laya-phishield describes a local phishing detector that combines deterministic checks on email headers and links with a scored set of phishing signals. Its author reports an AUC of 0.953 on a 183-email benchmark and frames local decisions as costing $0 per 1,000 emails. Those figures describe the author’s specific benchmark and cost framing—not independently verified performance or a guarantee for other mailboxes.
How laya-phishield says it detects phishing
The project article describes a two-layer workflow. A deterministic pre-pass examines headers and URLs for suspicious indicators; a second layer scores a set of narrow yes-or-no signals. A logistic-regression head combines those signals into a risk score, with feature contributions exposed so an analyst can inspect why a message was marked risky. This is the project author’s description of the design, not an independent technical audit. Project article
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
Deterministic checks
The first layer looks for indicators such as a mismatch between the sender and reply-to address, punycode or IP-literal links, domain homoglyphs, and SPF or DKIM failures. These are signals to assess, not proof on their own that a message is malicious.
Scored signals
The second layer uses eight yes-or-no signals, including requests for credentials, urgency pressure, brand impersonation, and risk from external links. The logistic-regression head combines them. Showing feature contributions is intended to make the score inspectable; it does not by itself establish that the score is accurate in every environment.
#1 Best Overall
- Read Before You Buy — No Video Output: These adapters support charging and USB 2.0 data transfer, but cannot transmit video signals. Except for standard USB webcams (which use USB data only), they are not compatible with HDMI/DisplayPort cables, video-capable USB-C hubs, or docking stations with video output.
- Convert USB-A Ports to USB-C: Designed to connect USB-C earphones, cables, flash drives, card readers, and other USB-C accessories to standard USB-A ports. Plug-and-play with no drivers or software required.
- Aluminum Alloy Housing: Built with a sturdy aluminum alloy shell that aids in heat dissipation and protects against daily wear and scratches. Designed to maintain a stable and secure connection.
- Compact & Travel-Friendly: The ultra-compact design allows the adapter to stay plugged into your device without blocking adjacent ports or adding bulk, reducing wear and tear on your original USB ports.
- 12-Month Warranty: Backed by a 12-month manufacturer warranty for peace of mind. Designed to meet strict quality control standards for reliable everyday performance.
What the reported AUC and cost mean
The project author reports an AUC of 0.953 for the composite method in 2026. The benchmark contained 183 emails—105 legitimate and 78 phishing—drawn from the Nazario phishing corpus and Enron. The article says the data used a temporal split and were deduplicated with MinHash/LSH. These details describe the author’s benchmark; independent replication, dataset versions and licensing, and detailed split artifacts are not established here. Benchmark article
AUC summarizes how well a scoring method ranks positive examples above negative ones across thresholds; it is not the same as the fraction of emails correctly classified at one operating threshold. The author also reports recall of 0.808 at threshold 0.5. Neither figure establishes how the detector will perform on a different organization’s mail, new attack patterns, or a different mix of legitimate and phishing messages.
Rank #2
- 5-in-1 USB-C Hub: Experience comprehensive connectivity featuring a Power Delivery input, two USB-A 2.0 ports, a USB-A 3.0 port, and an HDMI port. (Note: The USB-C power delivery input port is only for connecting an external wall charger to power your laptop and cannot power peripheral devices.)
- 90W Pass-Through Charging: Achieve optimal charging with 90W pass-through power to your laptop, supported by a total input of 100W, with the hub reserving 10W for operational efficiency. (Note: Wall charger not included.)
- Quick Data Transfers: Accelerate your productivity with rapid data transfers using a high-speed 5Gbps USB 3.0 port and two 480Mbps USB 2.0 ports.
- 4K HDMI Display: Enhance your visual experience with a hub capable of delivering 4K resolution at 30Hz in both mirror and extend modes. Please note that this hub is compatible with MacBook (macOS 12 and newer), Windows 10 and 11, ChromeOS, and laptops equipped with DP Alt Mode and Power Delivery. Note: This device is not compatible with Linux.
- What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (5-in-1, 4K HDMI), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
The author’s “$0 per 1,000 emails” framing refers to local decisions. The same article says its benchmark pipeline—not those local decisions—calls a hosted model to generate and judge baselines. The figure is not a verified total cost of ownership: it excludes a reader’s hardware and operational costs, among other possible expenses. Benchmark article
What’s actually slowing this PC down?
Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.
How the compared variants trade off missed phishing and false alarms
The author’s comparison reports the following results on the described benchmark. Precision and recall are at threshold 0.5 where applicable; the common-recall comparison is reported separately.
Rank #3
- Sleek 7-in-1 USB-C Hub: Features an HDMI port, two USB-A 3.0 ports, and a USB-C data port, each providing 5Gbps transfer speeds. It also includes a USB-C PD input port for charging up to 100W and dual SD and TF card slots, all in a compact design.
- Flawless 4K@60Hz Video with HDMI: Delivers exceptional clarity and smoothness with its 4K@60Hz HDMI port, making it ideal for high-definition presentations and entertainment. (Note: Only the HDMI port supports video projection; the USB-C port is for data transfer only.)
- Double Up on Efficiency: The two USB-A 3.0 ports and a USB-C port support a fast 5Gbps data rate, significantly boosting your transfer speeds and improving productivity.
- Fast and Reliable 85W Charging: Offers high-capacity, speedy charging for laptops up to 85W, so you spend less time tethered to an outlet and more time being productive.
- What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (7-in-1), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
| Method | AUC | Precision at threshold 0.5 | Recall at threshold 0.5 | False-positive rate at 95% recall |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Keyword rules | 0.594 | 1.000 | 0.051 | not stated in the project article |
| Forced choice | 0.944 | 0.902 | 0.590 | 0.124 |
| Composite | 0.953 | 0.913 | 0.808 | 0.210 |
All figures in the table are reported by the project author for the small, described benchmark; they are not independent measurements. The author’s 95%-recall comparison shows why the highest AUC is not automatically the best operational choice: at that recall target, the forced-choice variant has a lower reported false-positive rate than the composite, 0.124 versus 0.210. A workflow that prioritizes catching more phishing may tolerate more false alarms; one where analyst capacity is scarce may prefer fewer false alarms, even if more phishing is missed. Benchmark article Variant comparison
The project article says the composite includes deterministic header and URL checks. It does not establish the same checks for the forced-choice variant, so the variants should not be treated as interchangeable configurations with only a different threshold. Choose an operating point using the costs of false alarms and missed phishing in the actual workflow, then validate it on representative mail before relying on it.
Rank #4
- Dual Converters, Infinite Potential:Includes 2× USB C male to USB A female adapters and 2× USB A male to USB C female adapters. Perfect for a wide range of uses—tablets with Bluetooth keyboards, expand USB ports on macbook, and more. Two different converters for all your daily needs
- Next-Level 10Gbps & 3A Charging: No more slow 480Mbps, this usb to usb c adapter has a transfer speed of up to 10Gbps, allowing you to do more transferring in less time. This usb adapter fits both USB A and USB C charger, supporting up to 3A fast charging
- Upgraded Exquisite Craftsmanship: With an aluminum alloy housing and metal connector, the usbc to usb adapter is extremely durable and sturdy. Rigorously tested to withstand more than 10,000 times of plugging and unplugging, ensuring long-lasting performance
- Broad Compatible: The usb c to usb adapter widely supports all USB C/ USB A devices like laptops, tablets, cellphones, car chargers, and phone chargers. Such as compatible with MacBook Pro/Air 2023/2022, Thunderbolt 4/3 Devices,Apple MagSafe Watch 9/8/7/SE/Ultra, iPad Pro 2022/2021, Samsung Galaxy S23/S20/S10, and iPhone 17/16/15 Pro. Plug and play
- Please Note: To reach 10Gbps speed, keep the cable under 3.3 ft. For USB A Male to USB C adapters, try flipping the USB C connector. USB C Male to USB A adapters support bidirectional 10Gbps transfer within 3.3 ft
Installation and example commands in the project article
The project article gives these commands and workflow examples. They are the author’s instructions; current package availability, versions, compatibility, and successful installation have not been independently confirmed.
Recommended Free Tools
-
Install the package:
pip install laya-phishield -
Scan an email file in
.emlformat withlaya-scan. The article does not specify a complete command line in the material described here.Best Value
SaleAnker USB C Hub, 5-in-1 USBC to HDMI Splitter with 4K Display- 5-in-1 Connectivity: Equipped with a 4K HDMI port, a 5 Gbps USB-C data port, two 5 Gbps USB-A ports, and a USB C 100W PD-IN port. Note: The USB C 100W PD-IN port supports only charging and does not support data transfer devices such as headphones or speakers.
- Powerful Pass-Through Charging: Supports up to 85W pass-through charging so you can power up your laptop while you use the hub. Note: Pass-through charging requires a charger (not included). Note: To achieve full power for iPad, we recommend using a 45W wall charger.
- Transfer Files in Seconds: Move files to and from your laptop at speeds of up to 5 Gbps via the USB-C and USB-A data ports. Note: The USB C 5Gbps Data port does not support video output.
- HD Display: Connect to the HDMI port to stream or mirror content to an external monitor in resolutions of up to 4K@30Hz. Note: The USB-C ports do not support video output.
- What You Get: Anker 332 USB-C Hub (5-in-1), welcome guide, our worry-free 18-month warranty, and friendly customer service.
-
Serve an API with
laya-serve; the project article also mentions a Streamlit demo.
Consult the project article for its exact invocation details rather than assuming flags or deployment settings. Project article
What the project is—and is not—positioned to do
The author explicitly states: “this is not a replacement for a production secure email gateway. It is an explainable, local signal layer for analysts and researchers.” That distinction matters: the article presents a tool and a limited benchmark, not evidence that it supplies the full protections or operational controls expected of a production gateway. Project disclaimer
The most defensible takeaway is narrow: the project describes a locally run scoring layer with inspectable signals, and its author reports promising results on a small benchmark. The reported metrics can help readers understand the author’s experiment, but they should not be generalized into a performance guarantee or used alone to justify production deployment.
Quick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.




