Halloween DealsAmazon USHalloween week deals: useful picks before month-endAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.Check DealsWindows FixRecommendedWindows errors stealing your time? Find the fix fastScan stability, cleanup and performance issues.Fix NowHalloween DealsAmazon USOctober picks are moving - compare before checkoutAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.See Picks×
FREEDOM251

Freedom251 › Blog

GTA 6 Storage Upgrade Guide for PS5 and Xbox Series X|S

By Freedom251 Team · · 10 min read

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Some links on this page are affiliate links: if you buy through them we may earn a commission, at no extra cost to you.

Rockstar has not published GTA 6’s official download or install size. The current unofficial figure is a 210 GB PlayStation 5 Standard Edition listing scraped on 27 October 2026; the Xbox size remains unconfirmed. Digital preload starts on 12 November, one week before the 19 November launch. If your console has roughly 200–250 GB free, you can wait for the final store listing. If it does not, a PS5 needs a compatible PCIe 4.0 M.2 NVMe SSD with a heatsink, while an Xbox Series X|S needs a licensed Storage Expansion Card. A USB drive can archive games, but it cannot run GTA 6.

At a glance

Name Best for Key spec Platforms Checked
PS5 M.2 NVMe SSD Playing GTA 6 from added storage PCIe 4.0 x4; 5,500 MB/s or faster recommended; heatsink required PS5, PS5 Slim and PS5 Pro Oct 2026
Xbox Storage Expansion Card Playing GTA 6 from added storage Licensed 512 GB, 1 TB or 2 TB rear-slot card Xbox Series X|S Oct 2026
USB extended-storage drive Parking games you are not playing SuperSpeed USB 5 Gbps or faster; 250 GB–8 TB PS5 and Xbox Series X|S Oct 2026

The first two options are native-play expansion. The USB option is an archive, not a third way to launch GTA 6.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

What is the official GTA 6 storage requirement?

There is no official number yet. As of 28 October 2026 at 18:10 UTC, Rockstar, Sony and Microsoft had not published a download size, install size or storage requirement for Grand Theft Auto VI on either console.

PlayStation Game Size reported a 210 GB download for the PS5 Standard Edition on 27 October, with a 12 November preload and a 19 November release. Gadgets360, HotHardware, AltChar, Playfront and gaming-st reported the scrape, but it is not a Rockstar, Sony or Microsoft specification. The report did not establish an Xbox size, and the Xbox store listing had not been confirmed.

Popular on Amazon
Elebase USB to USB C Adapter for iPhone 18 Pro Max,USBC Car Charger Adapter | 4Pack Type C Female to A Male Cable Converter for Apple Duo 17 16 15 14 Plus,iWatch Watch 12 11 10,iPad 9 8 Air,Airpods 5 4
  • Read Before You Buy — No Video Output: These adapters support charging and USB 2.0 data transfer, but cannot transmit video signals. Except for standard USB webcams (which use USB data only), they are not compatible with HDMI/DisplayPort cables, video-capable USB-C hubs, or docking stations with video output.
  • Convert USB-A Ports to USB-C: Designed to connect USB-C earphones, cables, flash drives, card readers, and other USB-C accessories to standard USB-A ports. Plug-and-play with no drivers or software required.
  • Aluminum Alloy Housing: Built with a sturdy aluminum alloy shell that aids in heat dissipation and protects against daily wear and scratches. Designed to maintain a stable and secure connection.
  • Compact & Travel-Friendly: The ultra-compact design allows the adapter to stay plugged into your device without blocking adjacent ports or adding bulk, reducing wear and tear on your original USB ports.
  • 12-Month Warranty: Backed by a 12-month manufacturer warranty for peace of mind. Designed to meet strict quality control standards for reliable everyday performance.

Use 210 GB as a planning figure, not a guarantee. The listing could change before preload, and a day-one patch can increase the installed footprint. Check the PlayStation Store or Microsoft Store listing when preload opens on 12 November 2026. Keep additional free space rather than aiming to leave exactly the displayed number.

The Standard Edition price reported alongside the scrape was $79.99. GTA 6 launches on PlayStation 5 and Xbox Series X|S only on 19 November 2026. No PS4, Xbox One or PC version had been announced at the time of the latest size reports.

What’s actually slowing this PC down?

Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

How much free space do PS5 and Xbox consoles have?

Advertised drive capacity is not the space available for games after the operating system reserves its share. These are commonly reported usable figures, so an individual console can show a slightly different amount after system updates and other data.

Console Advertised storage Approximate usable space Approximate space after a 210 GB install
Original PS5, disc or digital 825 GB SSD About 667 GB About 457 GB
PS5 Slim, disc or digital 1 TB SSD About 848 GB About 638 GB
PS5 Slim Digital (2025 revision) 825 GB SSD About 667 GB Not stated in the cited table
PS5 Pro 2 TB SSD About 1.86 TB About 1.65 TB
Xbox Series X 1 TB SSD About 802 GB About 592 GB
Xbox Series S 512 GB SSD About 364 GB About 154 GB
Xbox Series S 1 TB SSD Typically about 800 GB Not stated in the cited table

If at least 200–250 GB is free and the console has no other installation competing for that space, buying a drive is optional. The 512 GB Series S is the tightest case: a 210 GB game would leave only about 154 GB before updates and other titles. Series S uses the same licensed expansion-card system as Series X.

How do I expand PS5 storage for GTA 6?

Install a compliant M.2 NVMe SSD in the PS5’s internal expansion bay. This is the only added-storage route that lets a PS5 game run directly from the expansion drive; the original PS5, Slim and Pro follow the same storage rules.

PS5 M.2 requirements

Requirement What to buy or set
Interface NVMe PCIe 4.0, also called PCIe Gen4 x4, with an M-key
Unsupported interface M.2 SATA
Capacity 250 GB to 8 TB
Sequential read 5,500 MB/s or faster is Sony’s recommendation
Supported sizes M.2 2230, 2242, 2260, 2280 or 22110; 2280 is the common consumer size
Cooling A heatsink or other cooling structure is required
Maximum envelope with heatsink 25 mm wide and 11.25 mm thick; Sony’s thickness split is up to 8.0 mm above the board and 2.45 mm below

Update the console before installing the drive. The PS5 formats an M.2 SSD on first use, erasing everything on it, so copy off any existing data first. Sony does not promise that every drive meeting the headline specifications will work in every situation. If a game behaves incorrectly from the M.2, move it to the built-in SSD.

Free tools Windows power users keep installed

One-click scans. No signup required.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Also popular on Amazon
Anker USB-C Hub, 5-in-1 USB Hub for Laptops, 4K HDMI Multiport Adapter | USB C Dongle with 90W Max Power Delivery, 3×5Gbps USB A Data Ports, for MacBook, Dell, and More (Charger Not Included)
  • 5-in-1 USB-C Hub: Experience comprehensive connectivity featuring a Power Delivery input, two USB-A 2.0 ports, a USB-A 3.0 port, and an HDMI port. (Note: The USB-C power delivery input port is only for connecting an external wall charger to power your laptop and cannot power peripheral devices.)
  • 90W Pass-Through Charging: Achieve optimal charging with 90W pass-through power to your laptop, supported by a total input of 100W, with the hub reserving 10W for operational efficiency. (Note: Wall charger not included.)
  • Quick Data Transfers: Accelerate your productivity with rapid data transfers using a high-speed 5Gbps USB 3.0 port and two 480Mbps USB 2.0 ports.
  • 4K HDMI Display: Enhance your visual experience with a hub capable of delivering 4K resolution at 30Hz in both mirror and extend modes. Please note that this hub is compatible with MacBook (macOS 12 and newer), Windows 10 and 11, ChromeOS, and laptops equipped with DP Alt Mode and Power Delivery. Note: This device is not compatible with Linux.
  • What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (5-in-1, 4K HDMI), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.

Which PS5 SSD capacity makes sense?

A 1 TB drive adds useful room, but a 2 TB model is the practical middle ground for a 210 GB-class game plus several other large current-generation titles. An 8 TB drive is the maximum supported capacity and makes sense only for a very large installed library.

Newegg Insider’s default example was the WD_BLACK SN850X 2 TB with heatsink. Its listed specifications are up to 7,300 MB/s sequential read, 8.80 mm total height with the heatsink and 1,200 TBW endurance. The same family’s 8 TB model was listed at 7,200 MB/s and 10.31 mm thick, inside Sony’s limit.

Other examples cited as fitting the PS5 envelope include the Seagate FireCuda 530R 2 TB at 7,400 MB/s and 11.10 mm with heatsink, the Samsung 990 PRO 1 TB at 7,450 MB/s and 8.10 mm, and the SanDisk Optimus GX PRO 850P 2 TB at 7,300 MB/s and 9.89 mm. Choose the heatsink-included SKU where possible. A fast bare drive paired with a heatsink that is too tall can stop the expansion-bay cover from closing.

Gen5 SSDs can be installed only if they also fit the physical and electrical requirements, but the PS5 slot operates them as Gen4. Paying for unused Gen5 bandwidth brings no stated benefit over a good Gen4 drive above Sony’s 5,500 MB/s recommendation.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

PS5 installation steps

  1. Update the PS5 to the latest system software.
  2. Back up or remove any data on the M.2 SSD, because the console formats it during setup.
  3. Power down the console completely, disconnect it, and install the heatsink-equipped M.2 drive in the expansion bay according to the PS5’s M.2 installation procedure. Confirm that the cover closes without pressure.
  4. Reconnect and start the console. Accept the format prompt when it appears.
  5. Set the destination under Settings → Storage → Installation Location. Choose the M.2 storage for new PS5 games if you want future installations there.
  6. Install or move GTA 6 only after the drive is formatted and shown as available storage. A game’s data cannot be split between drives; the complete installation must fit in one location.

PlayStation’s GTA VI page describes SSD use for near-instant loading. That storage-streaming design is why the game belongs on the built-in SSD or a compliant M.2, not on a USB archive drive.

How do I expand Xbox Series X storage for GTA 6?

Insert a licensed Storage Expansion Card into the dedicated slot on the rear of the Xbox Series X or Series S. Xbox Series consoles have no user-accessible M.2 expansion bay, and GTA 6 carries the Optimized for Xbox Series X|S designation.

Also popular on Amazon
Sale
Anker USB C Hub, 7in1 Multi-Port USB Adapter, 4K@60Hz USBC to HDMI Splitter | 85W Max PD, 2 USB 3.0 & 1 USBC Data Ports, SD/TF Card Reader, for Laptops/Mac and Other Type C Devices (Charger Not Included)
  • Sleek 7-in-1 USB-C Hub: Features an HDMI port, two USB-A 3.0 ports, and a USB-C data port, each providing 5Gbps transfer speeds. It also includes a USB-C PD input port for charging up to 100W and dual SD and TF card slots, all in a compact design.
  • Flawless 4K@60Hz Video with HDMI: Delivers exceptional clarity and smoothness with its 4K@60Hz HDMI port, making it ideal for high-definition presentations and entertainment. (Note: Only the HDMI port supports video projection; the USB-C port is for data transfer only.)
  • Double Up on Efficiency: The two USB-A 3.0 ports and a USB-C port support a fast 5Gbps data rate, significantly boosting your transfer speeds and improving productivity.
  • Fast and Reliable 85W Charging: Offers high-capacity, speedy charging for laptops up to 85W, so you spend less time tethered to an outlet and more time being productive.
  • What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (7-in-1), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.

Microsoft’s rule, as reported in current coverage, is that Optimized games run from the internal SSD or a Storage Expansion Card. Microsoft says the card performs identically to the internal SSD, so the card is the correct native-play upgrade rather than a generic NVMe enclosure.

Which Xbox expansion cards are available?

Card family Reported capacities Price information
Seagate Storage Expansion Card 512 GB, 1 TB and 2 TB Microsoft list prices reported as $89.99, $149.99 and $279.99; retail pricing moves
WD_BLACK C50 512 GB and 1 TB in commonly cited lists; 2 TB retail listings reported in some European markets Varies by market and stock
SanDisk Optimus GX C50 512 GB, 1 TB and 2 TB 1 TB launch price reported as $199.99; retail availability and pricing vary

The Seagate 1 TB card was listed by PlayDesk under ASIN B08K48F6QZ. A 2 TB Seagate card was reported at $299 at Walmart in late-October coverage, illustrating why live prices should be checked before purchase. Microsoft’s 2 TB console line was discontinued on 1 August 2026, but remaining 2 TB consoles still use the same expansion-card system.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Xbox installation steps

  1. Install the Xbox console’s first system update before connecting the card.
  2. Turn off the console, remove the protective cover from the card if it has one, and insert the licensed card fully into the rear expansion slot.
  3. Start the console and wait for it to detect the card. Follow the on-screen storage setup prompt.
  4. In the storage settings, select the card as the destination for new installations or move compatible games to it.
  5. Install GTA 6 on the internal SSD or the expansion card. If it is placed on a USB drive, the console will require it to be moved back before play.

An internal Xbox SSD replacement is a teardown procedure. HotHardware pointed to an iFixit guide and described the work as substantially riskier than using the rear card, so it is not a sensible GTA 6 capacity upgrade for a typical owner.

Can I play GTA 6 from a USB drive?

No. USB storage can free the internal drive by holding games you are not currently playing, but GTA 6 must run from the PS5 internal SSD, a PS5 M.2 SSD, the Xbox internal SSD or a licensed Xbox expansion card.

On PS5, USB extended storage must be SuperSpeed USB 5 Gbps or faster, 250 GB to 8 TB, and connected directly to the console rather than through a hub. PS5 games stored there must be copied back to internal or M.2 storage to play; PS4 games can run directly from USB.

On Xbox, Optimized for Xbox Series X|S games can be stored on USB but must be moved to the internal SSD or expansion card for launch. Xbox One and backward-compatible games can still run from USB. A 2 TB USB Game Drive was cited at about $139.99 in HotHardware coverage, but that kind of drive is an archive purchase, not a GTA 6 installation target.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Also popular on Amazon
Sale
UGREEN USB to USB C Adapter Combo 4-Pack, 10Gbps USB C Converter Space Gray | Data transfer & Fast charging for MacBook, iPhone 17/16/15, iPad, Samsung Galaxy, Apple Watch
  • Dual Converters, Infinite Potential:Includes 2× USB C male to USB A female adapters and 2× USB A male to USB C female adapters. Perfect for a wide range of uses—tablets with Bluetooth keyboards, expand USB ports on macbook, and more. Two different converters for all your daily needs
  • Next-Level 10Gbps & 3A Charging: No more slow 480Mbps, this usb to usb c adapter has a transfer speed of up to 10Gbps, allowing you to do more transferring in less time. This usb adapter fits both USB A and USB C charger, supporting up to 3A fast charging
  • Upgraded Exquisite Craftsmanship: With an aluminum alloy housing and metal connector, the usbc to usb adapter is extremely durable and sturdy. Rigorously tested to withstand more than 10,000 times of plugging and unplugging, ensuring long-lasting performance
  • Widely Compatible: Transform any USB-C port into a USB-A port and USB-A port into a USB-C port, and connect up a wide range of USB-C(including MacBook, iPad Pro/Air/Mini, iPhone models with USB C ports, Samsung Galaxy series, and Google Pixel series. ) and USB A devices(including external hard drives, phones, mice, printers, and more)
  • Please Note: To reach 10Gbps speed, keep the cable under 3.3 ft. For USB A Male to USB C adapters, try flipping the USB C connector. USB C Male to USB A adapters support bidirectional 10Gbps transfer within 3.3 ft

Should I buy 1 TB or 2 TB of extra storage?

Choose capacity by the games that must remain installed after GTA 6, not by the title alone.

  • Buy nothing if the console has at least about 200–250 GB free and the player is willing to manage patches and other installations.
  • Choose 1 TB when the goal is to add GTA 6 and a few other large games while keeping the purchase smaller.
  • Choose 2 TB when several 100 GB-plus games should stay installed. This is Newegg Insider’s default PS5 size and the common Xbox starting point for a larger library.
  • Choose 8 TB on PS5 only for a very large library; it is the maximum supported M.2 capacity, not a GTA 6 requirement.
  • Choose 2 TB on Xbox when a 512 GB or 1 TB card would force frequent transfers. Verify the exact model, capacity and regional stock because card pricing changes.

Remember that the full GTA 6 installation must fit in one destination. Splitting part of the game across the internal drive and an expansion drive is not supported.

Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

What should I do before the 12 November preload?

  1. Check the console’s free-space display rather than the capacity printed on the box.
  2. Reserve about 250 GB if possible. That leaves room for a 210 GB-class package and gives a margin for a patch or temporary installation files.
  3. If space is short, move seldom-played games to a USB archive drive or delete them while retaining cloud or external backups as appropriate.
  4. PS5 owners buying an SSD should verify PCIe Gen4 x4, at least 5,500 MB/s recommended read speed, the 250 GB–8 TB capacity range and the 25 mm by 11.25 mm heatsink envelope.
  5. Xbox owners should buy only a licensed Storage Expansion Card and apply the console’s first update before inserting it.
  6. Recheck the PlayStation Store or Microsoft Store listing on 12 November. That listing is the authoritative size for the package being preloaded.

What can go wrong with a storage upgrade?

The PS5 cover will not close

The heatsink is outside Sony’s 25 mm width or 11.25 mm total-thickness envelope. Replace it with a factory-heatsink SKU or a lower-profile cooling solution; do not force the cover.

The PS5 does not accept the M.2 drive

Check that it is NVMe PCIe 4.0 x4 rather than M.2 SATA, that it is seated correctly, and that the console software is current. Sony’s specifications are requirements, not a universal guarantee, so move a problematic game back to internal storage if the drive passes setup but produces errors.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

The Xbox card is not detected

Install the console’s first system update, power down, remove and reinsert the card firmly, and confirm that it is an officially licensed model. A generic NVMe drive in a USB enclosure is not a substitute.

The game will not launch from USB

That is expected for an Optimized for Xbox Series X|S or PS5 game. Move GTA 6 to the internal SSD or the console’s approved expansion path before starting it.

Also popular on Amazon
Sale
Anker USB C Hub, 5-in-1 USBC to HDMI Splitter with 4K Display | 85W Max PD, 1 Powered USB-C 5Gbps & 2 Powered USB-A 3.0 5Gbps Data Ports, for MacBook Pro, MacBook Air, Dell and More (Black)
  • 5-in-1 Connectivity: Equipped with a 4K HDMI port, a 5 Gbps USB-C data port, two 5 Gbps USB-A ports, and a USB C 100W PD-IN port. Note: The USB C 100W PD-IN port supports only charging and does not support data transfer devices such as headphones or speakers.
  • Powerful Pass-Through Charging: Supports up to 85W pass-through charging so you can power up your laptop while you use the hub. Note: Pass-through charging requires a charger (not included). Note: To achieve full power for iPad, we recommend using a 45W wall charger.
  • Transfer Files in Seconds: Move files to and from your laptop at speeds of up to 5 Gbps via the USB-C and USB-A data ports. Note: The USB C 5Gbps Data port does not support video output.
  • HD Display: Connect to the HDMI port to stream or mirror content to an external monitor in resolutions of up to 4K@30Hz. Note: The USB-C ports do not support video output.
  • What You Get: Anker 332 USB-C Hub (5-in-1), welcome guide, our worry-free 18-month warranty, and friendly customer service.

The final install is larger than 210 GB

The 210 GB figure is an unofficial October PS5 scrape, not a permanent requirement. Free additional space, then use the store’s 12 November listing and any patch notes as the current reference.

How were these storage paths selected?

The choices follow each console maker’s native-play rules, the published physical limits, and the storage needs implied by the current unofficial GTA 6 size. A PS5 option had to be a spec-compliant Gen4 M.2 with a heatsink; an Xbox option had to be a licensed rear-slot card; USB was included only where it provides a useful archive function. Capacity recommendations separate a one-game solution from a library-management solution, and prices are shown only where a dated source reported them because retail pricing and stock change frequently.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

What is the practical answer?

Wait for the official store size unless your free space is already below roughly 200–250 GB. If you need native-play capacity, install a heatsink-equipped PCIe 4.0 M.2 NVMe SSD in a PS5, or use a licensed Storage Expansion Card in an Xbox Series X|S. Keep USB storage for games you are parking, and check the final listing when preload opens on 12 November 2026.

Frequently Asked Questions

Do boxed GTA 6 editions include a playable disc?

Current reports say boxed copies contain a download code rather than a playable game disc. Physical packaging therefore does not remove the need to download the complete game to console storage.

Will the 210 GB listing include the day-one patch?

That is not established. The figure came from an unofficial PS5 preload scrape, and the installed footprint can grow when a launch update is released, which is why extra free space is prudent.

Is a 512 GB Xbox Series S enough for GTA 6?

It can hold the game if the console is otherwise nearly empty, but about 210 GB would consume roughly 58% of the reported 364 GB usable space. Owners who keep other current-generation games installed are the strongest candidates for a licensed expansion card.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Recommended PC Tool
Recommended PC Tool
Crashes, No Sound, or Screen Glitches?Free driver scan
Windows Errors? Fix Them Before They SpreadFree repair scan

Two free Windows tools

One Free Minute Could Fix That PC

Before you go - each of these free tools takes about a minute and tackles what quietly slows a Windows PC down.

Special offer. View Outbyte info, uninstall instructions, EULA, and Privacy Policy.