Some links on this page are affiliate links: if you buy through them we may earn a commission, at no extra cost to you.
For a Mac-only household, iCloud+ is usually the easier default; choose Dropbox when files need to move reliably across Mac, Windows, Linux, Android, or a mixed-platform team. In the United States, both services list a 2 TB individual option at $9.99 per month, but the price buys different workflows: iCloud+ connects with Apple device backup, Photos, Files, and sync, while Dropbox Plus is built around cross-platform access and sharing. This comparison uses U.S. plan details accessed on October 25, 2026; prices and features can vary by country and change over time.
What is the main difference between Dropbox and iCloud for Mac?
iCloud is Apple’s connected storage and sync service; Dropbox is a separate cloud workspace designed to make files accessible across different operating systems and collaborative workflows. A Mac owner’s best choice depends less on the storage number than on what the files need to do.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
Quick wins for a faster PC:
Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsFix Now →Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsFree Scan →- Choose iCloud+ first if your household mainly uses Apple devices and wants storage integrated with device backup, Photos, Files, and synchronization.
- Choose Dropbox as the primary workspace if you regularly share files with Windows, Linux, or Android users, clients, or a mixed-platform team.
- Consider using both for distinct roles if you want Apple’s integrated services for personal data and a separate shared workspace for work. That means managing two services and potentially paying for both.
The two are not identical substitutes. iCloud+ includes more than file storage, while Dropbox’s published plans emphasize storage, access across devices, sharing, and recovery history.
How do the U.S. plans and prices compare in 2026?
For an individual seeking 2 TB, the listed U.S. monthly price is the same: $9.99. The lower iCloud+ tiers can cost less for households with modest storage needs, and its larger tiers offer more capacity; Dropbox’s published Plus plan is a one-person plan.
#1 Best Overall
- Read Before You Buy — No Video Output: These adapters support charging and USB 2.0 data transfer, but cannot transmit video signals. Except for standard USB webcams (which use USB data only), they are not compatible with HDMI/DisplayPort cables, video-capable USB-C hubs, or docking stations with video output.
- Convert USB-A Ports to USB-C: Designed to connect USB-C earphones, cables, flash drives, card readers, and other USB-C accessories to standard USB-A ports. Plug-and-play with no drivers or software required.
- Aluminum Alloy Housing: Built with a sturdy aluminum alloy shell that aids in heat dissipation and protects against daily wear and scratches. Designed to maintain a stable and secure connection.
- Compact & Travel-Friendly: The ultra-compact design allows the adapter to stay plugged into your device without blocking adjacent ports or adding bulk, reducing wear and tear on your original USB ports.
- 12-Month Warranty: Backed by a 12-month manufacturer warranty for peace of mind. Designed to meet strict quality control standards for reliable everyday performance.
| Plan or option | Published storage | U.S. price | Who it is for or notable detail |
|---|---|---|---|
| iCloud free | 5 GB | Free | Apple account storage; the cited plan information identifies this as the free allowance. |
| iCloud+ 50 GB | 50 GB | $0.99/month | Paid iCloud+ tier. |
| iCloud+ 200 GB | 200 GB | $2.99/month | Paid iCloud+ tier. |
| iCloud+ 2 TB | 2 TB | $9.99/month | Paid iCloud+ tier; can be shared with up to five other family members. |
| iCloud+ 6 TB | 6 TB | $29.99/month | Paid iCloud+ tier. |
| iCloud+ 12 TB | 12 TB | $59.99/month | Paid iCloud+ tier. |
| Dropbox Plus | 2 TB | $9.99/month | One person; includes multi-device access and 30-day restore history. |
| Dropbox Standard | Starts at 3 TB for a team | Not stated in the cited plan details | Team plan; Dropbox lists 180-day history. |
| Dropbox Advanced | Starts at 15 TB | Not stated in the cited plan details | Team plan; Dropbox lists one-year history. |
Apple’s iCloud+ prices and Dropbox’s Plus price, storage, and recovery periods above are vendor-published U.S. plan details accessed October 25, 2026. Dropbox’s Standard and Advanced capacity descriptions do not establish an exact price here, so they should not be compared with the individual plans as though their costs were known. Check the current checkout page for your country before subscribing.
What does the matching 2 TB price actually mean?
At $9.99 per month, iCloud+ 2 TB and Dropbox Plus 2 TB match on listed capacity and monthly price, not on intended use. iCloud+ can be shared with up to five other family members and includes Apple ecosystem features. Dropbox Plus is listed for one person and adds a stated 30-day restore history, transfers up to 50 GB, multi-device access, and 256-bit AES and SSL/TLS encryption.
If multiple people need space, the family-sharing option can make iCloud+ a different kind of value from a one-person Dropbox Plus subscription. That is not the same as a team plan: Dropbox lists separate Standard and Advanced team offerings, with different storage descriptions and history windows.
Which service works better with Apple devices and Mac workflows?
iCloud+ is the more integrated option when your work and personal life are already centered on Apple. It connects with Apple device backup, Photos, Files, and device synchronization, reducing the need to treat each as a separate service.
Rank #2
- 5-in-1 USB-C Hub: Experience comprehensive connectivity featuring a Power Delivery input, two USB-A 2.0 ports, a USB-A 3.0 port, and an HDMI port. (Note: The USB-C power delivery input port is only for connecting an external wall charger to power your laptop and cannot power peripheral devices.)
- 90W Pass-Through Charging: Achieve optimal charging with 90W pass-through power to your laptop, supported by a total input of 100W, with the hub reserving 10W for operational efficiency. (Note: Wall charger not included.)
- Quick Data Transfers: Accelerate your productivity with rapid data transfers using a high-speed 5Gbps USB 3.0 port and two 480Mbps USB 2.0 ports.
- 4K HDMI Display: Enhance your visual experience with a hub capable of delivering 4K resolution at 30Hz in both mirror and extend modes. Please note that this hub is compatible with MacBook (macOS 12 and newer), Windows 10 and 11, ChromeOS, and laptops equipped with DP Alt Mode and Power Delivery. Note: This device is not compatible with Linux.
- What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (5-in-1, 4K HDMI), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
Dropbox works on Mac too, but it is a separate workspace rather than the Apple-native layer for those services. That can be an advantage when the same folder has to be available to people using other systems; it is less compelling if your only goal is to keep Apple devices and personal files in sync.
When iCloud+ is the simpler Mac choice
- You use Apple devices for most everyday tasks.
- You want one Apple service to support device backup, Photos, Files, and synchronization.
- Your household wants to share an iCloud+ plan rather than buy separate individual storage plans.
- You value the additional iCloud+ services, such as Private Relay and Hide My Email. Apple also lists Custom Email Domain, Apple Invites, and HomeKit Secure Video among iCloud+ features, with availability depending on tier and region.
When Dropbox fits a Mac workflow better
- You exchange working files with people who use Windows, Linux, or Android.
- You need a workspace organized around client or team sharing rather than Apple device integration.
- You want the published Dropbox recovery-history windows: 30 days for Plus, 180 days for Standard, and one year for Advanced.
- You need the Dropbox Plus plan’s stated transfers up to 50 GB.
How do platform access and collaboration compare?
Dropbox has the clearer fit when platform reach matters: its workflows cover Mac, Windows, Linux, iOS, Android, and the web. iCloud is optimized for Apple hardware, with less seamless access outside it. If recipients regularly use different systems, that difference can matter more than a small difference in storage capacity.
Free tools Windows power users keep installed
One-click scans. No signup required.
Dropbox’s sharing tools are oriented toward collaboration. Its published comparison describes link permissions, password protection, expiration, comments, integrations, and Rewind; those are vendor-described capabilities, not a guarantee that every control is available on every plan or in every context. Confirm the specific feature on the plan you intend to use.
iCloud is adequate for personal Apple files and sharing within an Apple-centered household, but it is less oriented to mixed-platform collaboration. If your work depends on sending links to clients or coordinating edits across a team, assess who will open the files and what control you need over access before choosing.
Rank #3
- Sleek 7-in-1 USB-C Hub: Features an HDMI port, two USB-A 3.0 ports, and a USB-C data port, each providing 5Gbps transfer speeds. It also includes a USB-C PD input port for charging up to 100W and dual SD and TF card slots, all in a compact design.
- Flawless 4K@60Hz Video with HDMI: Delivers exceptional clarity and smoothness with its 4K@60Hz HDMI port, making it ideal for high-definition presentations and entertainment. (Note: Only the HDMI port supports video projection; the USB-C port is for data transfer only.)
- Double Up on Efficiency: The two USB-A 3.0 ports and a USB-C port support a fast 5Gbps data rate, significantly boosting your transfer speeds and improving productivity.
- Fast and Reliable 85W Charging: Offers high-capacity, speedy charging for laptops up to 85W, so you spend less time tethered to an outlet and more time being productive.
- What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (7-in-1), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
A quick decision for shared folders
- List the people who need access. If most are part of an Apple household, iCloud+ family sharing may be a natural fit. If they use a mix of operating systems or work outside your household, Dropbox is the stronger primary-workspace candidate.
- Identify the controls you actually need. For Dropbox, verify the exact link permissions, password, expiration, and collaboration options available for your plan. Do not assume a feature listed in a vendor comparison applies identically to every plan.
- Choose the service that owns the shared working copy. Keeping a clear home for shared files reduces confusion about which copy is current, especially if you also use a second service for personal storage.
How should you compare backup, sync, and file recovery?
iCloud connects Apple device backup and synchronization, but Apple’s cited plan information does not publish a matching file-version-history duration. Dropbox publishes explicit history periods by plan: 30 days on Plus, 180 days on Standard, and one year on Advanced.
Those are different kinds of reassurance. A backup or sync feature helps keep selected data available across devices; a stated version-history window tells you how long a plan says it retains recoverable earlier versions or deleted files. Do not treat a synchronization service or its recovery window as a complete substitute for a separate backup strategy for files you cannot afford to lose.
The Tool Desk
Outbyte Driver Updater FREEFix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →Outbyte PC Repair FREEClear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsFree Scan →Choose based on the recovery problem you need to solve
- Lost or replaced Apple device: iCloud’s role in Apple device backup makes it relevant to an Apple-centered setup.
- Need to restore an earlier Dropbox file: use the recovery window attached to the specific Dropbox plan, and confirm the file and action fall within its terms.
- Need a published recovery duration for iCloud files: the cited Apple plan information does not establish an equivalent number. Do not infer one from Dropbox’s figures or assume the services have identical retention behavior.
Which service has the stronger privacy and security features?
The available plan facts describe different security and privacy features rather than providing a like-for-like security audit. Dropbox lists 256-bit AES and SSL/TLS encryption for Plus and publishes multi-factor authentication on its plan materials. iCloud+ includes Private Relay and Hide My Email, alongside other features whose availability can depend on tier and region.
Encryption, account security, and privacy tools address different concerns. A feature list does not establish that one service is categorically more private or secure for every user. Compare the exact protections you need, use multi-factor authentication where available, and review current vendor documentation for how a feature applies to your account and region.
Rank #4
- Dual Converters, Infinite Potential:Includes 2× USB C male to USB A female adapters and 2× USB A male to USB C female adapters. Perfect for a wide range of uses—tablets with Bluetooth keyboards, expand USB ports on macbook, and more. Two different converters for all your daily needs
- Next-Level 10Gbps & 3A Charging: No more slow 480Mbps, this usb to usb c adapter has a transfer speed of up to 10Gbps, allowing you to do more transferring in less time. This usb adapter fits both USB A and USB C charger, supporting up to 3A fast charging
- Upgraded Exquisite Craftsmanship: With an aluminum alloy housing and metal connector, the usbc to usb adapter is extremely durable and sturdy. Rigorously tested to withstand more than 10,000 times of plugging and unplugging, ensuring long-lasting performance
- Broad Compatible: The usb c to usb adapter widely supports all USB C/ USB A devices like laptops, tablets, cellphones, car chargers, and phone chargers. Such as compatible with MacBook Pro/Air 2023/2022, Thunderbolt 4/3 Devices,Apple MagSafe Watch 9/8/7/SE/Ultra, iPad Pro 2022/2021, Samsung Galaxy S23/S20/S10, and iPhone 17/16/15 Pro. Plug and play
- Please Note: To reach 10Gbps speed, keep the cable under 3.3 ft. For USB A Male to USB C adapters, try flipping the USB C connector. USB C Male to USB A adapters support bidirectional 10Gbps transfer within 3.3 ft
Should you use iCloud+, Dropbox, or both?
For most Mac-only households, start with iCloud+ because it connects storage with Apple backup, Photos, Files, and synchronization. For a cross-platform work environment, make Dropbox the main shared workspace. Using both can be sensible when those jobs are genuinely separate, but it also means more storage decisions and another service to manage.
Pick iCloud+ if these are your priorities
- Apple device integration is more important than broad platform reach.
- You want family sharing with up to five other people.
- A tier below 2 TB is sufficient, or you need one of the larger listed iCloud+ capacities.
- Private Relay, Hide My Email, or other iCloud+ features matter to you and are available in your region and tier.
Pick Dropbox if these are your priorities
- People using different operating systems need convenient access to shared files.
- You want a distinct work or client-sharing space.
- You prefer plans with published recovery-history periods, subject to the selected plan.
- The Dropbox Plus one-person plan and its 2 TB capacity match your needs.
Use both only when the jobs are distinct
A practical split is iCloud+ for Apple-connected personal storage and Dropbox for files actively shared across platforms. Decide which service holds the authoritative working copy for each shared project; otherwise, multiple synced copies can create uncertainty about where updates belong. This arrangement is not automatically cheaper: a household paying for both subscriptions should compare the combined cost with the storage and features it will actually use.
What should you check before subscribing?
Plan names, prices, storage allowances, and feature availability can change. The following checks help prevent choosing based on a headline capacity that does not match your situation.
- Country and billing currency: the figures in this article are U.S. prices, accessed October 25, 2026. They may not apply elsewhere.
- Number of people: iCloud+ supports sharing with up to five other family members; Dropbox Plus is listed for one person. Team plans are a separate Dropbox category.
- Actual storage need: estimate the combined files and Apple-related data you expect the service to hold, then select a tier with enough headroom rather than relying on a plan label alone.
- Recovery expectations: Dropbox publishes plan-specific history windows. The cited Apple materials do not provide a comparable file-version duration.
- Availability of extra features: iCloud+ features can vary by tier and region. Confirm that the feature you want is included where you live.
- Collaboration controls: confirm current sharing options on the exact Dropbox plan if passwords, expiration, link permissions, comments, or integrations are requirements.
- Current checkout terms: verify the final price and plan description with Apple or Dropbox before paying, particularly for team offerings whose prices are not established here.
Frequently Asked Questions
Can I use Dropbox and iCloud on the same Mac?
Yes. They can serve different purposes—for example, Apple-connected personal storage in iCloud and a shared project workspace in Dropbox. Decide which service is the authoritative copy for each working folder so collaborators do not have to guess where updates belong.
Best Value
- 5-in-1 Connectivity: Equipped with a 4K HDMI port, a 5 Gbps USB-C data port, two 5 Gbps USB-A ports, and a USB C 100W PD-IN port. Note: The USB C 100W PD-IN port supports only charging and does not support data transfer devices such as headphones or speakers.
- Powerful Pass-Through Charging: Supports up to 85W pass-through charging so you can power up your laptop while you use the hub. Note: Pass-through charging requires a charger (not included). Note: To achieve full power for iPad, we recommend using a 45W wall charger.
- Transfer Files in Seconds: Move files to and from your laptop at speeds of up to 5 Gbps via the USB-C and USB-A data ports. Note: The USB C 5Gbps Data port does not support video output.
- HD Display: Connect to the HDMI port to stream or mirror content to an external monitor in resolutions of up to 4K@30Hz. Note: The USB-C ports do not support video output.
- What You Get: Anker 332 USB-C Hub (5-in-1), welcome guide, our worry-free 18-month warranty, and friendly customer service.
Does Dropbox Plus include a free plan?
The Dropbox plan details compared here establish the paid Plus offer, but do not establish a free Dropbox allowance. Check Dropbox’s current plan page for any free option and its current terms.
Can I share iCloud+ with people who are not in my family?
Apple’s plan description specifies sharing with up to five other family members. The cited details do not establish whether another sharing arrangement qualifies, so check Apple’s current sharing rules rather than assuming the allowance applies to any group.
Are Dropbox’s sharing controls included on every plan?
The Dropbox comparison describes controls such as link permissions, passwords, expirations, and comments, but the plan-specific availability is not established here. Confirm the exact feature set for the plan and account type you intend to use.
Quick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

