Halloween DealsAmazon USHalloween week deals: useful picks before month-endAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.Check DealsPC HealthRecommendedCrashes, freezes, slowdowns? Check your PC nowSpot repairable issues before they interrupt work.Check PCHalloween DealsAmazon USOctober picks are moving - compare before checkoutAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.See Picks×
Skip to content
World desk4 min

Disabled? Apply for Free IT and Cybersecurity Training in Pensacola

People with disabilities in Northwest Florida, including veterans with service-connected disabilities, can apply to GCE's free 14-week abilIT IT training in Pensacola. Here is who qualifies, what it covers, and how to apply.

Free tools Windows power users keep installed

One-click scans. No signup required.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

If you have a disability and live in Northwest Florida, you can apply to abilIT, a free, 14-week IT training program in Pensacola run locally by Global Connections to Employment (GCE) in partnership with Melwood. Veterans with a service-connected disability are also encouraged to apply. GCE says it is recruiting for upcoming cohorts. The program pages do not publish the next Pensacola start date, the application deadline, or the number of seats, so confirm those details with GCE before you plan around a class.

Who qualifies

GCE’s abilIT program page lists the following criteria for its Northwest Florida program:

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

  • A disability, or disabled-veteran status, including veterans with a service-connected disability.
  • A high school diploma, GED, or equivalent.
  • An interest in IT and some existing skill set. GCE lists intermediate IT experience or proficiency with Microsoft Excel, Word, and PowerPoint.
  • Eligibility to work in the United States.

Melwood’s national abilIT description uses slightly different wording for the skills requirement. It asks for some intermediate IT experience or use of Microsoft Office, and it lists U.S. citizenship and residency. Where the two differ, follow the instructions of the local provider, GCE. If you are unsure whether your background counts, ask GCE before you apply.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

What the 14 weeks cover

Both GCE and Melwood describe abilIT as a 14-week program that combines technical instruction with workplace and professional development, plus job-search and employment support. Participants are prepared to sit for industry certifications and to pursue entry-level IT work. The certifications named differ by source:

  • GCE’s local page names CompTIA A+, Network+, and Security+ preparation.
  • Melwood’s program page lists IT Fundamentals+ and A+ exam preparation.

Treat the credential list as a starting point and confirm the exact course sequence with GCE. Neither source states whether certification exam fees or vouchers are covered for the Pensacola cohort, so ask that question directly. Likewise, do not assume you must buy books, equipment, or tools; the program information does not say that you do.

What GCE says the program is for

Katrina Simpkins, GCE senior director of community employment services, described the goal this way: “The abilIT program helps close that gap by giving participants the opportunity to prepare for industry-recognized credentials, connect with employers and build lifelong careers in technology.”

A September 2026 Pensacola News Journal report, republished by AOL, described the local initiative as aiming to give “at least 60 disabled Northwest Florida residents” a pathway into IT and cybersecurity, backed by a $250,000 legislative appropriation. In that report Simpkins said: “We’re hoping the curriculum we have will give students the foundation that they need and the confidence to go on and get their certifications.” These figures come from that news report, not from GCE’s or Melwood’s program pages.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

How to apply

  1. Open the GCE abilIT page and complete the abilIT interest form linked there.
  2. Call GCE at 850-495-2351, or email the address listed on the program page, to ask about the next Pensacola cohort, screening, and local requirements.
  3. Gather your eligibility documents before you submit: proof of disability or disabled-veteran status, your high school diploma, GED, or equivalent, and proof of U.S. work eligibility. Melwood’s national guidance lists these items, but GCE is the authority on what it accepts.
  4. Submit the application online. Melwood’s national instructions say a referral may be accepted, but the candidate still has to apply online.

Timing: what is confirmed and what is not

GCE’s September 22, 2026 announcement says applications are being accepted for upcoming Northwest Florida cohorts. Melwood’s national instructions say local programs run on a rolling basis and tell applicants to check dates with their local provider. As of this writing, no published source gives the exact Pensacola start date, deadline, or selection timeline. If you see an older projected start date in news coverage, check it with GCE before relying on it.

Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

If abilIT is not the right fit

Two other routes may apply in some cases, but each has its own eligibility rules and approval steps. Neither one replaces abilIT automatically.

VA Veteran Readiness and Employment (VR&E)

For a veteran whose service-connected disability affects employment, VA Veteran Readiness and Employment may provide counseling, job training, and vocational or post-secondary education. According to VA, you may apply with a non-dishonorable discharge and a service-connected VA rating of at least 10%. A Vocational Rehabilitation Counselor decides entitlement after an evaluation. VR&E is a separate benefit, not an extension of abilIT.

CareerSource Escarosa and WIOA-eligible providers

CareerSource Escarosa’s PY 2025–2026 eligible-provider list includes IT and cybersecurity options. These include a cybersecurity program at Pensacola State College, CompTIA Security+ and Network+ training through Applied Technology Academy, and CompTIA A+ and Network+ training through My IT Future Institute. Appearing on a WIOA eligible-provider list does not by itself establish that you qualify for funding or that a seat is open. Contact CareerSource Escarosa to ask about individual eligibility and funding.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

How the three routes compare

Factor abilIT (GCE, Pensacola) VA VR&E CareerSource Escarosa / WIOA provider training
Who qualifies Person with a disability or disabled veteran, diploma or equivalent, IT or Office skills, U.S. work eligibility Veteran with a non-dishonorable discharge and a service-connected VA rating of at least 10%, approved by a Vocational Rehabilitation Counselor Individual eligibility determined by CareerSource Escarosa; list inclusion alone does not confirm it
Cost to you Described as no-cost to accepted candidates Not stated in the VA source reviewed Depends on individual funding approval; not stated for specific programs
Length and credentials 14 weeks; GCE names A+, Network+, and Security+ preparation Varies by approved training plan; not stated Varies by provider; examples include Security+, Network+, A+, and a cybersecurity program at Pensacola State College
Timing Rolling cohorts; exact Pensacola dates not published Depends on counselor evaluation and approval Depends on provider schedule and funding approval; current availability not stated
Job-search support Included, per GCE and Melwood Counseling and vocational services Not stated

Questions to settle with GCE before you enroll

  • When does the next Pensacola cohort start, and when does the application window close?
  • What does the screening process involve, and how long does selection take?
  • Are certification exam fees or vouchers included for my cohort?
  • Which credentials will my course sequence cover?
  • Which documents do you accept as proof of disability or veteran status?

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

More from the Wire

  1. World desk4 min
    How to Spot an AI Voice Scam Before Sending MoneyDon’t rely on how a caller sounds. Pause, call back through a known number, and verify the emergency with another trusted person before sending money.
  2. Mountain View desk4 min
    Google’s SynthID Detector: How to Check AI-Generated Images, Video and AudioGoogle’s SynthID Detector looks for an embedded watermark in supported images, video and audio. Here is what its results do—and do not—show.
  3. Redmond desk20 min
    How to create a link to File or Folder in Windows 11Windows 11 gives you several ways to point to a file or folder without moving or duplicating it. You can create a desktop shortcut,…
Recommended PC Tool
Recommended PC Tool
Windows Errors? Fix Them Before They SpreadFree repair scan
Crashes, No Sound, or Screen Glitches?Free driver scan

Two free Windows tools

One Free Minute Could Fix That PC

Before you go - each of these free tools takes about a minute and tackles what quietly slows a Windows PC down.

Special offer. View Outbyte info, uninstall instructions, EULA, and Privacy Policy.