What’s actually slowing this PC down?
Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.
No provider in this group can be named the most secure on published documentation alone. The five services protect files in different ways, and the clearest difference is structural. Proton Drive describes end-to-end, zero-access encryption for files, folders and file names. Dropbox, Google Drive, Microsoft OneDrive and pCloud describe encryption at rest and in transit, and pCloud also offers an optional client-side layer. Those are different guarantees, so the comparison below keeps them apart.
This is a documentation-based comparison, not a hands-on test. It draws on each provider’s own security, pricing and help pages, checked in early October 2026. It does not include speed or usability tests, or any independent testing of these services. Where a cited page does not mention a feature, the table says “not stated.” That means the page is silent on the point, not that the feature is missing.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
What the encryption labels actually promise
- End-to-end and zero-access encryption (Proton Drive). Proton says it encrypts files, folders and their names, and that this happens automatically and in the background.
- Encryption at rest and in transit (Dropbox and Google Drive). Both describe protecting stored data and data during transfer. Neither page says the provider cannot access file contents, so do not assume it cannot.
- Optional client-side layer (pCloud). Its listing describes an optional pCloud Encryption layer for confidential files. It is not described as default protection for every file.
- Account and device protection (Microsoft OneDrive). Microsoft’s page covers sign-in monitoring, malware scanning, version history and Personal Vault. These guard the account and files against some threats. They are not described as end-to-end encryption.
Side-by-side comparison
Each cell reflects what the cited provider page states, as of early October 2026. Free allowances and plan features change, so confirm them on the live pages before you subscribe.
| Provider | Encryption as described by the provider | Free storage as stated | Recovery and account controls | Sharing controls |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Proton Drive | End-to-end and zero-access encryption for files, folders and names (Proton security page) | 5 GB, with the same encryption level as paid plans (Proton pricing page) | Not stated in the cited security page | Encrypted file sharing (Proton security page) |
| pCloud | AES-256 during and after transfer; TLS/SSL while transferring; optional pCloud Encryption for confidential files (official listing excerpt) | Up to 10 GB (official listing excerpt) | Not stated in the official listing excerpt | Not stated in the official listing excerpt |
| Microsoft OneDrive | Account and device protections; not described as end-to-end encryption | Not stated in the cited page | Suspicious sign-in monitoring; version history; large-deletion alerts and recovery; ransomware alerting and recovery (ransomware features for Microsoft 365 subscribers) | Password-protected and expiring links (Microsoft 365 subscribers) |
| Dropbox | 256-bit AES at rest; 128-bit or higher AES in transit over SSL/TLS (Dropbox security page, 2026) | Not stated in the cited page | Two-factor authentication and account controls | Not stated in the cited page |
| Google Drive | Encrypted in transit and at rest; not described as end-to-end (Google privacy help) | Up to 15 GB shared across Drive, Gmail and Photos (Google storage help, 2026) | Not stated in the cited privacy help page | Not stated in the cited pages |
Provider by provider
Proton Drive
Proton’s security page describes end-to-end and zero-access encryption for files, folders and names, along with encrypted file sharing. It also describes OpenPGP and Curve25519 key handling, client-side chunking of large files, cryptographic signatures, open-source apps and an independent audit by Securitum. These are Proton’s own descriptions. The sources reviewed here do not verify the cryptographic implementation or the audit findings.
#1 Best Overall
- Slim durable design to help take your important files with you
- Vast capacities up to 6TB[1] to store your photos, videos, music, important documents and more
- Back up smarter with included device management software[2] with defense against ransomware
- Help secure your important files with password protection and hardware encryption
- 3-year limited warranty
The free plan includes 5 GB. Proton’s pricing page lists paid personal plans up to 3 TB and a Drive Professional business option at 1 TB per user. Plan sizes and local prices change, so check the pricing page before you subscribe.
Proton’s own wording is: “Proton Drive’s advanced end-to-end encryption all happens automatically and in the background.” That is a product claim, not independent verification.
Rank #2
- Hardware encrypted drive
- Simple to use pin access. RPM-5400
- Administrator password feature
- Bus powered
- Utilizes Military Grade FIPS PUB 197 Validated Encryption Algorithm
pCloud
The official pCloud listing describes up to 10 GB free, AES-256 protection during and after transfer, TLS/SSL while files move, and an optional pCloud Encryption layer for confidential files. The full pCloud product pages were not reviewable when this comparison was checked, so plan details, default encryption settings and current pricing are not covered here. Confirm them directly with pCloud.
Recommended Free Tools
Microsoft OneDrive
Microsoft’s safeguards page documents monitoring for suspicious sign-ins, scanning downloads for known threats, and version history. It also describes large-deletion alerts with recovery. Personal Vault requires a strong authentication method or another identity-verification step to unlock.
Rank #3
- Easily store and access 2TB to content on the go with the Seagate Portable Drive, a USB external hard drive
- Designed to work with Windows or Mac computers, this external hard drive makes backup a snap just drag and drop
- To get set up, connect the portable hard drive to a computer for automatic recognition no software required
- This USB drive provides plug and play simplicity with the included 18 inch USB 3.0 cable
- The available storage capacity may vary.
Two capabilities are described as Microsoft 365 subscriber benefits: ransomware alerting and recovery, and password-protected or expiring share links. If you use the free tier, do not assume you have them. Microsoft’s page also says “You control your data.” That is a statement of intent and should not be read as a technical claim about who holds encryption keys.
Dropbox
Dropbox’s security page describes encryption at rest and in transit, two-factor authentication and account controls. It does not describe end-to-end encryption, and it does not state that Dropbox cannot read file contents. Dropbox belongs in the at-rest-and-in-transit category, not alongside Proton Drive’s model. The cited page also does not state a free allowance, so check Dropbox’s plan pages for current storage.
Rank #4
- Slim durable design to help take your important files with you
- Back up smarter with included device management software[2] with defense against ransomware
- Help secure your important files with password protection and hardware encryption
- 3-year limited warranty
Google Drive
Google’s storage help page says personal Google Accounts get up to 15 GB shared across Drive, Gmail and Photos, and that paid Google One plans start at 100 GB. Storage and pricing vary by account geography, and Google notes some regional price changes. Because the 15 GB is one pool, heavy Gmail or Photos use leaves less room for Drive.
Free tools Windows power users keep installed
One-click scans. No signup required.
Google’s privacy help page says Drive data is encrypted in transit and at rest. It also says Google processes content to provide features such as search, spam filtering, virus detection and malware protection. It states that Drive content in apps primarily for personal storage is not used for advertising. It does not describe end-to-end encryption for Drive.
Best Value
- Utilizes Military Grade FIPS PUB 197 Validated Encryption Algorithm
- Super fast USB 3.0 Connection - Data transfer speeds up to 10X faster than USB 2.0
- Software Free Design - With no admin rights needed
- Sealed from Physical Attacks by Tough Epoxy Coating
- Brute Force Self Destruct Feature
Recovering from account compromise or accidental deletion
OneDrive’s cited page is the only one of the five that documents specific recovery tools in the material reviewed. Version history lets you restore earlier versions of a file, and large-deletion alerts with recovery address mass deletion. Ransomware recovery is a Microsoft 365 benefit. The cited pages for the other four providers do not describe recovery tools, so check their help centers before relying on them.
Before you store files you cannot afford to lose:
- Confirm which plan includes the recovery feature you need. For OneDrive ransomware recovery, that means a Microsoft 365 subscription.
- Turn on two-factor authentication. Dropbox and Microsoft both describe account protections of this kind.
- Keep a copy outside the provider for files you cannot replace. A cloud account is a single point of failure, whatever its encryption model.
- Look up the trash and version retention periods in the provider’s help center. The cited pages do not state them.
Which provider fits which priority
- Files the provider should not be able to read: Proton Drive is the only provider here whose documentation describes end-to-end, zero-access encryption. The trade-off is the 5 GB free allowance.
- Largest free allowance among these five: Google’s 15 GB, which is shared with Gmail and Photos. Google also processes content for search, spam and malware features, so this option is not zero-access.
- Password-protected or expiring share links: OneDrive, on a Microsoft 365 subscription, according to Microsoft.
- An optional extra encryption layer: pCloud Encryption for confidential files, with the caveat that only an excerpt of the official listing was reviewed.
- Two-factor authentication and account controls: Dropbox and OneDrive both describe these. Neither page’s account controls is a substitute for end-to-end encryption.
This comparison does not assess how well each service integrates with specific phones, desktops or office software, and no source reviewed establishes that.
Quick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.




