The Tool Desk
Outbyte Driver Updater FREEScan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteDriver Scan →Outbyte PC Repair FREERepair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsFix Now →PI-Desktop is a standalone desktop workspace for organizing code projects, persistent AI-agent sessions, model settings, reviews, and extensions. It is not an AI model provider: you connect a supported cloud service, compatible API, custom gateway, or local model gateway, then use PI-Desktop to direct and review agent work. The project currently describes its 0.16.x release line as Early Preview.
What PI-Desktop does
PI-Desktop brings coding-agent work into a persistent desktop environment rather than tying it to one editor or terminal. Its runtime uses the pi ecosystem, including pi-ai, pi-agent-core, and pi-coding-agent. Projects and agent sessions can live alongside model configuration, review surfaces, previews, and plugins. The project lists macOS, Windows, and Linux support in its official repository.
When you assign work, the agent can read project files, edit code, run commands, and iterate. The workflow you choose determines how much planning or outcome definition happens before execution.
| Workflow | What you provide | What the agent does |
|---|---|---|
| Agent | A task | Works through the task, using available tools to inspect and change the project. |
| Plan | A task to investigate | Inspects the project and produces an implementation plan before execution. |
| Goal | An outcome and acceptance criteria | Determines a path toward the specified result. |
How model choice works
PI-Desktop is the workspace around the agent; you configure the model service or gateway the agent will use. The repository names OpenAI, Anthropic, OpenAI-compatible APIs, custom gateways, Ollama, and LM Studio as options. Model-specific settings can be configured, and models can be switched between sessions or within a session. Compatibility and available capabilities depend on the particular model and endpoint, so the provider list should not be read as a guarantee that every feature behaves identically across them.
Quick wins for a faster PC:
Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsFree Scan →Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsFix Now →#1 Best Overall
- Fully assembled for plug-and-play operation
- Includes Raspberry Pi 5 with 8GB RAM
- 256 GB PCIe Pi NVMe SSD (Pre-loaded with Pi 64-Bit OS)
- M.2 HAT+
- CanaKit Turbine Black Case for the Pi 5
To use a local model, configure a local gateway such as Ollama or LM Studio. The presence of a local option does not make all PI-Desktop use local: a cloud model sends the context needed for its request to the provider you configured.
What “local-first” means for privacy
According to the project, projects, sessions, settings, and logs are local by default; API credentials are stored in the operating-system keychain; PI-Desktop telemetry is listed as none; and model requests go directly to the configured provider. These are project statements, not independent audit findings. The important boundary is the model request itself: when you use a remote model, relevant project context is sent to that provider. Local storage defaults therefore do not mean that remote-model use keeps all code context on your device.
Rank #2
- POWERFUL PROCESSOR: Features a 2.4GHz quad-core ARM Cortex-A76 processor with 8GB RAM capacity for smooth performance and multitasking capabilities
- COMPLETE KIT: Includes 32GB microSD card, micro HDMI to HDMI-A cable, USB mouse, US keyboard, and power supply for immediate setup
- CONNECTIVITY: Multiple ports including USB 2.0, dual USB 3.0, Gigabit Ethernet, and built-in Wi-Fi/Bluetooth for versatile connectivity options
- DISPLAY OUTPUT: Supports micro HDMI output with OpenGL capabilities for high-quality visual display and graphics performance
- EXPANSION OPTIONS: Equipped with GPIO pins, SD card slot, and wireless connectivity for extensive project development and customization
Permissions, review, and delegation
Privileged tool requests pass through PI-Desktop’s permission layer, where a user can allow, ask about, or deny a request before it runs. Treat that as an interaction and approval mechanism, not proof that the application is a complete operating-system sandbox. Review what the agent proposes and what commands or file changes it requests, especially when working with sensitive projects.
For work that can be split up, PI-Desktop also describes Subagents for independent tasks and Worker Sessions for coordinating longer-running work. Its plugin system can add tools, skills, workspace panels and views, widgets, themes, MCP servers, background services, and other capabilities. Those extensibility options broaden what the workspace can do, but they are part of a project still marked Early Preview.
PC Slower Than It Used to Be?
A free scan shows the junk files, broken settings and background clutter dragging Windows down - then fixes them in one click.Free scan · Windows 10 & 11Outdated Drivers Are Slowing You Down
One free scan finds every outdated or missing driver and matches the right update for your exact hardware.Free scan · exact hardware matchRank #3
Platforms, release status, and license
The repository identifies the current release line as 0.16.x (Early Preview) and lists packages for the following platforms:
| Platform | Listed package support | Additional requirement |
|---|---|---|
| macOS | Apple Silicon and Intel | Not stated in the repository summary. |
| Windows | x64 | Not stated in the repository summary. |
| Linux | x64 and ARM64 | glibc 2.35 or newer; common supported distributions listed are Ubuntu 22.04+, Debian 12+, and Fedora 36+. |
Because this is preview software, check the current release information for package compatibility and expect APIs or extension interfaces to change. The repository states that PI-Desktop is licensed under the GNU Lesser General Public License v3.0.
Rank #4
- powful cputhe cpu of the raspberry pi 4 model b adopts the latest arm cortex-a72 architecture, which is also used in high-performance smartphones, and has evolved into a real pc.the operating clock has been changed from pi3's 1.2ghz to 1.5ghz, and the speed has become a different dimension with the updated architecture.
- video output/gputhe on-board gpu of the raspberry pi 4 supports 4kp@60 and newly supports h.265 decoding, opengl es 3.0, etc.as for the video output, two micro hdmis with smaller connectors are installed, and the raspberry pi 4 also supports dual screen output.
- usb 3.0with a new soc, the speed of the raspberry pi 4 around i/o has been improved, and finally usb 3.0 is supported.usb boot is faster and more convenient.
- network&bluetoothgigabit ethernet (wired lan) has also been significantly speeded up from 300mbps of pi 3b + to 1000mbps (logical value).in addition, bluetooth supported version has been upgraded to 5.0, and the transfer speed of pi 4 has been doubled.
- power input connectorthe power input connector of the raspberry pi 4 has been changed to usb type c. it is easier to use than micro usb and can supply a larger current reliably.the power requirement of raspberry pi 4 model b is 5v 3.0a, which is higher than the previous model.
Who should consider PI-Desktop?
It is worth considering if you want a desktop home for projects and persistent agent sessions, want to choose among configured model services or local gateways, or need permission prompts and review surfaces alongside delegation and extensions. If you are comparing it with an IDE plugin, terminal agent, or another desktop workspace, focus on where work happens, provider and local-model compatibility, permission and review controls, session persistence and recovery, delegation and extension options, and release maturity. The official materials describe PI-Desktop’s capabilities but do not establish a controlled head-to-head comparison or independent performance benchmark.
Quick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.




