For a small support team seeking a continuing free plan, the 2026 shortlist is Help Scout, Jira Service Management, Zoho Desk, and HubSpot Service Hub. Their published free-tier caps are five users, three agents, three users, and either two or three HubSpot users, respectively; the HubSpot figures conflict across sources. The best fit depends less on the word “free” than on the work: customer email, internal service requests, or support connected to an existing CRM.
Here, “free” means a plan described as ongoing, not a trial or a time-limited offer. It does not mean unlimited seats, channels, ticket volume, or zero operating cost. Published plan details can change, so the dated figures below are tied to their sources.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
Free help desk software at a glance
The table separates permanent free plans from offers that end. Seat terminology follows the cited source: vendors may define users, seats, and agents differently.
Quick wins for a faster PC:
Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsFix Now →Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteDriver Scan →Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsFree Scan →| Product | Free status and published cap | Best fit | Documented workflow or features |
|---|---|---|---|
| Help Scout | Permanent free tier; up to five users, according to the September 2026 comparison | Email-led customer support | One inbox and a Docs site, according to the comparison; it reports 100 contacts monthly in its FAQ |
| Jira Service Management | Permanent free plan; three agents, according to the September 2026 comparison and Zendesk’s 2026 guide | Internal IT, HR, and operations requests | Service desk and internal service portal; Zendesk also reports a daily email-notification limit |
| Zoho Desk | Permanent free plan; Zoho’s page says “3 free users now” | Small ticket queues needing self-service and reporting | Email ticketing, help center, multilingual help articles, macros, mobile apps, reports, and dashboards |
| HubSpot Service Hub | Permanent free plan; September comparison says two users, while Zendesk says three agents | Teams already using HubSpot CRM | Comparison reports free ticketing and live chat on CRM records; official page describes Service Hub as customer-service management software |
| Freshdesk | Not established as a permanent free tier in the cited comparison; it describes a six-month offer for two agents plus a 14-day trial | Teams eligible for the time-limited offer | The cited sources do not establish additional included features here |
| Zendesk | Not established as a permanent free tier in the cited guide; it describes a 14-day trial and a qualifying startup offer lasting six months | Teams evaluating a time-limited trial or qualifying startup offer | The cited guide does not establish a permanent free-plan cap |
Sources and dates: the September 2026 comparison was published September 19 and says figures were verified September 18; Zoho’s official page was accessed October 4, 2026; Zendesk’s guide is a vendor-authored 2026 regional guide. The available material does not establish comparable free-tier prices beyond the absence of a subscription charge, nor does it specify current regional availability for every plan. See the September 2026 comparison, Zoho Desk free-plan page, and Zendesk’s 2026 guide.
1. Help Scout: best fit for email-first customer support
The September 2026 comparison describes Help Scout as a fit for email-led customer support and reports a permanent free tier for up to five users. It includes one inbox and a Docs site, making it a candidate for a small team that can organize its customer-support work around a single shared queue and a help site.
What to know about the free tier
- The comparison reports a limit of 100 contacts monthly in its FAQ. Treat that as the comparison’s reported limit, not a guarantee about every account or current package.
- The free-tier description establishes one inbox and Docs, but does not establish which additional channels, automation features, or export options are included.
- The cited comparison does not provide a current paid upgrade price.
This is the most natural starting point among the listed options when customer email is the main workflow and five or fewer support users can operate within one inbox. The September 2026 comparison does not report hands-on tests, so it does not establish comparative ease of use or performance.
2. Jira Service Management: best fit for internal service requests
Jira Service Management is described as a service desk for IT, HR, and operations. The September comparison and Zendesk’s 2026 guide both report a permanent free plan for three agents. It is relevant when employees need a route to request help and the service team already works in Jira.
Limits and packaging to understand
- Zendesk’s regional guide reports a daily email-notification limit; it does not state the size of that limit in the cited material.
- The comparison says Jira Service Management is sold within Atlassian Service Collection in the cloud rather than as a standalone product. Cloud packaging can change.
- The comparison says prices were due to change on October 13, 2026. That date is later than the October 4, 2026 research timestamp, so the cited material does not show that the change has taken effect.
- The sources do not establish a current paid upgrade price or specify which integrations are included in the free plan.
Choose it for an internal service-desk workflow rather than assuming it is the closest match for a customer-facing shared email inbox. The September comparison and Zendesk’s guide are the sources for the stated limits.
3. Zoho Desk: a documented free tier for a small ticket queue
Zoho’s official product page says “3 free users now.” It describes email ticketing, a help center, multilingual help articles, macros, mobile apps, reports, and dashboards. It also lists ticket visibility across email, web forms, and self-service portals, so the documented feature set reaches beyond an email-only queue.
Plan details and caveats
- The three-user figure is stated on Zoho’s product page, accessed October 4, 2026; the page does not state a publication year.
- The page promotes SLA settings and escalations, but the available information does not settle how those features are configured or whether every advertised capability is included in the free tier. Do not assume universal free-plan access to them.
- The September 2026 comparison positions Zoho as a lower-cost upgrade path, but the cited material does not give a current paid price. Price depends on current plan and market.
Zoho Desk is a strong fit in this shortlist when a small team wants ticketing plus documented self-service and reporting features. Zoho’s free help desk page is the product source.
Rank #3
4. HubSpot Service Hub: best when customer support belongs in HubSpot CRM
HubSpot’s official pricing page describes Service Hub as customer-service management software. The September 2026 comparison says the permanent free plan has two users and includes ticketing and live chat on CRM records. Zendesk’s 2026 guide instead says up to three agents. The official pricing material cited here does not resolve that mismatch, so there is no single reliable free-seat figure to present as settled.
Do these 3 things before closing this tab:
1Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitches2Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problems3Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteWhen its CRM connection matters
HubSpot is most relevant if the team already uses HubSpot and needs support interactions connected to customer records. If the requirement is simply a shared email queue, a CRM-linked service platform may be more than the team needs. HubSpot’s pricing page explains that paid Professional and Enterprise access uses Service Seats and describes support by plan, but the cited material does not establish current paid prices or the exact free-plan seat count.
Check the live plan selector or account terms for the current free cap before allocating agents. Sources: HubSpot Service Hub pricing, the September 2026 comparison, and Zendesk’s 2026 guide.
Rank #4
- MULTI-ANGLE ADJUSTABLE: Concentration drops if your neck is not in a proper position when reading. This book stand can help you read at eye level by adjusting the switch to a suitable position without straining your neck, back and shoulders, good for spinal health. 7 grooves offer 7 different viewing angles. Enjoy reading in your best comfortable position.
- DURABLE & STURDY: The plate of this book stand is made of metal. It’s equipped with two strong paper clips to accommodate your giant books, print-outs, notebooks, etc.
- LIGHT WEIGHT & PORTABLE: This book stand is light-weight and can be folded easily, you can carry it everywhere. You can take it to class, library, and office or use it as a tablet holder for kids and adults.
- SIZE: 11.2 x 9.3 x 0.4 inches (28.5 x 23.6 x 1cm). Fit for home, school, office, library, dorm, etc.
What “free” means: ongoing plan versus trial or offer
A permanent free plan can remain available without a stated end date, while a trial or startup offer expires or depends on eligibility. The September 2026 comparison counts four continuing free plans—Help Scout, Jira Service Management, Zoho Desk, and HubSpot Service Hub—and distinguishes Freshdesk’s time-limited offer. Zendesk’s 2026 guide similarly distinguishes its 14-day trial from an eligible startup offer that lasts six months.
Do not compare a six-month offer with a continuing free tier as though both provide the same long-term cost. Before relying on a trial or offer, confirm eligibility, its end date, what happens to the account afterward, and whether data can be retained or exported under the applicable terms. The cited material does not establish those migration or export terms.
How to choose a free help desk for your team
- Match the workflow first. For customer email, start with Help Scout’s one-inbox positioning. For internal IT, HR, or operations requests, consider Jira Service Management. For a small ticket queue with the documented self-service features, consider Zoho Desk. For customer support tied to existing CRM records, consider HubSpot Service Hub.
- Count the people who need agent access. Compare the cap with the actual support roster, and confirm whether the vendor counts users, agents, or seats. This matters especially for HubSpot because the cited free-seat figures conflict.
- Map the channels and self-service needs. The available sources specifically document Help Scout’s inbox and Docs, Zoho’s email ticketing and web-form/self-service portal visibility, and HubSpot ticketing and live chat on CRM records as reported by the comparison. They do not establish a complete channel matrix for every tool.
- Check volume and operational constraints. Help Scout’s comparison FAQ reports 100 monthly contacts, while Zendesk’s guide notes a daily email-notification limit for Jira Service Management without stating its numeric size. A free plan’s cap can matter more than its user allowance if ticket volume is high.
- Separate current terms from dated claims. The figures above reflect sources dated September and October 2026. Confirm current region, packaging, feature access, and any paid upgrade costs with the vendor before committing the team’s process or data.
- Plan for growth and portability. The cited sources do not establish export and migration terms for these products. If moving later would disrupt support history or customer context, review the applicable account terms before making the free plan the permanent system of record.
Frequently Asked Questions
Frequently Asked Questions
Is there a completely free help desk?
Yes. The September 2026 comparison identifies continuing free plans for Help Scout, Jira Service Management, Zoho Desk, and HubSpot Service Hub. “Free” refers to no subscription charge for the stated tier; seats, channels, contacts, or other capabilities can still be limited.
Does Freshdesk have a free plan?
The cited September 2026 comparison does not establish a permanent free tier. It describes an offer for two agents lasting six months, in addition to a 14-day trial; check Freshdesk’s current offer and eligibility terms.
Which free help desk is right for a small support team?
It depends on the workflow: Help Scout is positioned for email-led customer support, Jira Service Management for internal service requests, Zoho Desk for a small ticket queue with documented self-service features, and HubSpot Service Hub for teams already using HubSpot CRM.
How many agents can use HubSpot Service Hub for free?
The cited sources disagree: the September 2026 comparison reports two users, while Zendesk’s 2026 guide reports three agents. The cited HubSpot pricing material does not settle the free cap, so use the current plan selector or account terms.
Free tools Windows power users keep installed
One-click scans. No signup required.
Is a free trial the same as a permanent free plan?
No. A trial or limited offer ends or depends on eligibility; it should not be treated as a continuing free tier. The cited sources describe time-limited Freshdesk and Zendesk offers separately from the four continuing plans.
Quick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.




