The iPhone 18 Pro Max is the newer model, with a 6.9-inch display, A20 Pro chip and storage options up to 2TB. Apple announced it at a US starting price of $1,299 in September 2026. But the available launch prices for the two phones are from different countries and years, so they do not establish a valid price difference. Here’s what Apple’s published specifications show—and what they don’t.
iPhone 16 Pro Max vs iPhone 18 Pro Max: key specifications
The comparison below uses Apple’s published information. It is not a hands-on review, and it does not establish real-world performance differences.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
| Specification | iPhone 16 Pro Max | iPhone 18 Pro Max |
|---|---|---|
| Display size | Apple’s specification page lists a 6.9-inch display. Apple iPhone 16 Pro Max specifications | 6.9 inches. Apple iPhone 18 Pro Max specifications |
| Weight | Not stated in the cited information. | 249g. Apple iPhone 18 Pro Max specifications |
| Chip | Not stated in the cited information. | A20 Pro. Apple iPhone 18 Pro Max specifications |
| Storage | Not stated in the cited information. | 256GB, 512GB, 1TB and 2TB. Apple’s September 2026 announcement |
| Video playback | Up to 33 hours, according to Apple’s specification; this is a manufacturer claim, not an individual-use guarantee. Apple iPhone 16 Pro Max specifications | Not stated in the cited information. |
| Wired data transfer | USB 3 up to 10Gb/s, according to Apple. Apple iPhone 16 Pro Max specifications | Not stated in the cited information. |
| Wireless charging | MagSafe up to 25W with a 30W-or-higher adapter; Qi2 up to 15W, according to Apple. Apple iPhone 16 Pro Max specifications | Not stated in the cited information. |
| Water resistance | Not stated in the cited information. | IP68 under IEC 60529, tested to a maximum depth of 6 meters for up to 30 minutes in controlled conditions. Apple cautions that water resistance is not permanent. Apple iPhone 18 Pro Max specifications |
| Announced starting price | ¥189,800 in Japan in September 2024. This is not a US price. Apple Japan’s 2024 announcement | US$1,299 in the United States in September 2026. Apple’s 2026 announcement |
What’s different between the iPhone 16 Pro Max and iPhone 18 Pro Max?
Display, size and weight
Both cited specification pages list a 6.9-inch display. Apple lists the iPhone 18 Pro Max at 249g, but the cited material does not establish the iPhone 16 Pro Max’s weight, so a weight change cannot be calculated from these figures. The same limitation applies to screen resolution: no side-by-side resolution values are established here.
What’s actually slowing this PC down?
Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.
Chip and camera
Apple identifies the iPhone 18 Pro Max chip as A20 Pro. The cited information does not provide the iPhone 16 Pro Max chip or a complete side-by-side camera specification, so it is not enough to quantify a chip-generation or camera upgrade. Nor does it support a measured performance claim; no independent benchmark results are included.
#1 Best Overall
- Super Magnetic Attraction: Powerful built-in magnets, easier place-and-go wireless charging and compatible with MagSafe
- Compatibility: Only compatible with iPhone 16 Pro Max; precise cutouts for easy access to all ports, buttons, sensors and cameras, soft and sensitive buttons with good response, are easy to press
- Matte Translucent Back: Features a flexible TPU frame and a matte coating on the hard PC back to provide you with a premium touch and excellent grip, while the entire matte back coating perfectly blocks smudges, fingerprints and even scratches
- Shock Protection: Passing military drop tests up to 10 feet, your device is effectively protected from violent impacts and drops
- Check your phone model: Before you order, please confirm your phone model to find out which product is right for you
Battery and charging
For the iPhone 16 Pro Max, Apple lists up to 33 hours of video playback, up to 29 hours of streamed video and up to 105 hours of audio playback. These are Apple’s stated figures, not independently reproduced test results or a promise of the same runtime for every owner. The cited iPhone 18 Pro Max information does not provide comparable battery figures, so the two models’ endurance cannot be ranked from this evidence.
Apple specifies USB 3 data transfer up to 10Gb/s, MagSafe wireless charging up to 25W with a 30W-or-higher adapter, and Qi2 wireless charging up to 15W for the iPhone 16 Pro Max. Comparable iPhone 18 Pro Max values are not established in the cited information.
Rank #2
- 【Bubble Free Built-in 9H Glass Screen Protector】Miracase for iPhone 16 Pro Max case with built-in full screen protector protect your phone screen from scratches and cracks, no gap and won't lift up the screen,and making you enjoy the sensitive touch without bubbles
- 【Military Full Body & Unique Camera Control】Unique camera control button.Different from other brands' direct hole digging design, Miracase's design focuses more on the overall protection of the phone, providing a more comfortable grip without affecting the use of camera control.Military-grade 8000 times drop tested. Dual layer provides 360 grad full body rugged
- 【Fit All Magnet Accessories】Miracase iPhone 16 Pro Max phone case Built in upgraded 3rd generation magnet ring, locking and compatible with magsafe accessories, wireless charging is faster, easier, and safer. The powerful magnetism support charging from any angle, and there is no need to worry about the charger separating from the phone anymore
- 【Never Yellow Crystal Clear】Diamond hard clear back to show off the real color of your iPhone 16 Pro Max, always clear new as day 1
- 【PRODUCT SUPPORT】Any product issues please contact us for a replacement. Installation: install the front cover with iPhone - install the back cover from the bottom-clos the camera control cover; Removal: open the camera control cover-press the bottom cover from the bottom to separate the case
Is there a real price difference?
Not one that can be responsibly calculated from these launch prices. Apple announced the iPhone 16 Pro Max in Japan at ¥189,800 in 2024, while it announced the iPhone 18 Pro Max in the United States at US$1,299 in 2026. The currencies and markets differ, and the figures are from different dates; subtracting them would not produce a meaningful price premium.
Do these 3 things before closing this tab:
1Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minute2Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errors3Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesTo compare what you would pay, check current prices in the same country and match storage capacity. Keep the phone’s current retail price separate from its original launch price, carrier installment total, and any trade-in-adjusted offer. Apple’s 2026 announcement mentions selected carrier and trade-in offers, but eligibility and terms depend on the offer; confirm them directly before treating them as a discount.
Quick Recap
Best Value
- DESIGNED BY APPLE — This Apple case is designed to fit iPhone 16 Pro Max.
- CAMERA CONTROL — This case features a sapphire crystal coupled to a conductive layer to communicate finger movements to the Camera Control.
- LIGHTWEIGHT AND SMOOTH — Made from a 55 percent recycled silicone material, the case is lightweight and smooth to the touch, with a soft microfiber lining on the inside for even more protection.
- SCRATCH AND DROP PROTECTION — Not only does this case look great, but the raised edges protect your iPhone from scratches and drops.
- MAGSAFE CHARGING COMPATIBLE — With built-in magnets that align perfectly with your iPhone 16 Pro Max, this case offers a magical attach experience to other MagSafe accessories and is MagSafe charging compatible.
Rank #4
- 【Super Magnetic】 The built-in super Strong magnetic ring can be firmly connected to compatible with MagSafe accessories like Magnetic charger, wallet, battery pack, car mount etc. Perfectly aligned magnetic ring make wireless charging faster and safe, enjoy fast charging anytime, anywhere. Moreover, the embedded magnetic ring undergoes thousands of hours of testing under high pressure, it's safe and never fall off or fracture
- 【Innovate Hands-Free Stand】 Angled design, more stable, more reasonable visual angle. It adopts non-inductive bearings and magnetic buckle design, repeated folding tests, support stable hovering and standing, enjoy the convenience of life
- 【Trusted Dropproof】 New Shockproof Designed for iPhone 16 Pro Max Case has been tested 2,500+ times and has been dropped from all angles without damage! Besides, this case provide comprehensive protection for your phone, 1.5MM raised screen edge and 2.0MM raised camera edge keeps your phone safer, protect your expensive device from unexpected scratches, drops, bumps, stains, or any damage
- 【Unique & Precisely Designed】 Temdan Designed for iPhone 16 Pro Max Case made of premium translucent matte material to offer a silky touch feeling. Besides, thanks to the anti-fingerprint tech, you can clean it easily with just a gentle wipe to make all fingerprints invisible that brings you excellent use experience
- 【Custom Compatible & Service】 This newly upgraded case is only compatible with iPhone 16 Pro Max 6.9 inch 2024 Released. If you have any questions, you'll get an effective solution
Rank #3
- Strong Magnetic Attraction: This iPhone 16 Pro Max case has built-in 38 super N52 magnets, Its magnetic attraction reaches 2400 gf, it won't come off no matter how it shakes while charging. Suitable for wireless chargers, car mounts, etc
- Crystal Clear & Never Yellow: Using high-grade Bayer's ultra-clear TPU and PC material, effectively resists stains and sweat, keeping the case clear longer, maintains the original aesthetics of the iPhone 16 Pro Max
- 10FT Military Grade Protection: Passed Military Drop Tested up to 10FT. This case is made with rigid polycarbonate and flexible shockproof TPU around the edge and features 4 built-in corner Airbags, keeps the phone safe from bumps and scratches
- Screen & Camera Protection: The tiny design of 2.5 mm lips over the camera, 1.5 mm bezels over the screen, and 0.5 mm raised corner lips on the back, provides full protection in the event of a phone drop and reduces the likelihood of scratches
- Compatibility & Professional Support: Only compatible for iPhone 16 Pro Max Phones. We have enough confidence to provide you with quality products and services. Any concerns or questions about iPhone 16 Pro Max Phone Case, please feel free to contact us
Which model should you choose?
Choose the iPhone 18 Pro Max if
- You want the newer model and Apple’s listed A20 Pro chip.
- You need a listed storage option above 1TB; Apple’s 2026 announcement includes a 2TB configuration.
- You are buying in the United States and the $1,299 announced starting price fits your budget, subject to checking current availability and the capacity you need.
Consider the iPhone 16 Pro Max if
- You already own one and are deciding whether to upgrade: the published facts here do not establish a compelling real-world performance, camera or battery advantage for the newer model.
- You find it at a lower current price in your market and its storage, condition and remaining support meet your needs. Current resale and retailer prices are not established here, so compare live listings rather than relying on launch pricing.
- Apple’s stated charging and playback specifications meet your requirements; verify those details against the newer model’s current specifications before deciding.
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.




