Windows Errors? Fix Them Before They Spread
Repair common Windows errors and clear accumulated junk for a smoother, more stable PC - no reinstall needed.Free scan · no reinstallCrashes, No Sound, or Screen Glitches?
Random freezes, missing sound and display glitches usually trace back to one bad driver. Find and replace yours safely.Free scan · under a minuteThe right Apple Pencil depends on your iPad’s exact model and generation—not just its screen size, connector, or the fact that a Pencil can stick to the tablet. Apple’s current compatibility list covers four models: Apple Pencil Pro, Apple Pencil (USB-C), Apple Pencil (2nd generation), and Apple Pencil (1st generation). Find your complete iPad designation in the table before buying. Some iPads accept two Pencil models, while others accept only one, and two compatible models may use different pairing or charging arrangements.
If you are replacing a lost Pencil, buying for an older iPad, or choosing a stylus for a new one, identify the iPad first. The generation, screen size, and chip can change the answer even when two devices look nearly identical.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
Apple Pencil compatibility by iPad model
Match the full iPad designation, including its generation, screen size, or chip where shown. Apple’s compatibility list is the basis for this table. A Pencil not listed for a model should not be treated as compatible, even if it attaches magnetically or appears to have a suitable connector.
Recommended Free Tools
| iPad model | Compatible Apple Pencil models |
|---|---|
| iPad Pro 13-inch (M4 or M5) | Apple Pencil Pro; Apple Pencil (USB-C) |
| iPad Pro 11-inch (M4 or M5) | Apple Pencil Pro; Apple Pencil (USB-C) |
| iPad Air 13-inch (M2, M3, or M4) | Apple Pencil Pro; Apple Pencil (USB-C) |
| iPad Air 11-inch (M2, M3, or M4) | Apple Pencil Pro; Apple Pencil (USB-C) |
| iPad mini (A17 Pro) | Apple Pencil Pro; Apple Pencil (USB-C) |
| iPad (A16) | Apple Pencil (USB-C); Apple Pencil (1st generation), with a USB-C to Apple Pencil Adapter for pairing and charging |
| iPad (10th generation) | Apple Pencil (USB-C); Apple Pencil (1st generation), with a USB-C to Apple Pencil Adapter for pairing and charging |
| iPad mini (6th generation) | Apple Pencil (USB-C); Apple Pencil (2nd generation) |
| iPad Air (4th or 5th generation) | Apple Pencil (USB-C); Apple Pencil (2nd generation) |
| iPad Pro 11-inch (1st, 2nd, 3rd, or 4th generation) | Apple Pencil (USB-C); Apple Pencil (2nd generation) |
| iPad Pro 12.9-inch (3rd, 4th, 5th, or 6th generation) | Apple Pencil (USB-C); Apple Pencil (2nd generation) |
| iPad (6th, 7th, 8th, or 9th generation) | Apple Pencil (1st generation) |
| iPad mini (5th generation) | Apple Pencil (1st generation) |
| iPad Air (3rd generation) | Apple Pencil (1st generation) |
| iPad Pro 9.7-inch | Apple Pencil (1st generation) |
| iPad Pro 10.5-inch | Apple Pencil (1st generation) |
| iPad Pro 12.9-inch (1st or 2nd generation) | Apple Pencil (1st generation) |
How to read the table
The first five rows are the current M-series iPad Pro and iPad Air families plus the A17 Pro iPad mini. They support Apple Pencil Pro and Apple Pencil (USB-C). The next two rows cover the A16 iPad and 10th-generation iPad; each supports Apple Pencil (USB-C), or Apple Pencil (1st generation) with the required adapter arrangement.
#1 Best Overall
- 【Compatible with 2018-2026 iPad & iPad Pro】The stylus supports for iPad series 2018-2026 model: iPad Pro 13" (M4), iPad Pro 12.9"(3rd/4th/5th/6th), iPad Pro 11"(All Generations), iPad Air M4/M3/M2/5th/4th/3rd Gen, iPad 11th/10th/9th/8th/7th/6th, iPad Mini 7th/6th/5th Gen. Please confirm your devices before you place an order, another model is invalid
- 【Not compatible with models before 2018】The stylus doesn't support iPad pro 1st&2nd, iPad pro 10.5", iPad pro 9.7", iPad 1 to 5 Gen, iPad mini 1 to 4 Gen, iPad Air 1st/2nd Gen versions of iPad. Not Compatible With iPhone, Android, Microsoft devices.iPad 10gen cannt use magnetic attraction.
- 【Precise and Smooth】1.5mm pen tip can replace your finger to execute finer instructions, it easy to install and tear off the tips on your stylus pen without any tool. No lag/offset/breaking point!Compared with the ordinary stylus pen, it has higher sensitivity, more accurate signal, more comfortable hand. Not easy to break!【 Note 】The stylus pen no pressure-sensitive design.
- 【Palm Rejection Design】Stylus pen with palm rejection technology, rest your hand naturally on the screen while writing or drawing, effortless interaction with your screen, gives you more accuracy and control against the screen. We commend you to use this pen on the iPad with a glass screen protector.
- 【Touch Switch & Fast Charging】Activate this stylus pen with a simple touch of the cap button. A quick 5-15 minute charge provides 15 hours of work time. Please note: Ensure Bluetooth is enabled on your iPad for normal use, no pairing required.
The middle group—iPad mini (6th generation), iPad Air (4th and 5th generations), and the listed 11-inch and 12.9-inch iPad Pro generations—supports Apple Pencil (USB-C) and Apple Pencil (2nd generation). The final group consists of older base iPads, iPad mini, iPad Air, and iPad Pro models that are listed only with Apple Pencil (1st generation).
Do not read a row as a ranking. A row with two choices means both models are listed as compatible, not that one is automatically an upgrade or that their functions are identical. Use the comparison points below to decide which product fits your setup.
How to identify your exact iPad
Check the model name in your iPad’s Settings, or use the model-identification guidance linked from Apple’s compatibility page. Record the complete designation, not only “iPad,” “iPad Air,” or the screen size. For example, the 11-inch iPad Pro with M4 or M5 is in a different compatibility group from the 11-inch iPad Pro in its first through fourth generations.
The Tool Desk
Outbyte PC Repair FREERepair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsFix Now →Outbyte Driver Updater FREEScan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteDriver Scan →When a name or generation is unclear, look for the chip designation or generation that appears in the model information and compare it with the table. Similar-looking iPads can support different Pencil models, so appearance alone is not a reliable identifier. Confirm the model before ordering, especially when buying for someone else, shopping for a used iPad, or choosing a replacement Pencil for an older tablet.
Screen size is only one clue. An 11-inch iPad Pro can belong to the M4/M5 group or to an earlier first-through-fourth-generation group, and those groups have different Pencil choices. Likewise, an iPad mini with an A17 Pro chip is not the same compatibility case as an iPad mini (6th generation) or iPad mini (5th generation).
Which Pencil should you choose when an iPad supports more than one?
Compatibility tells you whether a Pencil works with an iPad; it does not establish that two compatible Pencils have the same features or charging experience. Compare the exact iPad model, the iPadOS requirement, the pairing and charging method, and whether an adapter is needed.
- For an iPad Pro or Air listed with an M-series chip, or iPad mini (A17 Pro): the listed choices are Apple Pencil Pro and Apple Pencil (USB-C). If you are choosing between them, consult the official specification pages for the capabilities that matter to your work rather than assuming the less expensive-looking or newer-looking option is automatically suitable.
- For iPad mini (6th generation), iPad Air (4th or 5th generation), and the listed older iPad Pro generations: the choices are Apple Pencil (USB-C) and Apple Pencil (2nd generation). Both appear in Apple’s compatibility list, but the list itself is not a complete feature-by-feature comparison.
- For iPad (A16) or iPad (10th generation): Apple Pencil (USB-C) works directly through its specified cable arrangement, while Apple Pencil (1st generation) works only with the required USB-C to Apple Pencil Adapter for pairing and charging. Include the adapter and a compatible cable in your plan.
- For the listed base iPad, mini, Air, and Pro models that support only the first-generation Pencil: choose Apple Pencil (1st generation). Do not assume that Apple Pencil Pro, the USB-C model, or the second-generation model is backward-compatible simply because it is a newer product.
When two models are compatible, ask four practical questions: Which exact iPad is it? Which iPadOS version is installed or available? How will the Pencil pair and charge? Will an adapter or separate cable be required? Those checks are more reliable than choosing by Pencil generation number alone.
Pairing, charging, and the adapter requirement
Apple Pencil (USB-C)
Apple says Apple Pencil (USB-C) pairs and charges using a USB-C Charge Cable. It also attaches magnetically to the iPad for storage. The cable detail matters when you open the box or prepare a replacement: magnetic attachment provides a place to keep the Pencil, but it should not be taken as proof that a Pencil charges on the iPad or that it has the same capabilities as another compatible Pencil.
Rank #2
- 【2X Faster Charge】: Metapen Pencil A8 fully charges in just 30 minutes via USB-C and lasts up to 10 hours. 1-min charge = 50-min use; 4 min fast charge = 2 hour use. The LED indicator displays different colors based on battery level, reminding you to recharge in time. It automatically shuts down after 5 minutes of inactivity for better energy efficiency. Note: A8 does not support magnetic charging or wireless charging via iPad.
- 【More Durable Tips】: Made of high-quality polymer, the Metapen's tips pass a 20 km durability test—2X more durable than original iPencil tips(NOTE:The package comes with two nibs, one already installed and one as a spare). Their internal structure remains intact even after 3,000 impacts. Each Metapen A8 pen comes with two extra replaceable tips , saving costs for frequent users
- 【Metal Barrel & Palm Rejection】: Metapen A8 Aluminum Metal Barrel iPad stylus pen supports Palm Rejection, so no need for a glove, with metal barrel, this stylus pen can provide you with a better writing experience. You can rest your palm or fingers on the screen during sketching, drawing, or writing. All-metal aluminum barrel: 4x harder, 10x more wear-resistant than plastic.Metal weight, metal strength. Not plastic. 200 MPa flexural strength, survives 1.2m drops 50+ times. A stronger and more durable iPad A16 penicl for Child/Kids than plastic iPad pencil.
- 【Quick Connect and Double Magnets】: No need to connect via Bluetooth or apps. Simply double-tap the invisible touch switch on the rounded end of A8 to power ON/OFF. With two built-in magnets, the Metapen iPad Pen securely attaches to your iPad anytime, no more rolling away or getting lost. (NOTE: Wireless Charging is NOT Supported. NO magnetic attachment for iPad Air 3rd/M2/M3 Gen, iPad 6th/7th/8th/9th/10th/11th Gen, iPad mini 5th/7th, iPad Pro M4)
- 【Make Sure Your iPad Model is Compatible】: Metapen Pencil A8 is ONLY compatible with the iPad models 2018-2026: iPad 11/10/9/8/7/6 Gen, iPad Pro 13-inch M4, iPad Pro 11-inch 1/2/3/4/M4, iPad Air 3/4/5/M2/M3, iPad Pro 12.9-inch 3/4/5/6 Gen, iPad Mini 5/6 Gen. NOTE: The Pencil A8 is NOT compatible with iPads before 2018, iPhone, Android or Microsoft devices. Please check your iPad model before ordering
If an iPad appears in a USB-C compatibility row, still follow the Pencil’s connection instructions. A USB-C port on the tablet does not mean every USB-C accessory or every Pencil model will pair with it.
Apple Pencil (1st generation) with iPad (A16) or iPad (10th generation)
These two iPads need a USB-C to Apple Pencil Adapter to pair and charge the first-generation Pencil. For iPad (10th generation), Apple specifies using the adapter with a compatible cable, such as the USB-C Charge Cable. Apple’s compatibility list also marks the adapter as required for iPad (A16).
That means the first-generation Pencil by itself is not a complete setup for either iPad. Check whether the adapter is included in the package you are buying, and keep a compatible cable available. If you are purchasing a used Pencil, verify that the adapter has not been lost.
What’s actually slowing this PC down?
Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.
Other compatible combinations
For other Pencil models, use the connection and charging instructions for that Pencil and iPad combination. The compatibility list establishes which models work together, but it does not provide a complete account of every model’s pairing method or charging behavior. Do not infer those details from the iPad’s connector or from whether the Pencil sticks to its side.
iPadOS requirements
Apple lists a minimum operating-system version for two of the Pencil models:
- Apple Pencil Pro: iPadOS 17.5 or later.
- Apple Pencil (USB-C): iPadOS 17.1.1 or later.
Apple’s compatibility article does not state a minimum iPadOS version for the listed first- or second-generation Pencil combinations. That omission is not a reason to assume every software version will work; it means the cited list does not specify a minimum for those entries. If a Pencil does not pair, check that the iPad model is listed and that the operating system meets the requirement where Apple provides one.
Updating software cannot turn an unlisted hardware combination into a supported one. First confirm the model row, then check the iPadOS version. This order avoids troubleshooting a software problem when the real issue is that the Pencil is not compatible with the iPad.
Free tools Windows power users keep installed
One-click scans. No signup required.
Common compatibility mistakes to avoid
- Choosing by screen size alone: the same screen size can appear across different generations or chip configurations with different Pencil support.
- Assuming USB-C means every USB-C Pencil works: the connector does not determine compatibility. Match the iPad’s full model designation against the list.
- Treating magnetic attachment as compatibility or charging: a magnetic connection can be for storage and does not establish that a model pairs, charges, or supports the features you expect.
- Buying the first-generation Pencil for iPad (A16) or iPad (10th generation) without the adapter: pairing and charging require the USB-C to Apple Pencil Adapter; iPad (10th generation) also needs a compatible cable.
- Assuming a Pencil is included with the iPad: Apple’s iPad guide says Pencil models are sold separately.
- Assuming the newest Pencil replaces every older one: support is model-specific. Apple Pencil Pro, USB-C, second-generation, and first-generation models do not share one universal compatibility list.
- Confusing iPad mini generations: iPad mini (A17 Pro), iPad mini (6th generation), and iPad mini (5th generation) belong to three different Pencil groups.
- Ignoring the chip on newer models: M2, M3, M4, M5, A16, and A17 Pro designations are part of the identification information used in the compatibility list.
A reliable pre-purchase check
- Open the iPad’s Settings and note its exact model designation; use Apple’s model-identification guidance if you need help interpreting it.
- Find that complete designation in the compatibility table, including generation, screen size, or chip as applicable.
- Choose only from the Pencil models listed for that iPad. If there are two options, compare the official specifications for the features and connection method you need.
- Check the iPadOS minimum for Apple Pencil Pro or Apple Pencil (USB-C), if you are considering either.
- If choosing Apple Pencil (1st generation) for iPad (A16) or iPad (10th generation), obtain the required USB-C to Apple Pencil Adapter and compatible cable.
- Confirm what is included in the purchase: Apple says Pencil models are sold separately from iPads.
- For a used iPad or Pencil, verify both model identity and included accessories before completing the transaction. A visually similar device may belong to another generation.
Choosing by common buying situation
You have a current iPad Pro or iPad Air with an M-series chip: start with the Apple Pencil Pro and Apple Pencil (USB-C) rows. Both are listed, so the deciding factors should be the specifications, required iPadOS version, and charging workflow you want.
Rank #3
- 🖊【Wide Compatibility】: Stylus pen supports iPad 2018-2026 series:iPad 11th 11 inch 2025/10/9/8/7/6th Gen,iPad Air 11 inch (M4) 2026/13 inch (M4) 2026/7/6/5/4/3th Gen,iPad Pro 13 inch M4,iPad Pro 12.9 inch 3/4/5/6th Gen,iPad Pro 11 inch 1/2/3/4th/M4,iPad Mini 7th (A17 Pro)/6/5th Gen.NOTE: The Pencil is NOT compatible with iPad models before 2018, iPhone, Android and Microsoft devices. Please check your product model before placing an order.
- 🖊【Ultra-fast Charging/Ultra-long Battery Life】: Hastraith stylus pen for ipad uses a Type-C interface for charging and can be fully charged in just 13 minutes. It also has an ultra-long battery life of more than 10 hours of continuous use, which can meet the needs of long-term writing or drawing.
- 🖊【Tilt Sensitivity and Palm Rejection】: Hastraith ipad pen uses tilt pressure sensing technology, which can dynamically adjust the line thickness according to the different tilt angles of the pen side. The full-screen palm rejection function ensures that when using a capacitive pen, the finger or palm touching the screen will not cause accidental touches, while ensuring the smoothness and stability of writing.
- 🖊【Battery Display/No Bluetooth Required】:No need for Bluetooth connection, turn on this stylus pen by simply touching the cap button. Hastraith ipad pencil has 3 battery indicator lights: All lights on: 70%-100% power, 2 lights on: 30%-70% power, 1 light on: 5%-30% power, 1 light flashing: less than 5% power. Therefore, you can view the battery consumption progress in real time so that you can charge it before important work begins.
- 🖊【Package Included】: 1 * smart stylus, 1 * type-c charging cable, 3 * replacement nibs, 1 * dust cover, 1 * silicone protective cover, 1 * user manual. Hastraith provides you with a 12-month manufacturer's warranty, if you have any questions about our products, please contact us. Note: If it does not work after turning on, please turn off the Bluetooth of the iPad.
You have an iPad mini: identify the generation or chip first. The A17 Pro mini is listed with Apple Pencil Pro and USB-C; the sixth-generation mini is listed with USB-C and second-generation; the fifth-generation mini is listed only with first-generation.
You have a base iPad: an A16 or 10th-generation model can use USB-C, or first-generation with the adapter. Sixth- through ninth-generation iPads are listed only with first-generation.
You have an older iPad Pro: the 11-inch first through fourth generations and 12.9-inch third through sixth generations accept USB-C and second-generation. The 9.7-inch, 10.5-inch, and 12.9-inch first- or second-generation models are listed only with first-generation.
Do these 3 things before closing this tab:
1Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minute2Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problems3Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFrequently asked questions
Is Apple Pencil Pro compatible with every iPad Pro?
No. Apple lists Apple Pencil Pro for the 11-inch and 13-inch iPad Pro models with M4 or M5, not every iPad Pro generation. Earlier 11-inch and 12.9-inch iPad Pro groups have different listed options.
Does the iPad mini (A17 Pro) work with Apple Pencil (1st generation)?
Apple’s current compatibility list does not list first-generation Pencil for the A17 Pro iPad mini. It lists Apple Pencil Pro and Apple Pencil (USB-C).
Can I use Apple Pencil (2nd generation) with iPad (10th generation)?
It is not listed as compatible. iPad (10th generation) is listed with Apple Pencil (USB-C) and Apple Pencil (1st generation), with the USB-C to Apple Pencil Adapter required for the first-generation model.
Do I need an adapter for Apple Pencil (USB-C)?
The compatibility information identifies USB-C Charge Cable pairing and charging for Apple Pencil (USB-C). The adapter requirement applies to first-generation Pencil on iPad (A16) and iPad (10th generation), not to the USB-C Pencil in those rows.
Quick wins for a faster PC:
Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteDriver Scan →Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsFree Scan →Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →Is a magnetic Pencil automatically compatible?
No. Apple says the USB-C Pencil attaches magnetically for storage, but attachment alone does not prove compatibility, pairing, charging, or feature support. Check the complete iPad designation in the table.
Rank #4
- WHY APPLE PENCIL - With pixel-perfect precision, tilt sensitivity, and low latency, Apple Pencil (USB-C) makes note-taking, signing documents, and drawing easy at an affordable price. It pairs and charges via USB-C and can magnetically attach to your iPad.
- COMPATIBILITY - Apple Pencil (USB-C) works with iPad Pro 13-inch (M4 and M5); iPad Pro 12.9-inch (3rd, 4th, 5th, and 6th generation); iPad Pro 11-inch (M4 and M5); iPad Pro 11-inch (1st, 2nd, 3rd, and 4th generation); iPad Air 13-inch (M2, M3, M4); iPad Air 11-inch (M2 and M3); iPad Air (4th and 5th generation); iPad (A16), iPad mini (A17 Pro), iPad mini (6th generation); and iPad (10th generation).
- EASY AND NATURAL - Write, sketch, and draw with pixel-perfect precision. Apple Pencil (USB-C) does it all with low latency and tilt sensitivity. Apple Pencil pairs and charges via USB-C and features a flat edge that attaches magnetically.
- TRANSFORMS IPAD INTO A CANVAS - Draw, sketch, color, take notes, and mark up documents. Use built-in apps like Notes and Freeform, or choose from over a million more apps available on the App Store. And for pros, use Apple Pencil hover on iPad Pro and iPad Air to preview your mark before you make it.
- WHAT'S IN THE BOX - Apple Pencil (USB-C)
What iPadOS version does Apple Pencil Pro need?
Apple lists iPadOS 17.5 or later for Apple Pencil Pro. Apple Pencil (USB-C) requires iPadOS 17.1.1 or later according to the same compatibility guidance.
Are Apple Pencil models included with an iPad?
No. Apple’s iPad guide says Pencil models are sold separately. Check the contents of the specific purchase rather than assuming a Pencil comes in the iPad box.
What should I do if a listed Pencil will not pair?
Recheck the exact iPad generation or chip, confirm that the Pencil model is listed for it, and verify the relevant iPadOS minimum. For first-generation Pencil on iPad (A16) or iPad (10th generation), confirm that the USB-C to Apple Pencil Adapter and compatible cable are present.
Frequently Asked Questions
Which Apple Pencil works with my iPad?
Identify the iPad’s complete model, generation, screen size, or chip and match it to the compatibility table. Apple Pencil support varies by those details.
Can one iPad support two Apple Pencil models?
Yes. Several rows list two compatible models, including current M-series iPad Pro and Air models, iPad mini (A17 Pro), iPad mini (6th generation), iPad Air (4th or 5th generation), and specified iPad Pro generations.
Does Apple Pencil (USB-C) work with older iPads?
It works with the older models listed in the table, including iPad mini (6th generation), iPad Air (4th and 5th generations), and specified 11-inch and 12.9-inch iPad Pro generations. It is not listed for every older iPad.
Which iPads require the USB-C to Apple Pencil Adapter?
The adapter is required to pair and charge Apple Pencil (1st generation) with iPad (A16) and iPad (10th generation). The 10th-generation iPad also needs a compatible cable.
Can a software update add Pencil compatibility?
A software update cannot change an unlisted hardware combination into a supported one. Confirm the iPad model first, then meet the stated iPadOS requirement where one is provided.
The Bottom Line
Identify the exact iPad generation or chip before buying. Apple Pencil Pro is limited to the listed M4/M5 iPad Pro, M2–M4 iPad Air, and A17 Pro iPad mini models; Apple Pencil (USB-C) spans the broadest set of newer and selected older iPads; Apple Pencil (2nd generation) is limited to specific mini, Air, and Pro generations; and Apple Pencil (1st generation) covers the listed older iPads plus iPad (A16) and iPad (10th generation) with an adapter. Check iPadOS, pairing and charging instructions, required accessories, and the separate-sale status before you place the order.
Quick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.




