GitHub Copilot Pro’s current individual-plan allowance is 1,500 AI credits per month: 1,000 base credits plus a variable 500-credit flex allotment. Credits represent model usage, not a fixed number of prompts. What an interaction costs depends on the model and the input, output, and cached tokens it uses.
What are GitHub AI Credits?
GitHub defines one AI credit as $0.01 USD. Its usage-based billing calculates the cost of an interaction from the model and the tokens used, including input, output, and cached tokens. As a result, a short chat and a long, multi-step task do not necessarily cost the same, and there is no reliable conversion from credits to a guaranteed number of prompts. See GitHub’s individual usage-based billing documentation.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
How many AI credits does each individual plan include?
GitHub’s plan table, accessed October 7, 2026, lists these monthly amounts and prices. They are current documented plan values, not a forecast or an independently measured usage estimate.
Quick wins for a faster PC:
Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteDriver Scan →Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsFree Scan →Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →| Plan | Monthly price | Monthly AI credits | Allowance details |
|---|---|---|---|
| Copilot Pro | $10 USD | 1,500 | 1,000 base credits plus a variable 500-credit flex allotment |
| Copilot Pro+ | $39 USD | 7,000 | Base/flex breakdown not stated in GitHub’s cited plan table |
| Copilot Max | $100 USD | 20,000 | Base/flex breakdown not stated in GitHub’s cited plan table |
The Pro flex allotment is designed to adapt to changes in model pricing, new models, and efficiency, so the 1,500-credit total should be treated as the currently documented allowance rather than a permanent guarantee. GitHub’s table also includes Free and Student plans, but the cited paid-plan rows do not quantify those plans’ allowances.
#1 Best Overall
- It's possible on your Intel AI PC - Equipped with an Intel Core Ultra 7 processor (Series 2), the Aspire 14 Al brings new AI experiences in productivity, creativity and security through a combination of CPU, GPU and NPU. This combo delivers the speed and responsiveness to handle any task with ease -along with all-day battery life of up to 22 hours and smooth multitasking performance. (Battery life was measured under specific test settings pursuant to video playback scenarios)
- New AI Superpowers - Discover the power of Recall (preview), improved Windows search, and Click to Do (preview) on Copilot plus PCs. Effortlessly locate past content, perform natural searches, and interact with text and images – all while ensuring your data remains private and you stay productive. ( Copilot plus PC experiences vary by device and market and may require updates continuing to roll out through 2025; Recall and Click to Do will be coming to European Economic Area later in 2025; timing varies. See aka.ms/copilotpluspcs)
- Indulge Your Eyes - Immerse yourself in a world of vibrant detail with a breathtaking 14" WUXGA 1920 x 1200 ultra high-resolution display. This expansive, panoramic screen is your canvas for entertainment, artistic creativity, and captivating AI experiences that will leave you in awe.
- Smart and Effortless AI - Intelligent AI solutions are at your fingertips with AcerSense. Streamline settings, optimize your video presence, and elevate communication - all with intuitive AI that’s easy to use and enhances productivity seamlessly. Just press the AcerSense key on the backlit keyboard for instant access and experience the magic of AI
- Style and Substance - The Aspire 14 Al boasts a sleek, durable, and lightweight aluminum chassis, with an ultra-modern design and a 180° lie-flat hinge for versatile and convenient use on the go. Ideal for work, study, or creative pursuits wherever you are.
What uses Copilot AI credits?
GitHub lists these features as using AI credits:
- Copilot Chat
- Copilot CLI
- Copilot cloud agent
- Copilot Spaces
- Spark
- Third-party coding agents
Code completions and next edit suggestions are not billed in AI credits and remain unlimited on paid plans.
Why does credit use vary?
Consumption depends on both the chosen model and the tokens involved. Longer conversations and complex requests can use more tokens; agent tasks can make multiple model calls, so a task that delegates several steps may consume more than a simple interactive exchange.
Paid-plan users receive a 10% discount on model costs when using auto model selection in Copilot Chat, CLI, the GitHub Copilot app, or the cloud agent. This is a documented cost reduction, not a guarantee that auto selection will choose the best model for every coding task. GitHub’s cited documentation does not provide a current full per-model token-rate table or a tested credit estimate for a representative engineering task, so teams should not promise a specific credit cost for a workflow without their own usage data.
Recommended Free Tools
Rank #2
- NEXT-GEN AI SUPERCOMPUTING ENGINE: Unlock elite performance with the HP OmniBook 5 laptop, featuring an AMD Ryzen AI 7 processor (8 cores, 16 threads) and 50 TOPS NPU. Matching Intel Core i9-13900H—and beating Ultra 7 256V by 26% and i7-1355U by 79%—this Copilot+ PC delivers superior multi-core speed and localized AI acceleration. The HP OmniBook laptop is perfectly engineered to crush professional content creation, heavy coding, complex data analysis, AI productivity, and intense multitasking
- EXPANSIVE 2K TOUCHSCREEN VISUALS: Enjoy sharp and immersive visuals on the HP 16 inch laptop AI PC, featuring a 16 inch WUXGA (1920 x 1200) IPS display with touch support, anti-glare technology that helps reduce reflections in bright environments, and a productivity-friendly 16:10 aspect ratio. With AMD Radeon 860M graphics and FreeSync support, this HP 16" touchscreen laptop provides smooth, stable visuals for design work, media streaming, and light gaming
- HIGH-SPEED MEMORY & EXPANDABLE STORAGE: Handle demanding workloads efficiently with 16GB onboard LPDDR5x memory running at speeds of up to 7500 MT/s, ensuring responsive multitasking and fast application switching. Paired with 1TB PCIe SSD storage, this high-performance HP Omnibook 16 laptop delivers rapid boot times and generous space for business files, creative projects, software libraries, and everyday computing needs
- PRO-GRADE PORTABILITY & COMFORT: Built with portability and user comfort in mind, this Ryzen AI 7 laptop features a full-size backlit keyboard with an integrated numeric keypad for efficient typing even in dim environments. Enclosed in a stamped glacier silver aluminum chassis weighing only 3.97 pounds, this premium touch screen laptop is an excellent business laptop for professionals, students, and users who need productivity on the go
- ENTERPRISE SECURITY AND PRIVACY FEATURES: Keep your data protected with enterprise-level security features, including a built-in 1080p IR camera with HP True Vision technology and Windows Hello facial recognition for secure authentication. This secure AI laptop computer provides an instant physical camera privacy shutter and a dedicated microphone mute key with an active LED light, ensuring privacy during meetings and everyday use
When do Copilot credits reset?
Included credits do not roll over. They reset at 00:00:00 UTC on the first day of each calendar month, regardless of the subscription billing date. GitHub’s usage dashboard shows credits available and used, making it the appropriate place for an individual Pro user to check current consumption.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.What happens when an individual user runs out?
GitHub documents three choices for an individual whose included credits are exhausted:
- Upgrade to a higher plan.
- Set a budget for additional usage, if available for the account.
- Wait for the next monthly reset.
Do not assume additional usage is automatically enabled or uncapped; GitHub notes it may be capped. The usage dashboard and account billing controls are the practical places to check current availability and consumption.
Rank #3
- MICRO-EDGE HD TOUCHSCREEN DISPLAY - Reach out and control your PC with just pinch, tap, or swipe, for a totally intuitive experience with flicker-free, 1366 x 768 resolution visuals
- AMD RYZEN PROCESSOR - Experience acceleration for your work and creativity in a laptop powered by an AMD Ryzen 5 processor and boosted with incredible battery life
- AMD RADEON GRAPHICS - Experience high performance for all your entertainment whether it's games or movies
- STORAGE AND MEMORY - 512 GB PCIe NVMe M.2 SSD performs up to 15x faster than a traditional hard drive; and 8 GB LPDDR5 RAM memory is power efficient and provides speedy, responsive performance
- GET A FRESH PERSPECTIVE WITH WINDOWS 11 HOME - From a rejuvenated Start menu, to new ways to connect to your favorite people, news, games, and content—Windows 11 is the place to think, express, and create in a natural way
Does this apply to every Copilot Pro account?
No. GitHub says usage-based billing replaced request-based billing on June 1, 2026. Some existing annual Pro and Pro+ subscribers who remained on legacy billing continue to be governed by premium requests and model multipliers until that annual plan ends. That is a limited transition exception; confirm the account’s billing status before using the credit figures to explain an individual’s allowance. GitHub describes legacy-plan options in What changed with Copilot billing (legacy).
Windows Errors? Fix Them Before They Spread
Repair common Windows errors and clear accumulated junk for a smoother, more stable PC - no reinstall needed.Free scan · no reinstallCrashes, No Sound, or Screen Glitches?
Random freezes, missing sound and display glitches usually trace back to one bad driver. Find and replace yours safely.Free scan · under a minuteHow engineering leaders can explain and manage the allowance
- Set expectations by distinguishing interactive chat from longer agent workflows; the latter may use multiple calls.
- Point developers to the usage dashboard for credits used and remaining rather than translating credits into a fixed prompt quota.
- Consider auto model selection where the documented 10% paid-user discount applies, while evaluating model suitability separately.
- Before applying the credit system, check whether an annual subscription is still on legacy billing.
- Keep IDE and client guidance current: GitHub warns that older versions may display incorrect pricing or usage, outdated terminology, or omit alerts. The documentation’s advice is version-sensitive and does not establish minimum versions here.
For organizational accounts, GitHub’s billing overview says organization and enterprise credits may be pooled at the billing-entity level. The cited overview does not establish detailed current organizational allocations or controls, so individual Pro allowances should not be assumed to describe an organization’s budget. See GitHub Copilot billing.
Quick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.




