free?

The product information available here does not establish whether it is frost-free. Check the exact model’s official specification or documentation before purchase rather than inferring it from the SpaceMax name or cooling features.

What warranty does the whole fridge have?

The cited Samsung information states a 10-year compressor warranty for refrigerators purchased on or after 1 April 2026, subject to restrictions and proof of purchase. It does not state the complete appliance warranty duration, so confirm that separately in the terms attached to your purchase.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Can I keep this fridge in a garage?

Currys describes the appliance as not designed for use in an outbuilding. A garage can experience temperatures outside a kitchen’s range, so do not assume it is suitable; check the unit’s climate-class label and manufacturer installation instructions for the intended location.

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

appliance buying guidelarder fridgeRR70H39FCTEUSamsung fridgetall fridge

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Recommended PC Tool
Recommended PC Tool
Outdated Drivers Are Slowing You DownFree scan - exact matches
PC Slower Than It Used to Be?Free scan - under a minute

Two free Windows tools

One Free Minute Could Fix That PC

Before you go - each of these free tools takes about a minute and tackles what quietly slows a Windows PC down.

Special offer. View Outbyte info, uninstall instructions, EULA, and Privacy Policy.