A screenshot API credit is a unit defined by the provider, and a monthly quota is the amount of usage included for a particular period. Neither term has a universal meaning: one provider may count a PDF as one credit, another may meter by successful render, and “monthly” may mean a calendar month or a subscription billing cycle. Check the service’s own definitions before estimating cost or building retries.
What counts as one screenshot API credit?
Start with the provider’s billing definition, not the label it uses. “Credit,” “render,” “shot” and “screenshot” can describe different billable units. Check whether a full-page capture, PDF, video, batch, or multi-output request changes the charge.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
For example, ScreenshotOne’s credits documentation says: “Currently, everything costs 1 credit, be it a full-page screenshot, a scrolling screenshot, a PDF, or a video.” That is ScreenshotOne’s stated policy, not a general rule for screenshot APIs.
ScreenshotNeo describes its service in screenshots per month: its Free plan includes 1,000 shots monthly, while paid plans include a stated number of shots. Its billing policy says only clean shots are billed; bot checks or CAPTCHAs, blank pages, timeouts, failed loads and cache hits cost nothing. Responses identify the page verdict and billing status in the X-Page-Verdict and X-Billed headers. See ScreenshotNeo and its API documentation for details.
#1 Best Overall
- Includes Raspberry Pi 5 with 2.4Ghz 64-bit quad-core CPU (8GB RAM)
- Includes 128GB Micro SD Card pre-loaded with 64-bit Raspberry Pi OS, USB MicroSD Card Reader
- CanaKit Turbine Black Case for the Raspberry Pi 5
- CanaKit Low Noise Bearing System Fan
- Mega Heat Sink - Black Anodized
When do monthly credits reset?
“Monthly” can mean different period boundaries. Screenshot-api.net says its allowance resets at the beginning of each UTC calendar month. ScreenshotOne says credits renew at the start of the billing cycle, including monthly refreshes for annual subscribers. Confirm the reset date in the provider’s account or plan documentation rather than assuming it is the first of the month.
Do unused credits roll over?
ScreenshotOne and screenshot-api.net state that unused monthly allowances do not roll over. That is not universal: check the specific service’s terms to learn whether unused usage expires, carries forward, or is replaced by a prepaid balance.
Rank #2
- Includes Raspberry Pi 4 4GB Model B with 1.5GHz 64-bit quad-core CPU (4GB RAM)
- Includes Pre-Loaded 32GB EVO+ Micro SD Card (Class 10), USB MicroSD Card Reader
- CanaKit Premium High-Gloss Raspberry Pi 4 Case with Integrated Fan Mount, CanaKit Low Noise Bearing System Fan
- CanaKit 3.5A USB-C Raspberry Pi 4 Power Supply (US Plug) with Noise Filter, Set of Heat Sinks, Display Cable - 6 foot (Supports up to 4K60p)
- CanaKit USB-C PiSwitch (On/Off Power Switch for Raspberry Pi 4)
How do monthly quotas differ from rate limits?
A monthly quota limits total usage within a plan period. A rate limit controls short bursts of traffic, often as requests per second or minute. Staying below the monthly allowance does not guarantee that a burst of requests will be accepted.
Outdated Drivers Are Slowing You Down
One free scan finds every outdated or missing driver and matches the right update for your exact hardware.Free scan · exact hardware matchWindows Errors? Fix Them Before They Spread
Repair common Windows errors and clear accumulated junk for a smoother, more stable PC - no reinstall needed.Free scan · no reinstallScreenshot-api.net documents the distinction directly: “Two independent limits apply. Requests per second is a burst control; renders per month is your plan allowance.” Treat concurrency and rate limits as separate capacity constraints when designing a capture queue.
Rank #3
- Not including the Raspberry Pi 5 (8GB), the Crowpi advanced version comes with the Raspberry Pi 5
- ELECROW Black Case for the Raspberry Pi 5, CrowPi is equipped with a 9-inch HD touchscreen along with a camera; All the regular components used in DIY electronics are packed into the CrowPi development board, such as LCD, LED matrix, buzzer, light sensor, PIR sensor, ultrasonic sensor, IR sensor, etc
- Raspberry Pi Sensors: The Crowpi raspberry pi 5 programming kit is jam-packed with lots of buttons such as 19 different sensors in a tidy easy to use package; You don't have to wait and wire things
- Build Quality: Solid ABS shell and well made components in one place make it strong and convenient to travel
- Programming Lessons: This raspberry pi 5 learning kit ships with step by step instructions and provides 21 lessons to take you through identifying components reading code and running it in the terminal
How can you check remaining API quota?
Look for an account dashboard, a usage endpoint, and response headers. The value may represent remaining credits, completed captures, or the period’s total allowance, so check the field definition before using it for billing estimates.
- Screenshot-api.net documents
GET /v1/accountfor plan quota and period usage, and theX-Quota-LimitandX-Quota-Remainingheaders. - Screenshotapis.org documents
GET /v1/usageand anX-Credits-Remainingheader. - ScreenshotNeo identifies billing and page outcome in the
X-BilledandX-Page-Verdictresponse headers.
What happens when you hit the limit?
Providers handle exhaustion differently. Screenshot-api.net says a depleted allowance returns HTTP 402 with quota_reached until an upgrade or reset. Screenshotapis.org documents HTTP 402 for insufficient credits and says an account may upgrade or buy a credit pack. ScreenshotOne documents optional overages and configurable hard limits on paid plans; extra usage is off by default. Check the provider’s current error and billing documentation before deciding whether your application should stop, upgrade, or retry later.
Rank #4
- Fully assembled for plug-and-play operation
- Includes Raspberry Pi 5 with 8GB RAM
- 256 GB PCIe Pi NVMe SSD (Pre-loaded with Pi 64-Bit OS)
- M.2 HAT+
- CanaKit Turbine Black Case for the Pi 5
Do failed screenshots use credits?
Failure accounting varies. Screenshot-api.net says renderer errors, timeouts and pages it cannot capture release the reserved unit. Screenshotapis.org says HTTP 422 render failures are refunded and states: “On a 422, the credit is refunded — you are never charged for a failed render.” ScreenshotAPI.com’s pricing FAQ says a screenshot counts when a successful image is taken and failed captures do not receive credit. ScreenshotOne’s credits page does not specify failure billing, so consult its separate usage or billing documentation before relying on a refund.
What’s actually slowing this PC down?
Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.
Distinguish a provider-reported render failure from a timeout in your own client. A client may stop waiting even though the server completed the capture; retrying blindly could create another billable request. Use request IDs and the provider’s documented retry guidance where available.
Best Value
- 【What you Get】You will get 1*Pi 5 8GB Single Board,1*RasTech Case,1*Active Cooler,1*Screwdriver,1*Installation instructions,12-month free warranty, lifetime service, 24-hour prompt and friendly response.
- 【More Connectors】There are two USB 3.0 ports(5Gbps simultaneously) and two USB 2.0 ports, which triple total bandwidth ,support any combination of up to two cameras or displays. Peak SD card performance is doubled through support for the SDR104 high-speed mode. It provides a smooth desktop experience for you. Offer Gigabit Ethernet and a PCIe interface, along with dual-band Wi-Fi and Bluetooth 5.0/BLE wireless capability. The RasTech Pi 5 Kit use the new 27W 5.1V 5A USB-C power connector.
- 【 Support Dual 4Kp60 Display 】Each of the two microHDMI sockets can control a 4K display at 60 Hertz, now support HDR, offering super HD video for media streaming projects. RPi 5 is the first RPi model that comes with a PCI Express port (PCIe 2.0 x1 with 500 MB/s) to attach SSDs (requires separate M.2 HAT).
- 【 Excellent Chips And Applications】Pi 5 is a full-size Pi computer using silicon built in-house at Pi. The RP1 “southbridge” provides the bulk of the I/O capabilities for Pi 5. Pi 5 is more friendly and convenient in the development of Internet of Things, Web development, machine identification, automatic control and other electronic equipment applications and network.
- 【 Faster CPU, Better GPU 】 Pi 5 features a Broadcom BCM2712 64-bit quad-core Arm Cortex-A76 processor running at 2.4GHz, it delivers a 2–3× increase in CPU performance relative to RaspberryPi 4. The 800MHz VideoCore VII GPU is compatible to OpenGL ES 3.1 and Vulkan 1.2, substantial uplift in graphics performance. Pi 5 Offers lightning-fast CPU speed, a PCI Express interface, a Real Time Clock (RTC) and a power button and runs significantly cooler than Pi 4.
How to compare quota policies and estimate cost
Compare services using the same expected workload, but do not treat a credit, render and shot as interchangeable. Plan figures below are vendor-published examples; the pages do not state publication years for the allowances and pricing unless noted. Check each provider’s current terms before purchase.
| Provider and source | Published allowance or pricing example | Key policy detail |
|---|---|---|
| ScreenshotNeo — product page | Free: 1,000 shots/month; Starter: $5 for 3,000; Growth: $15 for 15,000; Pro: $39 for 60,000; Scale: $99 for 250,000; Business: $249 for 1,000,000. Yearly billing gives 2 months free. | Only clean shots are billed; unsuccessful or cached outcomes listed by the service cost nothing. Every feature is on every plan. |
| Screenshot API (screenshot-api.net) — official documentation | Free: 100 renders/month; Starter: 2,000; Pro: 10,000; Team: 25,000; Business: 100,000. Pricing-table publication year not stated. | UTC calendar-month reset, no rollover, separate request-per-second and monthly render limits. |
| Screenshot API (screenshotapis.org) — official API guide | Free: 100 monthly credits; Starter: 2,000; Growth: 6,000; Business: 25,000; Scale: 75,000. Publication year not stated. | Documents refunds for HTTP 422 render failures and credit-pack purchases. |
| ScreenshotAPI.com — official pricing page | 2,000 shots for $2; 5,000 for $5; 10,000 for $9; 25,000 for $22; 50,000 for $40; 100,000 for $80. Page accessed 2026-10-03; footer says © 2025, but the price table itself is undated. | Describes pay-as-you-go billing and prepaid shot packs; successful-image and failure terms are described in its pricing FAQ. |
| ScreenshotOne — credits documentation | Not stated in the cited credits policy. | One credit per listed output type; billing-cycle renewal, no rollover, optional overages and paid-plan hard limits. |
To estimate a bill, first translate your workload into the provider’s billable unit. Then account for output type, full-page or multi-output behavior, the reset boundary, rollover, and any overage or top-up charges. Finally, allow for rate limits and failure rules: a plan with enough monthly credits may still throttle a burst, while a retry policy can change usage if timeouts are not refunded.
Or skip the browser setup
Make one GET request to ScreenshotNeo’s API; see the API documentation for parameters and response details.
Recommended Free Tools
Quick Recap
curl -G "https://api.screenshotneo.com/v1/shot" -d access_key=YOUR_API_KEY --data-urlencode url=https://stripe.com -o shot.webp
ScreenshotNeo removes cookie banners, newsletter popups and chat widgets before capture. Bot checks, blank pages and failed loads are never billed; an MCP server lets AI agents take screenshots; and 1,000 screenshots a month are free with no card, with paid plans starting at $5 for 3,000. Sign up for the free plan.
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.




