Halloween DealsAmazon USHalloween week deals: useful picks before month-endAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.Check DealsWindows FixRecommendedWindows errors stealing your time? Find the fix fastScan stability, cleanup and performance issues.Fix NowHalloween DealsAmazon USOctober picks are moving - compare before checkoutAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.See Picks×
Skip to content
World desk5 min

7 Online Courses That Teach the Intersection of AI and Cybersecurity

From a 12-credit graduate certificate to practitioner training with hands-on labs, these seven options teach different parts of the AI-and-cybersecurity intersection.

What’s actually slowing this PC down?

Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

These seven online learning options cover different parts of the AI-and-cybersecurity intersection: using AI to support cyber defense, protecting AI systems, or both. They range from short courses to a graduate certificate and practitioner training mapped to GIAC certifications, so they are not equivalent credentials. Provider pages describe course content and delivery, but do not establish independent evidence that a program improves security outcomes.

How to choose an AI and cybersecurity course

Start with the work you want to do. Some programs focus on applying machine learning or generative AI to cybersecurity tasks; others focus on securing AI systems against attacks, privacy failures, and operational risks. A smaller number address both directions.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

  • Check prerequisites: Options range from courses for learners with basic cybersecurity knowledge to executive training that expects experience with cybersecurity, risk management, and machine learning.
  • Match the format to your schedule: Flexible online study, accelerated course formats, and live online sessions are not interchangeable. Confirm the current schedule and time commitment with the provider.
  • Look for applied work: Practical exercises, hands-on labs, a practicum, or assessed implementation can matter if you want to apply concepts rather than only study them.
  • Compare credentials carefully: A single course, university certificate, graduate certificate, and training mapped to a professional certification represent different commitments and outcomes.
  • Check total cost and eligibility: Fees, funding, enrollment, and certificate terms can vary by intake, location, and learner status. Confirm them before enrolling.

There is no common independent quality or outcomes measure across these providers, so the options below are organized by what their pages say they teach—not ranked as “best.”

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Seven online options

1. UCLA Extension: AI in Cybersecurity: Theory and Practice

UCLA Extension describes this as an online, hands-on course for learners with basic cybersecurity knowledge. Its listed topics span both defensive and offensive applications of AI and machine learning, including phishing detection, automated threat analysis, deepfake identification, firewall assessment, and anomaly detection. UCLA’s listing gives a starting price of $595; check the provider page for current enrollment and terms. View UCLA Extension’s course details.

2. Old Dominion University Global: AI in Cyber Defense graduate certificate

ODU Global’s online graduate certificate comprises 12 credit hours across four named courses and a practicum: AI Methods and Models, AI Ethics and Policy, Generative AI in Cybersecurity, and Applied AI in Cybersecurity. ODU describes its courses as an accelerated eight-week format with no scheduled meeting times. The practicum may result in a paper or e-portfolio. The program page lists tuition rates effective Fall 2026; consult it for current cost and admission details. View ODU’s certificate page.

3. NUS-ISS: AI and Cybersecurity

This executive course is aimed at cybersecurity and cyber-risk professionals working with AI specialists. NUS-ISS says it addresses AI-system security, safety and privacy, AI for cyber defense, AI-aided attacks, and mitigations. Listed prerequisites include foundational cybersecurity or IT, risk management, and machine-learning knowledge. Its 2026 fee schedule is in Singapore dollars and its SkillsFuture funding is conditional on eligibility in Singapore; check the course page for the applicable fee basis, funding conditions, dates, and participant requirements. View NUS-ISS course details.

4. Coursera: AI for Cybersecurity

The course page describes four modules that apply machine learning to malware detection, intrusion detection, and spam filtering. It also covers implementing and evaluating models with Python. Coursera is a structured online learning option; enrollment status, pricing, and certificate terms should be checked on the platform because they may change. View the Coursera course page.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

5. University of Oxford Department for Continuing Education: Artificial Intelligence for Cyber Security

Oxford’s online course description covers LLM-related vulnerabilities, phishing and social engineering, prompt injection, privacy and training-data security, and operational risk. Delivery is described as six live online sessions, making it a more scheduled format than self-paced study. The dates visible on the course page may not reflect a current intake, so check Oxford’s listing for the next schedule and availability. View Oxford’s course page.

6. ISC2: AI for Cybersecurity

ISC2 lists AI for Cybersecurity under professional development and provides a channel for group-order inquiries. The available course listing does not establish a current price or detailed syllabus, so prospective learners should ask ISC2 for current content, access, and availability rather than assuming a particular format or depth. View ISC2’s professional development page.

7. SANS Institute: AI security training mapped to GIAC certifications

SANS offers a family of practitioner courses rather than one standalone course. Its current training map connects courses to six GIAC certifications and describes hands-on labs. Examples include securing GenAI and LLM applications, AI security automation for red, blue, and purple team operations, and offensive AI analysis. Check the provider’s current catalog to identify the course and certification mapping that match your role. View SANS AI security training.

An emerging certificate option to monitor

University of West Florida: announced AI and cybersecurity certificates

The University of West Florida announced three online, three-course AI and cybersecurity certificates for Fall 2026, including a graduate AI and Cybersecurity Certificate. An announcement alone does not establish that enrollment is open or provide complete current program details. Verify availability, curriculum, and application requirements with UWF before treating these as enrollable options. Read UWF’s announcement.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

At a glance: which option fits your direction?

Option Emphasis stated by provider Format or credential established Published cost detail established here
UCLA Extension AI and machine learning in offensive and defensive cybersecurity Online, hands-on course; intended for learners with basic cybersecurity knowledge $595 starting price, as listed by UCLA
ODU Global AI methods, ethics, generative AI, and applied AI in cyber defense Online graduate certificate; 12 credit hours, including a practicum; accelerated eight-week course format Tuition rates effective Fall 2026; consult ODU for current rates
NUS-ISS AI-system security and AI for cyber defense, including AI-aided attacks and mitigations Executive course; listed prerequisites include cybersecurity or IT, risk management, and machine-learning foundations 2026 fee schedule in Singapore dollars; funding eligibility is conditional
Coursera Machine learning for malware, intrusion, and spam detection Online course with four modules; Python model implementation and evaluation Check Coursera for current price and certificate terms
Oxford Department for Continuing Education AI-related cyber risks, including LLM vulnerabilities, prompt injection, and privacy Online course described as six live sessions Not stated here; check Oxford’s current course page
ISC2 AI for cybersecurity; detailed syllabus not established in the listing Professional development listing; group-order inquiries supported Not stated; ask ISC2 for current details
SANS Institute Securing AI applications, AI security automation, and offensive AI analysis Family of practitioner courses with hands-on labs; training map connects to six GIAC certifications Not stated here; check the current SANS catalog
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

What the course pages do—and do not—show

These programs demonstrate that providers are teaching a range of AI-and-cybersecurity subjects, from model-based detection to AI-system security and adversarial uses of AI. Their descriptions are useful for comparing curriculum, delivery, prerequisites, and credential type. They do not provide a shared measure of teaching quality, learner results, or changes in real-world cybersecurity outcomes. For that reason, choose based on fit and verify current terms with the provider rather than interpreting the course list as evidence that one program is more effective than another.

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

More from the Wire

  1. World desk4 min
    How to Spot an AI Voice Scam Before Sending MoneyDon’t rely on how a caller sounds. Pause, call back through a known number, and verify the emergency with another trusted person before sending money.
  2. Mountain View desk4 min
    Google’s SynthID Detector: How to Check AI-Generated Images, Video and AudioGoogle’s SynthID Detector looks for an embedded watermark in supported images, video and audio. Here is what its results do—and do not—show.
  3. Redmond desk20 min
    How to create a link to File or Folder in Windows 11Windows 11 gives you several ways to point to a file or folder without moving or duplicating it. You can create a desktop shortcut,…
Recommended PC Tool
Recommended PC Tool
Outdated Drivers Are Slowing You DownFree scan - exact matches
PC Slower Than It Used to Be?Free scan - under a minute

Two free Windows tools

One Free Minute Could Fix That PC

Before you go - each of these free tools takes about a minute and tackles what quietly slows a Windows PC down.

Special offer. View Outbyte info, uninstall instructions, EULA, and Privacy Policy.