The Tool Desk
Outbyte PC Repair FREEClear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsFree Scan →Outbyte Driver Updater FREEFix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →Some links on this page are affiliate links: if you buy through them we may earn a commission, at no extra cost to you.
To start Cyberpunk 2077’s new Clampdown quest, install the free Edgerunners 2 Update 2.5, complete The Heist, finish two gigs assigned by Wakako, and then continue playing until Wakako sends her message. That is the complete trigger published by CD PROJEKT RED; there is no named pair of required gigs, mandatory map visit, or guaranteed 24-hour wait.
Clampdown is a playable prequel to Cyberpunk: Edgerunners 2. It takes V to Night City Prison to meet Weak Kingsley—formerly known as King—and his crew, while offering a five-piece King-inspired gear set that includes his Coronation revolver and outfit. The base game is sufficient: Phantom Liberty and the Ultimate Edition are not required.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
What do I need before Clampdown can appear?
The unlock conditions are short, but all of them matter. CD PROJEKT RED’s patch notes state: To unlock it, complete The Heist and two gigs for Wakako, then wait for a message from her.
The quest is part of the free 2.5 update, so you do not need to purchase an expansion or replace an existing save.
- Update 2.5 installed: The Edgerunners 2 Update launched on October 22, 2026, for PC, Mac, PlayStation 5, Xbox Series X|S and Nintendo Switch 2. The current launch notice is the best reference for Switch 2 availability: CD PROJEKT RED’s Update 2.5 announcement.
- The Heist completed: You must finish that main-story mission on the save where you want to play Clampdown.
- Two Wakako gigs completed: Both gigs must be jobs from Wakako. The official notes do not name two specific missions.
- Wakako’s message received: The message is the final unlock signal. The notes do not promise a fixed delay, a 24-hour timer, or a specific place to wait.
A PlayStation 4 running the PS4 version cannot receive patches released after November 8, 2022. In practice, that version cannot install Update 2.5, even if your save has completed The Heist and Wakako’s jobs.
Popular on Amazon
- Read Before You Buy — No Video Output: These adapters support charging and USB 2.0 data transfer, but cannot transmit video signals. Except for standard USB webcams (which use USB data only), they are not compatible with HDMI/DisplayPort cables, video-capable USB-C hubs, or docking stations with video output.
- Convert USB-A Ports to USB-C: Designed to connect USB-C earphones, cables, flash drives, card readers, and other USB-C accessories to standard USB-A ports. Plug-and-play with no drivers or software required.
- Aluminum Alloy Housing: Built with a sturdy aluminum alloy shell that aids in heat dissipation and protects against daily wear and scratches. Designed to maintain a stable and secure connection.
- Compact & Travel-Friendly: The ultra-compact design allows the adapter to stay plugged into your device without blocking adjacent ports or adding bulk, reducing wear and tear on your original USB ports.
- 12-Month Warranty: Backed by a 12-month manufacturer warranty for peace of mind. Designed to meet strict quality control standards for reliable everyday performance.
How do I start the new quest?
Use this order to avoid chasing a marker that is not supposed to exist yet.
- Confirm the platform and patch. Check the title screen or your platform’s update information and make sure the game is on the Edgerunners 2 Update 2.5. On supported hardware, the update is free for owners of the base game. If the game is still reporting an older version, finish the download and installation before checking quest progress.
- Load a save after The Heist. The Heist is the main-story gate. A save from before that mission cannot satisfy the trigger until you complete it.
- Complete two Wakako gigs. Open your gig list and verify the fixer shown for each job is Wakako. The count is two, not every gig in Westbrook, and the published requirement does not identify particular gig names or a required order.
- Keep playing while you wait for Wakako’s message. Once the story and gig conditions are met, the official instruction is simply to wait for her message. Continue normal activities rather than assuming there must be a hidden marker at her shop.
- Follow the newly offered job. The message starts Clampdown. Accept it from your journal and follow the objective; no separate purchase, expansion download or anime-related account link is needed.
Existing saves remain valid. You do not need to begin a new V, and the base game contains the required content.
Recommended Free Tools
Which Wakako gigs count?
Only one detail is confirmed publicly: the two jobs must be gigs for Wakako. CD PROJEKT RED has not published a canonical pair of mission names, a district restriction, or a map route that must be followed first.
When checking your progress, open each completed gig in the journal and look for Wakako as the fixer. A completed job from another fixer does not satisfy the wording of the requirement. If you have completed several gigs but cannot identify the fixer, complete another clearly Wakako-assigned gig and then continue playing; that is safer than relying on an unofficial list of supposed mandatory missions.
Do not confuse gig completion with simply visiting Wakako’s market stall. The published trigger counts completed gigs and then calls for her message. Visiting her may be a harmless way to orient yourself, but it is not listed as a required step.
Where does Clampdown take place, and who is in it?
Clampdown is a Wakako job set around Night City Prison. V encounters Weak Kingsley, who was previously known as King, and his crew. Associate Game Director Paweł Sasko identifies the group as King, Meshuga, Miguel and Emily in an Xbox Wire interview: Xbox Wire’s Edgerunners 2 Update feature.
Free tools Windows power users keep installed
One-click scans. No signup required.
Also popular on Amazon
- 5-in-1 USB-C Hub: Experience comprehensive connectivity featuring a Power Delivery input, two USB-A 2.0 ports, a USB-A 3.0 port, and an HDMI port. (Note: The USB-C power delivery input port is only for connecting an external wall charger to power your laptop and cannot power peripheral devices.)
- 90W Pass-Through Charging: Achieve optimal charging with 90W pass-through power to your laptop, supported by a total input of 100W, with the hub reserving 10W for operational efficiency. (Note: Wall charger not included.)
- Quick Data Transfers: Accelerate your productivity with rapid data transfers using a high-speed 5Gbps USB 3.0 port and two 480Mbps USB 2.0 ports.
- 4K HDMI Display: Enhance your visual experience with a hub capable of delivering 4K resolution at 30Hz in both mirror and extend modes. Please note that this hub is compatible with MacBook (macOS 12 and newer), Windows 10 and 11, ChromeOS, and laptops equipped with DP Alt Mode and Power Delivery. Note: This device is not compatible with Linux.
- What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (5-in-1, 4K HDMI), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
This is a spoiler-light description. The public material establishes the location, characters and prequel position, but not every objective, dialogue branch or outcome. If you want to preserve the mission’s surprises, start it from the journal after Wakako’s message rather than looking for a full walkthrough.
What rewards does Clampdown unlock?
The patch notes promise a five-piece King-inspired gear set during the quest. The developer’s Xbox Wire coverage additionally names King’s signature Coronation revolver and his wearable outfit.
Those descriptions establish the reward theme, not an item-by-item route. Official material does not specify which objective awards each piece, whether every item is automatic, or whether a particular dialogue choice changes the loot. Treat guides that claim a guaranteed chest, exact pickup coordinates or a universal choice sequence as unverified unless they cite a later, item-specific source.
The gear is an in-game reward; it does not unlock episodes of the anime. Clampdown is a story prequel and a way to add context to Edgerunners 2, not a mechanism for accessing Netflix content.
What’s actually slowing this PC down?
Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.
Do I need Phantom Liberty or the Ultimate Edition?
No. Update 2.5 and Clampdown are available to base-game owners, and the official announcement does not list Phantom Liberty as a prerequisite. The Ultimate Edition is optional for buyers who want the expansion bundled with the game.
If you are buying the game rather than updating an existing copy, CD PROJEKT RED lists a physical Nintendo Switch 2 Ultimate Edition card containing the base game and Phantom Liberty. The card is a 64 GB physical release from 2025, so it should not be described as containing the 2026 Update 2.5 itself; plan to download the later update after installation. Details are in the publisher’s release notice: Cyberpunk 2077 Ultimate Edition on Nintendo Switch 2.
Also popular on Amazon
- Sleek 7-in-1 USB-C Hub: Features an HDMI port, two USB-A 3.0 ports, and a USB-C data port, each providing 5Gbps transfer speeds. It also includes a USB-C PD input port for charging up to 100W and dual SD and TF card slots, all in a compact design.
- Flawless 4K@60Hz Video with HDMI: Delivers exceptional clarity and smoothness with its 4K@60Hz HDMI port, making it ideal for high-definition presentations and entertainment. (Note: Only the HDMI port supports video projection; the USB-C port is for data transfer only.)
- Double Up on Efficiency: The two USB-A 3.0 ports and a USB-C port support a fast 5Gbps data rate, significantly boosting your transfer speeds and improving productivity.
- Fast and Reliable 85W Charging: Offers high-capacity, speedy charging for laptops up to 85W, so you spend less time tethered to an outlet and more time being productive.
- What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (7-in-1), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
A physical PS5 Ultimate Edition also exists in selected markets, but availability varies by region. Whichever edition you own, the Clampdown requirements remain the same once Update 2.5 is installed.
Why hasn’t Wakako messaged me?
There is no officially documented timer or universal repair sequence. Start with the checks that can be verified, then continue playing rather than assuming the quest is permanently blocked.
PC Slower Than It Used to Be?
A free scan shows the junk files, broken settings and background clutter dragging Windows down - then fixes them in one click.Free scan · Windows 10 & 11Crashes, No Sound, or Screen Glitches?
Random freezes, missing sound and display glitches usually trace back to one bad driver. Find and replace yours safely.Free scan · under a minuteCheck the installed version
Verify that the game is on Update 2.5 and that you are playing on PC, Mac, PS5, Xbox Series X|S or Switch 2. A PS4 version cannot receive the post-November 8, 2022 patch series, so its missing message is a platform limitation rather than a hidden prerequisite.
Recheck the fixer on both gigs
Open your completed-gig records and confirm that Wakako assigned each of the two jobs. The requirement is not “two gigs anywhere in Night City.” If one job belongs to another fixer, complete another Wakako gig and resume normal play.
Confirm The Heist is complete on this save
Progress on a different character or an older save does not advance the active save. Make sure The Heist is marked complete in the current playthrough before counting gigs toward the trigger.
Allow the message to arrive naturally
CD PROJEKT RED says to wait for Wakako’s message but does not state how many in-game hours that takes. It also does not require visiting Wakako, skipping a day, restarting the game, buying Phantom Liberty or performing a particular side activity. Those actions may appear in player anecdotes, but they are not guaranteed fixes.
Do these 3 things before closing this tab:
1Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minute2Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problems3Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesAlso popular on Amazon
- Dual Converters, Infinite Potential:Includes 2× USB C male to USB A female adapters and 2× USB A male to USB C female adapters. Perfect for a wide range of uses—tablets with Bluetooth keyboards, expand USB ports on macbook, and more. Two different converters for all your daily needs
- Next-Level 10Gbps & 3A Charging: No more slow 480Mbps, this usb to usb c adapter has a transfer speed of up to 10Gbps, allowing you to do more transferring in less time. This usb adapter fits both USB A and USB C charger, supporting up to 3A fast charging
- Upgraded Exquisite Craftsmanship: With an aluminum alloy housing and metal connector, the usbc to usb adapter is extremely durable and sturdy. Rigorously tested to withstand more than 10,000 times of plugging and unplugging, ensuring long-lasting performance
- Widely Compatible: Transform any USB-C port into a USB-A port and USB-A port into a USB-C port, and connect up a wide range of USB-C(including MacBook, iPad Pro/Air/Mini, iPhone models with USB C ports, Samsung Galaxy series, and Google Pixel series. ) and USB A devices(including external hard drives, phones, mice, printers, and more)
- Please Note: To reach 10Gbps speed, keep the cable under 3.3 ft. For USB A Male to USB C adapters, try flipping the USB C connector. USB C Male to USB A adapters support bidirectional 10Gbps transfer within 3.3 ft
What if every requirement is met?
Keep the save active and play other missions while watching the phone and journal. Community discussions contain both reports of a message appearing after additional play and reports from players who believed they had met the conditions without seeing it. Such reports are useful for spotting possible edge cases, but they do not establish a universal workaround: player discussion about the Edgerunners 2 quest trigger.
If the objective never appears after confirming the supported platform, Update 2.5, The Heist and two Wakako gigs, record your save version and contact the game’s official support channels. Do not delete the save or assume that an expansion purchase will repair a trigger that the published notes do not tie to the expansion.
Is Welcome to Paradise the same quest?
No. Welcome to Paradise! is a separate quest with a different unlock path: complete The Heist and reach Street Cred 15. It is not activated by completing two Wakako gigs, and listening to the new Edgerunners-related radio station is not listed as a prerequisite for either route.
Update 2.5 also adds HKGN 102.0 FM, a new radio station connected to Edgerunners 2. You can listen to it whenever it becomes available, but the station does not replace Wakako’s message as the Clampdown trigger. Keeping these systems separate prevents a common mistake: raising Street Cred or tuning the radio will not substitute for the two Wakako gigs.
Should I watch Edgerunners 2 before playing Clampdown?
Either order works. CD PROJEKT RED describes Clampdown as a prequel: playing it before the series supplies additional context, while playing it after the show offers another perspective on the story and its characters.
The anime premiered on Netflix on October 20, 2026, and its official description calls it a standalone, 10-episode series exclusive to Netflix. Clampdown does not unlock those episodes, and watching the series is not required to start the game quest.
Also popular on Amazon
- 5-in-1 Connectivity: Equipped with a 4K HDMI port, a 5 Gbps USB-C data port, two 5 Gbps USB-A ports, and a USB C 100W PD-IN port. Note: The USB C 100W PD-IN port supports only charging and does not support data transfer devices such as headphones or speakers.
- Powerful Pass-Through Charging: Supports up to 85W pass-through charging so you can power up your laptop while you use the hub. Note: Pass-through charging requires a charger (not included). Note: To achieve full power for iPad, we recommend using a 45W wall charger.
- Transfer Files in Seconds: Move files to and from your laptop at speeds of up to 5 Gbps via the USB-C and USB-A data ports. Note: The USB C 5Gbps Data port does not support video output.
- HD Display: Connect to the HDMI port to stream or mirror content to an external monitor in resolutions of up to 4K@30Hz. Note: The USB-C ports do not support video output.
- What You Get: Anker 332 USB-C Hub (5-in-1), welcome guide, our worry-free 18-month warranty, and friendly customer service.
The game also brings performers from Edgerunners 2 into Cyberpunk 2077. Paweł Sasko explained why that mattered: That is why it was incredibly important to get the same voice actors from Edgerunners 2 into Cyberpunk 2077.
The shared performances are a connective detail, not an additional account or subscription requirement.
Which platforms can receive the update?
The October 22, 2026 launch notice lists PC, Mac, PlayStation 5, Xbox Series X|S and Nintendo Switch 2. This is a current-generation release for those platforms; the PS4 edition is excluded from post-November 8, 2022 patches.
| Platform or edition | Clampdown access | What to know |
|---|---|---|
| PC | Yes, with Update 2.5 | Install the free update, then meet the story and Wakako-gig conditions. |
| Mac | Yes, with Update 2.5 | The October 22 launch notice includes Mac. |
| PlayStation 5 | Yes, with Update 2.5 | Base game ownership is enough. |
| Xbox Series X|S | Yes, with Update 2.5 | Base game ownership is enough. |
| Nintendo Switch 2 | Yes, with Update 2.5 | The update followed the earlier prelaunch wording and is listed as available in the dated launch notice. |
| PlayStation 4 version | No | It cannot receive patches released after November 8, 2022. |
Platform availability and edition ownership are separate questions. An eligible base-game copy can access Clampdown after updating; owning Ultimate Edition is not what activates the quest.
What should returning players remember?
- Do not start with merchandise or the anime. The trigger lives in the game’s quest progression.
- Do not wait for a named marker before the message. The official sequence places Wakako’s message after the two completed gigs.
- Do not count the wrong fixer’s work. The requirement specifically says gigs for Wakako.
- Do not confuse the new radio station with a quest gate. HKGN 102.0 FM is an optional addition.
- Do not buy Phantom Liberty just for Clampdown. The base game and free Update 2.5 are sufficient.
- Do not expect a guaranteed timer. No fixed number of in-game hours is published.
Once the supported update is installed, the shortest reliable route is: finish The Heist, complete two Wakako gigs, continue playing until her message arrives, and then launch Clampdown from the journal.
Frequently Asked Questions
Can I use an existing Cyberpunk 2077 save for Clampdown?
Yes. Existing saves remain valid, so you can continue a compatible character instead of creating a new one. The Heist and the two Wakako gigs must be completed in the progression you are using.
Does Clampdown change the ending of Cyberpunk 2077?
The published descriptions present it as an optional side quest and do not announce an ending-path requirement. For spoiler protection, treat its story as additional Edgerunners 2 context rather than a replacement for the main finale.
Quick wins for a faster PC:
Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsFree Scan →Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteDriver Scan →Are the five King gear pieces all automatic rewards?
Official notes confirm a five-piece King-inspired set, while the available descriptions do not document a guaranteed pickup route for every piece. An item-by-item loot map therefore cannot be confirmed from the published material.
Can I play Clampdown after finishing the Edgerunners 2 series?
Yes. The developer says the prequel works before or after the anime: playing first adds context, while playing afterward provides another perspective. The game quest does not require proof that you watched the series.
Quick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

