HP’s announced OmniBook 5 14 AI PC starts at $699.99 in the U.S., while Apple’s MacBook Neo starts at $599. The HP’s launch display is a 2K OLED panel; Apple specifies a 13-inch Liquid Retina display. Those are announced prices and specifications, not a head-to-head review: neither company’s announcement establishes which laptop is faster or better overall.
HP OmniBook 5 vs. MacBook Neo: announced specifications
The comparison below is based on manufacturer announcements: HP’s October 1, 2026 release and Apple’s March 4, 2026 release. A starting price does not guarantee that two base configurations have equivalent memory, storage, or other components.
| # | Preview | Product | Price | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 |
|
HP OmniBook 5 16” Touchscreen AI Laptop – Intel Core Ultra 7 Processor, 16GB RAM, 1TB SSD,... | $978.00 | Buy on Amazon |
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
| Specification | HP OmniBook 5 14 AI PC | Apple MacBook Neo |
|---|---|---|
| Announced U.S. starting price | $699.99, according to HP | $599, according to Apple |
| Display | 14-inch, 2K OLED at launch; up to 300 nits, according to HP | 13-inch Liquid Retina; 2408 × 1506 resolution, 500 nits, and support for one billion colors, according to Apple |
| Higher-brightness display option | HP says a 2.5K OLED option rated up to 620 nits is planned for March 2027; it is not the launch specification | Not stated as a separate option in Apple’s announcement |
| Processor and operating system | Up to Intel Core 7 with integrated NPU capabilities; Windows, according to HP | A18 Pro; macOS Tahoe, according to Apple |
| Manufacturer-stated battery life | Up to 42 hours of local video playback in HP’s specified test setup | Up to 16 hours, according to Apple; the announcement does not establish a test method matched to HP’s |
| Weight and thickness | 1.16 kg and 11.77 mm, according to HP | Not stated in the cited Apple announcement |
| Ports and camera | HP specifies two full-function USB-C ports and an FHD IR camera with Windows Hello facial recognition | Not stated in the cited Apple announcement |
| Announced U.S. availability | Expected at HP.com and Best Buy in October 2026; HP says Core 7 models are planned for mid-October | Not stated in the cited Apple announcement |
Sources: HP’s October 1, 2026 announcement and Apple’s March 4, 2026 announcement. “Not stated” means the cited announcement does not provide that specification; it does not mean the product lacks the feature.
Free tools Windows power users keep installed
One-click scans. No signup required.
What the $100.99 starting-price difference means
HP’s announced U.S. starting price is $100.99 above Apple’s ($699.99 versus $599). That is a comparison of announced starting prices only. Final retailer prices, discounts, stock, and the exact specifications of the configurations offered for those prices may differ. Compare the actual listings and configurations before deciding which represents better value.
#1 Best Overall
- 🚀 Powerful Intel Core Ultra 7 AI Performance Powered by the latest Intel Core Ultra 7 processor with built-in AI acceleration, delivering fast, intelligent performance for multitasking, productivity, and creative workloads.
- 🖥️ Large 16” Touchscreen Display Enjoy an immersive 16-inch touchscreen with crisp visuals and responsive touch control—perfect for work, presentations, streaming, and creative tasks.
- ⚡ Fast & Reliable Memory and Storage Equipped with 16GB high-speed RAM and a massive 1TB SSD, ensuring smooth multitasking, ultra-fast boot times, and plenty of storage for files, photos, and applications.
- 🤖 AI-Enhanced Windows 11 Experience Runs Windows 11 with Copilot AI support, helping you work smarter with intelligent suggestions, faster workflows, and enhanced security features
- ✨ Premium Design for Work & Everyday Use Sleek silver aluminum design, backlit keyboard, Wi-Fi 6E connectivity, and long battery life—ideal for business professionals, students, and home users.
Display: OLED versus Liquid Retina
HP’s launch configuration is described as a 2K OLED display with brightness up to 300 nits. HP says the brighter 2.5K OLED option, rated up to 620 nits, is planned for March 2027, so it should not be treated as a launch model or as currently available. Apple describes the Neo’s 13-inch Liquid Retina screen as 2408 × 1506 pixels, 500 nits, and capable of displaying one billion colors.
These specifications describe different screen technologies, sizes, and brightness ratings. They do not by themselves establish which display looks better in a particular room or for a specific task. If screen brightness is important, check the exact model and option being sold; the future HP panel is not interchangeable with the launch panel.
Windows or macOS: choose around your apps and workflow
The OmniBook 5 is a Windows laptop, while the MacBook Neo runs macOS Tahoe. The announcements do not provide a controlled test of performance between these two models, and HP’s “up to Intel Core 7” description does not identify one universal configuration. Apple’s performance claims compare preproduction Neo systems with specified Intel Core Ultra 5 PCs under Apple’s stated testing—not with the OmniBook 5.
Quick wins for a faster PC:
Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsFree Scan →Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteDriver Scan →Start with the software and devices you need. Check that essential apps, school or workplace tools, and peripherals support your preferred operating system. HP highlights two full-function USB-C ports and a Windows Hello IR camera; for other port or accessory requirements, confirm the specification of the exact configuration rather than inferring it from the announcement.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Battery claims are not a direct comparison
HP advertises up to 42 hours of local video playback, based on continuous local FHD video at 200 nits, with specified system and player audio settings and wireless enabled but not connected. HP cautions that actual battery life varies by configuration and declines over time and with use. Apple advertises up to 16 hours for MacBook Neo, but the two announcements do not establish matched test methods. The figures therefore should not be read as a controlled result showing that one laptop lasts a particular number of hours longer in everyday use.
Design, availability and what to verify before buying
HP describes an aluminum chassis, a 180-degree hinge, dual microphones, Poly Studio-tuned audio, and DTS:X Ultra. It lists Smoke Silver, Starlit Blue, Peony Pink, and Soft Honeydew. These are manufacturer descriptions, not independent assessments of build quality, sound, or usability.
HP says the OmniBook 5 14 AI PC is expected at HP.com and Best Buy in the U.S. in October 2026, with Core 7 models planned for mid-October. The announcement does not confirm live inventory, final retailer pricing, or availability through other sellers. Check the retailer listing for the model name, processor, display option, and current price. The 2.5K OLED option’s announced timing is March 2027, not the October launch window.
PC Slower Than It Used to Be?
A free scan shows the junk files, broken settings and background clutter dragging Windows down - then fixes them in one click.Free scan · Windows 10 & 11Outdated Drivers Are Slowing You Down
One free scan finds every outdated or missing driver and matches the right update for your exact hardware.Free scan · exact hardware matchQuick Recap
- Compare the exact configuration and live transaction price, not just each product’s starting price.
- Confirm whether an HP listing is the launch 2K OLED version or a later display option.
- Choose based on operating-system and app compatibility, as well as screen size and display priorities.
- Treat each company’s battery figure as its own claim unless a matched test is available.
- Check retailer stock, warranty, and support terms for the specific listing.
Sources
- HP Inc., “HP Brings Premium PC Experiences to More Consumers,” October 1, 2026
- Apple Inc., “Say hello to MacBook Neo,” March 4, 2026
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.




