The cheapest WordPress hosting offer is not always the lowest-cost choice: renewal rates, prepaid terms, and paid extras can change the bill substantially. For US-dollar price examples accessed October 7, 2026, compare each provider’s introductory price with its renewal price and plan limits before signing up. The options below span entry-level shared hosting, managed WordPress, and managed cloud services; they are not a universal ranking, and current checkout terms may differ by location.
How to compare budget WordPress hosting fairly
Prices below are examples reported in provider pages or comparisons, not a synchronized checkout survey. Most plan details and figures come from a provider-authored guide published September 15, 2026, so treat them as starting points rather than independent endorsements. Confirm the plan name, term, renewal rate, and included features on the provider’s checkout page for your region.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
A monthly equivalent may require paying for an entire year or longer up front. Calculate the amount due now and the recurring renewal bill separately, then add any domain, email, backup, or security charges that the entry plan excludes. A provider’s uptime guarantee or marketing statement is not a measurement of realized uptime; no comparable all-provider performance benchmark is established here.
| Provider | Price evidence | What the cited page says is included or relevant | Fit and caveat |
|---|---|---|---|
| SiteGround | StartUp $2.99/month, renewing at $17.99; GrowBig $4.99, renewing at $29.99; GoGeek $7.99, renewing at $44.99. Provider guide, September 15, 2026. | Daily backups, SSL, CDN, email, and WordPress tools on all plans; staging from GrowBig, according to the guide. | Compare the renewal bill carefully; the cited source does not establish the required prepaid term or site/storage limits. |
| DreamHost | WordPress hosting from $2.89/month; managed DreamPress from $14.99/month. Provider guide, September 15, 2026. | Preinstalled WordPress, free domain, daily backups, SSL, and unmetered bandwidth are described; traffic caps vary by tier. Email costs extra after a three-month trial on WordPress hosting plans. | Potentially useful for a beginner, but check traffic caps and continuing email cost. Renewal pricing and the exact entry-plan term are not stated in the cited guide. |
| Bluehost | Provider guide lists a $4.99/month starting figure and Starter renewal at $11.99/month. Bluehost’s pricing search result separately says entry-level shared hosting begins around $35/year. | Provider guide describes a free domain, SSL, CDN, staging, WP-CLI, and managed updates. WordPress.org lists Bluehost on its hosting page. | The two price references may describe different offers; do not combine them as one plan. The detailed pricing page was not available for confirmation in the cited material. See Bluehost’s WordPress hosting prices and WordPress.org’s hosting directory. |
| Cloudways | Starts at $14/month on DigitalOcean or Linode, per the provider guide, September 15, 2026. | Managed cloud hosting with provider/server choice, staging, caching, and monthly or hourly billing. A domain and email are not included; pricing varies by cloud provider and resources. | A different cost model from entry-level shared hosting; allow for domain and email separately. |
| HostGator | Starting figure $4.50/month; renewals listed as Baby $16.49, Business $21.99, and Pro $29.69/month. Provider guide, September 15, 2026. | Preinstalled WordPress, unmetered bandwidth, CDN, and 24/7 phone/chat support are described; backups and staging vary by plan. | Confirm which plan includes each feature and the term behind the starting figure. Site and storage limits are not established in the cited guide. |
| Kinsta | Premium managed WordPress hosting from $30/month, per the provider guide, September 15, 2026. | Described as managed WordPress hosting; detailed entry-plan limits are not provided in the cited facts. | A stretch option for a strict budget, included to show the boundary between low-cost shared and premium managed hosting. |
| IONOS | Promotional Grow price $1/month; renewals listed as Start $8, Grow $12, and Boost $17/month. Provider guide, September 15, 2026. | Free domain, email, SSL, automatic backups, and a personal consultant are described; feature tiers and malware protection differ. | Confirm promotion duration, geography, renewal plan, and malware coverage before buying. |
| GoDaddy | Starting figure $6.99/month; renewals listed as Basic $14.99, Deluxe $19.99, and Ultimate $26.99/month. Provider guide, September 15, 2026. | Daily backups, malware scans/removal, SSL, and WAF are described. The guide says Basic does not include CDN or staging. | Check whether the entry tier covers the security and workflow features you need; term and capacity limits are not stated in the cited facts. |
| Namecheap EasyWP | $3.24/month, renewing at $5.74/month, in Namecheap’s comparison updated July 27, 2026. | The cited comparison concerns basic managed WordPress plans billed annually and warns that prices can change. | Check exact plan limits and the checkout price; the source is Namecheap’s own comparison, not an independent audit. See Namecheap’s EasyWP page. |
| Pressable | $20.83/month with the same renewal price in Namecheap’s comparison updated July 27, 2026. | WordPress.org describes staging, automatic backups, and global edge caching. | The comparison price is from a competitor and may not map to a current entry plan. Consider it only if those managed features justify the higher cost. See WordPress.org’s hosting directory. |
Which type of plan fits your site?
Small site, tight budget, and limited technical experience
Start by comparing shared-hosting entry tiers against the site’s actual needs. Preinstalled WordPress, SSL, backups, and usable support can save setup time and add-on expense. Do not choose based on a headline rate alone: the cited figures show substantial differences between some introductory and renewal prices, while several sources do not state the required term or capacity limits.
#1 Best Overall
Growing site or workflow that needs staging
Staging lets you check changes away from the live site, but availability varies by tier. The September 2026 provider guide says SiteGround staging starts at GrowBig and describes CDN and staging on higher tiers for some providers; it also says GoDaddy Basic lacks staging and CDN. Verify the exact plan rather than assuming a feature applies to every tier.
Developer control or cloud infrastructure
Cloudways is not a like-for-like $3 shared-hosting alternative: it is managed cloud hosting with resource-dependent pricing, and it excludes a domain and email. Its monthly or hourly billing can suit a different operating model, but budget for the missing services and understand the selected server resources.
Free tools Windows power users keep installed
One-click scans. No signup required.
Premium managed WordPress
Kinsta and Pressable illustrate a higher-priced managed category rather than the low-cost end of the market. Their inclusion is useful only when management or included workflows matter enough to justify the premium. The available price references do not establish a common feature-by-feature comparison with shared plans.
Questions to answer before checkout
- What is due today? Confirm the billing term and the total prepaid amount, not just the displayed monthly equivalent.
- What will renewal cost? Check the renewal rate for the same plan and the date or term at which it applies.
- How many sites and how much capacity? Verify site count, storage, traffic or visit caps, and the cost of upgrading. These details are not available for every entry tier in the cited sources.
- Are essential services included? Check SSL, backup frequency and retention, malware protection, migration, staging, email, and domain renewal. A free domain offer may be limited to an initial period; verify renewal terms.
- Can you get help the way you need it? Confirm support channels and whether the plan is managed or expects you to handle more server maintenance.
- Does the price apply where you live? These are US-dollar examples from pages accessed October 7, 2026; local availability, taxes, currency, and promotions may differ.
What WordPress.org’s host listing does—and does not—mean
WordPress.org’s hosting page lists multiple providers and discloses that some return part of referral fees to support WordPress.org: “If you do decide to go with one of the hosts below and click through from this page, some will donate a portion of your fee back—so you can have a great host and support WordPress.org at the same time.” The page calls Bluehost its “longest running recommended host”; that is WordPress.org’s description, not a comparative performance test or a guarantee that it is the best fit for every site.
Quick Recap
Best Value
- easy to use
- Free app
- Compatible with all devices
- It gives the best comparison between ten different hosts
Rank #4
Rank #3
How to make the final choice
- Estimate the site’s needs: number of WordPress installs, expected traffic, storage, and whether it needs staging or managed updates.
- Remove plans that fail a must-have requirement, such as sufficient traffic capacity, included backups, or a required support channel.
- Compare the amount due for the first term with renewal cost, then add domain, email, and any necessary security or backup extras.
- Choose the least expensive plan that meets those requirements with a manageable renewal bill; recheck current terms on the provider’s checkout page before paying.
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.




