Do these 3 things before closing this tab:
1Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minute2Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errors3Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesNeither host wins outright. On the U.S. price pages checked on 2026-10-05, the entry shared plans have nearly the same introductory rate: Hostinger Premium at $2.99/month and ScalaHosting Mini at $2.95/month. Hostinger’s entry plan gives you more for the money (3 sites and 20 GB versus 1 site and 10 GB), and it renews slightly cheaper. The catch is that Hostinger’s low rate is tied to a 48-month upfront payment. ScalaHosting makes more sense when you want to move up to a cloud or VPS plan with dedicated resources. Prices are displayed offers and change with term, location, tax and promotion.
Entry shared plans: price and allowances
| Factor | Hostinger Premium | ScalaHosting Mini |
|---|---|---|
| Introductory rate | $2.99/month on the listed 48-month term ($143.52 due upfront) | $2.95/month introductory offer |
| Renewal | $10.99/month | $11.95/month |
| Websites | 3 | 1 |
| Storage | 20 GB SSD | 10 GB fixed NVMe |
| Backups | Weekly | Automated backups listed; frequency not stated on the page reviewed |
Hostinger says its displayed monthly price is the total plan price divided by the plan’s months, and that plans are paid upfront. So $2.99/month really means $143.52 at checkout. See Hostinger’s pricing page and ScalaHosting’s plans page. Check what ScalaHosting charges upfront for its introductory term, because that figure was not captured in the pages reviewed.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
NVMe versus SSD is a difference in storage type, not proof of faster sites. Capacity and the number of sites are the clearer differences at this level.
The Tool Desk
Outbyte PC Repair FREERepair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsFix Now →Outbyte Driver Updater FREEFix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →Multi-site and larger-storage plans
| Plan | Introductory | Renewal | Sites | Storage |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Hostinger Unlimited | $3.99/month (48-month term) | $16.99/month | Unlimited | 50 GB NVMe |
| ScalaHosting Start | $5.95/month | $14.95/month | Unlimited | 50 GB fixed NVMe |
| ScalaHosting Advanced | $9.95/month | $19.95/month | Not stated here | 100 GB fixed NVMe |
Hostinger Unlimited is cheaper at the start, and it lists daily backups plus restore. ScalaHosting Start renews $2/month lower. Whether that offsets the higher first-term rate depends on how long you stay. For a short commitment, compare the total you pay over your expected stay, not the headline rate. Hostinger’s 48-month term means a large upfront payment, but the renewal jump matters most after that.
ScalaHosting’s Advanced plan is the only one in this set with 100 GB. Hostinger’s equivalent at that capacity was not established in the pages reviewed, so check its current plans if you need that much space.
Backups, migration and security
- Backups: Hostinger separates the tiers clearly: weekly on Premium, daily on Unlimited. ScalaHosting lists automated backups, but the frequency was not given in the plan text reviewed. Confirm frequency, retention and how restores work for your chosen tier before buying.
- Migration: Hostinger’s pricing FAQ says migration is free, and ScalaHosting lists free website migration. Neither page establishes how fast or how reliably a migration goes.
- Security: Both list free SSL. Hostinger lists malware and security features. ScalaHosting lists real-time malware protection and, in its control-panel comparison, SShield. These are feature lists, not evidence that either is more secure.
- Control panel: ScalaHosting uses its own SPanel. It says: “SPanel was developed as an alternative to the rising cPanel prices.” That is the provider’s own explanation, not an independent finding about market costs.
Cloud and VPS: a different comparison
Hostinger describes cloud hosting as sitting between shared hosting and VPS in resources and control, and VPS as giving more backend control. ScalaHosting lists an Entry Cloud plan with a dedicated 2 CPU cores and 2 GB RAM. A complete matched official price and spec comparison of both companies’ cloud and VPS lines was not established, so match configurations, managed-service scope, backup terms and renewal prices yourself before choosing.
Rank #2
What independent testing shows
VPSBenchmarks (page updated September 13, 2026) tested eight VPS plans from the two companies. It grades web, CPU, disk, network and stability using tools including sysbench, Geekbench, fio and iperf3. Its sample shows 12 instance creations per provider, with average provisioning of 137 seconds for Hostinger and 65 seconds for ScalaHosting.
These figures cover selected VPS plans only. They don’t show which host is faster for shared hosting, and they don’t prove either is better overall.
The same page lists two sample configurations. Hostinger KVM 1 is $19.49/month with 1 CPU core, 4 GB memory and 50 GB disk. ScalaHosting Config #1 is $24.95/month with 2 cores, 4 GB memory and 50 GB disk. The ScalaHosting plan costs more but includes double the cores, so raw price comparisons mislead unless the configurations match.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Which should you choose?
- One new site, tight budget: Hostinger Premium gives more allowance and a lower renewal. Be ready for the 48-month upfront payment. ScalaHosting Mini suits a single small site if you prefer its shorter-commitment options or SPanel, provided its terms fit.
- Several sites or more storage: Hostinger Unlimited wins on starting price and has documented daily backups. ScalaHosting Start is worth a look if renewal cost matters more than the first term.
- A growing site that needs dedicated resources: Compare ScalaHosting’s cloud plans with Hostinger’s cloud and VPS plans using exact current specs. Provisioning speed in the VPS sample favored ScalaHosting, but that is a single data point.
Before paying, confirm the final billing term, amount due today, renewal price, tax and plan allowances at checkout. All figures here were current on 2026-10-05 and may have changed.
Quick Recap
Best Value
Rank #4
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.




