Some links on this page are affiliate links: if you buy through them we may earn a commission, at no extra cost to you.
Verdict: the HP EliteBook X G2i can be an excellent lightweight business laptop, but “32 GB RAM” does not identify one standard machine. The Notebookcheck unit that matches this review title (SKU DL9Y8ET) combines a 14-inch 1920 × 1200 IPS SureView panel, 32 GB onboard LPDDR5X, a 1 TB SSD, Wi-Fi 7, Windows 11 Pro and a 68 Wh battery in a 1.212 kg chassis. Other G2i listings swap in a 3K OLED display, different processors, slower or faster memory, or a 56 Wh battery. Buy only after matching the exact SKU, panel, processor, battery and regional warranty to the listing.
What is the HP EliteBook X G2i 32 GB configuration reviewed here?
The title-matching review from Notebookcheck covers HP’s EliteBook X G2i business notebook in configuration DL9Y8ET. Its key hardware is:
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
- 14-inch 1920 × 1200 WUXGA IPS display with SureView privacy treatment
- 32 GB onboard LPDDR5X memory
- 1 TB Kioxia SSD
- Intel Panther Lake-H graphics platform
- 68 Wh battery
- Wi-Fi 7, optional cellular capability listed for the configuration, and Windows 11 Pro
- 1.212 kg measured system weight
Those are facts about that reviewed unit, not a universal EliteBook X G2i specification. HP’s support documentation lists several LCD and OLED panels, two battery capacities and multiple onboard-memory capacities and speeds. A retailer’s “32 GB” label therefore tells you only the memory capacity; it does not establish the screen, processor, battery, weight or memory speed.
Notebookcheck’s full review and measurements are available at Notebookcheck.
#1 Best Overall
- AI-powered: Yes
- Processor Manufacturer: Intel
- Processor Type: Core Ultra 7
- Processor Model: 356H
- Processor Series: Series 3
How light is the EliteBook X G2i in practice?
The Notebookcheck sample weighed 1.212 kg (about 2.67 lb) as a laptop. That is a useful figure for a daily carry, but it should not be confused with travel weight including the USB-C charger, cable, protective sleeve or accessories. Other reviews tested different X G2i builds, so their weights cannot be substituted for the DL9Y8ET result.
Why the same model can weigh differently
Display construction, battery size, modem hardware and regional options all change the finished machine. A 3K OLED build and a WUXGA IPS build are not interchangeable measurements, even when both have 32 GB of memory. Ask the seller for the laptop-only weight of the exact SKU if every gram matters.
Which screen does a 32 GB model have?
There is no single 32 GB screen specification. HP’s support listing includes WUXGA LCD options and a 3K OLED option. The reviewed DL9Y8ET uses a 14-inch 1920 × 1200 IPS SureView panel, while HP’s Middle East SKU DT9J7AT is an example of a separate 32 GB model with a WUXGA IPS antiglare 800-nit Sure View display.
| Configuration or source | Display information | Memory and storage | Battery / weight information |
|---|---|---|---|
| Notebookcheck DL9Y8ET | 14-inch, 1920 × 1200 IPS, SureView | 32 GB onboard LPDDR5X; 1 TB SSD | 68 Wh; 1.212 kg measured |
| HP Middle East DT9J7AT example | 14-inch WUXGA IPS, antiglare, 800 nits, Sure View | 32 GB LPDDR5x-8533 onboard; storage not stated on the cited specification | Not stated on the cited page |
| StorageReview OLED test unit | 14-inch 3K OLED | 32 GB; 1 TB drive | Weight and battery result belong to that test unit, not DL9Y8ET |
| TechRadar X7 test unit | Panel details differ from the Notebookcheck sample; verify the review listing | 32 GB; 1 TB | Results apply only to its X7 358H/Arc B390 configuration |
SureView is HP’s integrated privacy treatment. It is useful when working with confidential documents in public, but a privacy panel is a deliberate choice rather than a guarantee that every viewer will see the same image quality or viewing angle as on a conventional panel. Confirm the exact panel and refresh-rate entry before paying an OLED premium or assuming the screen is the bright 800-nit regional variant.
HP’s complete model matrix is in its support specifications, and the DT9J7AT example appears on HP’s Middle East product page.
What performance should you expect from the 32 GB model?
For office productivity, browser-heavy work, coding, video calls and large spreadsheets, 32 GB gives the X G2i ample working memory and reduces the need to close applications. Performance still depends primarily on the processor and integrated graphics installed in the particular SKU.
Free tools Windows power users keep installed
One-click scans. No signup required.
Why benchmark numbers from other reviews do not transfer directly
StorageReview tested a different 32 GB X G2i with a Core Ultra 7 366H, 1 TB storage and a 14-inch 3K OLED display. TechRadar tested another configuration using an X7 358H processor and Arc B390 graphics, publishing Geekbench 7, Cinebench 2026 and PCMark results. Those scores are valid observations of their named test systems, not a specification for every G2i or proof that the Notebookcheck DL9Y8ET will reproduce them.
| Review | Processor / graphics stated for test system | Screen and memory | How to use the result |
|---|---|---|---|
| Notebookcheck | Intel Panther Lake-H graphics platform listed for DL9Y8ET | WUXGA IPS SureView; 32 GB LPDDR5X; 1 TB SSD | Use for the reviewed unit’s measured weight and configuration context |
| StorageReview | Core Ultra 7 366H | 3K OLED; 32 GB; 1 TB | Use only for that OLED/366H system and its test conditions |
| TechRadar | X7 358H with Arc B390 | 32 GB; 1 TB; exact panel differs | Use only with the named processor, graphics and benchmark version |
The practical buying rule is simple: match processor model, graphics, memory speed, screen resolution and power profile before comparing scores. A higher-resolution OLED panel can also change thermal and battery behavior, so a result from one build is not a reliable prediction for another.
StorageReview’s configuration and testing are documented at StorageReview. TechRadar’s separate business-laptop test is at TechRadar.
Rank #2
- AI-powered: Yes
- Processor Manufacturer: Intel
- Processor Type: Core Ultra 7
- Processor Model: 356H
- Processor Series: Series 3
Is 32 GB of RAM upgradeable?
No conventional memory upgrade should be assumed. HP specifies onboard LPDDR5X memory, which means the capacity is selected when the laptop is built rather than added later through a user-accessible SO-DIMM slot. If you expect to keep the notebook for several years, choose 32 GB at purchase when your workload includes virtual machines, local AI tools, large development environments or heavy multitasking.
Do these 3 things before closing this tab:
1Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minute2Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errors3Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesMemory speed also varies
HP lists multiple onboard capacities and speeds across the family. The DT9J7AT page, for example, identifies 32 GB LPDDR5x-8533. Do not infer that speed for the Notebookcheck unit or another region unless the retailer lists it explicitly.
What battery options does HP offer, and how long will it last?
HP’s support specification lists both 68 Wh and 56 Wh battery options. The Notebookcheck DL9Y8ET review unit has the larger 68 Wh battery. The available data does not establish a single long-run battery-life figure that applies to every G2i build, and the cited reviews use different displays, processors and test methods.
When comparing listings, treat battery capacity and tested runtime as separate fields. A 3K OLED screen, a WUXGA LCD, different brightness settings and different processor limits can all change runtime. A retailer that lists only “all-day battery” has not supplied a reproducible test result; look for the Wh rating and the named test method instead.
- Best documented capacity for the reviewed unit: 68 Wh.
- Alternative HP capacity: 56 Wh.
- What is not established: one universal runtime, charging time or sustained battery result for all 32 GB configurations.
Which ports and connectivity features are included?
HP’s support specification lists a practical business-port selection:
- Two Thunderbolt 4 USB-C ports
- One additional USB-C port
- One powered USB-A port
- HDMI 2.1
- Headset jack
- Wi-Fi 7 on the Notebookcheck configuration
- Optional cellular capability listed for the reviewed configuration
Port presence can vary by regional SKU or sub-configuration, so verify the seller’s port diagram rather than relying on a generic product photograph. If you need mobile broadband, confirm that the exact unit includes the modem and antenna hardware; “optional cellular” does not mean every retail machine is cellular-ready or sold with service.
What should you check before buying an EliteBook X G2i?
Use the following checklist against the retailer’s specification page, order confirmation and regional warranty terms.
- Record the complete SKU. A model name without a product number is not enough. The title-matching Notebookcheck unit is DL9Y8ET; other regional codes represent different hardware.
- Confirm the panel. Write down IPS or OLED, 1920 × 1200 or 3K resolution, brightness, refresh rate and whether Sure View is included.
- Confirm the processor and graphics. Check the exact CPU model rather than accepting “next-gen AI PC” language.
- Check memory type and speed. Verify 32 GB onboard LPDDR5X and the stated transfer rate; do not assume the 8533 specification from DT9J7AT applies elsewhere.
- Check storage capacity and drive type. The Notebookcheck sample has a 1 TB Kioxia SSD, while another listing may use a different drive.
- Check battery capacity. Look for 68 Wh or 56 Wh and keep that number with the SKU in your notes.
- Verify measured weight. Ask whether the number excludes the charger and which display and battery the measurement covers.
- Confirm ports and cellular hardware. Match the USB-C, USB-A, HDMI, headset and modem details to your workflow.
- Check operating system and warranty region. The reviewed unit runs Windows 11 Pro, but the edition and support coverage can differ by market.
- Recheck price and stock immediately before ordering. Search-result prices attached to a specific build are not a current global price guarantee.
How does the X G2i compare with the configurations reviewed elsewhere?
The fairest comparison is configuration-to-configuration, not review-to-review. The table below shows why the three published test systems should remain separate.
| Comparison point | Notebookcheck DL9Y8ET | StorageReview unit | TechRadar unit |
|---|---|---|---|
| Processor / graphics | Intel Panther Lake-H graphics platform listed | Core Ultra 7 366H | X7 358H / Arc B390 |
| Display | 14-inch 1920 × 1200 IPS SureView | 14-inch 3K OLED | Different panel configuration; verify the review listing |
| Memory | 32 GB onboard LPDDR5X | 32 GB | 32 GB |
| Storage | 1 TB Kioxia SSD | 1 TB drive | 1 TB |
| Battery / weight | 68 Wh; 1.212 kg measured | Results belong to its OLED test unit | Results belong to its X7 test unit |
| Benchmark evidence | Use Notebookcheck’s measurements for this unit | Use its own reported test method | Geekbench 7, Cinebench 2026 and PCMark figures for its system |
This is why a listing that appears cheaper or faster may simply be a different screen, processor or battery combination. Compare the full row of specifications before deciding that one G2i is a better deal.
PC Slower Than It Used to Be?
A free scan shows the junk files, broken settings and background clutter dragging Windows down - then fixes them in one click.Free scan · Windows 10 & 11Crashes, No Sound, or Screen Glitches?
Random freezes, missing sound and display glitches usually trace back to one bad driver. Find and replace yours safely.Free scan · under a minuteRank #3
- AI-powered: Yes
- Processor Manufacturer: Intel
- Processor Type: Core Ultra 7
- Processor Model: 355
- Processor Series: Series 3
Who should buy the reviewed 32 GB model?
Good fit
- Professionals who carry a laptop daily and value a roughly 1.2 kg chassis.
- Users who need 32 GB for large browser sessions, office suites, coding tools and multitasking.
- Travelers who prefer a 14-inch 16:10 WUXGA workspace and privacy treatment.
- Business users who need Thunderbolt 4, HDMI and a built-in USB-A port without relying on a dock for every connection.
- Organizations that require Windows 11 Pro and may need Wi-Fi 7 or optional cellular capability, subject to the purchased SKU.
Look elsewhere or choose another build when
- You require a user-upgradeable RAM slot; the memory is onboard.
- You specifically want OLED contrast and 3K resolution; select the OLED SKU and accept that its weight, processor and battery behavior are different.
- You need a guaranteed modem, a particular panel brightness or a specific memory speed; obtain written SKU-level confirmation first.
- You are comparing sustained performance using benchmark scores from different processors and displays; no conclusion is valid without matched test conditions.
What are the main drawbacks and buying risks?
Configuration confusion
“EliteBook X G2i, 32 GB” can describe materially different computers. The largest risk is paying for the name and memory capacity while receiving a smaller battery, a different display or a processor that does not match the review you read.
Onboard memory commitment
Because LPDDR5X is onboard, a capacity mistake cannot normally be corrected with a later memory purchase. Estimate your future workload before choosing 16 GB or 32 GB.
Unverified current pricing
Notebookcheck’s page includes euro and Amazon price fields tied to its reviewed configuration, but those figures are not a verified current US or worldwide price. Stock, regional warranty and exact Amazon configuration can change; check them at the time of purchase.
Mixed review evidence
The available reviews do not form a controlled comparison. Their processors, graphics, screens and test methods differ, and the available material does not establish long-run battery life, durability testing or matched sustained-performance results across the family.
Recommended Free Tools
What is the final buying recommendation?
Buy the EliteBook X G2i when the exact listing matches the strengths you need: 32 GB onboard memory, a 68 Wh battery, a 14-inch WUXGA IPS SureView panel and a measured weight around 1.212 kg in the DL9Y8ET configuration. Treat every other 32 GB listing as a separate product until its SKU, processor, panel, memory speed, battery, ports, warranty and price are confirmed. The laptop’s appeal is real, but it comes from a carefully specified combination—not from the “32 GB” label alone.
Frequently Asked Questions
Can I replace the EliteBook X G2i battery later?
The cited specifications establish the battery capacities HP offers, but they do not document a user-replacement procedure or service-part availability. If field serviceability matters, ask HP or the regional business-support channel for the exact SKU’s maintenance documentation before purchase.
Does Sure View work the same way on every X G2i screen?
No assumption is safe across the family. Sure View is listed on particular IPS configurations, while the OLED option is a different panel technology; confirm that the exact product number includes the privacy feature you want.
Is the 3K OLED version automatically the better choice?
Not automatically. OLED and higher resolution may suit image-focused work, while the WUXGA IPS model can better match buyers prioritizing privacy treatment, lower carrying weight or the documented 68 Wh configuration. Compare the complete SKU rather than choosing by panel label alone.
Quick wins for a faster PC:
Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteDriver Scan →Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsFix Now →Are the published benchmark scores useful for choosing between listings?
They are useful only when the listing uses the same processor, graphics, display resolution, memory and power settings as the tested system. Otherwise, use the scores as background information and request SKU-specific tests or return rights if performance is critical.
Quick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

