Halloween DealsAmazon USHalloween week deals: useful picks before month-endAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.Check DealsSlow PC?RecommendedPC slow today? Run a repair scan before it gets worseResolve common Windows issues and optimize system performance.Scan NowHalloween DealsAmazon USOctober picks are moving - compare before checkoutAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.See Picks×
Skip to content
World desk4 min

Amazon’s Latest Kindle Lineup Has a New Design—Here’s What Changed

Amazon’s Kindle range now separates simple reading, waterproof reading, color content, and handwriting into distinct models. Here’s what changed and how to choose.
Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Amazon’s Kindle lineup has shifted from a set of mostly black-and-white readers to a more clearly divided range: a lightweight basic Kindle, a larger Paperwhite, a color reader, and a writing-focused Scribe. The 2024 generation brought the first Colorsoft and major updates to the entry Kindle, Paperwhite, and Scribe; 2026 reporting describes a further design refresh, including flush-front displays and aluminum-backed Paperwhite and Colorsoft models. Those newer design details may vary by model and region.

What changed in the Kindle lineup?

The biggest practical change is specialization. The entry Kindle is aimed at straightforward, portable reading; Paperwhite is the general-purpose waterproof option; Colorsoft adds color for illustrated content; and Scribe is built for handwriting and working with documents. The 2024 generation also refreshed the family’s appearance, while 2026 reporting points to a newer flush-front, edge-to-edge look on models in the broader lineup.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

Amazon described the 2024 release as an “entirely new lineup.” Its announced changes ranged from a larger Paperwhite screen to a Matcha-colored basic Kindle and a paper-like writing surface on Scribe. The 2024 announcement also said the packaging used 100% recyclable materials, averaged 99% wood-fiber materials, and used less ink.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

How the models compare

Model Display and size Waterproofing Storage Battery life Best fit
Entry Kindle (2024) 6-inch-class size not stated by Amazon in the supplied specifications; 300 ppi glare-free display Not stated (Amazon, 2024) 16GB (Amazon, 2024) Not stated (Amazon, 2024) Lightweight, uncomplicated reading
Kindle Paperwhite (2024) 7-inch black-and-white display with oxide thin-film transistor Yes (Amazon, 2024) 16GB; Signature Edition has 32GB Up to three months (Amazon, 2024) General reading, travel, and use around water
Kindle Colorsoft (2024) 7-inch color display Yes (Amazon, 2024) Not stated (Amazon, 2024) Up to eight weeks (Amazon, 2024) Books and documents where color matters
Kindle Scribe (redesigned generation, 2026) 11-inch glare-free writing display Not stated (Amazon, 2026) Not stated (Amazon, 2026) Not stated (Amazon, 2026) Handwriting, notes, and document work

Battery figures are Amazon’s stated maximums, not independent laboratory results; actual runtime depends on use. The table uses Amazon’s announced specifications for the 2024 models and 2026 Scribe, not a claim that every regional configuration has identical features.

#1 Best Overall
Amazon Kindle 16 GB (2024 model) - Light and compact, with fast page turns, and high contrast ratio - Matcha
  • Light and compact - With adjustable brightness, high contrast ratio, and fast page turns.
  • Effortless reading in any light - Read comfortably with a 6“ glare-free display, adjustable front light—now 25% brighter at max setting—and dark mode.
  • Escape into your books - Tune out messages, emails, and social media with a distraction-free reading experience.
  • Read for a while - Get up to 6 weeks of battery life on a single charge.
  • Take your library with you – 16 GB storage holds thousands of books.

Which Kindle should you choose?

Choose the entry Kindle for light, simple reading

The 2024 basic Kindle weighs 158g, has a 300 ppi glare-free screen, faster page turns, and a front light that Amazon says is 25% brighter at maximum than the prior model. The Matcha color is a finish choice rather than a change in reading format. It makes sense if low weight and simplicity matter more than waterproofing, color, or handwriting tools.

Choose Paperwhite for an all-purpose reader

The 2024 Paperwhite is Amazon’s fastest Paperwhite to date, with page turns it says are 25% faster. Its 7-inch display uses an oxide thin-film transistor for higher contrast. The Signature Edition is the variant to consider if you want wireless charging, an automatically adjusting front light, and more storage; it adds those features and 32GB compared with the standard model’s 16GB.

Rank #2
Amazon Kindle 16 GB (2024 model) – Light and compact, with fast page turns, and high contrast ratio – Black
  • Light and compact - With adjustable brightness, high contrast ratio, and fast page turns.
  • Effortless reading in any light - Read comfortably with a 6“ glare-free display, adjustable front light—now 25% brighter at max setting—and dark mode.
  • Escape into your books - Tune out messages, emails, and social media with a distraction-free reading experience.
  • Read for a while - Get up to 6 weeks of battery life on a single charge.
  • Take your library with you - 16 GB storage holds thousands of books.

Choose Colorsoft for books and documents that use color

Colorsoft is Amazon’s first color Kindle. Its display combines an oxide backplane, custom light guide, and nitride LEDs with image-processing algorithms intended to retain contrast. It supports color covers and images, four highlight colors, searchable highlights, and pinch-to-zoom. That makes color useful for comics, manga, graphic novels, illustrated cookbooks, travel guides, maps, and color-coded notes. For mostly text-only novels, the added color capability may matter less than Paperwhite’s simpler black-and-white reading experience.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Amazon also lists USB-C, wireless charging, waterproofing, and an auto-adjusting front light for Colorsoft. Its stated battery life is up to eight weeks.

Rank #3
Amazon Kindle Paperwhite 16GB (2024 model) – 7" glare-free display and weeks of battery life – Black
  • Our fastest Kindle Paperwhite ever – The next-generation 7“ Paperwhite display has a higher contrast ratio and 25% faster page turns.
  • Ready for travel – The ultra-thin design has a larger glare-free screen so pages stay sharp no matter where you are.
  • Escape into your books – Your Kindle doesn’t have social media, notifications, or other distracting apps.
  • Battery life for your longest novel – A single charge via USB-C lasts up to 12 weeks.
  • Read in any light – Adjust the display from white to amber to read in bright sunlight or in the dark.

Choose Scribe for handwriting and document work

The redesigned Scribe is the writing-first option, rather than simply a larger e-reader. Amazon says its 11-inch glare-free screen has white borders and a texture-molded surface intended to feel like paper. Its reworked display stack is designed to reduce the gap between pen tip and displayed writing; Amazon also cites a quad-core chip, more memory, and updated Oxide display technology.

Scribe software includes notebook search and summarization powered by AI, handwriting refinement, Dark Mode, document import and export through Google Drive and OneDrive, and Send to Alexa features. The Scribe Colorsoft uses the same physical design with a color display and a rendering engine intended to keep color writing fluid and comfortable to view.

Rank #4
Amazon Kindle Paperwhite Signature Edition 32GB (2024 model) – Auto-adjusting front light, wireless charging, and weeks of battery life – Metallic Black
  • Our fastest Kindle Paperwhite ever – The next-generation 7“ Paperwhite display has a higher contrast ratio and 25% faster page turns.
  • Upgrade your reading experience – The Signature Edition features an auto-adjusting front light, wireless charging, and 32 GB storage.
  • Ready for travel – The ultra-thin design has a larger glare-free screen so pages stay sharp no matter where you are.
  • Escape into your books – Your Kindle doesn’t have social media, notifications, or other distracting apps.
  • Adapts to your surroundings – The auto-adjusting front light lets you read in the brightest sunlight or late into the night.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

What is new about the physical design?

The 2024 family introduced distinct design choices rather than one uniform change: Colorsoft added a color display, Paperwhite moved to a 7-inch screen, the basic Kindle gained a Matcha finish, and Scribe adopted a paper-like writing surface. The 2026 Scribe redesign is 5.4mm thick and weighs 400g; Amazon says writing and page turns are 40% faster than on its predecessor.

Free tools Windows power users keep installed

One-click scans. No signup required.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Separate 2026 market reporting describes flush-front, edge-to-edge displays and aluminum backs on Paperwhite and Colorsoft variants, along with connector pins for accessories and a Bluetooth page-turn accessory. These details are reported for the newer broader refresh, rather than established here as a feature of every Kindle or every regional model. Check the regional product listing for the specific device and accessory before buying.

Quick Recap

Bestseller No. 1
Amazon Kindle 16 GB (2024 model) - Light and compact, with fast page turns, and high contrast ratio - Matcha
Amazon Kindle 16 GB (2024 model) - Light and compact, with fast page turns, and high contrast ratio - Matcha
Light and compact - With adjustable brightness, high contrast ratio, and fast page turns.; Read for a while - Get up to 6 weeks of battery life on a single charge.
$149.99
Bestseller No. 2
Amazon Kindle 16 GB (2024 model) – Light and compact, with fast page turns, and high contrast ratio – Black
Amazon Kindle 16 GB (2024 model) – Light and compact, with fast page turns, and high contrast ratio – Black
Light and compact - With adjustable brightness, high contrast ratio, and fast page turns.; Read for a while - Get up to 6 weeks of battery life on a single charge.
$149.99
Bestseller No. 3
Amazon Kindle Paperwhite 16GB (2024 model) – 7' glare-free display and weeks of battery life – Black
Amazon Kindle Paperwhite 16GB (2024 model) – 7" glare-free display and weeks of battery life – Black
Battery life for your longest novel – A single charge via USB-C lasts up to 12 weeks.
$199.99
Bestseller No. 5
Amazon Kindle Paperwhite 16GB (2024 model) – 7' glare-free display and weeks of battery life – Jade
Amazon Kindle Paperwhite 16GB (2024 model) – 7" glare-free display and weeks of battery life – Jade
Battery life for your longest novel – A single charge via USB-C lasts up to 12 weeks.
$199.99
Best Value
Amazon Kindle Paperwhite 16GB (2024 model) – 7" glare-free display and weeks of battery life – Jade
  • Our fastest Kindle Paperwhite ever – The next-generation 7“ Paperwhite display has a higher contrast ratio and 25% faster page turns.
  • Ready for travel – The ultra-thin design has a larger glare-free screen so pages stay sharp no matter where you are.
  • Escape into your books – Your Kindle doesn’t have social media, notifications, or other distracting apps.
  • Battery life for your longest novel – A single charge via USB-C lasts up to 12 weeks.
  • Read in any light – Adjust the display from white to amber to read in bright sunlight or in the dark.

What to check before buying

  • Compare the exact model and edition: Paperwhite Signature Edition adds features not included with standard Paperwhite.
  • Check the live regional listing for price, stock, model name, storage, and bundle contents; those can change and are not specified here.
  • For a Kids Kindle, confirm the current cover, parental-control, and Amazon Kids+ terms. Bundle and subscription terms can vary.
  • For cases, charging stands, Premium Pen replacements, or page-turn remotes, verify compatibility with the exact device. New connector or Bluetooth accessory support should not be assumed across the lineup.

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

More from the Wire

  1. World desk4 min
    How to Spot an AI Voice Scam Before Sending MoneyDon’t rely on how a caller sounds. Pause, call back through a known number, and verify the emergency with another trusted person before sending money.
  2. Mountain View desk4 min
    Google’s SynthID Detector: How to Check AI-Generated Images, Video and AudioGoogle’s SynthID Detector looks for an embedded watermark in supported images, video and audio. Here is what its results do—and do not—show.
  3. Redmond desk20 min
    How to create a link to File or Folder in Windows 11Windows 11 gives you several ways to point to a file or folder without moving or duplicating it. You can create a desktop shortcut,…
Recommended PC Tool
Recommended PC Tool
Crashes, No Sound, or Screen Glitches?Free driver scan
Windows Errors? Fix Them Before They SpreadFree repair scan

Two free Windows tools

One Free Minute Could Fix That PC

Before you go - each of these free tools takes about a minute and tackles what quietly slows a Windows PC down.

Special offer. View Outbyte info, uninstall instructions, EULA, and Privacy Policy.