Some developers have joked that OpenAI missing a daily shipping pledge could earn them a usage reset. But the available reporting does not show that developers broadly—or secretly—want OpenAI to fail. The comments reflect individual frustration with Codex and ChatGPT Work limits, while the reset promised as a fallback remains undefined.
What OpenAI pledged to ship
On Oct. 4, 2026, Thibault Sottiaux, identified as OpenAI’s Codex engineering lead, announced a 28-day challenge: each day would bring one clear improvement relevant to most Codex and ChatGPT Work users, or a “full reset.” The New Stack reported the pledge on Oct. 5, describing it as a promise made in social posts rather than a formal set of reset terms. Sottiaux summed up the launch with “Let the improvements begin.” (The New Stack)
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
The announcement came as Sottiaux marked Codex and ChatGPT Work passing 8 million active users, according to The New Stack; that figure is his reported milestone, not an independently verified count.
What’s actually slowing this PC down?
Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.
What counted as the first improvement
The OpenAI Developer Community’s Day 1 thread said GPT-6 Astra and GPT-6.1 Sol should feel around 50% faster by default through subscriptions, including with supported Sign in with ChatGPT partners such as OpenCode, Pi, Amp and Devin. The post said users would not need to change a setting. The speed figure is OpenAI’s announced claim, not an independent benchmark. (OpenAI Developer Community: Day 1)
#1 Best Overall
Why some users might prefer a reset
The New Stack’s account of the reaction includes jokes about OpenAI missing its deadline and complaints from subscribers who say usage limits already affect when they can work. It describes examples, not a survey or evidence of a general developer consensus. The practical frustration is that Codex and ChatGPT Work users can encounter both short rolling caps and weekly limits, making available usage relevant to when they can continue a task. (The New Stack)
What “full reset” does—and does not—tell users
The pledge does not specify which subscription tiers qualify or what a “full reset” would restore. A reset of a five-hour cap and a reset of a weekly allowance are different outcomes; the announcement does not clearly say whether either, both, or another limit would be affected.
Rank #2
That uncertainty matters because OpenAI separately describes a purchasable instant reset for eligible Plus and Pro personal accounts. Its Help Center result says that this separate reset restores applicable five-hour and weekly usage, and that a new weekly period begins with the next Work or Codex request. Those are terms for the paid feature, not established terms for the 28-day pledge. The Help Center result reviewed was in Portuguese and marked updated 28 days before access, so check the live account and current terms for eligibility. (OpenAI Help Center)
A separate reported change to plan allowances
The New Stack also reported an Oct. 30 change to the $200 Pro plan’s Codex and ChatGPT Work allowance, from 20 times the Plus allowance to 10 times, alongside a new $500 plan with 25 times the Plus allowance and an Ultrafast GPT-6 Astra tier. The exact future details were not confirmed by an official plan page in the available reporting, so treat them as The New Stack’s report rather than settled subscription terms. (The New Stack)
Quick Recap
Best Value
Rank #4
What to watch for if you use Codex or ChatGPT Work
- Look for the daily improvement announcement and note whether it applies to your account or the way you access the service.
- Keep the pledged reset separate from any paid reset option: the announcement does not state its eligibility or quota mechanics.
- If you rely on a specific allowance, check current account terms rather than inferring that one reset replenishes every usage window.
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.




