The Tool Desk
Outbyte PC Repair FREEClear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsFree Scan →Outbyte Driver Updater FREEFix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →Amazon’s October 8, 2026 launch brings three Android tablets with Alexa+ built in and access to Google Play Store apps: the 12-inch Alexa Tablet 12 Pro, the 11-inch Alexa Tablet 11, and the 8.7-inch Alexa Tablet 8. The 12 Pro starts at $499.99 in the United States, which makes it a sensible price and size comparison for anyone shopping for an iPad Pro. The announced specifications do not show how it performs against an iPad Pro in daily use. Every performance, battery, and display figure below is Amazon’s own claim, and no independent hands-on review or benchmark comparing the two had been published when the launch was announced.
What Amazon announced
Amazon introduced an all-new lineup under the Alexa Tablet name. All three models run Android, include Alexa+, and offer access to Google Play Store apps alongside Amazon services such as Prime Video, Kindle, Audible, Amazon Music, Amazon Quick, and Amazon Luna. Amazon’s announcement, published October 8, 2026, presents the family as new hardware. TechCrunch reported that an Amazon spokesperson described the tablets as new hardware running a new operating system, not a rebranded Fire Tablet.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
The announcement names Android but does not state an Android version, a security-update schedule, or a software support period. Readers evaluating these tablets for long-term use should treat that as an open question rather than an assumed strength or weakness.
Quick wins for a faster PC:
Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsFree Scan →Models, specifications, and US starting prices
The table lists only what Amazon announced. Where Amazon’s material is silent on a detail, the cell says so.
#1 Best Overall
- Do what you love, uninterrupted — 25% faster performance than the previous generation and is ideal for seamless streaming, reading, and gaming.
- High-def entertainment — A 10.1" 1080p Full HD display brings brilliant color to all your shows and games. Binge watch longer with 13-hour battery, 3 or 4 GB RAM, 32 or 64 GB of storage, and up to 1 TB expandable storage with micro-SD card (sold separately).
- Thin, light, durable — Tap into entertainment from anywhere with a lightweight, durable design and strengthened glass made from aluminosilicate glass. As measured in a tumble test, Fire HD 10 is 2.7 times as durable as the Samsung Galaxy Tab A8 (2022).
- Stay up to speed — Use the 5 MP front-facing camera to Zoom with family and friends, or create content for social apps like Instagram and TikTok.
- Ready when inspiration strikes — With 4,096 levels of pressure sensitivity, the Made for Amazon Stylus Pen (sold separately) offers a natural writing experience that responds to your handwriting. Use it to write, sketch in apps like OneNote, and more.
| Model | Display | Processor | Memory and storage (announced) | Wi-Fi and audio | Amazon-rated video playback | Starting US price |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Alexa Tablet 12 Pro | 12-inch, 3:2, 280 PPI, 120Hz; standard or anti-glare Nanomatte finish | 4nm eight-core chip (name not stated) | Up to 16GB RAM; entry configuration 8GB RAM and 128GB storage | Wi-Fi 6E; quad Dolby Atmos speakers | Up to 16 hours | $499.99; Nanomatte version from $549.99 |
| Alexa Tablet 11 | 11-inch, 16:10, 2560 × 1600 (2.5K), 276 PPI, 90Hz IPS | MediaTek MT8189 | 8GB RAM; 64GB or 128GB storage (per Amazon’s developer specifications) | Wi-Fi 6; Bluetooth 5.3; dual Dolby Atmos speakers | Up to 15 hours | $329.99 |
| Alexa Tablet 8 | 8.7-inch | Eight-core processor (model and manufacturer not stated) | Entry configuration 4GB RAM and 64GB storage | Wi-Fi 6; speaker details not stated | Up to 14 hours | $229.99 |
Amazon’s developer specification page for the Alexa Tablet 11 identifies it as a 2026 first-generation device with model code ATTQUWI. The 11 and 8 specification details come from Amazon’s own pages, so treat them as the company’s stated configuration rather than verified retail configurations.
Alexa Tablet 12 Pro: the premium model
The 12 Pro is the largest and most expensive model in the lineup. Its standard display is the figure most relevant to the iPad Pro comparison, and it is the only model Amazon pairs with a keyboard and pen. The Nanomatte option adds $50 to the starting price, and Amazon describes it as an anti-glare finish. Amazon does not provide a measured brightness or reflection figure for either finish.
Alexa Tablet 11: the mid-size option
The 11 is priced $170 below the 12 Pro. It has the same 8GB RAM as the 12 Pro’s entry configuration, but Amazon’s announced details place it on a different chip, a 90Hz display, and Wi-Fi 6 rather than Wi-Fi 6E. Its 64GB and 128GB storage options are listed in Amazon’s developer specifications rather than in the consumer announcement.
Recommended Free Tools
Alexa Tablet 8: the smallest model
The 8 is the lowest-priced model and the most portable one. Amazon gives its weight as 329g and thickness as 7.95mm. The announced entry configuration has 4GB RAM and 64GB storage, which is the least memory in the lineup and should be considered when judging its suitability for multitasking or demanding apps.
Keyboard and pen accessories
Amazon sells two accessories designed only for the 12 Pro. Do not assume either one works with the 11 or the 8.
Rank #2
- Fire HD 8 offers an 8" HD display for seamless streaming and gaming, coupled with a 5MP rear facing camera for photos—with a thin, light, durable design.
- Fast and responsive with long battery life - With up to 4 GB RAM (2X more than 2022 release), 64GB of storage, and up to 1 TB of expandable storage (sold separately). Hexa-core processor for fast, responsive performance. Up to 13 hours of reading, browsing the web, watching videos, gaming, and listening to music at home and on-the-go.
- Save time, get creative - Enjoy three smart tools to help you send polished emails, quickly summarize webpages, and create unique wallpapers.
- Stream or download your favorite shows, movies, and games (like Minecraft, Roblox, and more). Enjoy your favorite content from Facebook, Hulu, Instagram, TikTok, and more through Amazon’s Appstore (Google Play not supported. Subscription for some apps required).
- Stay connected with family and friends - ask Alexa to make video calls to friends and family or download apps like Zoom.
- Alexa Tablet Pro Keyboard, $149.99: attaches magnetically and does not need Bluetooth pairing.
- Alexa Tablet Pro Pen, $89.99: described by Amazon as USI 2.0 with 4,096 pressure levels and tilt detection. It docks magnetically and charges wirelessly.
Amazon also mentions a range of protective folios but does not name individual products or confirm their compatibility, so buyers should check the exact model before purchasing one.
Availability and regional scope
Amazon announced all three tablets as available for purchase on October 8, 2026. US, Mexico, and Canada shipping begins October 14. Amazon says shipping to the UK, Germany, France, Italy, and Spain begins October 19. Amazon.com and select retailers, including Best Buy and Target, are listed as purchase channels.
All prices in this article are US prices announced on launch day. Amazon’s announcement does not provide prices for other currencies or regions, and stock levels, delivery estimates, and regional configurations can change after launch, so confirm them on the listing before buying.
Alexa+ and the privacy controls Amazon describes
Amazon says Alexa+ can be invoked by voice or by touch and can offer contextual help without making you leave the app or page you are using. Its On-Screen Intelligence feature can read page content and respond in context. According to Amazon, the feature is off by default, can be turned on or off in Settings, and shows an indicator while it is active. Live sessions let you keep a conversation going without repeating the wake word after the session starts.
These are Amazon’s descriptions and privacy assurances. The official material does not show how accurate, useful, or private the assistant is in practice, and no independent test of its data handling has been published. Anyone who cares about what an assistant can see on screen should test the Settings toggle and the indicator after setup.
Rank #3
- Like-New Amazon Fire HD 8 tablet is refurbished, tested, and certified to look and work like new and comes with the same limited warranty as a new device. Like-New Amazon devices may be packaged in generic Amazon-branded boxes.
- Fire HD 8 offers an 8" HD display for seamless streaming and gaming, coupled with a 5MP rear facing camera for photos—with a thin, light, durable design.
- Responsive with all day battery life - Includes 3GB RAM (50% more than 2022 release), 32GB of storage, and up to 1 TB of expandable storage (sold separately). Up to 13 hours of reading, browsing the web, watching videos, gaming, and listening to music at home and on-the-go.
- Save time, get creative - Enjoy three smart tools to help you send polished emails, quickly summarize webpages, and create unique wallpapers.
- Stream or download your favorite shows, movies, and games (like Minecraft, Roblox, and more). Enjoy your favorite content from Facebook, Hulu, Instagram, TikTok, and more through Amazon’s Appstore (Google Play not supported. Subscription for some apps required).
Is the 12 Pro really gunning for the iPad Pro?
T3’s launch headline, “Amazon Alexa Tablets are here, and they’re gunning for the iPad Pro,” frames the 12 Pro as a competitor. A more useful reader question is: Can the Alexa Tablet 12 Pro really compete with the iPad Pro? The answer depends on which kind of competition you mean. On price, specifications on paper, and accessories, the two can be compared directly. On real performance, the evidence is still missing.
Free tools Windows power users keep installed
One-click scans. No signup required.
Apple’s iPad Pro page, as accessed on October 8, 2026, lists the M5 chip, iPadOS, Apple Intelligence, an Ultra Retina XDR display, and support for Magic Keyboard and Apple Pencil Pro. The table below separates what can be compared now from what cannot.
| Comparison axis | What can be compared now | What cannot yet be concluded |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price | The 12 Pro starts at $499.99 in the US, per Amazon. Current iPad Pro pricing should be checked directly on Apple’s site before any price comparison is published. | Whether the price difference reflects equal or different value for a given buyer. |
| Display | Size, resolution, refresh rate, and aspect ratio on each spec sheet. | Brightness, color accuracy, and how the screens look side by side. Amazon gives no measured figures for either device. |
| Chip and performance | Amazon names a 4nm eight-core chip for the 12 Pro without naming the chip; Apple names the M5. | Any speed, sustained-load, or thermal result. No independent benchmark was available at launch. |
| Operating system and apps | Android with Google Play access versus iPadOS. | App compatibility for your workflow, and the professional software available on each platform. |
| Keyboard and pen | Price, pen specifications, and magnetic attachment as announced by Amazon and Apple. | Typing comfort, pen latency, and drawing or writing quality in use. |
| AI features | Amazon describes Alexa+ and On-Screen Intelligence; Apple’s page lists Apple Intelligence. | Accuracy, usefulness, and privacy implementation of either system. |
| Software support | Not stated for the Alexa Tablets in Amazon’s announcement. | How long either tablet will receive updates. |
The phrase “gunning for” describes market positioning. It does not show that the 12 Pro matches or beats the iPad Pro on performance, battery life, or professional capability. The “Pro” name, the price, the screen size, and the accessory set are not evidence of parity, and readers should not read them that way.
What cannot be concluded yet
- No independent hands-on review or head-to-head benchmark was available at launch.
- Battery life, processing gains, display behavior, and the Alexa+ privacy controls are all Amazon-reported claims.
- Exact Android version, update policy, and software support duration are not stated in Amazon’s material.
- Complete app compatibility, including how Google Play apps behave on the 12 Pro’s display and accessories, has not been established.
Reviews, long-term tests, and side-by-side benchmarks will be the evidence that answers whether the 12 Pro can compete with the iPad Pro in practice. Until those exist, the fairest reading of Amazon’s launch is that it establishes a lower announced entry price, a claimed feature set, and a dedicated accessory story. It does not establish a performance result.
Next steps before buying
- Confirm the current US price, shipping date, and configuration on Amazon.com, Best Buy, or Target.
- Decide whether you need the 12 Pro’s larger display or whether the 11 or 8 covers your needs; check the weight and size in the table above.
- If you plan to use the keyboard or pen, confirm they are listed for the exact model you are buying.
- Read at least one independent review that tests the apps you use every day before committing to a purchase.
Launch-day specifications and prices can change, and they are presented here as announced. Check the live listing before you buy.
Do these 3 things before closing this tab:
1Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errors2Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minute3Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsQuick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.




