Spoon is a Windows desktop Git client whose creator says it uses the same Git installation and Git Credential Manager as the terminal. Its announced features include familiar repository workflows plus optional AI-assisted commit messages. The announcement describes what Spoon is intended to do, but does not establish how it performs in practice or how AI requests handle repository data.
What is Spoon?
Spoon is a native Windows application for working with Git repositories. In a September 22, 2026 announcement, its creator described it as a desktop interface that continues to use the Git installation and Git Credential Manager used from the terminal. That is the creator’s description; the announcement does not explain how Spoon invokes Git or provide an independent compatibility test.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
The creator’s stated goal is to make common Git tasks available in a Windows interface, including reviewing changes and drafting a commit message from a diff. The announcement lists features rather than reporting tested outcomes. It does not provide performance benchmarks, repository-size limits, a full Git compatibility matrix, or comparative usability results.
Which Git workflows does Spoon announce?
The listed capabilities cover repository management, change review, and commit preparation:
#1 Best Overall
- 14" diagonal, 1366x768 resolution, HD BrightView LED, Glossy NON-TOUCH Display
- Open repositories: scan folders, clone a repository, or add or initialize one.
- Move between repositories: use repository tabs.
- Review history and configuration: view a commit graph and work with branches and remotes.
- Handle ongoing work: use stash and rebase helpers.
- Prepare changes: stage files or individual hunks, then inspect unified or side-by-side diffs.
- Choose an appearance: select light or dark mode, or match the Windows theme.
These are features named in the creator’s announcement, not independently verified behavior. The post does not specify support limits or describe every interaction or edge case.
How do the AI commit features work?
The announcement presents AI as optional and names three workflows: AI message drafting, AI commit, and analyze-into-commits. The stated use is to help create commit messages from changes; the post does not explain the prompts, algorithms, or exact behavior of each workflow. It names Grok, ChatGPT, and Claude, but does not identify model versions or say whether access requires an API key, a subscription, or another arrangement.
Rank #2
- 256 GB SSD of storage.
- Multitasking is easy with 16GB of RAM
- Equipped with a blazing fast Core i5 2.00 GHz processor.
One control boundary is explicit: the creator says “push is always separate.” In other words, the announcement describes pushing as a distinct action rather than something bundled into AI commit. It does not detail other safeguards or the exact steps involved in committing.
The Tool Desk
Outbyte PC Repair FREEClear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsFree Scan →Outbyte Driver Updater FREEFix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →What does the announcement say about credentials and privacy?
The creator says keys are stored only in %APPDATA%spoon. That identifies a storage location, but does not establish whether keys are encrypted or explain how they are transmitted, whether AI providers retain requests, or where data is processed. It also does not establish that diffs stay on the computer when an AI feature is used.
Rank #3
- FULL HD IPS DISPLAY - Enjoy vibrant, crystal-clear images with 178-degree wide-viewing angles
- AMD RYZEN 3 30 PROCESSOR - Everyday performance you can count on; Multitask, stream, game casually, and edit photos smoothly with responsive power and vibrant HDR visuals
- ENJOY UP TO 14 HOURS AND 15 MINUTES OF BATTERY LIFE - HP Fast Charge restores battery from 0 to 50% in approximately 45 minutes
- AMD RADEON 610M GRAPHICS - Experience smooth entertainment; Built for streaming and multitasking, enjoy realistic visuals and efficient performance for work and play
- STORAGE AND MEMORY - 512 GB PCIe NVMe M.2 SSD offers fast speed and efficient storage; and 8 GB LPDDR5 RAM memory boosts performance with higher bandwidth
If repository contents are sensitive, those unanswered details matter. The announcement does not specify what data an AI request contains, which provider settings apply, or whether users can control retention or data residency. Treat the storage-path statement as limited to where keys are said to be stored—not as a broader security or privacy guarantee.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Where can you find Spoon, and what is its license?
The creator links the Spoon repository and the latest release page, and states that the project is MIT-licensed. Because the linked GitHub pages were not retrievable for verification, the announcement alone does not confirm current release files, installation instructions, project status, or the contents of a license file. Check those pages directly for current availability and details.
Quick Recap
Rank #4
- 14” Diagonal HD BrightView WLED-Backlit (1366 x 768), Intel Graphics,
- Intel Celeron Dual-Core Processor Up to 2.60GHz, 4GB RAM, 64GB SSD
- 3x USB Type A,1x SD Card Reader, 1x Headphone/Microphone
- 802.11a/b/g/n/ac (2x2) Wi-Fi and Bluetooth, HP Webcam with Integrated Digital Microphone
- Windows 11 OS, Dale Blue
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.
Recommended Free Tools




