Quick wins for a faster PC:
Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsFix Now →Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteDriver Scan →Yes. You can build an iOS app without installing Xcode on your own computer, because cloud build services such as Expo EAS Build and Codemagic compile the app on remote machines. Two limits matter. Cloud builds still follow Apple’s signing, provisioning, and App Store rules, and skipping a local Mac usually means testing on physical iPhones and iPads rather than in the Simulator, which ships as part of Xcode on macOS.
What “without Xcode” means in practice
Xcode is Apple’s development environment. On a Mac it bundles the compiler, the Simulator, and the signing tools. A cloud workflow moves compilation to a remote build machine, so you can write code in another editor and never open Xcode on your own computer. It does not remove Apple’s toolchain from the process. The remote machine still compiles with Apple’s build tools, and signing still depends on certificates and provisioning profiles tied to your Apple Developer account.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
That affects version choices. Apple’s upload guidance currently lists Xcode 26 or later as the build version for iOS apps uploaded for customer distribution or TestFlight. The public material reviewed for this article does not establish which Xcode version each cloud service uses by default, so confirm the version your build machine runs before you prepare a release.
What’s actually slowing this PC down?
Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.
Choose a cloud build path
The two services below are the most direct documented routes. They differ mainly in project type and in how far they go toward release.
#1 Best Overall
- Used Book in Good Condition
| Path | Best fit | Apple account and signing | Installs on a physical device | TestFlight distribution |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Expo EAS Build | Projects in Expo’s supported workflow | An Apple Developer account is required for device signing credentials and device registration through a provisioning profile | Yes. The cloud development build (in .ipa format) is installed on the device and connected to the Expo development server | Not stated in the Expo device-build guide cited below |
| Codemagic | Native iOS, Flutter, and React Native projects, including teams with an existing repository | Starts with an unsigned build; Apple signing credentials are added for signed builds | Not stated in the Codemagic guide cited below | Yes. Signed builds can be distributed to TestFlight, or submitted as store releases |
Expo EAS Build
Expo’s official guide explains how to create a cloud iOS development build for a physical device. The route has the following requirements:
- An Expo project in the workflow that Expo supports. Projects outside that workflow are not covered by this guide.
- An Apple Developer account, which supplies the signing credentials.
- Your test device registered through a provisioning profile, so Apple will allow the build to run on it.
- A development build that you install on the device, which then connects to the Expo development server.
Source: Expo EAS documentation.
Codemagic
Codemagic describes a cloud CI/CD pipeline for native iOS, Flutter, and React Native projects. Its first-signed-build guide follows this sequence:
- Connect the project’s repository to Codemagic.
- Run an unsigned build first to confirm the project compiles in the cloud environment.
- Add your Apple signing credentials so the build can be signed.
- Distribute the signed build to TestFlight, or submit it as a store release.
Source: Codemagic First Release Pipeline.
Uploading the build and distributing it
A cloud build still has to reach App Store Connect before testers or reviewers can see it. Apple’s upload guidance says builds can be uploaded with Xcode, the App Store Connect API, Transporter, or altool. Choosing any option other than Xcode lets you keep Xcode off your computer, because the upload no longer requires launching the Xcode app. Whichever tool you use, the build must still meet Apple’s current version requirements described above.
Source: Apple upload guidance.
TestFlight beta testing
TestFlight is Apple’s beta distribution service. Developers upload builds to App Store Connect, then manage builds and invite testers there. Testers install the free TestFlight app, accept invitations, test builds, and send feedback. Builds sent to external testers are submitted to Beta App Review before those testers can install them.
Source: Apple TestFlight guidance.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Test on real devices, not only the Simulator
If you avoid a local Mac, you also avoid the Simulator, so physical devices carry most of the testing. The reason is more than convenience. Apple’s Xcode documentation on distributing an app with TestFlight states: “A simulator doesn’t run all threads that run on devices, and launching apps on devices through Xcode disables some of the watchdog timers.” Apple recommends testing across supported devices and operating-system versions, and it says a simulator alone is not enough.
A physical iPhone is the most direct way to meet that recommendation. The sources reviewed do not establish a required model or price, and you may already own a compatible device. Testing on hardware you already have is a valid starting point.
Rank #4
- Used Book in Good Condition
Requirements that will change
Apple’s submission guidance says privacy details are required for new apps and for app updates, and that Apple reviews submissions for safety, security, and reliability. Apple’s current guidance also announces a future rule: from April 2027, iOS and iPadOS apps uploaded must be built with the iOS and iPadOS 27 SDK or later and must target iOS 15 or later. Because this requirement is announced in advance and may be revised, check Apple’s current guidance before you plan a submission date.
Recommended Free Tools
Quick Recap
Source: Apple submission guidance.
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.




