Recommended Free Tools
Some links on this page are affiliate links: if you buy through them we may earn a commission, at no extra cost to you.
For most small retailers, the best alternative to an AI checkout system is a conventional cloud POS chosen around the store’s real constraint. Square is the lowest-cost starting point for a mostly in-person shop; Shopify POS is strongest when a website and physical store share one catalog; Lightspeed Retail is the better fit for complex inventory and purchasing; and Clover suits owners who want bundled hardware, payments, loyalty, reporting, and an app marketplace. Compare the monthly subscription, card fees, hardware, inventory depth, online synchronization, location support, and cancellation terms together. A free plan can still cost more than a subscription if its per-transaction fees are higher at your sales volume.
What are the best alternatives to AI checkout for a small retailer?
A standard point-of-sale system remains the practical choice when you need dependable checkout, item records, receipts, inventory counts, and payment reporting without introducing an AI-dependent workflow. The four established models below cover the main small-retail scenarios.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
| POS | Best fit | Published software price | Published in-person rate | Hardware or contract note |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Square | Budget-conscious, mostly in-person shops, pop-ups, markets, and one-counter stores | Free POS plan: $0/month | 2.6% + 15¢ for tap, dip, or swipe | Reader hardware from $59; no setup fee or long-term contract stated |
| Shopify POS | Retailers that operate an online store and physical locations together | Basic: $39/month, plus $89/month for each POS Pro location | 2.6% + 10¢ on Basic, subject to plan and region | Cloud software; verify payment-provider fees and country eligibility |
| Lightspeed Retail | Specialty retailers with many SKUs, vendors, serials, or locations | Basic $89/month; Core $149/month; Plus $289/month when billed annually | Not stated on the reviewed pricing page | Higher recurring fee buys deeper inventory and purchasing workflows |
| Clover | Stores wanting a bundled terminal, payments, loyalty, reporting, and apps | Plan-dependent; obtain a current quote | Priced separately from subscriptions | Subscriptions may provide equipment with no money down; subscriptions are non-cancelable and equipment terms vary |
Prices and rates in this table were listed or checked on vendor pages on October 25, 2026. Taxes, geography, hardware models, payment eligibility, and plan names can change, so treat them as a starting point rather than a guaranteed quote.
Why use a conventional POS instead of an AI checkout system?
A conventional POS gives a small shop a defined operating model: staff select an item, take payment, issue a receipt, and update the inventory record. That predictability matters when employees have different levels of training, the owner needs an auditable sales trail, or the store cannot afford an experimental checkout process.
#1 Best Overall
- With Square Terminal, you can ring up sales, accept payments, and print receipts, all with one device. Use it at the counter or ring up customers anywhere in your store.
- Accept all major credit and debit cards and pay one low rate with no hidden fees and no long-term contracts.
- Process chip cards in just two seconds.
- Get your money as soon as the next business day.
- Use it cordlessly with the built-in battery, designed to last all day.
Predictable costs
Subscription prices, published card rates, and a one-time reader purchase are easier to place in a budget than an AI service whose usage limits or add-on charges may be unfamiliar. Calculate the combined software and processing bill using your own monthly card volume before deciding that a free plan is cheapest.
Human control at the counter
Traditional item search, barcode scanning, discounts, returns, and receipt choices are visible to the cashier. You can define staff permissions and review reports instead of relying on an automated recommendation or recognition step that may be difficult to explain to a customer.
The Tool Desk
Outbyte PC Repair FREEClear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsFree Scan →Outbyte Driver Updater FREEScan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteDriver Scan →Room to add automation later
Choosing a conventional POS does not prevent later automation. Square, Shopify, Lightspeed, and Clover each provide integrations or app connections to extend a working checkout after the core catalog, payment, and inventory processes are stable.
Is Square the cheapest alternative for a small retail store?
Square is the strongest low-upfront-cost option when most sales happen in person and the store can work within a simpler inventory and team feature set. Its Free plan is listed at $0 per month and includes POS functions, item and inventory management, sales reports, online-store synchronization, a customer directory, and digital receipts.
What Square costs
Square lists 2.6% plus 15¢ for each in-person tap, dip, or swipe transaction. Its Reader hardware starts at $59 on the current product page. The Free plan has no setup fee or long-term contract stated on that page, which lowers the risk for a pop-up, market stall, seasonal counter, or newly opened shop.
Where Square fits best
- A single checkout counter with a modest catalog.
- Pop-ups, markets, and mobile selling where a compact reader is useful.
- Owners who want to start without a recurring software bill.
- Stores that need basic online-store synchronization and digital receipts but do not require advanced purchasing controls.
What to check before choosing it
More advanced inventory and team capabilities sit in paid tiers, so list the reports, permissions, stock controls, and locations you actually need rather than assuming the Free plan includes every feature. Confirm the current Reader model, connector, country availability, and compatibility with your phone or tablet before buying hardware. Square’s published in-person rate also includes a 15¢ per-transaction component; high transaction counts can make that fixed amount significant even when the monthly software fee is zero.
Free tools Windows power users keep installed
One-click scans. No signup required.
Is Shopify POS the best choice when ecommerce and store sales share one catalog?
Shopify POS is the natural alternative when the website is as important as the physical shop. Shopify describes its cloud POS as a way to unify in-store and online selling, and its POS materials support multi-location operations, omnichannel features, secure Shopify Payments, modern hardware, and extensibility.
Shopify’s published pricing
The Basic plan is listed at $39 per month, with an additional $89 per month for each location using POS Pro. The Basic in-person card rate is listed as 2.6% plus 10¢, but the applicable rate depends on plan and region. Shopify also cautions buyers to confirm payment rates, third-party-provider fees, and country eligibility at checkout.
Workflows Shopify handles well
- Buy online, pick up in store, when online and physical stock are managed together.
- A shared product catalog and order history across web and counter sales.
- Cross-channel returns where a customer starts a purchase in one channel and completes the return in another.
- Growth from one location to a larger network; Shopify states that its cloud POS supports more than 1,000 locations.
When the extra location fee matters
POS Pro is priced per location, so map each store, kiosk, or staffed selling point before estimating the monthly bill. A retailer with one location may only need Basic, while advanced staff and location features can make the Pro charge worthwhile at a busier site. Separate the Shopify subscription from payment processing and any fees charged by a third-party provider; they are different lines in the total-cost calculation.
When is Lightspeed Retail worth its higher subscription?
Lightspeed Retail earns consideration when inventory operations, vendor purchasing, and reporting are more demanding than a basic checkout requires. Its reviewed pricing page lists Basic at $89 per month, Core at $149, and Plus at $289 when billed annually.
Rank #2
- Windows 11 PROFESSIONAL POS TERMINAL - Equipped with Intel Core i5 High-Performance CPU, 4 GB Memory, and 128 GB Hard Disk. It also offers versatile connectivity options, including two serial ports, four USB ports, an HDMI output, an audio input, a DC 12V power input, and an Ethernet port.
- SLEEK & COMPACT DESIGN - Volcora POS Terminal is designed to take up as little space as possible so you can focus on better utilization of the counter space. Our sleek yet heavy-duty metal base ensures the terminal is well-stabled while taking orders with style. Suitable for any business such as retail stores, quick service restaurants, dine-in restaurants, cafes, bars, and more.
- WIDE TOUCHSCREEN - The 15.6" capacitive LCD touchscreen, combined with a 1366x768 high-resolution display, makes it easy to read and touch with minimal effort. Our POS Terminals can also withstand over 15000 hours of screen time with little to no quality sacrifice.
- IN THE BOX - Volcora 15.6" Single Screen Windows 11 Professional POS Terminal, Power Adapter, Registration Card, and User Manual.
- LIFETIME WARRANTY & SUPPORT - Simply unbox, and set up your POS terminal like a Windows tablet with ease. We do understand that additional support might be needed for non-tech-savvy users and our US Based Customer Service team is committed to help. Plus, all Volcora products come with a limited lifetime warranty so you can purchase with peace of mind.
Inventory and purchasing depth
The feature matrix covers variants and stock across channels, purchase-order creation and receiving, wholesale catalog access, ecommerce, loyalty, and advanced sales, staff, and inventory reports. Those workflows are valuable for specialty stores that track many sizes or colors, buy from multiple vendors, receive stock in stages, or need visibility across locations.
The trade-off for a small shop
The recurring fee is materially higher than a free POS plan, and the reviewed page does not state an in-person processing rate. Model the subscription, payment processing, hardware, ecommerce, and optional services together. If your store has few products, one location, and little purchasing complexity, you may pay for capabilities that do not change daily operations.
Signs Lightspeed is a good match
- Stock must stay synchronized across physical and online channels.
- Purchase orders and receiving need a formal workflow rather than spreadsheet notes.
- Products have variants, serials, or vendor-specific information.
- Managers need detailed staff, sales, and inventory reporting across more than one location.
What should a retailer know before signing up for Clover?
Clover combines payment acceptance, terminal hardware, loyalty, reporting, and an app marketplace. Its systems accept payments in person, by phone, and online, provide real-time reporting, and connect to hundreds of apps.
Why retailers choose Clover
A bundled system can reduce the number of separate devices and vendors to coordinate. Clover’s app ecosystem may let a store add loyalty, scheduling, accounting, or industry-specific functions without replacing the terminal.
Do these 3 things before closing this tab:
1Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problems2Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minute3Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsWhy quotes require careful reading
Clover states that subscriptions can provide equipment with no money down, but processing fees are priced separately. Subscriptions are non-cancelable, and equipment terms vary. Before signing, obtain the exact reseller or Clover.com quote and identify the monthly subscription, processing schedule, equipment ownership or return obligation, term length, early-termination exposure, and every app charge.
Because Clover pricing is plan- and provider-specific, a headline equipment offer cannot be compared fairly with Square’s free software plan or Shopify’s published subscription until all recurring and per-transaction charges are listed.
How do the four alternatives compare on the features a small shop needs?
The following matrix separates what the vendor pages establish from details that require a quote or plan check. “Not stated” means the reviewed page did not provide a comparable figure or promise.
| Decision factor | Square | Shopify POS | Lightspeed Retail | Clover |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Software entry price | $0/month Free POS | $39/month Basic | $89/month Basic when billed annually | Not stated; plan-dependent |
| Payment pricing | 2.6% + 15¢ in-person tap, dip, or swipe | 2.6% + 10¢ on Basic; region and plan dependent | Not stated on reviewed page | Priced separately; quote required |
| Online and in-store synchronization | Online-store synchronization included on Free plan | Core purpose; unified online and in-store selling | Ecommerce and cross-channel stock features listed | Online payments supported; catalog synchronization details require plan check |
| Inventory depth | Basic inventory on Free; advanced features in paid tiers | Shared catalog and omnichannel stock; advanced functions depend on plan | Variants, purchasing, receiving, wholesale catalogs, and advanced reports | Not stated at a comparable depth |
| Multi-location support | Not stated on the cited Free-plan description | Supports multi-location operations; POS Pro priced per location | Designed for multi-location and complex stock operations | Not stated at a comparable level |
| Offline operation | Not stated on the reviewed page | Cloud software; offline behavior should be confirmed for your hardware and region | Not stated on the reviewed page | Not stated on the reviewed page |
| Staff permissions and reporting | Sales reports included; advanced team features may require a paid tier | Staff and omnichannel features vary by plan | Advanced sales, staff, and inventory reports listed | Real-time reporting stated; permission depth requires plan check |
| Contract or cancellation | No long-term contract stated for Free plan | Plan terms depend on subscription and region; verify cancellation conditions | Verify term and billing conditions for the selected tier | Subscriptions are non-cancelable; equipment terms vary |
How should you calculate the real monthly cost?
Use a simple model that combines fixed and variable charges:
What’s actually slowing this PC down?
Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.
Monthly POS cost = subscription fees + (monthly card sales × percentage rate) + (number of card transactions × per-transaction fee) + hardware and add-ons.
For an illustration, assume $10,000 in monthly card sales and an average $25 ticket, or 400 card transactions. Square’s published rate would produce $260 in percentage fees plus $60 in transaction fees, for $320 in processing before hardware or add-ons. Shopify Basic would produce $260 plus $40, or $300 in processing, and then add its $39 subscription for a $339 software-and-processing subtotal. This example is arithmetic using the published rates, not a forecast of your store’s bill.
Rank #3
- Windows 11 PROFESSIONAL POS TERMINAL - Equipped with Intel Core i5 High-Performance CPU, 4 GB Memory, and 128 GB Hard Disk. It also offers versatile connectivity options, including two serial ports, four USB ports, an HDMI output, an audio input, a DC 12V power input, and an Ethernet port.
- SLEEK & COMPACT DESIGN - Volcora POS Terminal is designed to take up as little space as possible so you can focus on better utilization of the counter space. Our sleek yet heavy-duty metal base ensures the terminal is well-stabled while taking orders with style. Suitable for any business such as retail stores, quick service restaurants, dine-in restaurants, cafes, bars, and more.
- DUAL WIDE TOUCHSCREEN - Terminal comes with one 15.6" capacitive LCD touchscreen and one 11.6” capacitive LCD touchscreen for customer display, combined with 1366x768 high-resolution, makes it easy to read and touch with minimal effort. Our POS Terminals can also withstand over 15000 hours of screen time with little to no quality sacrifice.
- IN THE BOX - Volcora 15.6" & 11.6” Dual-TouchScreen Windows 11 Professional POS Terminal, Power Adapter, Registration Card, and User Manual.
- LIFETIME WARRANTY & SUPPORT - Simply unbox, and set up your POS terminal like a Windows tablet with ease. We do understand that additional support might be needed for non-tech-savvy users and our US Based Customer Service team is committed to help. Plus, all Volcora products come with a limited lifetime warranty so you can purchase with peace of mind.
At a different average ticket, the fixed per-transaction charge changes the result even if monthly sales stay constant. A shop with many small purchases should pay particular attention to the cents-per-transaction component. Lightspeed and Clover cannot be placed in the same example without their applicable processing quotes.
Costs people often omit
- Additional POS Pro or premium locations.
- Card terminals, stands, receipt printers, cash drawers, scanners, and replacement accessories.
- Payment-provider or gateway charges when the provider is not the POS company’s preferred processor.
- Advanced inventory, loyalty, staff, ecommerce, or reporting modules.
- Taxes, shipping, installation, data migration, and cancellation or equipment-return charges.
What is the safest way to choose and set up a POS?
Follow this sequence so the system is tested against daily work before you commit the whole store.
Windows Errors? Fix Them Before They Spread
Repair common Windows errors and clear accumulated junk for a smoother, more stable PC - no reinstall needed.Free scan · no reinstallOutdated Drivers Are Slowing You Down
One free scan finds every outdated or missing driver and matches the right update for your exact hardware.Free scan · exact hardware match- Document the operation. Count locations, registers, staff roles, monthly card sales, average ticket, online orders, product variants, vendors, and required reports.
- Build the catalog. Prepare item names, prices, tax categories, barcodes, variants, supplier details, opening stock, and product photos if the online channel needs them.
- Request complete quotes. Ask each provider to separate software, processing, hardware, apps, ecommerce, taxes, term length, and cancellation or equipment-return conditions.
- Test representative transactions. Run a tap, dip, and swipe where supported; process a discount, a split or partial payment if needed, a return, an exchange, an online order, and a stock adjustment.
- Verify staff controls. Confirm which roles can change prices, issue refunds, edit inventory, close a register, view reports, or export customer data.
- Check synchronization. Place an online order, complete an in-store sale, and verify that stock, order status, receipt history, and customer records update as expected.
- Plan failure recovery. Ask how the system behaves during an internet outage, how transactions are reconciled afterward, and how to export data if you leave.
- Train and phase in. Start with a small product group or one register, keep a written refund and closing procedure, then migrate the full catalog after staff complete the test transactions.
Which alternative fits each common small-retail situation?
You sell mainly in person and want the smallest fixed bill
Start with Square’s Free plan and a Reader, then check whether paid inventory or team functions become necessary as the catalog and staff grow.
Your website and store must share orders and stock
Choose Shopify POS when unified online and in-store operations, pickup, shared catalog data, and cross-channel returns are central. Price each POS Pro location and confirm regional payment terms.
You manage a complicated catalog or purchasing cycle
Evaluate Lightspeed Retail when variants, vendors, purchase orders, receiving, wholesale catalogs, and multi-location reporting justify its higher subscription.
You want a terminal bundle and an expandable app ecosystem
Consider Clover only after receiving a written, provider-specific breakdown of subscription, processing, hardware ownership, app charges, and non-cancelable term conditions.
What should you verify before replacing an existing checkout?
- Data export: Ask for the format and fields available for products, customers, orders, and inventory.
- Payment settlement: Confirm deposit timing, payout reports, chargeback handling, and who provides support.
- Tax handling: Check the jurisdictions and tax rules your store actually uses.
- Hardware compatibility: Verify connectors, operating systems, receipt printers, scanners, cash drawers, and network requirements.
- Returns and exchanges: Test receipts, refunds to the original method, store credit, and online-to-store returns.
- Security and access: Use individual staff accounts, least-privilege permissions, device locks, and a documented process for a lost terminal.
- Exit terms: Read renewal, cancellation, equipment return, data-retention, and app-subscription clauses before accepting a quote.
Which POS alternative is right for you?
Pick Square when minimizing fixed cost and getting a fast in-person checkout matter most. Pick Shopify POS when ecommerce and physical selling must operate from one system. Pick Lightspeed Retail when inventory and purchasing complexity justify a higher recurring fee. Pick Clover when a bundled terminal and app marketplace are worth accepting plan-specific processing and non-cancelable subscription terms. In every case, make the decision from your own card volume, average ticket, locations, hardware needs, and cancellation requirements rather than from the monthly software price alone.
Frequently Asked Questions
Can a small retailer start with one register and add locations later?
Yes, the vendors describe different expansion paths, but the price and feature effect is not the same for every product. Before signing, ask how a second register or location changes subscriptions, hardware, staff permissions, inventory visibility, and reporting.
What happens to my product and customer data if I switch POS systems?
Data portability is a vendor-specific contract and export question, not a guaranteed feature of every plan. Request a sample export and confirm whether product variants, historical orders, customer consent records, and inventory adjustments are included before migrating.
Do I need a separate ecommerce system with a retail POS?
Not always: Shopify POS is explicitly designed to unify online and in-store selling, while Square and Lightspeed list online-store or ecommerce synchronization. Ask whether the online component is included in your plan and whether orders, returns, prices, and stock update in both directions.
Which POS is safest during an internet outage?
The reviewed vendor pages do not establish a uniform offline policy. Ask the provider whether payments can be accepted offline, which card types qualify, how long offline transactions remain queued, and what happens if a queued payment is later declined.
Quick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

