Recommended Free Tools
The realme 16 and the TECNO POVA 8 Pro 5G look close on paper, but the evidence behind each phone is not equal. TECNO’s official specification page gives a full spec sheet for the POVA 8 Pro 5G. The realme 16 figures come from a third-party comparison listing that has not been checked against a realme source. The price gap in that same listing (₹5,000, with the TECNO higher) is not a verified current price. No overall winner can be declared yet, but the spec differences are clear enough to help you decide which trade-offs matter to you.
Make sure you are comparing the POVA 8 Pro 5G
TECNO sells a base POVA 8 alongside the POVA 8 Pro 5G, and the two do not share a spec sheet. A Gadgets 360 comparison that sets “Pova 8” against the realme 16 reports a Dimensity 7100 processor, an 8000mAh battery and a 6.76-inch screen. Those figures belong to the base model. Every TECNO figure in this article refers to the POVA 8 Pro 5G only.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
Specifications side by side
TECNO’s values come from its official POVA 8 Pro 5G page. The realme 16 column comes from a Gadgets Now comparison listing and should be treated as reported data until realme confirms it.
| Specification | TECNO POVA 8 Pro 5G (official TECNO page) | realme 16 (third-party comparison listing) |
|---|---|---|
| Processor | MediaTek Dimensity 7400 Ultimate 5G; 4nm octa-core CPU up to 2.6GHz; Arm Mali-G615 MC2 graphics | MediaTek Dimensity 6400 Turbo |
| Display | 6.78-inch HyperLux AMOLED, 2644 × 1208, 429 PPI, Corning Gorilla Glass 7i | 6.57-inch flexible AMOLED |
| Refresh rate | 144Hz maximum | not stated in the listing |
| Brightness | 700 nits normal, 1600 nits HBM, 4500 nits peak (manufacturer claims, not independent measurements) | not stated in the listing |
| Rear cameras | 50MP OIS main + 8MP ultra-wide | 50MP + 2MP |
| Front camera | 13MP | not stated in the listing |
| Battery | 6500mAh | 7000mAh |
| Charging | 45W | 60W |
| Operating system | HiOS 16 based on Android 16 | Android 16 |
| Software update promise | not stated on TECNO’s page | reported 3 years of OS updates and 4 years of security updates (unverified) |
| Memory options | 256GB storage with 8GB RAM plus 8GB extended RAM; 256GB with 12GB plus 12GB extended RAM; 512GB with 12GB plus 12GB extended RAM | 256GB storage with 12GB RAM |
| Wireless and biometrics | Wi-Fi 6, Bluetooth 5.4, NFC, under-display fingerprint sensor, infrared remote control | not stated in the listing |
| Audio | Dolby Atmos, Hi-Res Audio | not stated in the listing |
| Dimensions and weight | 162.48 × 77.27 × 7.39mm, 189g | not stated in the listing |
| Launch date | not stated on TECNO’s page | official launch on April 2, 2026, according to the listing |
What the differences mean in practice
Display
The POVA 8 Pro 5G has the larger panel (6.78 inches against 6.57 inches) and the only refresh rate figure in this comparison, a 144Hz maximum on TECNO’s page. The realme listing does not give a refresh rate, so you cannot say the TECNO screen is smoother in daily use. Brightness numbers are TECNO’s own claims and cannot be compared with realme’s because realme’s are missing.
#1 Best Overall
- 6.78 inches, AMOLED, 1B colors, 6.78 inches
- 256GB Storage, 8GB RAM
- Android 16, Mediatek Dimensity 7300 Max (4 nm), Mediatek Dimensity 7300 Max (4 nm)
- Rear: 200 MP, f/1.9, 23mm (wide), 1/1.56", 0.5µm, dual-pixel PDAF, OIS, 8 MP, 112˚, (ultrawide), 1/4.0", 1.12µm, Front: 50 MP, f/2.4, 23mm (wide), 1/2.88", 0.61µm
Processor and memory
The Dimensity 7400 Ultimate and the Dimensity 6400 Turbo are different MediaTek chips, but neither source includes benchmark, thermal or gaming results, so no speed gap can be stated. When comparing memory, match physical RAM. The 12GB realme 16 can be compared with the 12GB POVA 8 Pro 5G variants. TECNO’s “extended RAM” (8GB or 12GB on top of physical RAM) is a memory-expansion feature, not additional physical memory, and should not be added to the headline RAM figure.
Cameras
TECNO’s listed rear setup pairs a 50MP main sensor with optical image stabilisation (OIS) and an 8MP ultra-wide lens. The realme listing gives 50MP + 2MP but does not describe the 2MP lens, so the two rear setups cannot be matched lens for lens. Photo quality has not been tested in either source, so the spec sheets alone do not show which camera produces better images.
Rank #2
- 6.78 inches, AMOLED, 1B colors, 6.78 inches
- 256GB Storage, 8GB RAM
- Android 16, Mediatek Dimensity 7300 Max (4 nm), Mediatek Dimensity 7300 Max (4 nm)
- Rear: 200 MP, f/1.9, 23mm (wide), 1/1.56", 0.5µm, dual-pixel PDAF, OIS, 8 MP, 112˚, (ultrawide), 1/4.0", 1.12µm, Front: 50 MP, f/2.4, 23mm (wide), 1/2.88", 0.61µm
Battery and charging
On the listed figures, the realme 16 has the larger battery (7000mAh against 6500mAh) and the faster charger (60W against 45W). Both figures are the sole basis for that comparison: TECNO’s values are official, while realme’s are from a third-party listing. Real charging times depend on the charger and cable used, and neither source reports a measured charge time.
Free tools Windows power users keep installed
One-click scans. No signup required.
Software and updates
Both phones are listed on Android 16. TECNO’s page confirms HiOS 16 but does not state an update commitment. The realme update periods (3 years of OS updates, 4 years of security updates) appear only in the third-party listing. Before buying, check the update policy for the exact model on the manufacturer’s own product page, since this is the factor where the phones could differ most over several years of use.
Rank #3
- 6.79 inches, AMOLED, 1B colors, 1440 x 3136 pixels
- 512GB Storage, 16GB RAM
- Android 16, Qualcomm SM8850-AC Snapdragon 8 Elite Gen 5 (3 nm), Octa-core (2x4.6 GHz Oryon V3 Phoenix L + 6x3.62 GHz Oryon V3 Phoenix M)
- Rear: 50 MP, f/1.8, 22mm (wide), 1/1.56", 1.0µm, multi-directional PDAF, OIS, 200 MP, f/2.6, 65mm, (periscope telephoto), 1/1.56", 0.5µm, multi-directional PDAF, OIS, 3x optical zoom, 50 MP, f/2.0, 16mm, 116˚ (ultrawide), 1/2.88", 0.64µm, Front: 32 MP, f/2.4, 24mm (wide), 1/3.1", 0.7µm
- 161.8 x 76.9 x 8.2 mm (6.37 x 3.03 x 0.32 in)
The price difference: ₹41,999 against ₹46,999
The Gadgets Now comparison lists the realme 16 with 256GB/12GB at ₹41,999 and the TECNO POVA 8 Pro at ₹46,999. The ₹5,000 gap is simple subtraction from those two numbers. It is not a verified price difference, for three reasons:
- The listing does not state the date, market or seller behind either price.
- It does not state the TECNO storage and RAM configuration, so the two prices may not be for equivalent variants.
- Prices in the listing may have changed since it was published.
Treat the figures as a snapshot from one comparison, not as current prices.
Rank #4
- 144Hz High Refresh Rate Large Display – Equipped with a 6.8-inch high-definition LCD screen featuring a 144Hz ultra-smooth refresh rate, delivering fluent visual experience for daily browsing, video watching, gaming and social media. The large screen brings wider field of view and comfortable single-hand operation, effectively reducing screen stutter and eye fatigue during long-time use.
- 6600mAh Giant Battery & 45W Ultra Fast Charge – Built-in 6600mAh high-capacity durable battery supports all-day long-lasting battery life, easily meeting heavy usage needs of gaming, video playback and outdoor travel. 45W ultra-fast charging technology greatly shortens charging time, quickly replenishes power and eliminates low-battery anxiety for daily use.
- Powerful Dimensity 6300 5G Processor – Adopts MediaTek Dimensity 6300 high-performance 5G chip, with optimized operation algorithm and excellent heat dissipation performance. It ensures stable and smooth running of daily office apps, social software and mainstream mobile games, while supporting 5G full-network fast connection for ultra-fast downloading and network surfing.
- 50MP AI Dual Camera System – Comes with a 50MP high-definition rear main camera and 5MP front selfie camera. The intelligent AI imaging algorithm optimizes light, color and details automatically, enabling clear and vivid photos in bright daylight or low-light night environment. It supports portrait mode, panorama and multiple shooting modes to record wonderful moments easily.
- IP64 Waterproof & Dustproof & Practical Design – Features IP64 professional waterproof and dustproof rating, effectively resisting daily splashing water, sweat and fine dust, improving the phone’s durability and extending service life. Unlocked design supports global mainstream network bands, compatible with various operators, perfect for daily communication, travel and outdoor scenarios.
How to check the price before you buy
- Write down the exact model and configuration for each phone: for the realme 16, 256GB with 12GB RAM; for the POVA 8 Pro 5G, the specific storage and RAM option you are considering.
- Compare only identical storage and RAM options. If a retailer does not show the POVA 8 Pro 5G configuration, do not compare its price with the realme figure.
- Check both prices from the same retailer on the same day, and record the time and the country or market shown on the listing.
- Note any bank offers, exchange values, coupons or delivery charges, and compare the final amount you would pay.
- Confirm that both listings include the same warranty and seller terms.
- Check the model’s network band support for your country on the manufacturer’s listing. Neither source reports regional network compatibility, so a phone bought abroad may not support your local carriers.
Choosing between them by priority
| Your priority | Leans toward | Basis in this comparison |
|---|---|---|
| High refresh rate on a larger screen | TECNO POVA 8 Pro 5G | 144Hz maximum and 6.78-inch display on TECNO’s official page; realme refresh rate not stated |
| Larger battery and faster listed charging | realme 16 | 7000mAh and 60W in a third-party listing (unverified) |
| Ultra-wide rear lens | TECNO POVA 8 Pro 5G | 8MP ultra-wide on TECNO’s official page; realme’s 2MP lens is not described |
| Possibly longer software support | realme 16, if the reported policy is confirmed | 3-year OS and 4-year security updates in the listing; TECNO’s update policy not stated |
| Lower price in the one listing checked | realme 16 | ₹41,999 against ₹46,999, with unverified date, market and configuration |
If you weigh the display and the ultra-wide camera most, the official TECNO data supports the POVA 8 Pro 5G. If battery life, charging speed and price matter most, the realme 16 leads on the listed figures, but those figures should be confirmed against realme’s own specifications before you rely on them.
Quick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.




