Do these 3 things before closing this tab:
1Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errors2Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitches3Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsSome links on this page are affiliate links: if you buy through them we may earn a commission, at no extra cost to you.
Choose the 2024 Mac mini with M4 if your work is macOS-first, you use other Apple devices, or you want the smallest, quietest-looking desktop enclosure with Apple media engines. Choose a Windows mini PC such as the ASUS NUC 14 Pro if you depend on Windows-only software, need replaceable RAM and storage, require 2.5Gb Ethernet, or want more conventional PC expansion. The Mac mini starts at a $599 U.S. launch price for M4, while Windows mini-PC pricing varies by processor, memory, storage and whether you buy a complete system or a kit. Neither platform is universally faster: your applications, display needs, upgrade plans and total system cost determine the better fit.
What is the practical difference between a Mac mini and a Windows mini PC?
A Mac mini is a complete macOS desktop built around Apple silicon and unified memory. A Windows mini PC is a category that includes many processors, chassis and configurations; the ASUS NUC 14 Pro is a useful, documented example rather than a specification for every Windows model. The most important difference is not the size of the box but how each platform handles software compatibility, memory, storage and networking.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
Both can run office applications, browsers, video calls, coding tools and many creative workloads. The Mac mini generally makes the most sense when your workflow already fits macOS and Apple hardware. A Windows model is safer when your employer, specialist application, accessories or management tools require Windows, or when you expect to replace memory and drives later.
How do the Mac mini M4 and ASUS NUC 14 Pro compare on specifications?
The table separates Apple’s two 2024 Mac mini configurations from the ASUS NUC 14 Pro example. NUC 14 Pro capabilities depend on the selected Core Ultra processor, chassis and whether it is sold as a complete PC, kit or board.
#1 Best Overall
- SIZE DOWN. POWER UP — The far mightier, way tinier Mac mini desktop computer is five by five inches of pure power. Built for Apple Intelligence.* Redesigned around Apple silicon to unleash the full speed and capabilities of the spectacular M4 Pro chip. With ports at your convenience, on the front and back.
- LOOKS SMALL. LIVES LARGE — At just five by five inches, Mac mini is designed to fit perfectly next to a monitor and is easy to place just about anywhere.
- CONVENIENT CONNECTIONS — Get connected with Thunderbolt, HDMI, and Gigabit Ethernet ports on the back and, for the first time, front-facing USB-C ports and a headphone jack.
- SUPERCHARGED BY M4 PRO — The M4 Pro chip brings extra power to take on demanding projects like working with complex scenes or compiling millions of lines of code.
- BUILT FOR APPLE INTELLIGENCE — Apple Intelligence is the personal intelligence system that helps you write, express yourself, and get things done effortlessly. With groundbreaking privacy protections, it gives you peace of mind that no one else can access your data — not even Apple.*
| Specification | Mac mini with M4 | Mac mini with M4 Pro | ASUS NUC 14 Pro example |
|---|---|---|---|
| Operating system | macOS | macOS | Supports Windows 11 |
| Launch price | $599 U.S. launch price (Apple, 2024) | $1,399 U.S. launch price (Apple, 2024) | Not stated; varies by configuration and sales format |
| CPU/GPU | 10-core CPU, 10-core GPU | 12-core CPU, 16-core GPU | Intel Core Ultra processor; exact cores and graphics depend on model |
| Neural or AI engine | 16-core Neural Engine | 16-core Neural Engine | Depends on the selected Core Ultra processor |
| Memory | 16GB unified memory standard; configurable to 24GB or 32GB | 24GB unified memory standard; configurable to 64GB | Up to 48GB DDR5-5600 using two SO-DIMMs (ASUS current specification) |
| Storage | 256GB SSD standard; configurable up to 2TB | 512GB SSD standard; configurable up to 8TB | M.2 NVMe storage; tall systems can add a 2.5-inch SATA drive |
| Size | 5.0 × 5.0 × 2.0 inches (12.7 × 12.7 × 5.0cm), Apple Support 2024 | 117 × 112 × 54mm for listed Core Ultra systems | |
| Weight | 0.67kg | 0.73kg | Not stated in the supplied specifications |
| Display support | Up to three displays in Apple’s listed combinations | Up to three displays in Apple’s listed combinations | Depends on the NUC model and chosen processor |
| Networking | Gigabit Ethernet | Gigabit Ethernet | 2.5Gb Ethernet listed by ASUS |
| Expansion highlights | Front USB-C; rear Thunderbolt 4, HDMI, Ethernet and headphone jack | Front USB-C; rear Thunderbolt 5, HDMI, Ethernet and headphone jack | USB-A/USB-C mix, M.2 storage, SO-DIMM memory and toolless access; tall models add 2.5-inch SATA |
Apple’s dimensions describe the computer itself, not your monitor, power cable, dock or external drives. ASUS dimensions likewise describe the NUC system, so leave room for cables and airflow. A compact chassis does not eliminate the need for a separate display, keyboard, mouse and, where necessary, a dock or external storage.
Which operating system fits your applications and peripherals?
Pick macOS when your applications, collaboration tools and peripherals are already Mac-compatible. macOS integration is especially convenient if you move between Apple devices, use software distributed primarily for Mac, or value Apple’s media and display pipeline. Verify every plug-in, driver, virtual instrument, corporate security agent and browser extension before ordering; a small desktop cannot compensate for an application that only runs on Windows.
Pick Windows when compatibility with Windows-only software or enterprise tooling is the deciding factor. The NUC 14 Pro supports Windows 11 and uses familiar PC interfaces and components. This can simplify deployment in a Windows-managed organization, connection to legacy peripherals, or use of applications whose vendors publish Windows as the primary target. “Windows mini PC” is not one fixed platform, however: processor generation, driver support, firmware and port selection differ between models.
Questions to answer before buying
- Does your employer require a Windows security client, VPN, device-management agent or line-of-business program?
- Do your creative applications use macOS-specific versions, Apple media frameworks or plug-ins that you have already tested?
- Will a printer, audio interface, scanner, USB license key or other peripheral work with the operating system and available ports?
- Do you need to move an existing Windows or Mac installation, and does its license permit that transfer?
How do memory and storage upgrades differ?
The Mac mini’s memory is unified with the Apple silicon and is selected at purchase. The M4 starts at 16GB and can be ordered with 24GB or 32GB; M4 Pro starts at 24GB and reaches 64GB. You cannot treat unified memory like a desktop SO-DIMM slot, so choose enough capacity for the machine’s full service life.
The NUC 14 Pro uses two DDR5-5600 SO-DIMM slots and supports up to 48GB according to ASUS’s current specification. That gives you a path to add or replace memory after purchase, although the exact supported capacity and speed should be checked against the particular Core Ultra board and firmware.
Mac mini storage planning
Apple lists a 256GB SSD starting point for M4, configurable to 2TB, and a 512GB starting point for M4 Pro, configurable to 8TB. A small internal drive can fill quickly with source footage, photo libraries, virtual machines, games or local development containers. Buying more internal capacity is convenient, but it raises the purchase price and cannot be replaced with a larger internal module in the same way as an M.2 drive.
What’s actually slowing this PC down?
Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.
NUC storage planning
NUC 14 Pro supports M.2 NVMe storage, and tall configurations provide a 2.5-inch SATA drive bay. ASUS says the enclosure has toolless access for storage upgrades. An M.2 drive is appropriate for a fast system or project volume; a 2.5-inch SATA SSD can add capacity where the tall chassis and drive bracket are present. Confirm that your chosen kit includes the required cables, bracket and operating-system license.
What the upgrade difference means in practice
| Need | Mac mini approach | NUC 14 Pro approach |
|---|---|---|
| More working memory later | Select 24GB, 32GB or 64GB (M4 Pro) at purchase | Install compatible DDR5-5600 SO-DIMMs, up to ASUS’s stated 48GB |
| More fast storage | Choose up to 2TB (M4) or 8TB (M4 Pro), or attach external storage | Replace/add an M.2 NVMe drive; tall systems can also use 2.5-inch SATA |
| Ease of opening the case | Plan configuration before ordering | ASUS advertises toolless storage access |
| Long-term flexibility | Simple, fixed configuration with external expansion | More component-level replacement, subject to model compatibility |
Which one is better for office work, coding and everyday productivity?
For browser-heavy office work, documents, email, meetings and light development, both platforms can be suitable. The decision usually follows the software your organization supports rather than a headline processor specification.
Choose the Mac mini when
- Your team standardizes on macOS and Apple services.
- You want a very small 5.0-inch-square footprint and do not need internal component upgrades.
- Your workflow uses video, audio or image applications that benefit from Apple’s hardware media engines.
- You can select sufficient unified memory and storage at purchase.
Choose the NUC 14 Pro when
- Your company images and manages Windows 11 devices.
- You need 2.5Gb Ethernet for a compatible switch, NAS or local server workflow.
- You expect to increase memory or storage rather than replace the entire computer.
- You need a mix of USB-A and USB-C accessories without relying on a dock.
For a single-user desk, include the cost of the display and input devices in either choice. A computer that is cheaper at checkout can become more expensive after adding a dock, larger SSD, memory, Windows licensing or a monitor adapter.
Which is better for photo, video and other creative applications?
The Mac mini has dedicated media capabilities in the M4 and M4 Pro system design, and Apple supports up to three displays in its listed combinations. That makes it attractive for editors, photographers and musicians whose applications are available for macOS and whose projects fit the selected memory and storage.
The Tool Desk
Outbyte PC Repair FREEClear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsFree Scan →Outbyte Driver Updater FREEFix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →The M4 provides a 10-core CPU, 10-core GPU and 16-core Neural Engine; M4 Pro raises those figures to a 12-core CPU, 16-core GPU and 16-core Neural Engine. Apple’s announcement includes an “up to 6x faster” comparison claim. Treat that as Apple’s own claim, not as a neutral cross-platform benchmark: the announcement does not provide a testing method that directly compares these Mac configurations with a Windows mini PC.
NUC 14 Pro graphics are supplied by the selected Intel Core Ultra platform, so performance and display limits vary by processor. For a particular application, check its Windows requirements, GPU feature support, codec support and recommended memory rather than assuming every NUC 14 Pro configuration behaves identically.
Creative-workflow checklist
- Match the application version and plug-ins to macOS or Windows before buying.
- Reserve enough memory for high-resolution timelines, large photo catalogs or virtual instruments.
- Budget for an external NVMe SSD when project files will exceed the internal drive.
- Check the number, resolution and refresh rate of your monitors against the exact system configuration.
- Plan a backup drive; compact internal storage is not a backup strategy.
How do ports, displays and networking affect the decision?
The M4 Mac mini provides front USB-C and rear Thunderbolt 4, HDMI, Gigabit Ethernet and a headphone jack. M4 Pro uses Thunderbolt 5. This layout can support a clean desk, but a multi-drive, camera, audio and card-reader setup may still require a USB-C or Thunderbolt dock.
ASUS lists a USB-A/USB-C mix and 2.5Gb Ethernet for NUC 14 Pro systems. That faster wired interface matters only when the rest of the network supports more than 1Gbps and your storage or server can deliver it. It can also reduce the need for an Ethernet adapter in a workstation connected to a capable NAS.
Free tools Windows power users keep installed
One-click scans. No signup required.
Do not compare “number of ports” without considering their placement and bandwidth. A front connector is convenient for removable media; a rear high-speed port is better for a permanent dock or drive. Confirm whether your display uses HDMI, USB-C or DisplayPort and whether an adapter is needed.
Rank #2
- Apple-designed M1 chip for a giant leap in CPU, GPU, and machine learning performance
- 8-core CPU packs up to 3x faster performance to fly through workflows quicker than ever*
- 8-core GPU with up to 6x faster graphics for graphics-intensive apps and games*
- 16-core Neural Engine for advanced machine learning
- 8GB of unified memory so everything you do is fast and fluid
What does each system cost after accessories and upgrades?
Apple’s published launch prices are $599 U.S. for the M4 Mac mini and $1,399 U.S. for M4 Pro. These are 2024 launch prices, not a guarantee of current retail pricing; check present prices, stock and warranty terms before purchase. ASUS does not provide one universal NUC 14 Pro price in the supplied specifications because the product is offered in different processor, memory, storage and sales configurations.
| Cost item | Mac mini M4/M4 Pro | Windows mini PC such as NUC 14 Pro |
|---|---|---|
| Computer | Apple’s selected configuration; launch prices above | Configuration-dependent; complete PC, kit or board formats exist |
| Operating system | macOS included with the Mac | Windows 11 support is listed; verify whether your kit includes a license and installation |
| Memory | Purchased as unified memory at checkout | May be installed initially or added as DDR5-5600 SO-DIMMs |
| Storage | Internal SSD capacity selected at purchase; external NVMe is an option | M.2 NVMe and, in tall systems, 2.5-inch SATA expansion |
| Connectivity | May require a USB-C/Thunderbolt dock for many accessories | May require a dock depending on the accessory mix; USB-A and USB-C are available |
| Desk setup | Display, keyboard, mouse and possibly adapters are extra | Display, keyboard and mouse are extra unless bundled by the seller |
For a fair comparison, price both systems with the same monitor, input devices, backup plan and usable storage. Add the cost of a dock, memory, SATA bracket or Windows license only when the selected configuration actually needs it. Promotional pricing and retailer bundles can change the result, so use current listings rather than the launch figures as your final budget.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.How should you choose between the Mac mini M4, M4 Pro and a Windows mini PC?
- List non-negotiable applications. Mark every program, plug-in, driver and peripheral as macOS-compatible, Windows-only or available on both.
- Set a memory floor. Choose 16GB only when your workload is comfortably light and fixed; select more unified memory on the Mac or plan SO-DIMM capacity on the NUC for heavier multitasking.
- Estimate active storage. Add operating-system space, applications, current projects and at least one working copy of large files. If that exceeds the internal option you can afford, budget for external NVMe storage.
- Map your ports. Count displays, Ethernet, audio, cameras, card readers, drives and legacy USB-A devices. Decide whether a dock is acceptable.
- Check networking. Choose the NUC’s 2.5Gb Ethernet only if your switch, cabling and server can use it; Gigabit Ethernet may be sufficient for ordinary internet and office traffic.
- Calculate the complete setup. Include display, input devices, storage, memory, dock, adapters, operating-system licensing and warranty coverage.
- Confirm the exact model. For a NUC, verify the processor, chassis height, included drive hardware and memory support. For a Mac mini, verify M4 versus M4 Pro and the purchased memory and SSD capacities.
- Buy for the replacement cycle. Select Mac memory and storage as if you will keep the computer for its full life; select NUC components with the upgrades you realistically expect to perform.
What are the common pitfalls and how can you avoid them?
Assuming every Windows mini PC is equivalent
“Windows mini PC” covers systems with different processors, cooling, ports and upgrade access. Use the NUC 14 Pro figures only for the exact ASUS configuration you are considering, and do not transfer its 2.5Gb Ethernet or SO-DIMM support to another model without checking its specification.
Buying too little unified memory
Mac mini memory is not a later SO-DIMM upgrade. If you routinely run creative applications, large browser sessions, containers or virtual machines, price the higher memory tier before ordering.
Confusing a kit with a complete PC
ASUS sells NUC 14 Pro as a complete PC, kit or board. A kit or board may require you to supply memory, storage, an operating system or other components. Read the box contents and warranty terms for the exact seller listing.
Ignoring storage expansion hardware
A tall NUC chassis is needed for the 2.5-inch SATA option, and the required bracket or cable may not be included in every package. The Mac mini can use external drives, but that adds desk cabling and a separate backup responsibility.
Using vendor performance claims as universal benchmarks
Apple’s “up to 6x faster” statement is a vendor comparison, not a neutral test of the Mac mini against every NUC. Application version, power limits, cooling, memory and test files can change the outcome; use your application’s own requirements and trial data where available.
Which compact desktop fits specific workflows?
| Workflow | More likely fit | Reason |
|---|---|---|
| Apple-device household, macOS applications | Mac mini M4 | Native macOS workflow, compact 5-inch-square enclosure and Apple media hardware |
| Windows enterprise software and management | Windows mini PC such as NUC 14 Pro | Windows 11 support and conventional PC deployment |
| Frequent memory or drive replacement | NUC 14 Pro | SO-DIMM slots, M.2 storage and toolless storage access |
| Three-display Mac setup | Mac mini M4 or M4 Pro | Apple lists support for up to three displays in specified combinations |
| 2.5Gb wired workstation or NAS access | NUC 14 Pro configuration with 2.5Gb Ethernet | Faster Ethernet than the Mac mini’s listed Gigabit port |
| Large internal media library | Depends on budget and workflow | M4 Pro offers up to 8TB configured storage; NUC can combine M.2 and tall-chassis SATA expansion |
How do you set up your chosen mini desktop?
- Prepare the desk. Place the computer where its vents are unobstructed, connect the display and attach wired networking if required.
- Connect input devices. Use the available USB-C, USB-A or Bluetooth peripherals, adding a dock only after confirming its required bandwidth.
- Install updates. Complete the operating-system, firmware and driver updates before installing production applications.
- Verify displays and network speed. Confirm every monitor runs at its intended resolution and that the wired link negotiates at the expected speed.
- Configure storage and backup. Format external or added drives for the applications you use, then create a second copy of important files.
- Test the real workload. Open your largest project, connect your audio or camera hardware and run the plug-ins or security tools that determine whether the platform is viable.
If a NUC upgrade is planned, shut down, disconnect power and follow ASUS’s service instructions before opening the chassis. Use compatible SO-DIMMs and storage, retain screws or covers if your configuration includes them, and confirm the system recognizes the new capacity in firmware and Windows.
Is the Mac mini or a Windows mini PC the better long-term value?
Long-term value depends on whether you value a fixed, integrated configuration or the ability to refresh components. The Mac mini can deliver a very small desktop with predictable Apple hardware and display support, but memory and internal storage decisions are effectively made at purchase. A NUC 14 Pro can spread spending over time by letting you replace SO-DIMMs or drives, yet the initial kit may require more planning and component purchases.
Choose the platform that removes your largest future risk. If application compatibility is the risk, buy the operating system your software requires. If capacity and repairability are the risk, favor the upgradeable NUC design. If desk space, Apple-device integration and media workflows dominate, the M4 Mac mini is the more coherent system.
Frequently Asked Questions
Can I use the same monitor with a Mac mini and a Windows mini PC?
Usually, yes, provided the monitor’s inputs match the computer or you have the appropriate adapter. Check the exact display combinations supported by the Mac mini and the output capabilities of the particular NUC configuration before assuming a three-screen setup will work.
Is 2.5Gb Ethernet useful for a home office?
It is useful when your network switch, cabling and NAS or server support speeds above 1Gbps. For an internet connection and ordinary cloud office work below that threshold, the NUC’s faster port may not produce a noticeable benefit.
Should I choose a tall NUC chassis for storage?
Choose the tall version only if you need its 2.5-inch SATA bay or the clearance it provides. Otherwise, an M.2-only configuration can be smaller and simpler; verify the exact chassis and included drive hardware in the listing.
Does the M4 Pro make sense for every creative user?
No. Its 12-core CPU, 16-core GPU, higher memory ceiling and larger storage options are most useful when your projects routinely exceed the M4’s capacity or you need sustained multi-application workloads. Lighter photo, audio and office work may not justify the additional launch price.
Quick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.
Quick wins for a faster PC:
Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsFix Now →Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsFree Scan →

