DriversRecommendedOutdated drivers can make a good PC feel brokenScan driver issues before chasing fixes manually.Scan NowHalloween DealsAmazon USHalloween week deals: useful picks before month-endAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.Check DealsSlow PC?RecommendedPC slow today? Run a repair scan before it gets worseResolve common Windows issues and optimize system performance.Scan Now×
FREEDOM251

Freedom251 › Blog › AirPods

Nomad Stand One Max (4th Gen) Review: Fast 25W Charging, Premium Build—and a Few Trade-Offs

By Freedom251 Team · · 10 min read

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Some links on this page are affiliate links: if you buy through them we may earn a commission, at no extra cost to you.

The fourth-generation Nomad Stand One Max is a premium, fixed-angle wireless charging station for three devices: a compatible iPhone or other Qi2/MagSafe phone at up to 25W, an Apple Watch, and AirPods or other Qi-compatible headphones at 5W. Its glass-and-metal construction feels exceptionally solid and looks at home beside Apple hardware. The compromises are equally clear: the viewing angle cannot be adjusted, the 875 g base is unusually heavy, and Nomad requires you to buy a 40W USB-C power adapter separately. The 25W mode also depends on your exact phone model; Macworld’s 36-minute result was measured on the separate Stand One, not the Max. For a tidy bedside or desk setup, the Max is elegant and capable, but its price and missing adapter make it a considered purchase rather than an automatic recommendation.

What are the Nomad Stand One and Stand One Max?

The fourth-generation Stand One family uses a raised magnetic phone puck, a horizontal base and a dedicated headphone charging area. The regular Stand One charges a phone and AirPods; the Stand One Max adds an Apple Watch charger, making it a three-device station. Both are fixed-angle designs rather than adjustable stands.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Nomad’s official comparison shows how the product evolved. The first-generation Stand One Max used official 15W MagSafe and placed an elevated Watch charger beside an AirPods Qi dish. The second generation moved the Watch charger into the base so an iPhone could be used in landscape StandBy mode. The third generation changed the phone connection from MagSafe to 15W Qi2. The fourth generation raises the phone puck’s advertised capability to Qi2 25W while retaining Watch fast charging and the 5W headphone dish. These are generation-specific changes, so make sure a listing says “4th gen” before assuming it has the 25W puck.

The Max is best understood as a desk or bedside appliance, not a travel charger. The broad base stays put, the phone rests at one predetermined angle, and the metal mass gives it a reassuringly planted feel when you lift your phone away.

#1 Best Overall
Base One Max Carbide Apple Charging Station 2nd Gen, 3 in 1 Wireless Charging Station, Airpods, Apple Stand for Multiple Devices Magsafe
  • 3-in-1 Wireless Charging Powerhouse: Base One Max 3 in 1 charging station seamlessly charges your iPhone (up to 15W with MagSafe), Apple Watch, and AirPods simultaneously, keeping all your devices powered up.
  • Premium Materials, Sleek Design: Crafted with durable metal and premium glass, Base One Max charging dock offers a sophisticated look while providing protection against scratches and dust.
  • Official MFi MagSafe Charging: Enjoy fast, secure wireless iPhone charging station for your iPhone 12 or later, thanks to the integrated MagSafe technology.
  • Versatile Compatibility: Base One Max charger station supports a wide range of devices, including older iPhones, Apple Watches,and AirPods, making it a convenient charging solution for your entire tech ecosystem.
  • All-in-One Charging Convenience: Simplify charging with Base One Max’s integrated Apple Watch Charger and AirPods Apple wireless charger. No more searching for separate cables. The sleek design keeps your Apple essentials powered up and ready to go.

How many devices can Stand One Max charge at once?

Three charging zones operate simultaneously: the magnetic phone puck, the Apple Watch Fast Charger and a 5W Qi dish for AirPods, AirPods Pro or other headphones with wireless charging.

  • Phone puck: Qi2/MagSafe-compatible devices, with a maximum of 25W when the phone supports that mode.
  • Watch charger: Apple Watch Ultra 1–4, Series 1–12 and SE 1–3 are listed as compatible.
  • Headphone dish: 5W Qi charging for AirPods, AirPods Pro and compatible wireless-charging cases from other manufacturers.

Nomad says a Solo Loop-style Apple Watch band can prevent AirPods from sitting flat on the dish at the same time. That is a physical fit issue, not a software limitation: removing or changing the band is the practical workaround.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

The puck is raised to clear iPhone camera modules and supports Apple’s StandBy mode. Because the angle is fixed, check that the chosen position works with your desk height or bedside table before buying; there is no hinge or telescoping adjustment to correct a poor viewing position later.

Which Apple Watch models fast-charge on the Max?

Compatibility is broad, but fast charging is limited to newer watches. Nomad lists Ultra 1–4, Series 1–12 and SE 1–3 as supported models; only Ultra 1–4, Series 7–12 and SE 3 receive fast charging.

Apple Watch family Charges on the Max Fast charging
Apple Watch Ultra Ultra 1–4 Ultra 1–4
Apple Watch Series Series 1–12 Series 7–12
Apple Watch SE SE 1–3 SE 3

If your watch falls outside the fast-charge groups, it can still charge on the puck but will not receive the faster charging behavior reserved for the listed models.

Does the Max really charge phones at 25W?

It can, but “25W” is a device-and-generation-dependent ceiling rather than a promise for every magnetic phone. Macworld reports that iPhone 16 and later support the 25W mode, while iPhone 12–15 charge at up to 15W in its testing and compatibility interpretation. The iPhone 16e is called out as an exception to Stand One magnetic compatibility. Nomad’s support page confirms the Qi2/MagSafe puck but does not publish a phone-by-phone 25W chart, so verify your exact handset before treating 25W as a buying requirement.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

The same caution applies to non-Apple phones: the puck is specified for Qi2 devices, but the maximum rate depends on what the phone and its charging profile negotiate. A Qi2 phone may charge successfully without reaching 25W. Cases, camera clearances and magnetic alignment can also affect whether the puck sits correctly, so test the complete phone-and-case combination during the return period.

In practical terms, the Max’s advantage is the combination of a modern high-speed phone puck and two additional charging zones. It is not a universal 25W upgrade for every MagSafe-compatible iPhone.

Rank #2
NOMAD Stand One Stellar Orange, 25W Qi2 MagSafe Charging Station for iPhone and AirPods, 2-in-1 Wireless Charger Stand with Standby Mode Support, Weighted Metal and Glass Design, USB-C Cable Included
  • 25W Qi2 Fast Charging - Stand One charges up to 3x faster than standard wireless chargers. Its 25W Qi2 puck fast charges any MagSafe or Qi2 iPhone and Android device, while a dedicated Qi pad simultaneously powers your AirPods or any wireless-charging-compatible headphones. Less charging time, more doing.
  • 2-in-1 Charging Hub - One stand. Two devices charging simultaneously. Stand One's upright puck handles your iPhone while the base Qi pad takes care of your AirPods - no cable swapping, no second charger on your desk. Fully supports iPhone StandBy mode for always-on display while charging.
  • Weighted Metal and Glass Build - Crafted from solid metal chassis and premium glass panel with an anti-slip rubber base, Stand One weighs over 1 pound (575g). Heavy enough to stay firmly in place when you grab your phone, refined enough to look at home on any desk or nightstand.
  • Perfect 21 Degree Viewing Angle - Stand One holds your iPhone at a precise 21 degree angle, accommodating both horizontal and vertical orientations effortlessly. Whether you're using StandBy mode overnight or watching content at your desk, the angle is always right.
  • Universal Compatibility - Compatible with all MagSafe and Qi2 devices, any wireless-charging-enabled AirPods including AirPods Pro, and most Qi-compatible headphones. Raised charger ensures compatibility with any iPhone camera bump. Includes a 2.0m USB-C to USB-C nylon braided cable. Requires a 40W USB-C power adapter (not included). Dimensions 127mm x 83mm x 69mm.

How fast is it in real use?

Macworld measured the fourth-generation Stand One, not the Stand One Max, reaching 50% on an iPhone in 36 minutes. The same review cites 28 minutes as the fastest result it had seen, a 33-minute average, and roughly 45–50 minutes for a 15W charger. Those figures are useful context, but they are not an independently repeated Max benchmark or a guaranteed result for every phone.

Charging normally slows after about 50% as battery-management safeguards reduce power. Macworld also reports that the Stand One becomes warm under a full 25W load and has no fan; Nomad says the metal structure acts as a heatsink. Expect warmth during fast charging, especially in a warm room or with a thick case, but do not interpret one review sample’s temperature as a universal thermal measurement.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

The sensible expectation is a quicker first half of the charge on a phone that supports the 25W mode, followed by a slower top-off. If your phone is limited to 15W, the Max’s high-speed headline does not change that ceiling.

What are the Stand One Max’s size, angle and build details?

Nomad specifies dimensions of 82 × 161 × 128 mm and a weight of 875 g for the fourth-generation Max. Macworld describes the same design as nearly 2 lb and gives the phone’s fixed angle as 21 degrees. The official weight is the more precise figure; the rounded review description conveys how substantial the base feels on a desk.

  • Materials: glass charging panel, solid metal chassis and an anti-slip rubber base.
  • Phone position: raised Qi2/MagSafe puck, fixed at approximately 21 degrees.
  • Base behavior: horizontal, heavy and resistant to sliding when you remove a phone.
  • Cable: 2 m USB-C cable; Macworld describes its sample as braided.

The construction is the product’s strongest non-electrical feature. It looks deliberate rather than utilitarian, and the weight prevents the common one-handed “lift the charger with the phone” problem. The trade-off is portability: 875 g before the power adapter is more than most travel chargers, and the horizontal footprint needs a permanent spot.

What is included, and what must you buy separately?

The box includes the charger and a 2 m USB-C cable. It does not include the 40W USB-C power adapter Nomad requires, so the station cannot be put into service from the box unless you already own a suitable adapter or purchase one separately.

Free tools Windows power users keep installed

One-click scans. No signup required.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
  1. Place the Max on a stable, ventilated surface with enough clearance for the horizontal base.
  2. Connect the included USB-C cable to the station.
  3. Connect the other end to a separate 40W USB-C power adapter.
  4. Set the phone on the magnetic puck, the Watch on its charger and the headphone case on the 5W dish.
  5. Confirm that each device shows its charging indicator before leaving it unattended overnight.

Nomad’s live Carbide product listing shows a 2 m cable and the separate-adapter requirement. The listing price was $169 when accessed, while Macworld’s review, updated August 15, 2026, lists $159. Prices and page contents can change, so check the current listing and include the adapter in your total setup cost.

The missing adapter is more than a minor packaging omission. A 40W USB-C adapter is an additional purchase if you do not already have one, and the station’s value should be judged on the complete powered setup rather than the charger body alone.

Rank #3
Keepro 3-in-1 Charging Station for Apple Device, Foldable Magnetic Wireless Fast Charger Stand Compatible with MagSafe for iPhone 18/17/16/15/14/13/12/Air/Duo Series, Apple Watch & AirPods-Black
  • [Fast Charging and Compatible with MagSafe]- Seamlessly compatible with MagSafe, fast charge your iPhone with 15W, Apple Watch SE/Ultra 2/Ultra/11/10/9/8/7/6/5/4/3/2 and AirPods simultaneously. (Note: Please Use the included 20W USB-C PD charger and cable for optimal charging.)
  • [Wide Compatibility]- The magnetic alignment experience only applies to iPhone 18 Pro/iPhone 18 Pro Max/iPhone Duo,iPhone 17e/Air/17 Pro max/17 Pro/17/16 Pro Max/16 Pro/16 Plus/16/iPhone 15 Pro max/15 Pro/15 Plus/15/iPhone 14 Pro max/14 Pro/14 Plus/14/iPhone 13 Pro max/13 Pro/13 Plus/13/13 mini/iPhone 12 Pro Max/12 Pro/12 Plus/12/12 mini, Apple Watch Ultra 3/Ultra 2/Ultra/SE/11/10/9/8/7/6/5/4/3/2/1 & AirPods 4/3/2/Pro/Pro 2/Pro 3 (with Mag-Safe case). The Charger maintains compatibility with wireless charging, so it can be used to charge with any other device that supports wireless charge
  • [Multi-Intelligent Protection]- This 3-in-1 charging station provides a safe and secure charging experience with its multi-intelligent protection system. Featuring over-voltage, over-current protection, and temperature control, it safeguards your device's battery health and prevents overheating. Additionally, short-circuit protection ensures enhanced safety
  • [Adjustable and Space-Saving]- Featuring a foldable, slim, space-efficient design with angle-adjustable phone and watch charging modules, this mag-safe charging station allows you to find any viewing angle you prefer. The compact foldable design also makes it perfect as a travel charger for multiple devices
  • [What You Get]- KEEPRO Foldable 3 in 1 fast wireless Charging Station, 20W USB-C PD charger adapter, 3ft (1m) USB-C to USB-C cable and welcome user guide

How does Stand One compare with Stand One Max?

The Max’s defining upgrade is the Apple Watch charging module. The regular Stand One remains a two-device phone-and-headphone station, while the Max adds the Watch charger and uses a wider, heavier horizontal base.

Feature Stand One (4th gen) Stand One Max (4th gen)
Devices at once Phone plus AirPods or other Qi headphones Phone, Apple Watch and AirPods or other Qi headphones
Phone charging Up to 25W when the phone supports it Up to 25W when the phone supports it
Apple Watch charger Not part of the two-device configuration Included; fast charging for Ultra 1–4, Series 7–12 and SE 3
Headphone charging 5W Qi dish 5W Qi dish
Angle Fixed; exact angle not stated in the available specifications Fixed, approximately 21 degrees
Weight and dimensions Not stated in the available specifications 875 g; 82 × 161 × 128 mm
Power adapter Not stated in the available specifications Separate 40W USB-C adapter required; 2 m cable included
Price snapshot Not stated $169 on Nomad’s live listing; $159 in Macworld’s August 15, 2026 review

Choose the regular Stand One if you do not wear an Apple Watch or already charge it elsewhere. Choose the Max when one surface for all three devices matters more than a smaller footprint or lower total cost. Because the available sources do not establish a current Stand One price, a meaningful value comparison requires checking both live listings at the time you buy.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

What are the main drawbacks?

  • Fixed viewing angle: the 21-degree position cannot be adjusted for a different chair, camera height or bedside orientation.
  • Large, heavy base: 875 g and a 161 mm-wide footprint make it desk-bound rather than travel-friendly.
  • Adapter sold separately: the advertised price does not include the required 40W USB-C power brick.
  • 25W qualification: older iPhones and some exceptions do not receive the maximum mode.
  • Warmth at high power: fast charging can make the metal body warm, and there is no active fan.
  • Band interference: a Solo Loop-style Watch band can block the headphone dish while the Watch is charging.

None of these makes the Max defective; they define the product’s intended use. The station prioritizes permanence, appearance and a clean three-device setup over adjustability, portability and an all-inclusive box.

Who should buy the Nomad Stand One Max?

The Max is a strong fit for an Apple-heavy desk or bedside table where an iPhone, Apple Watch and AirPods need to be ready each morning. Its weight, anti-slip base and premium materials reward leaving it in one place, and the three charging zones remove the need for separate Watch and headphone cables.

It is a weaker fit if you travel often, need to aim the screen toward different seating positions, use an iPhone that is limited to 15W, or expect the power adapter to be included. In those cases, a lighter or adjustable charger may solve the underlying problem more efficiently, even if it looks less substantial.

Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

How should you verify compatibility before ordering?

  1. Identify the exact phone model. Confirm whether it is an iPhone 16 or later for the 25W mode cited by Macworld, an iPhone 12–15 limited to 15W, or the iPhone 16e exception flagged for magnetic compatibility.
  2. Check the Watch generation. Confirm that it is within Ultra 1–4, Series 1–12 or SE 1–3; check the separate fast-charge list if speed matters.
  3. Measure the surface. Allow for the 82 × 161 × 128 mm base and room to place and remove the phone without hitting a wall or monitor.
  4. Inspect the case and band. Ensure the case aligns with the puck and that a Solo Loop-style band will not cover the headphone dish.
  5. Budget for power. Add a 40W USB-C adapter if you do not already own one.
  6. Check the current price. Nomad’s listing and independent reviews show different snapshots, so use the live price at checkout rather than an older review figure.

What warranty does Nomad provide?

Nomad states that the charger has a two-year limited warranty covering manufacturing defects and workmanship issues. Normal wear, misuse, abuse and modifications are excluded. For an eligible defect, Nomad says it will exchange the product when a replacement is available; if an exact replacement cannot be supplied, it may issue store credit.

What’s actually slowing this PC down?

Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Keep your purchase record and inspect the cable, puck and charging surfaces early. A warranty claim does not change the practical need to confirm phone, Watch and case compatibility before purchase.

Is the Nomad Stand One Max worth it?

The fourth-generation Stand One Max earns its premium feel: the glass panel, solid metal chassis, anti-slip base and heavy construction make it a convincing permanent charging station. Three-device charging is genuinely convenient, and the 25W phone puck is relevant for supported newer iPhones. The Max is less compelling as a value proposition because the required 40W adapter is extra, the angle is fixed and the 25W result depends on the handset.

Rank #4
Amazon Basics MagSafe Compatible Wireless Charging Station, 25W Max. Fast Charging Qi2.2 Certified 2-in-1 Charger, Foldable Stand for iPhone 17/16/15/14/13/12 & AirPods, with 45W Max. Adapter, Black
  • COMPACT CHARGER:Black foldable 2-in-1 charging station with travel-friendly design;charges iPhone and AirPods together
  • UNIVERSAL COMPATIBILITY: Works with MagSafe and Qi2 devices; supports 5W, 7.5W, 15W, and 25W fast charging
  • ULTRA-FAST WIRELESS CHARGING:Qi2.2 certified charger provides powerful max. 25W fast wireless charging for all you devices. Output in details: 25W max. for phone, 5W max. for earbuds
  • LIGHTWEIGHT & PORTABLE: Compact USB-C charger provides tangle-free magnetic wireless charging on-the-go for iPhone, AirPods and other Qi-enabled devices
  • EVERYTHING INCLUDED:Comes with 2-in-1 wireless charger, 45W max. USB-C PD adapter, 5ft USB-C cable and user manual. Note: With any third-party chargers, for optical performance, pair with an PD-certified adapter (min. 45W output).

Buy it when a polished, stable home for all three Apple devices is the priority and you are comfortable paying for the complete setup. Skip it when portability, adjustable viewing or the lowest total cost matters more than materials and desk presence.

Sources and current specifications

Nomad’s official support page contains the fourth-generation compatibility, dimensions, materials, charging outputs and warranty terms: Stand One Max (4th gen) support.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

The live Carbide listing provides the $169 price snapshot, customer-rating snapshot and included-cable/separate-adapter details: Nomad Stand One Max Carbide, Qi2.2, 4th gen.

Macworld’s review by Simon Jary, updated August 15, 2026, supplies the Stand One 36-minute test, the 21-degree description, thermal observations and phone-speed context: Macworld review.

Frequently Asked Questions

Can I use the Max with a Qi2 phone that is not an iPhone?

Nomad identifies the phone puck as compatible with Qi2 and MagSafe devices, so a Qi2 phone is within the stated compatibility scope. The phone still determines the negotiated charging rate; the 25W figure should not be assumed for every Qi2 handset.

Will charging continue if I place a thick case on the phone?

The available specifications do not guarantee charging through every case thickness or material. If alignment is unreliable, remove the case or use a case designed for magnetic Qi2/MagSafe alignment, then confirm that the phone begins charging consistently.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Does the Max rotate for landscape and portrait use?

The charging position itself is fixed, although Nomad says the product supports iPhone StandBy mode. It does not provide an adjustable hinge, so the station cannot be tilted toward a different viewing position.

Can the 5W dish charge headphones from another manufacturer?

Yes, provided the headphone case supports Qi wireless charging. Nomad specifically names AirPods and AirPods Pro, but the dish is a standard 5W Qi area rather than an Apple-only charging surface.

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

AirPodsApple WatchiPhone accessoriesMagSafeNomad Stand One MaxQi2Wireless Charging

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Recommended PC Tool
Recommended PC Tool
Crashes, No Sound, or Screen Glitches?Free driver scan
PC Slower Than It Used to Be?Free scan - under a minute

Two free Windows tools

One Free Minute Could Fix That PC

Before you go - each of these free tools takes about a minute and tackles what quietly slows a Windows PC down.

Special offer. View Outbyte info, uninstall instructions, EULA, and Privacy Policy.