The Tool Desk
Outbyte Driver Updater FREEScan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteDriver Scan →Outbyte PC Repair FREEClear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsFree Scan →The Xteink X4 is the closest match for a pocket device that replaces phone scrolling with reading. Its tiny, distraction-limited design makes it easy to carry, but the base version reportedly has no backlight. That means it can be a useful low-cost attention aid only if you are comfortable reading under a lamp or buying a separate light.
Why a mini e-reader can work better than another phone app
Doomscrolling is partly a software problem, but it is also an environment problem. A smartphone puts social feeds, browsers, messages and video within one tap of an ebook. A dedicated reader removes most of those temptations before you begin. You still have to choose to read, but the device gives that choice fewer competing paths.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
That is different from a focus app. WIRED’s report on Focus Friend described a timer that takes over the phone while an animated bean knits; uninterrupted sessions earn virtual socks and room decorations. The app briefly ranked No. 2 on Google Play and No. 3 on the App Store on August 22, 2025. A mini e-reader changes the physical device in your hand, while a focus app leaves the smartphone present and attempts to constrain it with software.
Developer Bria Sullivan told WIRED that she felt she used her phone “against my will” and was “kind of addicted to it.” Gloria Mark, professor of informatics at the University of California, Irvine, offered an important qualification: “It’s really powerful to have the agency to be able to pay attention when you want to.” A reader can support that agency, but it cannot permanently replace it.
#1 Best Overall
- Read Before You Buy — No Video Output: These adapters support charging and USB 2.0 data transfer, but cannot transmit video signals. Except for standard USB webcams (which use USB data only), they are not compatible with HDMI/DisplayPort cables, video-capable USB-C hubs, or docking stations with video output.
- Convert USB-A Ports to USB-C: Designed to connect USB-C earphones, cables, flash drives, card readers, and other USB-C accessories to standard USB-A ports. Plug-and-play with no drivers or software required.
- Aluminum Alloy Housing: Built with a sturdy aluminum alloy shell that aids in heat dissipation and protects against daily wear and scratches. Designed to maintain a stable and secure connection.
- Compact & Travel-Friendly: The ultra-compact design allows the adapter to stay plugged into your device without blocking adjacent ports or adding bulk, reducing wear and tear on your original USB ports.
- 12-Month Warranty: Backed by a 12-month manufacturer warranty for peace of mind. Designed to meet strict quality control standards for reliable everyday performance.
Xteink X4: the strongest fit for portable, focused reading
The Xteink X4 is discussed as a very small e-reader that can go anywhere and stand in for a smartphone during spare moments. Its main attraction is not a long feature list; it is the deliberate restriction. You carry a reading device rather than a general-purpose feed machine.
What the available evidence supports
- The device is small enough for highly portable, one-handed use.
- The base model is reported to have no backlight.
- A backlit version is reportedly available, but user reports say it uses a proprietary charging port and a touchscreen.
- The backlight, controls and charging details should be treated as user-reported until confirmed on a current manufacturer or retailer specification page.
The missing backlight is the decision that matters most. In daylight or beside a lamp, the base model may be comfortable and simple. In bed, on a train at night or in a dim waiting room, you would need an external reading light or a different version. If you choose the backlit model, check the exact connector and interface before buying: the reported move to a proprietary port can make cable replacement less convenient, while a touchscreen changes the button-focused feel many buyers want from a distraction-free reader.
Rank #2
- 5-in-1 USB-C Hub: Experience comprehensive connectivity featuring a Power Delivery input, two USB-A 2.0 ports, a USB-A 3.0 port, and an HDMI port. (Note: The USB-C power delivery input port is only for connecting an external wall charger to power your laptop and cannot power peripheral devices.)
- 90W Pass-Through Charging: Achieve optimal charging with 90W pass-through power to your laptop, supported by a total input of 100W, with the hub reserving 10W for operational efficiency. (Note: Wall charger not included.)
- Quick Data Transfers: Accelerate your productivity with rapid data transfers using a high-speed 5Gbps USB 3.0 port and two 480Mbps USB 2.0 ports.
- 4K HDMI Display: Enhance your visual experience with a hub capable of delivering 4K resolution at 30Hz in both mirror and extend modes. Please note that this hub is compatible with MacBook (macOS 12 and newer), Windows 10 and 11, ChromeOS, and laptops equipped with DP Alt Mode and Power Delivery. Note: This device is not compatible with Linux.
- What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (5-in-1, 4K HDMI), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
Is it suitable for novels?
It can be, provided the small display does not bother your eyes and the model you buy supports the files you already own. The evidence available here does not establish a definitive format list, transfer method, battery rating or page-turn speed. Confirm those items in the current listing before purchasing, especially if your library includes formats beyond ordinary EPUB or DRM-protected books.
What’s actually slowing this PC down?
Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.
A cheaper adjacent option: a 4-inch offline media player
A TIMMKOO 4-inch media player is not a dedicated e-reader, but an indexed listing describes a built-in ebook-reading app and no browser access. That combination could reduce social-feed access while also providing offline music or video. It is worth considering when the lowest possible cost matters more than a purpose-built reading experience.
Rank #3
- Sleek 7-in-1 USB-C Hub: Features an HDMI port, two USB-A 3.0 ports, and a USB-C data port, each providing 5Gbps transfer speeds. It also includes a USB-C PD input port for charging up to 100W and dual SD and TF card slots, all in a compact design.
- Flawless 4K@60Hz Video with HDMI: Delivers exceptional clarity and smoothness with its 4K@60Hz HDMI port, making it ideal for high-definition presentations and entertainment. (Note: Only the HDMI port supports video projection; the USB-C port is for data transfer only.)
- Double Up on Efficiency: The two USB-A 3.0 ports and a USB-C port support a fast 5Gbps data rate, significantly boosting your transfer speeds and improving productivity.
- Fast and Reliable 85W Charging: Offers high-capacity, speedy charging for laptops up to 85W, so you spend less time tethered to an outlet and more time being productive.
- What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (7-in-1), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
The trade-off is focus. A media player has more functions and a touchscreen, so it may feel less like a single-purpose book. The available evidence does not verify the exact model, storage capacity, ebook formats, battery life or software restrictions. Check the specific listing, because those details can vary between versions.
Compare the two approaches before buying
| Decision point | Xteink X4 | TIMMKOO 4-inch media player |
|---|---|---|
| Primary role | Pocket-sized e-reader intended for focused reading | Offline media player with a built-in reading app |
| Physical size | Very small; described as easy to carry anywhere | 4-inch touchscreen listing |
| Backlight | Base model reportedly lacks one; backlit variant reportedly exists | Not stated in the available listing evidence |
| Controls | Backlit variant reportedly uses touch; exact base controls require verification | Touchscreen |
| Charging | Backlit variant reportedly uses a proprietary port | Not stated |
| Browser or social-feed access | Not established; verify the current software | Listing says no browser access |
| Formats, battery and price | Not stated in the available evidence | Not stated in the available evidence |
Use this table as a checklist rather than assuming that every unit sold under a model name has identical hardware. The practical comparison is whether you want the smallest, most focused reading tool or a cheaper multifunction device that happens to read ebooks.
Rank #4
- Dual Converters, Infinite Potential:Includes 2× USB C male to USB A female adapters and 2× USB A male to USB C female adapters. Perfect for a wide range of uses—tablets with Bluetooth keyboards, expand USB ports on macbook, and more. Two different converters for all your daily needs
- Next-Level 10Gbps & 3A Charging: No more slow 480Mbps, this usb to usb c adapter has a transfer speed of up to 10Gbps, allowing you to do more transferring in less time. This usb adapter fits both USB A and USB C charger, supporting up to 3A fast charging
- Upgraded Exquisite Craftsmanship: With an aluminum alloy housing and metal connector, the usbc to usb adapter is extremely durable and sturdy. Rigorously tested to withstand more than 10,000 times of plugging and unplugging, ensuring long-lasting performance
- Broad Compatible: The usb c to usb adapter widely supports all USB C/ USB A devices like laptops, tablets, cellphones, car chargers, and phone chargers. Such as compatible with MacBook Pro/Air 2023/2022, Thunderbolt 4/3 Devices,Apple MagSafe Watch 9/8/7/SE/Ultra, iPad Pro 2022/2021, Samsung Galaxy S23/S20/S10, and iPhone 17/16/15 Pro. Plug and play
- Please Note: To reach 10Gbps speed, keep the cable under 3.3 ft. For USB A Male to USB C adapters, try flipping the USB C connector. USB C Male to USB A adapters support bidirectional 10Gbps transfer within 3.3 ft
How to set up a mini reader as a doomscrolling replacement
- Choose a defined reading job. Load one novel, a short-story collection or a saved long-form article instead of transferring an overwhelming library.
- Plan for lighting. For the non-backlit X4, keep a bedside lamp, clip-on light or other compatible screen-light solution available. Verify accessory compatibility before ordering.
- Remove the phone trigger. Put the reader where you normally reach for your phone: beside the sofa, in a coat pocket or next to your bed. Leave the smartphone charging outside that immediate reach when possible.
- Test your files before travel. Open several pages, check font size and confirm that the device handles your chosen format. DRM restrictions or unsupported files can turn a prepared reading session into a return to the phone.
- Check charging in advance. If you buy the reported backlit X4, carry the correct proprietary cable. For either device, charge before a commute rather than discovering an empty battery during it.
- Use a small, repeatable rule. Start with one ten- or fifteen-minute reading session whenever you would normally open a feed. The aim is to make reading the easier default, not to create another complicated productivity system.
What to verify before checkout
- Whether the exact X4 version is backlit and whether it uses physical buttons or touch.
- The charging connector and whether replacement cables are readily available.
- Supported ebook formats, transfer method and any DRM limitations.
- Battery-life claims and whether they are measured with lighting or wireless features enabled.
- Whether a case, clip-on light or storage card is included or costs extra.
- Return terms, current stock and the seller’s specification page.
No authoritative current manufacturer specification page or verified current price is established in the available evidence, so treat any marketplace number or feature claim as provisional until you inspect the live listing. The same caution applies to the TIMMKOO model: confirm the exact software, storage and restrictions rather than relying on a retailer mirror.
Free tools Windows power users keep installed
One-click scans. No signup required.
Quick Recap
Best Value
- 5-in-1 Connectivity: Equipped with a 4K HDMI port, a 5 Gbps USB-C data port, two 5 Gbps USB-A ports, and a USB C 100W PD-IN port. Note: The USB C 100W PD-IN port supports only charging and does not support data transfer devices such as headphones or speakers.
- Powerful Pass-Through Charging: Supports up to 85W pass-through charging so you can power up your laptop while you use the hub. Note: Pass-through charging requires a charger (not included). Note: To achieve full power for iPad, we recommend using a 45W wall charger.
- Transfer Files in Seconds: Move files to and from your laptop at speeds of up to 5 Gbps via the USB-C and USB-A data ports. Note: The USB C 5Gbps Data port does not support video output.
- HD Display: Connect to the HDMI port to stream or mirror content to an external monitor in resolutions of up to 4K@30Hz. Note: The USB-C ports do not support video output.
- What You Get: Anker 332 USB-C Hub (5-in-1), welcome guide, our worry-free 18-month warranty, and friendly customer service.
Who should buy one?
Choose the Xteink X4 when
- You want the smallest possible dedicated reading device.
- Your main goal is removing the smartphone from a reading break.
- You can accept a lamp or external light for the reported non-backlit base model.
Choose the media-player route when
- You need the lowest-cost-looking option and also want offline audio or video.
- A 4-inch touchscreen is acceptable.
- You are willing to verify the exact listing’s formats, storage, battery and restrictions.
Skip both when
- You need a large, illuminated screen for long nightly reading.
- You rely on a broad ebook ecosystem or DRM support that these small devices may not provide.
- You are hoping hardware alone will solve a habit that also needs boundaries and practice.
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.




