Recommended Free Tools
Neither phone wins outright. On the manufacturers’ published numbers, the OnePlus 13R has the larger battery, the only listed fast-charging figures in this comparison, and a Snapdragon 8 Gen 3 platform. The Samsung Galaxy S24 FE offers Samsung’s Galaxy AI tools and an IP68 rating. Which one is the better buy depends on those priorities and on what each phone costs in your market on the day you buy, which no spec sheet can settle.
Specs at a glance
The table below uses each company’s own published figures. Where a cell says “not stated,” the manufacturer material compared here does not give that value, so check the listing for your market before assuming a difference. Product pages: OnePlus 13R US product page and Samsung Galaxy S24 FE US product page.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
| Spec | OnePlus 13R | Galaxy S24 FE |
|---|---|---|
| Announced | January 7, 2025, per the OnePlus North America launch release | Not stated on the Samsung US product page |
| Processor | Qualcomm Snapdragon 8 Gen 3 | Exynos 2400e |
| Memory | 12 GB LPDDR5X (North American configuration) | 8 GB, indicated by the 8/128 GB and 8/256 GB configuration names on Samsung’s October 2024 MSRP sheet |
| Storage | UFS 4.0; capacity options not stated in this comparison | 128 GB and 256 GB configurations (Samsung MSRP sheet, October 2024) |
| Typical battery capacity | 6,000 mAh (OnePlus) | 4,700 mAh (Samsung) |
| Rated battery capacity | 5,860 mAh (OnePlus) | 4,700 mAh (Samsung) |
| Wired charging | 55 W SUPERVOOC; up to 80 W with specified OnePlus SUPERVOOC adapters | Not stated on the Samsung US product page |
| Main camera | 50 MP Sony LYT-700 with OIS | Sensor specification not stated; Samsung promotes its ProVisual Engine and optical-quality zoom |
| Telephoto | 50 MP with 2x optical zoom | Not stated |
| Ultrawide | 8 MP, 112-degree field of view | Not stated |
| Display | 1.5K, up to 120 Hz, ProXDR | Dynamic AMOLED 2X; peak brightness of 1,900 nits on Samsung’s US page |
| Front and rear glass | Gorilla Glass 7i, front and rear | Gorilla Glass Victus+, front and back |
| Water and dust rating | IP65 | IP68, under the laboratory conditions described below |
| Software | OxygenOS 15 | Galaxy AI on One UI; version and availability vary |
| Headline AI features | Intelligent Search, Gemini, Circle to Search, AI photo tools | Photo Assist, Sketch to Image, Circle to Search, Live Translate, Interpreter, Browsing Assist |
Performance and memory
The 13R pairs the Snapdragon 8 Gen 3 with 12 GB of LPDDR5X RAM in the North American configuration and UFS 4.0 storage. The S24 FE uses the Exynos 2400e. Chip names alone do not predict benchmark scores, sustained performance under heat, or how smooth either phone feels after a year of use, and this comparison includes no matched benchmark runs. Memory can differ by region, so confirm the RAM figure on the listing you plan to buy.
Battery and charging
Battery capacity
OnePlus rates the 13R at 6,000 mAh typical and 5,860 mAh rated, and says it uses a single-cell design. The company notes that usage habits, device aging, and other factors affect the experience. Samsung rates the S24 FE at 4,700 mAh typical and 4,700 mAh rated, and says actual battery life varies with network, usage, and other factors. The gap is a difference in stated capacity. It is not a measured difference in hours, and no matched independent battery test is established here.
#1 Best Overall
- For USA Buyers: This Smartphone is not compatible/will not work with any CDMA Networks including: VERIZON, SPRINT, US CELLULAR. Please check with your network provider for 3G or 4G/LTE compatibility check before you purchase.
- Dual-SIM, Network Compatibility, SIM CARD 1 & 2 : [2G : GSM 850 / 900 / 1800 / 1900 and/or 3G : WCDMA 850(B5) / 900(B8) / 1700|2100(B4) / 1900(B2) / 2100(B1) and/or 4G : LTE 600(B71) / 2100(B66) / 3500(B48) / 2500(B41) / 2300(B40) / 1900(B39) / 2600(B38) / 1500(B32) / 2300(B30) / 700(B28) / 850(B26) / 1900(B25) / 800(B20) / 850(B19) / 850(B18) / 700(B17) / 700(B13) / 700(B12) / 900(B8) / 2600(B7) / 850(B5) / 1700|2100(B4) / 1800(B3) / 1900(B2) / 2100(B1) and/or 5G : 1/2/3/5/7/8/12/20/25/26/28/30/38/40/41/48/66/71/77/78 SA/NSA]
- 6.78 inches, LTPO 4.1 AMOLED, 1264 x 2780 pixels, Corning Gorilla Glass 7i
- 256GB ROM Storage, 12GB RAM
- Android 15, Qualcomm SM8650-AB Snapdragon 8 Gen 3 (4 nm), Octa-core (1x3.3 GHz Cortex-X4 & 3x3.2 GHz Cortex-A720 & 2x3.0 GHz Cortex-A720 & 2x2.3 GHz Cortex-A520)
Charging
OnePlus lists 55 W SUPERVOOC charging and says up to 80 W is possible with specified OnePlus SUPERVOOC adapters. Under Smart Rapid Charging Mode, it advertises 1 to 50 percent in 23 minutes. These are manufacturer claims under stated conditions. The 80 W figure depends on an adapter that may not ship in every regional package, so check what is in the box. Samsung’s wired charging figure is not stated on the page compared here.
Cameras
OnePlus describes a 50 MP Sony LYT-700 main camera with optical image stabilization, a 50 MP telephoto with 2x optical zoom, and an 8 MP ultrawide with a 112-degree field of view. Samsung emphasizes processing and AI: its ProVisual Engine, optical-quality zoom, Super HDR, Night Portrait, and AI editing tools. The two companies describe their camera systems differently, and the S24 FE page does not give a comparable sensor and lens breakdown. No controlled side-by-side photo or video test is established here, so the camera comparison can only show what each manufacturer claims. If hardware and zoom specifications matter most, the 13R’s listed telephoto is the more specific claim. If you lean on in-phone AI editing, Samsung’s feature list is the more prominent one.
Display
OnePlus describes the 13R as a 1.5K display with up to 120 Hz refresh and its ProXDR branding. Samsung describes the S24 FE as Dynamic AMOLED 2X and cites 1,900 nits of peak brightness on its US page. Peak brightness and marketing labels are not directly comparable across brands, and they do not measure overall display quality. Screen size is not stated in this comparison.
The Tool Desk
Outbyte PC Repair FREERepair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsFix Now →Outbyte Driver Updater FREEScan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteDriver Scan →Durability and water resistance
OnePlus 13R: IP65
OnePlus rates the 13R at IP65 and lists Gorilla Glass 7i on both the front and back. Its product-page disclaimer says the protection covers low-pressure water jets from all directions. Immersion damage is not covered by warranty, and the SIM tray must be fully sealed.
Rank #2
Galaxy S24 FE: IP68
Samsung rates the S24 FE at IP68 and lists Gorilla Glass Victus+ on the front and back. The stated laboratory condition is submersion in up to 1.5 metres of freshwater for up to 30 minutes. Samsung advises against beach and pool use and says resistance may diminish with wear.
Neither rating means the phone is drop-proof or protected against all liquid exposure. Both are test conditions, not warranty promises.
Software and AI features
OnePlus 13R: OxygenOS 15
OnePlus promotes OxygenOS 15 with Intelligent Search, Gemini, Circle to Search, and AI photo tools. At launch, Intelligent Search was English-only and limited to the first 1,000 files or notes and the first 30,000 characters per item. Feature availability has likely changed since then, so confirm what your version supports.
Galaxy S24 FE: Galaxy AI
Samsung lists Photo Assist, Sketch to Image, Circle to Search, Live Translate, Interpreter, Browsing Assist, and other Galaxy AI features. Before you rely on them, keep these limits in mind:
Rank #3
- Massive Storage Capacity: Experience exceptional performance with 16GB of RAM for seamless multitasking and 512GB of internal storage, providing ample space for all your apps, photos, videos, and files without worrying about running out of room
- Ultra-Fast Wireless Charging: Stay powered throughout your day with the robust 5400 mAh battery that supports impressive 50W wireless charging technology, allowing you to quickly recharge your device without the hassle of cables
- Professional Photography System: Capture stunning images with the advanced Hasselblad camera system, engineered to deliver exceptional color accuracy, superior low-light performance, and professional-grade photography capabilities right from your smartphone
- Cutting-Edge Performance: Powered by the latest mobile processor technology, this smartphone delivers lightning-fast speeds, smooth gaming experiences, and efficient power management for demanding applications and everyday tasks
- Global Connectivity Freedom: Enjoy the flexibility of dual-SIM functionality in this fully unlocked Android smartphone, allowing you to use two phone numbers simultaneously and switch between carriers without restrictions, perfect for international travel or separating work and personal lines
- Samsung says availability may vary by country, carrier, model, and One UI version.
- Some tools require a Samsung account, a network connection, or downloaded language packs.
- Samsung’s page states that Galaxy AI features would be free until the end of 2025 on supported devices. That date has passed, so check Samsung’s current terms before assuming free access.
Price difference
The only verified price in this comparison is a launch-era reference. Samsung’s MSRP price sheet, effective October 2024, lists the unlocked Galaxy S24 FE at $649.99 for 8/128 GB and $709.99 for 8/256 GB. Those are list prices from that date, not current street prices. This comparison does not establish a current OnePlus 13R price or a current S24 FE street price, so it does not state a price gap in dollars. The gap depends on the retailer, the market, the storage tier, the carrier, and any promotion running that day.
| Model and configuration | Reference price | Source and date |
|---|---|---|
| Galaxy S24 FE, unlocked, 8/128 GB | $649.99 | Samsung MSRP price sheet, effective October 2024 (Samsung HHP MSRP Price List) |
| Galaxy S24 FE, unlocked, 8/256 GB | $709.99 | Same Samsung MSRP price sheet, October 2024 |
| OnePlus 13R, unlocked, US | Not established for this comparison | Check the OnePlus US product page and a retailer on the day you buy |
How to check the current gap
- Match the variant: same region, same unlocked or carrier status, and same storage tier for both phones.
- Compare the same retailer, or two comparable sellers, on the same day, and write down the date.
- Record the no-strings price separately from trade-in credits, carrier promotions, and bundled offers.
- Confirm what is in the box, especially the charger. The 13R’s 80 W figure depends on a specified adapter.
- Confirm that the Galaxy AI or OxygenOS features you want are available in your country on that model.
Which phone fits your priorities
Choose the OnePlus 13R if
- Battery capacity and wired charging are your main specification priorities.
- You want the Snapdragon 8 Gen 3 platform and a larger listed memory configuration.
- You are comfortable with IP65 and do not need a submersion rating.
Choose the Galaxy S24 FE if
- Samsung’s Galaxy AI tools matter more to you than battery capacity or charging speed.
- An IP68 rating and its stated freshwater test condition are a priority.
- You are buying from a market where Galaxy AI is confirmed to be available on your model and carrier.
On the evidence here, neither phone is the universal winner. If battery life or camera performance is your deciding factor, look for independent tests of the exact model you plan to buy before you pay.
Frequently Asked Questions
Will either phone get software updates for five to six years?
This comparison does not establish that either company offers a comparable update period, so do not assume the two match. Check each manufacturer’s current update policy on its product page before you commit to a multi-year plan.
Free tools Windows power users keep installed
One-click scans. No signup required.
Quick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.




