For the 2026 WNBA season, each team may carry 12 standard-contract players and two developmental-contract players. Those are separate categories: the two developmental slots do not count toward the 12-player standard roster. If a regular-season roster move takes a team below 12 standard players, the league says it has 72 hours to restore that number, subject to league exceptions.
The league’s 2026 calendar also lists August 24 as the deadline for playoff eligibility from waivers. Hardship contracts are being used in 2026, but the published league and team materials cited here do not spell out the complete waiver-claim procedure or hardship eligibility test.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
How many players can a WNBA team have in 2026?
The WNBA’s 2026 free-agency explainer sets out two roster categories:
Recommended Free Tools
| Category | 2026 limit or rule |
|---|---|
| Standard-contract players | 12-player standard roster. During the regular season, a move that takes a team below 12 starts a 72-hour period to restore the standard roster, subject to league exceptions. WNBA, “2026 WNBA Free Agency: Decoded” |
| Developmental-contract players | Up to two developmental players, separate from the 12 standard players. WNBA, “2026 WNBA Free Agency: Decoded” |
So a team may have 12 standard players plus two developmental players; describing that as a 14-player standard roster would be inaccurate. The league also notes that exceptions can permit more than 12 standard players, but the explainer does not define every exception.
#1 Best Overall
- Wilson WNBA Authentic Series Basketball - Indoor/Outdoor, Size 6 - 28.5"
- WNBA OFFICIAL: Wilson is the official basketball of the WNBA. This ball features official WNBA branding coupled with the iconic Wilson script
- PURE FEEL COVER: Pro-level feel and durability
- LAID-IN-CHANNELS: Consistent grip over the entire surface of the ball for unparalleled control
- 100% COMPOSITE LEATHER: Ideal for durability and superior ball control
What does the 72-hour roster rule mean?
The 72-hour clock applies when a regular-season roster move leaves a team with fewer than 12 standard-contract players. The team must restore its standard roster to 12 within that period, unless a league exception applies. It is not a general rule that every roster transaction must be completed within 72 hours, nor does it mean developmental players count toward the 12.
How do WNBA waivers work?
The 2026 season calendar identifies August 24 as the deadline for playoff eligibility from waivers. That gives teams and players a date relevant to postseason eligibility, but it does not explain the waiver process itself.
Rank #2
- Wilson Caitlin Clark x WNBA Oasis Basketball - Multicolored/White, Size 6 - 28.5"
- Composite Pebbled Channels: Composite channels are pebbled instead of smooth, creating a consistent texture over the entire surface of the ball for unparalleled control
- WNBA Official: Wilson is the official basketball of the WNBA. This ball features official WNBA branding coupled with the iconic Wilson script
- Pure Feel Cover: Indoor/Outdoor pro-level feel and durability is great for play or collecting autographs
- Caitlin Clark Signature Series Official: Her Signature Series, personally designed and endorsed by the icon herself
- The calendar does not state how long a player remains on waivers.
- It does not specify claim priority or which team would have the first opportunity to claim a player.
- It does not set out all contract or playoff eligibility conditions.
Accordingly, the August 24 entry should not be treated as a complete description of waiver mechanics or as proof of a particular claim order. The WNBA says calendar dates are subject to change. WNBA 2026 key dates
The Tool Desk
Outbyte Driver Updater FREEFix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →Outbyte PC Repair FREERepair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsFix Now →What is a WNBA hardship contract?
A hardship contract is a roster transaction used in response to roster circumstances; it should not be read as evidence that a team has permanently expanded its standard roster limit. The available 2026 announcements establish that teams use hardship contracts, but do not publish the full eligibility test, approval process, salary treatment, duration, or exact end-of-contract mechanics.
Rank #3
- Wilson WNBA All Team Basketball - Size 6 - 28.5"
- PERFORMANCE COVER: Outdoor cover designed for grip on rough surfaces
- AIR RETENTION: Inflation retention lining creates longer-lasting air retention
- MATCHING LOGO & COLORS: Matching Wilson logo and team colors, featuring logos from all 12 WNBA teams
- INTERMEDIATE SIZE: This 28.5" basketball is the perfect size to honor all WNBA teams
A 2026 example: Saylor Poffenbarger and the Chicago Sky
The Chicago Sky announced that it signed guard Saylor Poffenbarger to a hardship contract on May 27, 2026, and waived her on June 23. The team then reported that it had 12 standard-contract players and two developmental-contract players. The transaction illustrates use of a hardship contract; it does not establish which specific eligibility criteria applied. Chicago Sky roster announcement
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Why older CBA explanations may not describe the 2026 rules
The WNBA announced ratification of a new seven-year collective bargaining agreement on March 24, 2026, covering the 2026–2032 seasons. The league and the WNBPA announced that the long-form agreement was completed and signed on May 22, 2026. WNBA CBA announcement
Rank #4
- Wilson Caitlin Clark x WNBA Oasis Basketball - Multicolored/White, Size 5 - 27.5"
- Composite Pebbled Channels: Composite channels are pebbled instead of smooth, creating a consistent texture over the entire surface of the ball for unparalleled control
- WNBA Official: Wilson is the official basketball of the WNBA. This ball features official WNBA branding coupled with the iconic Wilson script
- Pure Feel Cover: Indoor/Outdoor pro-level feel and durability is great for play or collecting autographs
- Caitlin Clark Signature Series Official: Her Signature Series, personally designed and endorsed by the icon herself
Some WNBA FAQ material still contains descriptions of the prior CBA. For rules in the new agreement’s period, use 2026 league material rather than carrying older hardship or waiver wording forward without confirmation. The current sources cited above establish roster counts, the 72-hour restoration rule, and a waiver-related playoff date, but do not provide the full hardship test or waiver-claim procedure.
Quick wins for a faster PC:
Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteDriver Scan →Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsFree Scan →Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →Key 2026 roster dates
| Date | Event |
|---|---|
| May 7, 2026, 5:00 p.m. ET | Final roster cut-down date. WNBA 2026 key dates |
| May 8, 2026 | Regular season begins. WNBA 2026 key dates |
| August 24, 2026 | Listed deadline for playoff eligibility from waivers. WNBA 2026 key dates |
The league notes that these dates may change. WNBA 2026 key dates
Quick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.




