Halloween DealsAmazon USHalloween week deals: useful picks before month-endAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.Check DealsSlow PC?RecommendedPC slow today? Run a repair scan before it gets worseResolve common Windows issues and optimize system performance.Scan NowHalloween DealsAmazon USOctober picks are moving - compare before checkoutAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.See Picks×
Skip to content
Cupertino desk4 min

Samsung Galaxy S25 Ultra vs iPhone 17 Pro: Which Should You Choose?

The S25 Ultra brings a larger screen and built-in S Pen; the iPhone 17 Pro is more compact and offers production-focused video features. Their published US entry-price references differ by $200, but are not a matched current-price comparison.
Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

The Galaxy S25 Ultra is the larger, stylus-equipped choice; the iPhone 17 Pro is more compact and offers Apple video-production features such as ProRes RAW, Apple Log 2 and genlock. The listed US entry-price figures differ by $200, but they come from different reference points and are not a matched, current price comparison.

Specs at a glance

Specification Samsung Galaxy S25 Ultra Apple iPhone 17 Pro
Display size 6.9 inches (Samsung US product materials, accessed 2026) 6.3 inches (Apple, 2025)
Rear cameras 200MP wide, 50MP ultra-wide, 50MP telephoto with 5x optical zoom, and 10MP telephoto with 3x optical zoom; Samsung also describes 2x and 10x “optical quality” zoom Three 48MP Fusion cameras; Apple lists 4x optical zoom at 100mm and 8x optical zoom at 200mm
Front camera Not stated in the cited Samsung product materials 18MP Center Stage
Battery figures 5,000mAh; up to 31 hours of video playback, per Samsung A directly comparable video-playback figure is not stated in the cited Apple announcement
Distinctive input or video features Built-in S Pen ProRes RAW, Apple Log 2 and genlock
US entry-price reference $1,299.99 from before trade-in on Samsung’s US product listing, accessed 2026 $1,099 US starting price announced by Apple at launch in 2025

These are manufacturer specifications and claims, not the result of a controlled head-to-head test. The price figures also have different dates and contexts.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

How big are the phones, and does the S Pen matter?

The S25 Ultra’s 6.9-inch display gives it a larger canvas than the iPhone 17 Pro’s 6.3-inch screen. That extra space can be useful for reading, multitasking, drawing or annotating, but it also means choosing a larger handset. The S25 Ultra includes a built-in S Pen; Apple’s listed iPhone 17 Pro features do not identify an equivalent built-in stylus.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Choose based on how you use the phone: the Samsung’s screen and pen suit people who want direct stylus input, while the iPhone’s smaller stated display size is the more natural fit if a less expansive handset is your priority.

#1 Best Overall
Sale
Samsung Galaxy S25 Ultra, 256GB, Titanium Black - Unlocked (Renewed) | Unlocked
  • Stunning 6.9″ Dynamic AMOLED 2X QHD+ display with adaptive 1–120 Hz refresh rate, ultra‑bright up to ~2600 nits, HDR support, “Vision Booster,” and adaptive color tone — giving vivid colours, great outdoor visibility, and super‑smooth scrolling.
  • Powerful internals: it runs on the new Snapdragon 8 Elite for Galaxy (3 nm) chip, with 12 GB (or in some markets up to 16 GB) RAM and up to 1 TB UFS 4.0 storage — offering significantly improved CPU/GPU/NPU performance, especially for AI tasks, gaming, and heavy multitasking.
  • Advanced quad‑camera system: 200 MP wide main sensor, plus a 50 MP ultrawide, a 50 MP periscope telephoto (5× optical zoom), and a 10 MP telephoto (3× optical zoom) — giving flexibility from ultra‑wide through detailed telephoto shots, and strong performance in varied lighting.
  • 5,000 mAh battery with 45 W fast wired charging, wireless charging (Qi2) and reverse wireless charging — balancing long battery life with flexible charging options.
  • Durable, premium build: Titanium‑frame body, protected by Corning Gorilla Armor 2 glass, with IP68 dust/water resistance, ultrasonic in‑display fingerprint sensor, modern connectivity (5G, Wi‑Fi 7, Bluetooth, UWB, USB‑C), and long‑term software support (Android 15 / One UI 7, promised 7 major OS/security updates).

Which phone has the better camera?

The published camera specifications show different approaches, not a proven image-quality winner. Samsung lists four rear camera units, including separate 3x and 5x telephoto cameras. Apple lists three 48MP rear cameras and specifies 4x and 8x optical zoom at 100mm and 200mm. Samsung’s “optical quality” zoom wording is distinct from its stated optical zoom figures.

Megapixel counts and zoom labels alone do not establish which phone takes better photos. The cited manufacturer materials do not provide a matched photo test, so choose by the camera features you expect to use rather than treating the pixel counts as a quality ranking.

Rank #2
Sale
Samsung Galaxy S25 Ultra, 256GB, Titanium Silverblue - Unlocked (Renewed)
  • Stunning 6.9″ Dynamic AMOLED 2X QHD+ display with adaptive 1–120 Hz refresh rate, ultra‑bright up to ~2600 nits, HDR support, “Vision Booster,” and adaptive color tone — giving vivid colours, great outdoor visibility, and super‑smooth scrolling.
  • Powerful internals: it runs on the new Snapdragon 8 Elite for Galaxy (3 nm) chip, with 12 GB (or in some markets up to 16 GB) RAM and up to 1 TB UFS 4.0 storage — offering significantly improved CPU/GPU/NPU performance, especially for AI tasks, gaming, and heavy multitasking.
  • Advanced quad‑camera system: 200 MP wide main sensor, plus a 50 MP ultrawide, a 50 MP periscope telephoto (5× optical zoom), and a 10 MP telephoto (3× optical zoom) — giving flexibility from ultra‑wide through detailed telephoto shots, and strong performance in varied lighting.
  • 5,000 mAh battery with 45 W fast wired charging, wireless charging (Qi2) and reverse wireless charging — balancing long battery life with flexible charging options.
  • Durable, premium build: Titanium‑frame body, protected by Corning Gorilla Armor 2 glass, with IP68 dust/water resistance, ultrasonic in‑display fingerprint sensor, modern connectivity (5G, Wi‑Fi 7, Bluetooth, UWB, USB‑C), and long‑term software support (Android 15 / One UI 7, promised 7 major OS/security updates).

Which is better for video work?

Apple’s announced ProRes RAW, Apple Log 2 and genlock features are relevant if your workflow includes post-production or synchronizing multiple cameras. They are specialized production tools, not a reason every buyer needs the iPhone. The cited specifications do not establish a universal video-quality winner between these phones.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

What do the battery figures actually tell you?

Samsung lists a 5,000mAh battery and claims up to 31 hours of video playback for the S25 Ultra. Samsung notes that actual playback varies with factors including settings, network, file, brightness and battery condition. Apple’s cited announcement describes battery improvements but does not provide a directly comparable iPhone 17 Pro video-playback figure. Without matched testing, these figures cannot establish which phone lasts longer in everyday use.

Rank #3
Sale
Samsung Galaxy S25 Ultra 5G, 512GB + 12GB RAM, Black - Unlocked (Renewed) | Unlocked
  • Stunning 6.9″ Dynamic AMOLED 2X QHD+ display with adaptive 1–120 Hz refresh rate, ultra‑bright up to ~2600 nits, HDR support, “Vision Booster,” and adaptive color tone — giving vivid colours, great outdoor visibility, and super‑smooth scrolling.
  • Powerful internals: it runs on the new Snapdragon 8 Elite for Galaxy (3 nm) chip, with 12 GB (or in some markets up to 16 GB) RAM and up to 1 TB UFS 4.0 storage — offering significantly improved CPU/GPU/NPU performance, especially for AI tasks, gaming, and heavy multitasking.
  • Advanced quad‑camera system: 200 MP wide main sensor, plus a 50 MP ultrawide, a 50 MP periscope telephoto (5× optical zoom), and a 10 MP telephoto (3× optical zoom) — giving flexibility from ultra‑wide through detailed telephoto shots, and strong performance in varied lighting.
  • 5,000 mAh battery with 45 W fast wired charging, wireless charging (Qi2) and reverse wireless charging — balancing long battery life with flexible charging options.
  • Durable, premium build: Titanium‑frame body, protected by Corning Gorilla Armor 2 glass, with IP68 dust/water resistance, ultrasonic in‑display fingerprint sensor, modern connectivity (5G, Wi‑Fi 7, Bluetooth, UWB, USB‑C), and long‑term software support (Android 15 / One UI 7, promised 7 major OS/security updates).

How large is the price difference?

Samsung’s US product listing, accessed in 2026, shows the S25 Ultra from $1,299.99 before trade-in. Apple announced a $1,099 US launch starting price for the iPhone 17 Pro in 2025 and listed 256GB, 512GB and 1TB options. The arithmetic difference between those stated entry figures is $200, with Samsung higher. It is not a guaranteed current saving for choosing the iPhone: the figures are from different reference dates and contexts, and they are not a matched-storage or live-retailer comparison.

Before buying, compare the same storage capacity and check the current price, trade-in eligibility and any retailer or carrier offer. A current Samsung price or Apple launch price alone cannot tell you what either phone will cost in your checkout.

Rank #4
Sale
Samsung Galaxy S25 Ultra 5G, 512GB + 12GB RAM, Silver Blue - Unlocked (Renewed)
  • Stunning 6.9″ Dynamic AMOLED 2X QHD+ display with adaptive 1–120 Hz refresh rate, ultra‑bright up to ~2600 nits, HDR support, “Vision Booster,” and adaptive color tone — giving vivid colours, great outdoor visibility, and super‑smooth scrolling.
  • Powerful internals: it runs on the new Snapdragon 8 Elite for Galaxy (3 nm) chip, with 12 GB (or in some markets up to 16 GB) RAM and up to 1 TB UFS 4.0 storage — offering significantly improved CPU/GPU/NPU performance, especially for AI tasks, gaming, and heavy multitasking.
  • Advanced quad‑camera system: 200 MP wide main sensor, plus a 50 MP ultrawide, a 50 MP periscope telephoto (5× optical zoom), and a 10 MP telephoto (3× optical zoom) — giving flexibility from ultra‑wide through detailed telephoto shots, and strong performance in varied lighting.
  • 5,000 mAh battery with 45 W fast wired charging, wireless charging (Qi2) and reverse wireless charging — balancing long battery life with flexible charging options.
  • Durable, premium build: Titanium‑frame body, protected by Corning Gorilla Armor 2 glass, with IP68 dust/water resistance, ultrasonic in‑display fingerprint sensor, modern connectivity (5G, Wi‑Fi 7, Bluetooth, UWB, USB‑C), and long‑term software support (Android 15 / One UI 7, promised 7 major OS/security updates).
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

Which one should you choose?

  • Choose the Galaxy S25 Ultra if you want the larger 6.9-inch display, built-in S Pen, or Samsung’s specified 3x and 5x telephoto cameras.
  • Choose the iPhone 17 Pro if you prefer its 6.3-inch display or expect to use Apple’s announced ProRes RAW, Apple Log 2 or genlock video features.
  • Compare prices carefully if cost is decisive: check the same storage tier and live offers rather than treating the $200 difference between the published entry-price references as a current guaranteed gap.
  • Decide by platform preference if neither phone’s hardware distinctions settle it. These models use different operating systems; the cited specifications do not establish an overall winner.

Durability and ownership distinctions

Samsung highlights a titanium frame, Gorilla Armor 2 display glass and IP68 protection for the S25 Ultra. These are Samsung’s stated specifications and claims, not comparative durability-test results. Consider them alongside the S Pen and display size when weighing everyday handling and ownership needs.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Best Value
Sale
Samsung Galaxy S26 Ultra, Unlocked Android Smartphone, 512GB, Cobalt Violet | Privacy Display, Galaxy AI, AI Camera, Super Fast Charging 3.0, Durable Battery, 2026, US 1 Year Warranty
  • PRIVACY DISPLAY: Automatically hide your screen from those beside you. The built-in privacy display can be preset¹ to turn on when receiving notifications, typing passwords, or using specific apps
  • TYPE IT IN. TRANSFORM IT FAST: Enhance any shot in seconds on your smartphone by using Photo Assist² with Galaxy AI.³ Add objects, restore details, or apply new styles by simply typing or tapping
  • NIGHTS, CAPTURED CLEARLY: From gigs to city lights, record and capture moments after dark with clarity using Nightography so your photos and videos stay crisp and clear on your Samsung Galaxy
  • MAKE IT. EDIT IT. SHARE IT: Turn everyday moments into something personal with creative tools built right into your mobile phone, whether it’s a special contact photo, custom wallpaper, an invitation or more⁴
  • HELP THAT KEEPS UP: Stay in the moment while Now Nudge with Galaxy AI helps you respond faster and stay organized with smart suggestions⁵ that appear exactly when you need them on your phone

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

More from the Wire

  1. World desk4 min
    How to Spot an AI Voice Scam Before Sending MoneyDon’t rely on how a caller sounds. Pause, call back through a known number, and verify the emergency with another trusted person before sending money.
  2. Mountain View desk4 min
    Google’s SynthID Detector: How to Check AI-Generated Images, Video and AudioGoogle’s SynthID Detector looks for an embedded watermark in supported images, video and audio. Here is what its results do—and do not—show.
  3. Redmond desk20 min
    How to create a link to File or Folder in Windows 11Windows 11 gives you several ways to point to a file or folder without moving or duplicating it. You can create a desktop shortcut,…
Recommended PC Tool
Recommended PC Tool
Crashes, No Sound, or Screen Glitches?Free driver scan
Windows Errors? Fix Them Before They SpreadFree repair scan

Two free Windows tools

One Free Minute Could Fix That PC

Before you go - each of these free tools takes about a minute and tackles what quietly slows a Windows PC down.

Special offer. View Outbyte info, uninstall instructions, EULA, and Privacy Policy.