Free tools Windows power users keep installed
One-click scans. No signup required.
The base HONOR Magic9 is the one to investigate if you want a more compact phone and are drawn to HONOR’s creation-focused imaging and software features. The Samsung Galaxy S26 Ultra is the stronger fit to investigate if you prefer a much larger display, several stated optical telephoto options, and Samsung’s Galaxy AI and Privacy Display positioning. That is a specifications-based shortlist, not a verdict from comparative testing.
Here, “Magic9” means the base model—not the Magic9 Pro Max or Magic9 Super Edition—and “Galaxy S Ultra” means the current Galaxy S26 Ultra. HONOR’s launch prices below are for China; Samsung’s starting price is for the United States, so they are not directly comparable. Check your country’s exact model, price, network bands, warranty, software support and stock before choosing.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
At a glance: the differences that matter
| Category | HONOR Magic9 (base) | Samsung Galaxy S26 Ultra |
|---|---|---|
| Display | 6.37-inch FHD+ OLED, 1236 × 2664 pixels; refresh rate not stated on HONOR’s cited specification page. HONOR specifications | 6.9-inch QHD+ Dynamic AMOLED 2X, adaptive 1–120Hz. Samsung measures 6.9 inches across the full rectangle and says the viewable diagonal is 6.7 inches accounting for rounded corners and the camera opening. Samsung specifications |
| Dimensions and weight | 151.00 × 72.28 × 8.49 mm; approximately 209 g. HONOR says actual figures can vary with configuration and measurement method. HONOR specifications | 78.1 × 163.6 × 7.9 mm; 214 g, with weight potentially varying by market. Samsung specifications |
| Processor and software | Snapdragon 8 Elite Gen 5; MagicOS 11 based on Android 17. HONOR specifications | Snapdragon 8 Elite Gen 5 for Galaxy; Samsung’s launch materials emphasize Galaxy AI. Samsung specifications |
| Rear cameras | Detailed camera specifications are not stated on the cited base-model specification page. HONOR describes ARRI imaging capabilities across the series; do not treat the Pro Max’s dual-200MP workflow as a base Magic9 specification. HONOR launch announcement | 200MP wide, 50MP ultra-wide, 10MP 3x optical telephoto and 50MP 5x optical telephoto. Samsung calls 2x and 10x “optical quality” zoom, enabled by Adaptive Pixel—not optical zoom. Samsung specifications |
| Video | Base-model video modes are not stated in the cited material. HONOR specifications | Listed modes include 4K at 120 fps in Pro Video and 8K at 30 fps. Samsung specifications |
| Storage configurations | 12GB+256GB, 12GB+512GB, 16GB+512GB and 16GB+1TB on HONOR’s China specification page. HONOR specifications | 256GB, 512GB and 1TB; memory varies by market. Samsung specifications |
| Battery and resistance | Comparable capacity and IP-rating details are not stated in the cited base-model source. HONOR specifications | 5,000mAh typical capacity; IP68 under stated laboratory conditions. Samsung specifications |
| Launch price context | CNY 4,999 starting price in HONOR’s China launch announcement, dated 2026-09-28. HONOR launch announcement | $1,299.99 starting price in Samsung’s US launch announcement; 256GB, 512GB and 1TB options listed. Regional price and promotions can change. Samsung US launch announcement |
Which phone is easier to handle?
The Magic9 is the more compact option by its listed dimensions: it is narrower and shorter than the S26 Ultra, and its 6.37-inch display is substantially smaller. That makes the HONOR the more plausible choice if you value a less expansive body for everyday handling. The specifications alone do not establish how comfortable either phone feels in a particular hand.
Samsung’s 6.9-inch screen is suited to buyers who want more space for reading, video, games or split-screen use. The trade-off is a wider, taller body. Although the listed weights are relatively close—about 209 g for the Magic9 and 214 g for the S26 Ultra—the Samsung is physically much larger.
#1 Best Overall
- Factory Unlocked Compatibility: USA & Rest of the World, In USA Unlocked only for T-Mobile (GSM) and excluding Verizon, Sprint, US Cellular, No CDMA / Dual SIM (Nano-SIM slot 4FF, eSIM), Networks: 2G GSM, 3G, 4G LTE, 5G
- Display Specifications: 6.71 inches, OLED, FHD+ 1256 x 2808, 1.07 billion colors
- Storage and Memory: 1TB Storage, 16GB RAM
- Processor and Graphics: Qualcomm Snapdragon 8 Elite (Gen 5) Mobile Platform, Adreno 840
- Connectivity Features: Bluetooth 6.0, Wi-Fi, NFC
Display: compact FHD+ or large QHD+ with adaptive refresh?
HONOR lists the base Magic9’s 6.37-inch OLED at FHD+ resolution (1236 × 2664). Samsung lists the Ultra’s larger 6.9-inch Dynamic AMOLED 2X panel at QHD+ with adaptive refresh from 1Hz to 120Hz. Samsung’s stated diagonal includes the full rectangle; its rounded-corner viewable measurement is 6.7 inches. HONOR’s cited base-model page does not state a refresh rate, so the available figures do not support a full refresh-rate comparison.
Choose based on the screen experience you actually want: a smaller panel and body, or a larger, higher-resolution panel with a stated adaptive refresh range. Resolution and panel labels do not, by themselves, establish brightness, outdoor readability, color accuracy or real-world smoothness.
Camera systems: lens coverage is clearer than image quality
Samsung specifies multiple telephoto focal lengths
The S26 Ultra’s listed rear cameras include a 200MP wide camera, 50MP ultra-wide, 10MP 3x optical telephoto and 50MP 5x optical telephoto. Samsung separately describes 2x and 10x as “optical quality” zoom enabled by Adaptive Pixel. Those claims should not be conflated: the listed 3x and 5x are optical zoom, while 2x and 10x are described as optical quality.
Rank #2
- Network Compatibility: For USA Buyers - Only works with T-Mobile in the US, as it is not optimized for Verizon and AT&T. This means that as long as there's T-Mobile coverage, it'll work. For International Buyers - Works outside of the USA with any network provider without any restrictions
- Inner Display Specifications: 7.95 inch foldable OLED screen with 2352 x 2172 Pixels resolution and 1.07 billion colors for immersive viewing experience
- External Display Specifications: 6.52 inch OLED screen with 2420 x 1080 Pixels resolution and 1.07 billion colors for convenient access when folded
- Storage and Memory Capacity: 512GB internal storage with 16GB RAM for extensive app usage and multitasking performance
- Processor and Graphics: Qualcomm Snapdragon 8 Elite (Gen 5) Mobile Platform with Adreno 840 GPU for high-performance computing and gaming
For video, Samsung lists 4K at 120 fps in Pro Video and 8K at 30 fps. These are manufacturer-listed modes; they do not tell you how the phone performs in changing light, how long it can sustain demanding recording, or how good its footage looks against the Magic9’s.
HONOR positions Magic9 around creator features, but keep the model tier straight
HONOR’s China launch announcement describes ARRI imaging capabilities across the Magic9 series and positions the base Magic9 as a smaller phone with those capabilities. The detailed dual-200MP cinema workflow and accessories described in global material belong specifically to the Magic9 Pro Max, not the base model. The cited base-model specification page does not provide a full camera breakdown or video-mode list, so it cannot support a like-for-like camera-spec verdict.
HONOR also names the HONOR Teleconverter G200 as an accessory for the base Magic9, with a China price of CNY 999 in the launch announcement. Availability, compatible version and price should be confirmed locally before treating it as an option to buy.
Rank #3
- Network Compatibility Notice: This smartphone is not compatible with CDMA networks including Verizon, Sprint, and US Cellular. Please verify 3G, 4G/LTE, and 5G compatibility with your network provider before purchase. Supports Dual-SIM with GSM 850/900/1800/1900, HSDPA 850(B5)/900(B8)/1900(B2)/2100(B1), 4G LTE, and 5G SA/NSA/Sub6 bands
- Display Specifications: Features a large 6.78 inches AMOLED display with high resolution of 1224 x 2700 pixels, delivering vibrant colors and sharp visuals for an enhanced viewing experience
- Storage and Memory Configuration: Equipped with 256GB internal storage and 12GB RAM, providing ample space for apps, photos, videos, and smooth multitasking performance for demanding applications
- Operating System and Processor: Runs on Android 14 operating system powered by Qualcomm SM6450 Snapdragon 6 Gen 1 chipset built on 4nm technology, featuring Octa-core processor with 4x2.2 GHz Cortex-A78 and 4x1.8 GHz Cortex-A55 cores for efficient performance
- Camera System: Includes a high-resolution 108 MP rear camera with f/1.8 aperture, wide lens, 1/1.67 inch sensor, and PDAF technology, plus a 16 MP front camera with f/2.5 aperture and wide lens for quality photography and video calls
Neither megapixel counts nor feature descriptions prove which phone takes better photos or video. The cited manufacturer sources do not establish controlled comparative results for image quality, focus, low-light performance or video consistency.
Quick wins for a faster PC:
Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsFree Scan →Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsFix Now →Performance, software and ecosystem
Both phones are listed with a Snapdragon 8 Elite Gen 5-family platform: the Magic9 specification page says Snapdragon 8 Elite Gen 5, while Samsung specifies Snapdragon 8 Elite Gen 5 for Galaxy. Samsung reports up to a 19% CPU performance increase, 39% NPU improvement and 24% GPU boost for the S26 Ultra relative to its stated predecessor baseline. These are Samsung’s figures, not independent benchmark results, and do not establish how the phones compare under sustained workloads.
HONOR lists MagicOS 11 based on Android 17 for the China-market Magic9. Its launch announcement also describes cross-brand “touch-to-transfer” features, including iPhone-related connectivity functions. Confirm that a specific function is supported in your country, language and device combination before relying on it.
Rank #4
- Display Specifications: 6.71 inches LTPO OLED display with 1B colors and 1256 x 2808 pixels resolution for vibrant visuals and smooth viewing experience
- Storage and Memory: 512GB internal storage with 12GB RAM for extensive app usage and multitasking capabilities
- Operating System and Processor: Android 16 operating system powered by Qualcomm SM8850-AC Snapdragon 8 Elite Gen 5 (3 nm) Octa-core processor with 2x4.6 GHz Oryon V3 Phoenix L and 6x3.62 GHz Oryon V3 Phoenix M cores
- Rear Camera System: Triple camera setup featuring 50 MP wide lens with f/1.6 aperture and OIS, 200 MP periscope telephoto with 3.7x optical zoom and OIS, and 50 MP ultrawide lens with 122-degree field of view
- Front Camera System: 50 MP front-facing camera with f/2.0 aperture and TOF 3D depth sensor for high-quality selfies and biometric authentication
Samsung’s S26 materials emphasize Galaxy AI and identify a built-in Privacy Display as a new S26 Ultra feature. Those are Samsung’s feature and positioning claims, not independent evaluations of AI usefulness or screen privacy. Your existing phone, tablet, computer, earbuds and preferred services may be a more practical deciding factor than a headline feature; check that the specific integrations you use are supported on the local model.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Storage, price and buying checks
HONOR lists four memory/storage combinations for the China-market base Magic9: 12GB+256GB, 12GB+512GB, 16GB+512GB and 16GB+1TB. Samsung lists 256GB, 512GB and 1TB storage for the S26 Ultra, with memory varying by market. Confirm the exact configuration sold where you live rather than assuming the launch-market options apply everywhere.
The Tool Desk
Outbyte PC Repair FREERepair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsFix Now →Outbyte Driver Updater FREEFix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →HONOR announced a CNY 4,999 starting price for the base Magic9 in China on 2026-09-28. The same release lists CNY 6,499 for the Magic9 Pro Max and CNY 4,499 for the Magic9 Super Edition; neither is the base Magic9’s price. Samsung’s US launch announcement lists the S26 Ultra from $1,299.99, with 256GB, 512GB and 1TB storage options. These figures come from different countries and should not be used as a direct price comparison. Local taxes, promotions, launch timing and retailer pricing may change the amount you actually pay.
Best Value
- Foldable Display Technology: 7.95 inches Foldable LTPO2 AMOLED screen with 1B colors, 2172 x 2352 pixels resolution delivering approximately 403 ppi density for vivid visual experience
- Storage and Memory Capacity: 1TB internal storage with 16GB RAM providing ample space for apps, media, and multitasking performance
- Operating System and Processor: Android 16 with up to 7 major Android upgrades, MagicOS 10, powered by Qualcomm SM8850-AC Snapdragon 8 Elite Gen 5 (3 nm) Octa-core processor featuring 2x4.6 GHz Oryon V3 Phoenix L and 6x3.62 GHz Oryon V3 Phoenix M cores
- Advanced Camera System: Rear cameras include 50 MP wide with f/1.6 aperture and OIS, 64 MP periscope telephoto with 3x optical zoom and OIS, 50 MP ultrawide with 122-degree field of view; Front and cover cameras each feature 20 MP sensors
- Compact Foldable Design: Unfolded dimensions measure 156.7 x 145.6 x 4.0 mm or 4.1 mm, folded dimensions measure 156.7 x 74.5 x 8.8 mm or 9.0 mm, offering portability and functionality in one device
Before ordering either phone, verify these details for your country and exact model:
- Local price, available storage configuration, retailer stock and return terms.
- Network bands and carrier compatibility for your mobile provider.
- Warranty coverage, repair options and whether the device is a local-market or imported variant.
- Supported software languages, regional services and availability of the AI or cross-device features you plan to use.
- For the Magic9, whether the G200 teleconverter is sold locally and confirmed compatible with the base model.
Battery and durability: what the listed figures do—and do not—tell you
Samsung lists a 5,000mAh typical battery capacity and separately states a rated minimum capacity of 4,855mAh. Capacity is not a battery-life result: the cited material does not establish a controlled endurance comparison between these phones. HONOR’s cited base-model page does not provide a comparable battery figure, so an apples-to-apples capacity comparison is unavailable.
Samsung lists IP68 and describes laboratory testing in up to 1.5 metres of freshwater for up to 30 minutes. It also says resistance can diminish with wear. This is a bounded test claim, not a promise that the phone is permanently waterproof or safe in every liquid or situation. The cited HONOR base-model material does not establish a comparable IP rating.
Quick Recap
Which flagship suits you better?
- Investigate the base HONOR Magic9 if compactness is a priority, HONOR’s software and creator-oriented positioning appeal to you, and your local version has the price, support and connectivity you need.
- Investigate the Samsung Galaxy S26 Ultra if you want a large 6.9-inch QHD+ display, several specified optical telephoto options and Samsung’s Galaxy AI and Privacy Display feature set.
- Wait for local verification or comparative testing if your choice depends on battery endurance, camera output, sustained performance, reception or value in your market. Manufacturer specifications do not resolve those comparisons.
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.




