There is no single best free and open source visual automation tool for every job. For API-connected business workflows, n8n is a candidate if its license fits your use; for flow-based automation where permissive licensing matters, consider Node-RED. For scheduled data pipelines, Apache Airflow may be a better fit than a general business-automation builder. The right choice depends on the work, license, deployment model, integrations, and ongoing maintenance—not simply whether a tool has a free edition.
What kind of automation do you need?
Visual automation tools cover different workloads. A workflow that passes data between web applications is not the same as a flow that responds to device events or an orchestrator that schedules data pipelines. Pick the workload first, then compare tools that are designed to handle it.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
- API-connected business workflows: Look for triggers and actions that connect the services you use, transform data, and let you extend behavior where built-in steps are insufficient.
- Event- and device-oriented flows: A flow-based model such as Node-RED may suit work organized around events and connected systems. Check that the nodes you need are available and appropriately licensed.
- Scheduled data pipelines: Apache Airflow is described as oriented to scheduled data pipelines in an n8n-authored comparison, rather than general business automation. Treat it as an adjacent option when that is your workload, not as a universal substitute.
How the main options differ
This is a selection guide, not a tested ranking. The comparison below reflects official documentation for n8n and Node-RED, plus an n8n-authored comparison published in July 2026 for the other projects. Verify current licenses, features, and deployment options directly before choosing.
| Tool | Likely fit | License evidence | Deployment evidence | What to verify |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| n8n | Visual workflows connecting applications through APIs, with data manipulation and custom-node options. | Its free self-hosted Community edition uses the Sustainable Use License (SUL); n8n describes its license as fair-code. | Official docs list npm, Docker, self-hosting, and cloud options. | Whether SUL permits your exact use, required integrations, custom-node needs, and which governance features are available in your chosen edition. |
| Node-RED | Flow-based automation where its model and available nodes fit the task. | Node-RED itself is Apache 2.0. Third-party nodes may have different licenses. | Not stated in the cited license source. | Whether the nodes you need exist, their individual terms, and whether your chosen deployment meets operational needs. |
| Activepieces | A visual builder described as approachable in the n8n-authored comparison. | That comparison identifies MIT licensing; confirm the current upstream project license. | The comparison lists self-hosting and cloud. | Current license, edition boundaries, connector catalog, and required governance features. |
| Windmill | An adjacent workflow and orchestration option; assess against your specific workload. | The n8n-authored comparison identifies AGPLv3. | Not stated here. | Current project terms, deployment choices, and whether its workflow model matches your use. |
| Apache Airflow | Scheduled data pipelines, as characterized by the n8n-authored comparison. | The comparison identifies Apache 2.0. | Not stated here. | Whether pipeline orchestration—not general app-to-app business automation—is the requirement, plus current deployment and feature details. |
| Kestra | An adjacent orchestration option; determine fit from your workload and current project documentation. | The n8n-authored comparison identifies Apache 2.0. | Not stated here. | Current license, deployment choices, integrations, and edition-specific controls. |
What the licenses mean for a free or commercial deployment
Free to use is not the same as unrestricted open source
A no-cost self-hosted edition can still carry license conditions, and hosting it yourself brings infrastructure and maintenance responsibilities. n8n’s official licensing FAQ says its self-hosted Community edition is under SUL. It allows an organization to build and run workflows for clients when those clients cannot access the editor or change workflow logic. The FAQ says a commercial license is needed if external users can build or configure workflows, if n8n is hosted as a service, or if it is white-labeled. Read the current terms for your specific arrangement before adopting it: n8n Sustainable Use License FAQ.
#1 Best Overall
- Read Before You Buy — No Video Output: These adapters support charging and USB 2.0 data transfer, but cannot transmit video signals. Except for standard USB webcams (which use USB data only), they are not compatible with HDMI/DisplayPort cables, video-capable USB-C hubs, or docking stations with video output.
- Convert USB-A Ports to USB-C: Designed to connect USB-C earphones, cables, flash drives, card readers, and other USB-C accessories to standard USB-A ports. Plug-and-play with no drivers or software required.
- Aluminum Alloy Housing: Built with a sturdy aluminum alloy shell that aids in heat dissipation and protects against daily wear and scratches. Designed to maintain a stable and secure connection.
- Compact & Travel-Friendly: The ultra-compact design allows the adapter to stay plugged into your device without blocking adjacent ports or adding bulk, reducing wear and tear on your original USB ports.
- 12-Month Warranty: Backed by a 12-month manufacturer warranty for peace of mind. Designed to meet strict quality control standards for reliable everyday performance.
Check the core project and every extension
Node-RED’s project documentation states that Node-RED is licensed under Apache 2.0, while warning that third-party nodes may carry separate terms. The core license therefore does not automatically establish the license for every component in a flow. Review the licenses of the nodes your deployment will use: Node-RED license information.
The July 2026 n8n comparison identifies Activepieces as MIT, Windmill as AGPLv3, and Airflow and Kestra as Apache 2.0. Because this is a vendor-authored comparison rather than each project’s own license statement, treat those labels as leads and confirm them against current upstream terms before commercial redistribution, hosting, or customer access: n8n’s workflow automation tools comparison.
Rank #2
- 5-in-1 USB-C Hub: Experience comprehensive connectivity featuring a Power Delivery input, two USB-A 2.0 ports, a USB-A 3.0 port, and an HDMI port. (Note: The USB-C power delivery input port is only for connecting an external wall charger to power your laptop and cannot power peripheral devices.)
- 90W Pass-Through Charging: Achieve optimal charging with 90W pass-through power to your laptop, supported by a total input of 100W, with the hub reserving 10W for operational efficiency. (Note: Wall charger not included.)
- Quick Data Transfers: Accelerate your productivity with rapid data transfers using a high-speed 5Gbps USB 3.0 port and two 480Mbps USB 2.0 ports.
- 4K HDMI Display: Enhance your visual experience with a hub capable of delivering 4K resolution at 30Hz in both mirror and extend modes. Please note that this hub is compatible with MacBook (macOS 12 and newer), Windows 10 and 11, ChromeOS, and laptops equipped with DP Alt Mode and Power Delivery. Note: This device is not compatible with Linux.
- What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (5-in-1, 4K HDMI), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
How to choose without relying on generic feature claims
- Write down the workflow. Name the event that starts it, the systems it must connect, the data it transforms, and what should happen when a step fails. This distinguishes app-to-app automation from event flows and scheduled pipelines.
- Check your exact integrations. Confirm that the required connectors or nodes exist and support the operations you need. A broad integration claim is not proof that a particular trigger, action, or data field is supported.
- Decide where it will run. Choose among local or self-hosted operation and vendor-hosted service based on data handling, availability, and who will maintain it. For n8n, the official docs list npm, Docker, self-hosting, and cloud as options: n8n hosting options.
- Review license and access model together. Identify who can edit workflows, whether customers will configure them, and whether you will offer the tool as a hosted or white-labeled service. Then read the applicable project and extension licenses.
- Test extensibility and operations. Determine whether custom code or nodes are necessary, and how the chosen edition handles credentials, access controls, logs, and governance. Check current official feature matrices; features can vary by edition.
- Account for maintenance. Self-hosting shifts responsibility for operating the service to you. Include updates, backups, monitoring, access security, and recovery in the decision rather than comparing only software license fees.
Which tool should you shortlist?
Shortlist n8n for API-connected visual workflows
n8n’s documentation describes connecting applications through APIs and manipulating data with little or no code, and it lists custom nodes as an extension option. It is worth evaluating when visual flexibility and extension matter, provided the SUL terms fit your deployment. Product details and hosting documentation are at n8n Docs.
Free tools Windows power users keep installed
One-click scans. No signup required.
Shortlist Node-RED when its flow model and license fit
Node-RED is a reasonable candidate when a flow-based approach suits the task and Apache 2.0 licensing for the core project is important. The practical check is whether the specific third-party nodes you need are available and compatible with your license requirements.
Rank #3
- Sleek 7-in-1 USB-C Hub: Features an HDMI port, two USB-A 3.0 ports, and a USB-C data port, each providing 5Gbps transfer speeds. It also includes a USB-C PD input port for charging up to 100W and dual SD and TF card slots, all in a compact design.
- Flawless 4K@60Hz Video with HDMI: Delivers exceptional clarity and smoothness with its 4K@60Hz HDMI port, making it ideal for high-definition presentations and entertainment. (Note: Only the HDMI port supports video projection; the USB-C port is for data transfer only.)
- Double Up on Efficiency: The two USB-A 3.0 ports and a USB-C port support a fast 5Gbps data rate, significantly boosting your transfer speeds and improving productivity.
- Fast and Reliable 85W Charging: Offers high-capacity, speedy charging for laptops up to 85W, so you spend less time tethered to an outlet and more time being productive.
- What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (7-in-1), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
Look at adjacent orchestration projects only when the workload matches
Activepieces, Windmill, Apache Airflow, and Kestra appear in the n8n team’s July 2026 comparison, but they should not be treated as interchangeable tools. The comparison characterizes Airflow around scheduled data pipelines and describes differences in deployment and enterprise governance. Verify the upstream project’s current license, connector coverage, deployment paths, and feature boundaries before deciding.
Quick Recap
Best Value
- 5-in-1 Connectivity: Equipped with a 4K HDMI port, a 5 Gbps USB-C data port, two 5 Gbps USB-A ports, and a USB C 100W PD-IN port. Note: The USB C 100W PD-IN port supports only charging and does not support data transfer devices such as headphones or speakers.
- Powerful Pass-Through Charging: Supports up to 85W pass-through charging so you can power up your laptop while you use the hub. Note: Pass-through charging requires a charger (not included). Note: To achieve full power for iPad, we recommend using a 45W wall charger.
- Transfer Files in Seconds: Move files to and from your laptop at speeds of up to 5 Gbps via the USB-C and USB-A data ports. Note: The USB C 5Gbps Data port does not support video output.
- HD Display: Connect to the HDMI port to stream or mirror content to an external monitor in resolutions of up to 4K@30Hz. Note: The USB-C ports do not support video output.
- What You Get: Anker 332 USB-C Hub (5-in-1), welcome guide, our worry-free 18-month warranty, and friendly customer service.
Rank #4
- Dual Converters, Infinite Potential:Includes 2× USB C male to USB A female adapters and 2× USB A male to USB C female adapters. Perfect for a wide range of uses—tablets with Bluetooth keyboards, expand USB ports on macbook, and more. Two different converters for all your daily needs
- Next-Level 10Gbps & 3A Charging: No more slow 480Mbps, this usb to usb c adapter has a transfer speed of up to 10Gbps, allowing you to do more transferring in less time. This usb adapter fits both USB A and USB C charger, supporting up to 3A fast charging
- Upgraded Exquisite Craftsmanship: With an aluminum alloy housing and metal connector, the usbc to usb adapter is extremely durable and sturdy. Rigorously tested to withstand more than 10,000 times of plugging and unplugging, ensuring long-lasting performance
- Broad Compatible: The usb c to usb adapter widely supports all USB C/ USB A devices like laptops, tablets, cellphones, car chargers, and phone chargers. Such as compatible with MacBook Pro/Air 2023/2022, Thunderbolt 4/3 Devices,Apple MagSafe Watch 9/8/7/SE/Ultra, iPad Pro 2022/2021, Samsung Galaxy S23/S20/S10, and iPhone 17/16/15 Pro. Plug and play
- Please Note: To reach 10Gbps speed, keep the cable under 3.3 ft. For USB A Male to USB C adapters, try flipping the USB C connector. USB C Male to USB A adapters support bidirectional 10Gbps transfer within 3.3 ft
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.




