Halloween DealsAmazon USHalloween week deals: useful picks before month-endAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.Check DealsPC HealthRecommendedCrashes, freezes, slowdowns? Check your PC nowSpot repairable issues before they interrupt work.Check PCHalloween DealsAmazon USOctober picks are moving - compare before checkoutAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.See Picks×
FREEDOM251

Freedom251 › Blog › Buying Guide

GMKtec EVO-X1 Pro vs. Minisforum AI X1 Pro: Which Mini PC Is Better for Your Workload?

By Freedom251 Team · · 10 min read

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Some links on this page are affiliate links: if you buy through them we may earn a commission, at no extra cost to you.

There is not enough verified, same-generation information to name an overall winner between the GMKtec EVO-X1 Pro HX 470 and the Minisforum AI X1 Pro. The useful comparison is conditional: the documented Minisforum AI X1 Pro HX 370 offers two upgradeable-memory slots and three internal SSD slots, while GMKtec’s documented EVO-X1 HX 370 has onboard, non-upgradeable memory and two SSD slots. Those HX 370 specifications should not be treated as confirmed specifications for the newer EVO-X1 Pro HX 470. Choose by the exact SKU and the upgrades your workload needs—not by the model names alone.

Which mini PC is better for your workload?

For workloads that may need more RAM later or several internal drives, the documented Minisforum AI X1 Pro HX 370 has the clearer advantage: its official product page specifies two DDR5 SO-DIMM slots, support for up to 128GB, and three M.2 2280 NVMe slots. For a buyer who has settled on the memory configuration they need, the GMKtec EVO-X1 HX 370 may still be suitable, but its official listing says the LPDDR5X memory is onboard and cannot be upgraded.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

That is a comparison of the HX 370 variants documented in the available specifications, not a definitive verdict on the exact newer-generation matchup in the title. TechRadar reported on July 29, 2026, that the GMKtec EVO-X1 Pro uses a Ryzen AI 9 HX 470. The official GMKtec specification available here is for the EVO-X1 with an HX 370, not that HX 470 Pro. TechRadar also covered a Minisforum AI X1 Pro-470, but a complete, current, official same-generation specification and price pairing has not been established.

Use the following decision guide, then verify the full model number and configuration on the seller’s current listing before buying.

#1 Best Overall
Sale
LAPGEAR Home Office Pro Lap Desk - Black Carbon, Fits 15.6” Laptops | Built-In Mouse Pad & Phone Slot, Wide Cushioned Wrist Rest, Dual-Bolster Microbead Cushion, Carry Handle
  • Spacious Design: Measuring 21.1" wide and 14.1" deep, our lap desk comfortably fits most laptops up to 15.6". Extra room for accessories ensures convenience.
  • Enhanced Functionality: Packed with handy features, including a 5x9" precision tracking mouse pad and a built-in phone slot for seamless work or video calls. Plus, enjoy ergonomic support with the integrated cushioned wrist rest.
  • Cool Comfort: Enjoy a stable surface with our lap desk's dual bolster cushion, designed for comfort and airflow, keeping your lap cool during extended use.
  • Durable Surface: Work with confidence on our lap desk's solid surface, featuring a sleek black carbon color, ensuring optimal air circulation to prevent your laptop from overheating.
  • On-the-Go Convenience: With an integrated handle and lightweight design (2.8 lbs), our lap desk is portable for travel or moving around the house, offering flexibility in any space.
  • You expect to add RAM: the AI X1 Pro HX 370’s two SO-DIMM slots are the documented upgrade path. Do not assume the EVO-X1 Pro HX 470 uses the older HX 370 model’s non-upgradeable memory design.
  • You want more internal SSD capacity or separation between drives: the AI X1 Pro HX 370 specification lists three M.2 slots, compared with two on the EVO-X1 HX 370 listing. Slot count alone does not establish that every slot has the same interface speed.
  • You need two wired network ports: both retrieved HX 370 listings specify dual 2.5GbE, so this feature does not distinguish those variants.
  • You want Wi-Fi 7: the Minisforum HX 370 page lists Wi-Fi 7 and Bluetooth 5.4; the GMKtec EVO-X1 HX 370 page lists Wi-Fi 6 and Bluetooth 5.2. Confirm those radios on the exact Pro SKU before making this a deciding factor.
  • You plan an external GPU: OCuLink is listed or reported across these product families, but check the exact machine’s connection, required adapter or cable, and what is included in the box.
  • You are choosing on CPU or graphics speed: the documented HX 370 models share the Ryzen AI 9 HX 370 and Radeon 890M, but that does not demonstrate equal sustained performance or application results.

Which models are actually being compared?

The name mismatch is the central buying risk. “EVO-X1” and “EVO-X1 Pro” are not interchangeable labels in the available reporting: the GMKtec official page describes an EVO-X1 with an HX 370, while TechRadar’s July 29, 2026 report identifies the EVO-X1 Pro with an HX 470. Minisforum material also refers to an AI X1 Pro and, in TechRadar coverage, an AI X1 Pro-470. Confirm processor, memory type, installed capacity, and the full SKU rather than assuming a specification carries over from a similarly named machine.

Specification Minisforum AI X1 Pro (official HX 370 listing) GMKtec EVO-X1 (official HX 370 listing) GMKtec EVO-X1 Pro HX 470 (TechRadar report, July 29, 2026)
Processor AMD Ryzen AI 9 HX 370; 12 cores, 24 threads; boost up to 5.1GHz AMD Ryzen AI 9 HX 370; 12 cores, 24 threads; boost up to 5.1GHz AMD Ryzen AI 9 HX 470
Integrated graphics Radeon 890M Radeon 890M Not stated in the cited TechRadar report
Memory Two DDR5 SO-DIMM slots; up to 128GB. Listed configurations: 32GB, 64GB, or 96GB. Onboard LPDDR5X, in 32GB or 64GB configurations; listing says it is not upgradeable. 64GB LPDDR5 memory, according to TechRadar. Upgradeability not stated in that report.
M.2 storage Three M.2 2280 NVMe slots: two PCIe 4.0 x4 and one PCIe 4.0 x1 Two M.2 2280 NVMe slots, up to 4TB per slot Not stated in the cited TechRadar report
Wireless Wi-Fi 7; Bluetooth 5.4 Wi-Fi 6; Bluetooth 5.2 Not stated in the cited TechRadar report
Wired networking Dual 2.5GbE Dual 2.5GbE Not stated in the cited TechRadar report
Expansion and display connections USB4, HDMI 2.1, DisplayPort 2.0, SD card slot; OCuLink via an adapter board OCuLink is not stated on the retrieved official HX 370 specification OCuLink reported by TechRadar; other connections not stated in that report
Price evidence Official page lists configurations, but displayed price and stock are volatile; no stable current quote is established. No reliable current like-for-like price established. TechRadar reported early-bird prices of $1,580 for the 1TB US configuration and $1,750 for 2TB; £1,230 and £1,360 for UK configurations. These are dated launch figures, not current quotes.

The Minisforum processor figures and listed HX 370 configurations above come from its official AI X1 Pro product page accessed in 2026. GMKtec’s official EVO-X1 page is the source for the HX 370 specifications in that column. The HX 470 Pro column is deliberately limited to details stated in TechRadar’s dated report; missing details are not evidence that a feature is absent.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

What does memory upgradeability mean in practice?

The documented HX 370 models take different approaches. Minisforum’s AI X1 Pro page specifies two DDR5 SO-DIMM slots and support for up to 128GB, while GMKtec’s EVO-X1 HX 370 listing specifies onboard LPDDR5X in 32GB or 64GB configurations and says it is non-upgradeable. That difference matters most when your software’s memory use may grow, or when you want to buy a smaller configuration and add compatible memory later.

When the Minisforum slots help

For a workload with a changing memory requirement, replaceable SO-DIMMs give you a route to expand or reconfigure memory, subject to the machine’s supported capacity and compatible modules. The official page’s 128GB figure is a stated maximum across two slots; it does not mean every listed configuration ships with that amount. The listed factory choices are 32GB/1TB, 64GB/1TB, and 96GB/2TB.

Rank #2
Anker USB C Hub, 5-in-1 USBC to HDMI Splitter with 4K Display | 85W Max PD, 1 Powered USB-C 5Gbps & 2 Powered USB-A 3.0 5Gbps Data Ports, for MacBook Pro, MacBook Air, Dell and More (Black)
  • 5-in-1 Connectivity: Equipped with a 4K HDMI port, a 5 Gbps USB-C data port, two 5 Gbps USB-A ports, and a USB C 100W PD-IN port. Note: The USB C 100W PD-IN port supports only charging and does not support data transfer devices such as headphones or speakers.
  • Powerful Pass-Through Charging: Supports up to 85W pass-through charging so you can power up your laptop while you use the hub. Note: Pass-through charging requires a charger (not included). Note: To achieve full power for iPad, we recommend using a 45W wall charger.
  • Transfer Files in Seconds: Move files to and from your laptop at speeds of up to 5 Gbps via the USB-C and USB-A data ports. Note: The USB C 5Gbps Data port does not support video output.
  • HD Display: Connect to the HDMI port to stream or mirror content to an external monitor in resolutions of up to 4K@30Hz. Note: The USB-C ports do not support video output.
  • What You Get: Anker 332 USB-C Hub (5-in-1), welcome guide, our worry-free 18-month warranty, and friendly customer service.

When onboard memory is acceptable

Non-upgradeable memory is less of a drawback if the capacity you buy is sufficient for the machine’s full service life and the price makes sense for that configuration. On the documented EVO-X1 HX 370, treat the chosen 32GB or 64GB as the final memory capacity rather than planning a later RAM upgrade.

What to verify on the HX 470 Pro

TechRadar reports 64GB LPDDR5 for the EVO-X1 Pro HX 470, but the cited report does not establish whether that memory is replaceable. Because the older HX 370’s memory arrangement is not proof of the newer Pro’s design, check the manufacturer’s specification for the exact HX 470 SKU or obtain written confirmation before purchase if upgradeability is essential.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

How much does internal storage flexibility matter?

The documented AI X1 Pro HX 370 has three M.2 2280 NVMe positions: two PCIe 4.0 x4 slots and one PCIe 4.0 x1 slot. The retrieved EVO-X1 HX 370 specification has two M.2 2280 NVMe slots and states support for up to 4TB per slot. This makes the Minisforum listing more flexible for a buyer planning several internal drives, but the third slot’s x1 connection is not equivalent to either x4 slot for maximum interface bandwidth.

Think about the number of drives and the role of each, not just the headline capacity. A multi-drive setup can be useful when a workload benefits from keeping operating system, projects, and bulk files on separate devices. If your plan depends on a particular slot’s speed, check the exact board layout and lane specification rather than treating all M.2 slots as interchangeable. The HX 470 Pro report cited here does not establish its M.2 count, so do not transfer the HX 370 EVO-X1 slot count to that newer model.

Rank #3
Sale
Yilador Webcam Cover 3 Pack, 0.03 inch Ultra Thin Laptop Camera Cover Slide | Camera Blocker Slider for iPhone iPad MacBook Pro Computer iMac Cell Phone PC Laptop Accessories, Great for Privacy, Black
  • Note: Not suitable for MacBooks released after 2023 or devices with a protruding front camera; Not applicable to full-screen or notch-style tempered glass screen protectors; Do not use on the rear camera of the phone.
  • 💻 Why Do You Need a Webcam Cover Slide? — Safeguard your privacy by covering your webcam with our reliable webcam cover when not in use. Don't let anyone secretly watch you. Stay protected!
  • ✅ Thin & Stylish — Enhance your laptop's functionality and aesthetics with our 0.027" ultra-thin webcam covers. Seamlessly close your laptop while adding a touch of sophistication.
  • ✅ Fits Most Devices — Compatible with laptops, phones, tablets, desktops! Keep your privacy intact on Ap/ple, Mac/Book, iPh/one, iP/ad, H/P, L/novo, De/ll, Ac/er, As/us, Sa/msung devices.
  • ✅ 365 Days Protection — Our upgraded 3.0 adhesive ensures a strong hold that won't damage your equipment. Experience reliable, long-term privacy protection day in and day out.

Are the processors or graphics meaningfully different?

For the two documented HX 370 variants, the listed processor is the same AMD Ryzen AI 9 HX 370, with 12 cores, 24 threads, and boost up to 5.1GHz; both list Radeon 890M graphics. Minisforum additionally states up to 80 total TOPS for its HX 370 system. Those shared specifications are useful for identifying the chip, not for predicting which mini PC will be faster in a sustained workload.

Cooling design, power limits, firmware, memory configuration, and the software being run can affect actual results. No controlled head-to-head test for the exact EVO-X1 Pro HX 470 and a comparable AI X1 Pro generation is established here. Nor should a review score for an earlier GMKtec model be presented as a result for the newer Pro: TechRadar’s report says the prior model received 4.5 stars, but that is not a test score for the HX 470 Pro.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

If your decision depends on rendering time, game performance, local AI throughput, fan noise, or sustained CPU speed, look for measurements of the exact SKU under the applications and conditions you care about. The shared processor name by itself cannot answer those questions.

Which model suits networking or external expansion?

Wired networking

Both official HX 370 listings specify two 2.5GbE ports. That is a useful common feature for a small server, lab machine, or network appliance, but port count alone does not establish which system has the better network controller, driver support, or firmware behavior. If your deployment relies on a particular NIC feature, verify the controller and operating-system support for the exact model; those details are not established in the specifications summarized here.

Rank #4
AboveTEK Portable Laptop Lap Desk w/Retractable Left/Right Mouse Pad Tray, Non-Slip Heat Shield Tablet Notebook Computer Stand Table w/Sturdy Stable Work Surface for Bed Sofa Couch or Travel
  • Anti-Slip Surface - Transform your laptop into a mobile workstation with the AboveTEK portable laptop lap desk. The anti-slip surface provides a strong grip for laptops up to 15.6 inches(Diagonal), while the double rubber strip on the bottom ensures a stable display or typing experience on your lap, couch, or bed.
  • Retractable Mouse Pad - Retractable laptop mouse pad extends on both directions for the left/right handed with elevation along the edges for stopping mouse from falling off. The size of laptop tray is 14" X 9.7" and the size of mouse pad is 7.4" X 6.1".
  • Effective Heat Shield - The effective heat shield made of sturdy and thick material protects your laptop from overheating. Prioritizes your comfort and safety, an ideal lap pad or board for working anywhere.
  • EASY to Carry and Store - With an ergonomic and simplistic design, the lap desk is portable to store in a backpack. Only 15" in size, 2.2 lb of weight and with slim 0.6 inch thickness, it is ready to be easily carried around.
  • Widely Applicable - The smooth platform accommodates laptops and tablets up to 15.6 inches(Diagonal), making it a versatile accessory and one of the best gifts for mom, dad, students and professionals. Perfect for use as a laptop bed tray or tablet holder anywhere at home, library, or park.

Wireless networking

On the HX 370 listings, Minisforum specifies Wi-Fi 7 and Bluetooth 5.4, compared with Wi-Fi 6 and Bluetooth 5.2 on GMKtec’s EVO-X1. That can make the Minisforum listing more attractive if wireless capability is a deciding specification. It does not establish real-world range or throughput, and the difference should not be assumed to apply to the HX 470 Pro without its own specification.

OCuLink and external GPUs

Minisforum’s HX 370 product page identifies OCuLink through an adapter board. TechRadar reports OCuLink on the EVO-X1 Pro HX 470, while GMKtec’s retrieved HX 370 listing does not state it. Before buying an external GPU dock or other OCuLink hardware, confirm that the exact computer has the required connection and determine whether any adapter or cable is included. The available information does not establish what accessories ship in every regional package.

What’s actually slowing this PC down?

Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

How should you compare configurations and prices?

Compare machines with the same installed memory and storage, then use the price for your region at the time you are ready to order. A bare or differently configured model is not a like-for-like deal, and launch pricing can disappear as stock and promotions change.

TechRadar reported early-bird launch prices for the EVO-X1 Pro HX 470 of $1,580 for a 1TB US configuration and $1,750 for a 2TB configuration; its reported UK prices were £1,230 and £1,360, respectively. These are dated July 2026 launch figures, not current quotes. The Minisforum official page lists 32GB/1TB, 64GB/1TB, and 96GB/2TB choices, but stock and displayed prices are volatile. The available price evidence does not support a current, same-generation value winner.

Best Value
Sale
LAPGEAR Home Office Lap Desk – Pink, Fits 15.6” Laptops | Built-In Mouse Pad & Phone Slot, Integrated Device Ledge, Dual-Bolster Microbead Cushion, Carry Handle
  • Spacious Design: Measuring 21.1" wide and 12" deep, our lap desk comfortably fits most laptops up to 15.6". Extra room for accessories ensures convenience.
  • Enhanced Functionality: Packed with handy features, including a 5x9" precision tracking mouse pad and a built-in phone slot for seamless work or video calls. Plus, enjoy laptop support with the integrated device ledge.
  • Cool Comfort: Enjoy a stable surface with our lap desk's dual bolster cushion, designed for comfort and airflow, keeping your lap cool during extended use.
  • Durable Surface: Work with confidence on our lap desk's solid surface, featuring a blush pink color, ensuring optimal air circulation to prevent your laptop from overheating.
  • On-the-Go Convenience: With an integrated handle and lightweight design (2.14 lbs), our lap desk is portable for travel or moving around the house, offering flexibility in any space.
  1. Match the generation. Confirm whether the listing says EVO-X1 HX 370 or EVO-X1 Pro HX 470, and identify the processor in the AI X1 Pro configuration you are considering.
  2. Match installed capacity. Compare the same RAM and SSD capacity where possible. For Minisforum, account for whether you plan to use its SO-DIMM upgrade path; for GMKtec, confirm the exact Pro memory design rather than assuming the HX 370 arrangement.
  3. Check the cost of completing the build. Include any extra memory, M.2 drives, or OCuLink adapter and dock you need. The available specifications do not verify specific accessory compatibility or what is included in each package.
  4. Use a current regional checkout price. Compare delivered prices, availability, and the configuration shown in the seller’s cart. Do not treat the reported HX 470 early-bird amounts as a standing offer.
  5. Make the decision against your must-haves. If a feature such as 128GB support, a third M.2 position, Wi-Fi 7, or OCuLink is essential, confirm it against the precise SKU before paying.

What should you verify before ordering?

A short pre-purchase check prevents the most likely mistake: buying on the strength of a similarly named model’s specification.

  • Read the full product name and processor on the order page and invoice.
  • Confirm memory capacity, memory type, and whether it is replaceable on that exact SKU.
  • Verify the number and interface of M.2 slots if drive count or speed matters.
  • Check wireless, wired networking, and display ports against your required devices.
  • For an eGPU setup, confirm OCuLink on that model and check adapter, cable, and dock requirements.
  • Compare current prices for equivalent regional RAM and storage configurations, not historical launch prices.
  • If performance or acoustics decide the purchase, seek tests of the exact models; the processor name is not a substitute for system-level measurements.

Which one should you buy?

Choose the documented Minisforum AI X1 Pro HX 370 if its two SO-DIMM slots, stated 128GB ceiling, three M.2 positions, or listed Wi-Fi 7 are the features you value—and verify that the exact configuration on sale matches the official specification. Consider the documented GMKtec EVO-X1 HX 370 if its fixed 32GB or 64GB onboard memory is enough and its two-drive arrangement meets your needs.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

For the newer GMKtec EVO-X1 Pro HX 470 versus a same-generation Minisforum model, hold off on a categorical winner until you can verify both exact configurations, current regional prices, and tests that measure the systems rather than just their processor names. A 2026 launch report identifies the GMKtec Pro as HX 470, but the HX 370 GMKtec specification cannot fill in the missing details for that Pro SKU.

Frequently Asked Questions

Is the GMKtec EVO-X1 Pro HX 470 the same computer as the EVO-X1 HX 370?

The available reporting identifies the EVO-X1 Pro as an HX 470 model, while GMKtec’s official specification described here is for an EVO-X1 with an HX 370. Treat them as separate variants and verify the processor printed on the exact seller listing.

Does the EVO-X1 Pro HX 470 have upgradeable RAM?

The cited TechRadar report gives its memory as 64GB LPDDR5 but does not establish whether it can be upgraded. The HX 370 EVO-X1’s onboard-memory specification is not enough to answer that for the newer Pro.

Does the Minisforum AI X1 Pro include an OCuLink adapter in the box?

Its official HX 370 product page describes OCuLink via an adapter board, but the available information does not establish package contents for every configuration or region. Confirm included accessories with the seller before ordering an eGPU dock.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Are the reported EVO-X1 Pro prices still available?

The $1,580 and $1,750 US figures and £1,230 and £1,360 UK figures were reported as early-bird launch prices in July 2026. They are not evidence of the current price or stock status.

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

Buying Guidecomputer hardwareGMKtecmini PCsMinisforum

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Recommended PC Tool
Recommended PC Tool
Windows Errors? Fix Them Before They SpreadFree repair scan
Outdated Drivers Are Slowing You DownFree scan - exact matches

Two free Windows tools

One Free Minute Could Fix That PC

Before you go - each of these free tools takes about a minute and tackles what quietly slows a Windows PC down.

Special offer. View Outbyte info, uninstall instructions, EULA, and Privacy Policy.