There is no single brand-wide battery winner: runtime on one charge and long-term battery aging are different measures. In a 2026 test of three specific flagship models, the iPhone 17 Pro Max ran longest, followed by the Samsung Galaxy S26 Ultra and Google Pixel 10 Pro XL. For aging, Google and Apple publish cycle targets for specific generations; Samsung’s cited US guidance explains symptoms and diagnostics but does not give a comparable general cycle-life target. The right comparison depends on the exact models, how you use them, and what battery information each phone exposes.
First separate daily runtime from long-term battery aging
“Battery longevity” can mean either how many hours a phone runs between charges or how its battery capacity changes after repeated use. Those are related, but they do not measure the same thing.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
- Runtime per charge is the time a particular phone lasts in a test or in your own use before it needs charging. Screen brightness, network conditions, apps, signal strength, and settings all affect it.
- Battery aging is the gradual loss of a rechargeable battery’s ability to hold charge. Manufacturers may describe a design target using charge cycles and retained capacity.
A model that lasts longer when new does not necessarily retain its capacity better over years. Likewise, a published cycle target is not a promise of a particular number of years or hours per day. For a useful comparison, look at named-model runtime results separately from generation-specific aging guidance.
A charge cycle is not necessarily one plug-in session. Google defines a cycle cumulatively: using 50% of the battery and recharging it counts as half a cycle. If you use half the charge on one occasion and another half later, that adds up to one cycle. This explains why counting how often you connect a charger does not tell you the cycle count. It also does not let you convert a manufacturer’s cycle target into a reliable number of years without knowing how much charge you use and the conditions the phone experiences.
#1 Best Overall
- Attention-grabbing design meets the latest evolution of the Google Pixel Camera on the new Google Pixel 11 Pro XL; Gemini Intelligence helps manage details so you can live in the moment[1]; and the phone is available in two sizes
- Unlocked Android phone gives you the flexibility to change carriers and choose your own data plan: Works with Google Fi, Verizon, T-Mobile, AT&T, and other major carriers[2]
- Stay informed without looking at your screen: When your phone is face down, Pixel HiLight gently alerts you with subtle glowing lights when your favorite contacts are calling or you’re talking with Gemini; exclusive to Google Pixel 11 Pro phones
- Magic Capture catches the moment as you live it: With just one tap, Pixel 11 Pro captures video and photos, and automatically edits, crops, and unblurs a curated collection, ready to share – and you get the memory of how it felt to be in the moment
- Two new cameras for more brilliant photos: A larger telephoto sensor captures 30% more light for clear, beautiful photos and videos, even in the dark[3]; Pixel’s longest zoom ever helps you capture details from impressive distances[4]
Which lasts longest per charge in the named-model test?
Tom’s Guide’s 2026 battery-life test reported these results for three specific flagship phones:
| Phone tested | Reported runtime | Place among these three |
|---|---|---|
| Apple iPhone 17 Pro Max | 17 hours 54 minutes | Longest |
| Samsung Galaxy S26 Ultra | 16 hours 10 minutes | Second |
| Google Pixel 10 Pro XL | 14 hours 3 minutes | Third |
In that test, the iPhone 17 Pro Max lasted 1 hour 44 minutes longer than the Galaxy S26 Ultra, and the Galaxy lasted 2 hours 7 minutes longer than the Pixel 10 Pro XL. Those are differences between the reported test results, not predictions for every owner. The ranking applies to these three models under Tom’s Guide’s test method; it does not establish that every iPhone outlasts every Galaxy or Pixel. See Tom’s Guide’s 2026 battery-life test for the test context.
Do not use those runtimes to infer which battery will age more slowly. They describe how long each tested phone ran in a particular test, not capacity retained after hundreds of charge cycles.
What’s actually slowing this PC down?
Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.
For a prospective buyer, the test is a useful point of comparison if those three large-screen flagships are the specific models under consideration. It is not a substitute for comparing the exact phone you plan to buy: the tested Pixel is the 10 Pro XL, not every Pixel 10 model, and the result says nothing directly about other Galaxy S26 or iPhone 17 variants. Nor does a test result guarantee the same number of hours with a different mix of apps, display use, reception, or settings.
For an owner whose phone does not last as long as the test figure, that difference alone does not establish battery failure. A controlled test and daily use are different circumstances, and the test result is not a battery-health reading. Check the phone’s own health or diagnostic information and look for a sustained change in your normal use before deciding whether service is needed.
What the manufacturers say about battery aging
Google and Apple publish generation-specific cycle targets. Their figures use different model groupings and qualifiers, so they are useful as design expectations, not as a direct laboratory head-to-head comparison. Samsung’s cited guidance does not publish a matching numeric target.
| Manufacturer and models covered | Published design target | How to interpret it |
|---|---|---|
| Google Pixel 3 through Pixel 8 Pro, and Pixel Fold | About 800 charge cycles, with up to 80% capacity | Google recommends replacement below 80% remaining capacity or at 800 cycles for these models. |
| Google Pixel 8a and later | About 1,000 charge cycles, with up to 80% capacity | Google recommends replacement below 80% remaining capacity or at 1,000 cycles for this group. |
| Apple iPhone 14 models and earlier | 80% of original capacity at 500 complete cycles, under ideal conditions | Apple says actual performance depends on use and charging. |
| Apple iPhone 15 models | 80% of original capacity at 1,000 complete cycles, under ideal conditions | This 1,000-cycle target applies to iPhone 15 models in Apple’s cited guidance; do not extend it to older iPhones. |
| Samsung Galaxy phones covered by the cited US guidance | A general cycle-count-to-capacity target is not stated on the cited page. | Samsung describes degradation symptoms and directs owners to built-in diagnostics rather than offering a directly comparable general cycle target. |
Google defines a cycle cumulatively: using half of a full charge and recharging it counts as half a cycle, so two such uses add up to one cycle. The company says initial battery-health estimates are based on laboratory results and may differ from the actual battery state. Its current Pixel battery guidance gives the model groupings and thresholds.
Google’s 800-cycle and 1,000-cycle figures both refer to a stated expectation of up to 80% capacity, but they apply to different Pixel generations. The older group includes Pixel 3 through Pixel 8 Pro and Pixel Fold; Pixel 8a and later have the newer target. Do not assign the later target to every Pixel simply because it is newer than another phone in the comparison. Google says that below 80% remaining capacity is labelled “Reduced” and recommends replacement; its guidance also associates the recommendation with the applicable cycle count.
Apple’s figures are explicitly stated for ideal conditions. Its guidance also says an individual battery’s lifespan varies with use and settings. The Apple battery service and recycling page describes the targets for iPhone 14 models and earlier and for iPhone 15 models; it should not be read as evidence that a specific phone will reach its target at an exact point in its life.
Rank #2
- Google Pixel 10a is a durable, everyday phone with more[1]; snap brilliant photography on a simple, powerful camera, get 30+ hours out of a full charge[2], and do more with helpful AI like Gemini[3]
- Unlocked Android phone gives you the flexibility to change carriers and choose your own data plan; it works with Google Fi, Verizon, T-Mobile, AT&T, and other major carriers
- Pixel 10a is sleek and durable, with a super smooth finish, scratch-resistant Corning Gorilla Glass 7i display, and IP68 water and dust protection[4]
- The Actua display with 3,000-nit peak brightness shows up clear as day, even in direct sunlight[5]
- Plan, create, and get more done with help from Gemini, your built-in AI assistant[3]; have it screen spam calls while you focus[6]; chat with Gemini to brainstorm your meal plan[7], or bring your ideas to life with Nano Banana[8]
The increase from 500 cycles for iPhone 14 models and earlier to 1,000 cycles for iPhone 15 models is a generation-specific design target, not a universal iPhone rule. In particular, the cited 1,000-cycle figure should not be applied to an older iPhone. Apple’s qualifier “under ideal conditions” matters, and Apple says use and settings affect actual lifespan.
Samsung says a Galaxy battery is a consumable component that degrades over time. The company’s cited US battery diagnostics and replacement guidance does not provide a comparable numeric cycle-life target. That absence is not evidence that Galaxy batteries age faster or slower than Pixel or iPhone batteries.
Free tools Windows power users keep installed
One-click scans. No signup required.
So which brand’s battery lasts longer over time? These published targets do not settle that as a brand-wide question. Google and Apple state cycle-and-capacity expectations for particular generations, while the cited Samsung page focuses on symptoms and diagnostics. The targets are not a controlled comparison of otherwise equivalent phones, and they do not provide a universal expected service life in years. Use them as context for your exact model, alongside its current condition and your experience.
How to check battery condition on each phone
The available information differs by model and software version. A health percentage or cycle count can help put symptoms in context, but a diagnostic status or estimate is not a complete forecast of future runtime.
Google Pixel
- On a Pixel 8a or later, open Settings > About phone > Battery information to find the cycle count.
- Open Settings > Battery > Battery health to view the health status.
- If the estimated capacity is labelled Reduced, Google recommends replacing the battery. Google’s stated thresholds are below 80% remaining capacity or the applicable cycle target for the model generation.
The cited documentation says Pixel 6a, Pixel 7, Pixel 7 Pro, Pixel 7a, Pixel 8, and Pixel 8 Pro do not show the battery health status. Do not assume that a missing health screen means the battery is healthy or failing; use the available diagnostics and real-world behavior. Google also cautions that early health estimates may differ from the battery’s actual condition.
These settings paths are useful only when the model supports the relevant indicator. If a Pixel does not show a cycle count or health status, that does not mean the information is zero or that the battery cannot be checked; it means the cited guidance does not provide that display for that model. Use the supported information and seek service if persistent symptoms remain a concern.
Do these 3 things before closing this tab:
1Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minute2Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problems3Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesSamsung Galaxy
- Open the Samsung Members app.
- Go to Support > diagnostics > Battery status and run the available check.
- Use the result alongside your experience, especially whether the phone drains unusually quickly after charging or shuts down unexpectedly.
Menu names and availability can vary by Galaxy model and software version. Samsung recommends contacting support or a service center if persistent problems remain after diagnostics.
Samsung’s check is a diagnostic route rather than a published cycle counter and retained-capacity target on the cited US page. A result from the app can help decide whether to contact support, but should be considered together with the pattern of drain or shutdowns. Samsung specifically notes unexpected shutdowns, especially in cold conditions, as a possible aging sign; it is not a claim that every shutdown proves battery failure.
iPhone
- On iPhone 15 and later with iOS 17.4 or later, open Settings > Battery > Battery Health. Apple says this screen shows maximum capacity, cycle count, manufacture date, first-use date, and a replacement recommendation.
- On iPhone 11 through iPhone 14, open Settings > Battery > Battery Health & Charging.
- Review the health information and any service recommendation shown for your device.
Apple’s documented path and the information displayed differ by iPhone generation and iOS version. If the exact screen is not present, check Apple’s battery and performance support page for the applicable model guidance.
Rank #3
- Google Pixel 10 Pro is the ultimate Pixel experience, featuring advanced AI with Gemini, unbelievable camera quality, impeccable design in two sizes, and the next-gen Google Tensor G5 chip[1]
- Unlocked Android phone gives you the flexibility to change carriers and choose your own data plan[2]; it works - Google Fi, Verizon, T-Mobile, AT&T, and other major carriers
- Get a head start on syncing your data before it even arrives: After you purchase your new Pixel, look for an email that explains how to transfer your photos, videos, passwords, and more in just a few quick steps[11]
- Pixel’s pro camera system makes everything look amazing, even in low light; capture more of the scene with advanced Google AI models, and bring out incredible details with 100x Pro Res Zoom, stunning 50 MP images, and super steady videos in 8K[10]
- Pixel 10 Pro is built with durable aluminum and Corning Gorilla Glass Victus 2 for scratch and drop resistance; the 6.3-inch Super Actua display with 3,300-nit peak brightness is easy on the eyes, even in direct sunlight[3,13,18]
The newer iPhone screen gives several useful details in one place, including a cycle count and maximum capacity, but the cited feature requirement is specific: iPhone 15 or later and iOS 17.4 or later. For iPhone 11 through 14, use the Battery Health & Charging screen instead. Do not assume that an older model will show every field available on the newer screen.
Quick wins for a faster PC:
Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsFix Now →Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteDriver Scan →Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsFree Scan →When battery wear is worth acting on
Battery capacity gradually falls with use. A single short day does not by itself establish a hardware fault, but a sustained change in runtime or shutdown behavior is a reason to investigate. Consider both the phone’s health indicator and what happens in normal use.
- Check the phone’s own indicator first. Pixel can show health status on Pixel 8a and later; iPhone provides health information on supported models; Samsung Members offers a diagnostic status. Follow the path for your model rather than relying on a generic menu guide.
- Look for persistent symptoms. Samsung identifies fast drain after charging and unexpected shutdowns, especially in cold conditions, as possible signs of battery aging. Apple says increasingly frequent charging can be a signal to seek service.
- Use the model-specific replacement guidance. Google recommends replacement below 80% capacity or at the applicable cycle target for its listed Pixel generations. Apple’s service page describes its cycle targets and service information, while Samsung advises checking the device and seeking help for persistent issues.
- Confirm local service details before committing. Repair prices, eligibility, parts availability, and authorized service options vary by region and model. Check the manufacturer or an authorized provider for current terms; the published battery guidance does not establish a universal price.
A target is a design expectation, not a guarantee that every battery will remain above a threshold until that exact cycle count. A phone may need attention sooner because of its condition or symptoms, while another may remain usable beyond a target. Treat symptoms and diagnostics as complementary evidence, not as competing verdicts.
For Pixel, Google says to consider replacement when the applicable threshold is reached: below 80% capacity or at the cycle target specified for that model group. For Apple, increasingly frequent charging can be a reason to seek service, and supported iPhones may show a replacement recommendation. Samsung’s guidance emphasizes battery symptoms and diagnostics, then directs owners with persistent problems to support or a service center. None of these statements provides a universal repair price or guarantees that service is needed solely because a phone has reached a particular age.
Battery replacement is a practical alternative to judging a phone only by its original runtime, but the route and cost depend on the exact model and location. Check current local terms with the manufacturer or authorized service provider before deciding. The general guidance here does not establish a price, eligibility, parts availability, or repair time.
Recommended Free Tools
Pixel 6a owners should check the model-specific program
Google identified certain Pixel 6a devices as requiring a mandatory software update to reduce potential battery-overheating risk. For affected devices, battery-management features activate after 400 cycles and can reduce battery capacity and charging performance. This is a model- and device-specific safety measure, not a general characteristic of Pixel batteries.
The program’s terms gave end users one year from the initial software release on July 8, 2025, to register for its support options. Google says those options ceased to be available after July 8, 2026. The program was limited to identified impacted devices, countries, and inspection conditions. Current owners should consult Google’s Pixel 6a Battery Performance Program page for any current information, applicable remedies, or local rights.
The 400-cycle behavior described for affected Pixel 6a units is part of this specific program, not the ordinary 800- or 1,000-cycle design targets for the broader Pixel groups. It may reduce capacity and charging performance on impacted devices after the threshold. Owners should confirm whether their particular device is affected and use Google’s current program information rather than assuming that every Pixel 6a, or every Pixel, has the same behavior or remedy.
What affects battery lifespan in everyday use?
Published cycle targets do not guarantee an individual result. Google’s and Apple’s guidance both recognize that real battery performance depends on conditions, use, and settings. Google advises charging Pixel phones in a cool place, around 25°C/78°F, and using a compatible USB-C PD or PPS charger. This is manufacturer guidance, not a promise that a particular charger or habit will prevent aging or reverse capacity loss.
PC Slower Than It Used to Be?
A free scan shows the junk files, broken settings and background clutter dragging Windows down - then fixes them in one click.Free scan · Windows 10 & 11Crashes, No Sound, or Screen Glitches?
Random freezes, missing sound and display glitches usually trace back to one bad driver. Find and replace yours safely.Free scan · under a minuteFor charging equipment, verify the exact phone’s supported charging standard and power requirements rather than choosing by connector alone. A compatible charger helps meet the device’s charging requirements; it does not restore a battery that has already degraded.
When comparing your own phones, account for workload and setup. Screen brightness and display use, cellular reception, wireless connections, apps, and settings can change runtime from day to day. A controlled test can help compare specific devices under its stated method, but your personal result may differ if your usage differs.
Heat is an important practical consideration in the guidance: Google recommends charging Pixel phones in a cool place, around 25°C/78°F. Treat that as advice about charging conditions, not a numerical guarantee of extra cycles or proof that following it prevents degradation. A charger is also not a battery-health treatment: even a compatible USB-C PD or PPS unit cannot reverse capacity loss that has already occurred.
When comparing runtime in ordinary life, make the conditions as similar as possible. A brighter display, different signal strength, a heavier mix of apps, or different settings can make two phones appear to have very different endurance. Likewise, a change in your own usage can change how often you charge without indicating that the battery aged suddenly. Look for a consistent pattern and consult device diagnostics when the change persists.
How to choose between Pixel, Galaxy, and iPhone for battery longevity
For a purchase decision, compare the dimensions that matter to you rather than treating brand as a proxy for battery life. A practical comparison uses the exact models and asks four separate questions:
- Which model lasts longest for your kind of day? Look for runtime tests of the exact models using a consistent method. Check whether the screen settings, network, and workload are comparable; a single test is most useful for its named devices, not as a brand-wide ranking.
- What does the manufacturer claim about capacity retention? Record the model generation, target capacity, cycle count, and any ideal-condition qualifier. Google and Apple provide generation-specific targets; the cited Samsung page does not state a comparable general number.
- What can you monitor on the phone? A visible cycle count, maximum capacity, health status, or diagnostic result can make it easier to assess wear. Availability varies: Google’s documented health status and cycle count are for Pixel 8a and later, while Apple’s screens differ by generation and iOS version, and Samsung uses its Members diagnostics.
- What is the repair path where you live? Confirm local authorized service availability, price, eligibility, and timing for the exact model. These details can change and are not established by the general battery guidance cited here.
This framework prevents two common misreadings: equating a long runtime test with long-term durability, and treating a missing published cycle figure as proof of poor battery life. The strongest evidence for runtime is a named-model test; the strongest available aging comparison is each manufacturer’s own, qualified model-specific guidance.
If you are deciding among the three named flagships and care most about runtime in the cited test, the iPhone 17 Pro Max ranked first, Galaxy S26 Ultra second, and Pixel 10 Pro XL third. If you care most about published cycle expectations, compare your exact generation: Google specifies about 800 cycles for Pixel 3 through Pixel 8 Pro and Pixel Fold, and about 1,000 for Pixel 8a and later; Apple specifies 500 for iPhone 14 models and earlier and 1,000 for iPhone 15 models, with the stated ideal-condition qualification. For Samsung, use its diagnostics and service guidance rather than trying to infer a cycle target it does not state on the cited page.
These are different forms of evidence and should remain separate in a buying decision. A long runtime result may matter most if you want fewer charges during a typical day. The cycle target and health-check tools matter more when you are thinking about capacity retention and how easily you can monitor wear. Local repair access can also matter if you plan to keep a phone for a long time, but verify current terms for your region and model.
Frequently Asked Questions
Which phone lasts longest per charge: Pixel, Samsung Galaxy, or iPhone?
In Tom’s Guide’s 2026 test of three named flagship models, the iPhone 17 Pro Max lasted 17 hours 54 minutes, the Galaxy S26 Ultra 16 hours 10 minutes, and the Pixel 10 Pro XL 14 hours 3 minutes. That result applies to those models under that test, not every phone from each brand.
Best Value
- Google Pixel 10 is the everyday phone unlike anything else; it has Google Tensor G5, Pixel’s most powerful chip, an incredible camera, and advanced AI - Gemini built in[1]
- Unlocked Android phone gives you the flexibility to change carriers and choose your own data plan[2]; it works with Google Fi, Verizon, T-Mobile, AT&T, and other major carriers
- Unlocked Android phone gives you the flexibility to change carriers and choose your own data plan[2]; it works - Google Fi, Verizon, T-Mobile, AT&T, and other major carriers
- The upgraded triple rear camera system has a new 5x telephoto lens - up to 20x Super Res Zoom for stunning detail from far away; Night Sight takes crisp, clear photos in low-light settings; and Camera Coach helps you snap your best pics[3]
- Pixel 10 is designed - scratch-resistant Corning Gorilla Glass Victus 2 and has an IP68 rating for water and dust protection[21]; plus, the Actua display - 3,000-nit peak brightness is easy on the eyes, even in direct sunlight[4]
Which brand’s battery lasts longer over time?
The cited information does not establish a universal brand winner for long-term battery aging. Google and Apple publish cycle-and-capacity targets for specific generations, while Samsung’s cited US guidance focuses on symptoms and diagnostics without a comparable general cycle target. The targets are design expectations, not guarantees or a head-to-head aging test.
How many charge cycles does a Pixel battery last?
Google’s guidance gives Pixel 3 through Pixel 8 Pro and Pixel Fold an expectation of about 800 cycles to up to 80% capacity. Pixel 8a and later are specified at about 1,000 cycles for the same up-to-80% target. These are model-specific design expectations, not guaranteed service lives. Google counts cycles cumulatively: using half a full charge twice adds up to one cycle.
How can I check battery health on a Pixel, Galaxy, or iPhone?
On Pixel 8a and later, cycle count is under Settings > About phone > Battery information and health status is under Settings > Battery > Battery health. On Galaxy, use Samsung Members > Support > diagnostics > Battery status; menus can vary by model and software. On iPhone 15 and later with iOS 17.4 or later, use Settings > Battery > Battery Health; iPhone 11 through 14 use Settings > Battery > Battery Health & Charging.
The Tool Desk
Outbyte PC Repair FREERepair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsFix Now →Outbyte Driver Updater FREEScan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteDriver Scan →When should I replace my phone battery?
For listed Pixel generations, Google recommends replacement below 80% remaining capacity or at the applicable cycle target. Apple says increasingly frequent charging can be a reason to seek service, and supported iPhones may show a replacement recommendation. Samsung identifies fast drain and unexpected shutdowns as possible aging signs and recommends support or service for persistent issues. Check local service terms for your exact model.
Does the iPhone 1,000-cycle battery target apply to every iPhone?
No. Apple’s cited guidance states 1,000 complete cycles to 80% capacity under ideal conditions for iPhone 15 models. For iPhone 14 models and earlier, it states 500 complete cycles under ideal conditions. Do not apply the iPhone 15 figure to older generations.
Does Samsung publish a cycle-life target comparable with Google and Apple?
The cited Samsung US support page does not give a general cycle-count-to-capacity target. It explains that batteries degrade over time, lists possible symptoms, and directs owners to Samsung Members diagnostics. The absence of a number on that page does not show that Galaxy batteries age faster or slower.
What should Pixel 6a owners know about battery life?
Google identified certain Pixel 6a devices for a mandatory software update to reduce potential overheating risk. On affected devices, battery-management features activate after 400 cycles and can reduce capacity and charging performance. The program was limited to identified devices and conditions; consult Google’s current Pixel 6a Battery Performance Program page for applicable information and remedies.
The Bottom Line
Runtime and battery aging are separate comparisons. In Tom’s Guide’s 2026 test, the iPhone 17 Pro Max outlasted the Galaxy S26 Ultra and Pixel 10 Pro XL, but that ranking is limited to those three phones. For aging, compare the cycle target and health-check options for the exact generation: Google and Apple publish qualified targets, while Samsung’s cited guidance relies on diagnostics and symptoms. Use those figures as design expectations, not guarantees, and check model-specific service guidance if wear becomes persistent.
Quick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.




