Java ships feature releases every six months, but that does not mean every JDK distribution has the same support window. As of October 7, 2026, Oracle identifies JDK 27 as the latest release and JDK 25 as its latest LTS release. Oracle’s support dates apply to Oracle’s offerings and eligible customers—not automatically to every OpenJDK build or vendor.
How Java’s six-month release cadence works
Java feature releases arrive twice a year, in March and September, on a six-month cadence. Each release can bring platform changes and enhancements. Oracle describes non-LTS releases as cumulative implementation enhancements of the latest LTS release; a new feature release supersedes the previous non-LTS release for Oracle Premier Support purposes. Oracle’s FAQ describes a planned six-month support life for non-LTS releases.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
This cadence gives teams a choice: adopt successive feature releases to take changes sooner, or use an LTS release when a longer planned support horizon better fits their upgrade cycle. LTS is a vendor policy designation, not a promise that every JDK provider offers identical versions, updates, support dates, or license terms.
Recommended Free Tools
Current Java releases and the next planned LTS
Oracle’s downloads page, accessed October 7, 2026, identifies JDK 27 as the latest Java SE release and JDK 25 as the latest LTS release. Oracle’s roadmap lists Java SE 8, 11, 17, 21, and 25 as LTS versions. It currently plans Java 29 for September 2027 as the next LTS, but the future date and designation are subject to change.
Oracle says JDK 27 updates under its No-Fee Terms and Conditions (NFTC) are planned until March 2027, when JDK 28 is expected to supersede it. The roadmap gives JDK 27 a September 2026 general availability date and March 2027 Premier Support endpoint. These are Oracle’s published plans, not guarantees for other distributions.
Oracle support timeline examples
The following dates come from Oracle’s Java SE Support Roadmap, updated April 2, 2026. They describe commercially supported Oracle JDK releases and eligible Oracle customer entitlements, not a universal end-of-support schedule for OpenJDK. Oracle notes that dates may differ when Java is used as part of another Oracle product and may be later than shown; consult Oracle’s Lifetime Support Policy for current details.
Rank #2
| Oracle JDK release | Type | Premier Support | Extended Support |
|---|---|---|---|
| Java 17 | LTS | Through September 2026 | Through September 2029 or later |
| Java 21 | LTS | Through September 2028 or later | Through September 2031 or later |
| Java 25 | LTS | Through September 2030 or later | Through September 2033 or later |
| Java 26 | Non-LTS | Through September 2026 | Not stated in Oracle’s cited roadmap |
| Java 27 | Non-LTS | Through March 2027 | Not stated in Oracle’s cited roadmap |
Oracle distinguishes Premier, Extended, and Sustaining Support. The dates above are roadmap endpoints, not a statement that every user receives each support level. Oracle defines Oracle Customers by such entitlements as a support contract, subscription, OCI entitlement, or Java use with another Oracle product.
Support dates and license terms answer different questions
A support timeline describes how long a provider plans to supply a level of maintenance or assistance under its policy and entitlements. A license describes what users may do with a particular build. Neither answer can be inferred from the other.
Rank #3
Oracle says Oracle OpenJDK releases use GPLv2 with the Classpath Exception (GPLv2+CPE). Oracle JDK 21 and later use NFTC during specified free-use windows. The Oracle downloads page says JDK 27 binaries are free to use in production and redistribute under NFTC, and that JDK 25 updates are planned under NFTC through September 2028, with subsequent updates under the Java SE OTN License. The exact distributor, build, license version, and use case matter; these Oracle-specific terms do not establish the licensing terms of another JDK vendor.
Oracle’s September 2026 post says JDK 21 updates through September 2026 are under NFTC and updates beginning with the October 2026 Critical Patch Update are planned under OTN. It identifies Oracle Java SE Universal Subscription as a commercial support option for organizations seeking continued Oracle JDK 21 updates, with commercial support available through at least September 2031 for subscription customers. Check Oracle’s current terms before making a licensing or procurement decision.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.How to choose a release for a project
Use the selected distributor’s own roadmap and license terms rather than assuming Oracle’s policy applies to another build. Compare these factors before choosing a version:
Outdated Drivers Are Slowing You Down
One free scan finds every outdated or missing driver and matches the right update for your exact hardware.Free scan · exact hardware matchPC Slower Than It Used to Be?
A free scan shows the junk files, broken settings and background clutter dragging Windows down - then fixes them in one click.Free scan · Windows 10 & 11- Feature timing: Decide whether the team wants changes on successive feature releases or prefers to move between LTS releases.
- Provider support window: Confirm the update and support dates published for the exact version by its JDK distributor.
- Support level and entitlement: Determine whether community updates are sufficient or the project needs vendor assistance or a commercial support contract.
- Build and license: Record the distribution and exact update build in use, then verify the terms that apply to that build and use case.
For an Oracle-only comparison, use Oracle’s roadmap to distinguish LTS from non-LTS releases and Premier, Extended, and Sustaining Support. For a cross-vendor decision, compare each distributor’s published lifecycle and licensing information directly.
Quick Recap
Best Value
Sources
- Oracle Java SE Support Roadmap, updated April 2, 2026.
- Oracle Java Downloads, accessed October 7, 2026.
- Oracle JDK License General FAQs, accessed October 7, 2026.
- Oracle post on Java SE 21 updates and licensing, September 2026.
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.




