The Tool Desk
Outbyte PC Repair FREEClear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsFree Scan →Outbyte Driver Updater FREEFix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →Five approachable ways to add smart-home control are a Wi-Fi plug, a second plug option, two color-changing bulbs, and a light strip. The best fit depends on what you want to control: plugs switch suitable plug-in devices on and off, bulbs add smart lighting, and a strip provides accent lighting. Prices below are the US prices displayed on the named product pages when checked; no check date was published, so confirm the listing and pack size before buying.
Compare the five devices
| Device | What it does | Alexa and Google Home setup | Pack and displayed US price | Displayed price per device |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Kasa Smart Wi-Fi Plug Mini HS103P2 V3 | Controls a suitable plug-in device; supports schedules, timers, grouping, and remote control. | Wi-Fi smart plug; check its own setup requirements. TP-Link lists Alexa and Google Home support. | Pack size and price were not stated in the cited product information. | Not stated; no pack price was provided. |
| Wyze Plug | Smart plug for suitable plug-in devices. | Wyze says voice commands work with Amazon Alexa and Google Assistant. | Two-pack, $29.98 on Wyze’s US product page. | $14.99, calculated from the displayed two-pack price. |
| Tapo L530E dimmable RGBW bulb | Dimmable color and white lighting. | Listed for Alexa and Google Home; check the vendor’s app and the bulb’s requirements. | Two-pack, $17.99 on the Tapo US store. | About $9.00, calculated from the displayed two-pack price. |
| Tapo L535E Matter-certified RGBW bulb | Color and white smart lighting with Matter support. | Alexa and Google Home are listed as compatible. Matter can allow setup through a supported third-party app, but controller and hub requirements still apply. | Single bulb, $14.99; two-pack, $23.99 on the Tapo US store. | $14.99 as a single; about $12.00 each in the two-pack. |
| Tapo L930-5 RGBWIC light strip | 16.4-foot color and accent-light strip. | The Tapo store lists Alexa and Google Home compatibility; check app and setup requirements. | One 16.4-foot strip, $35.99 on the Tapo US store. | $35.99 per strip. |
The Wyze price is from Wyze’s US product page; the Tapo prices are from the Tapo US store, not Amazon. These are listed prices observed in the available product information, not guaranteed current prices or a hands-on ranking. For the Kasa plug, TP-Link’s product information confirms features and compatibility but does not provide a pack size or price, so there is no supported price comparison.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
Choose by what you want to control
For a plug-in device: Kasa HS103P2 or Wyze Plug
A smart plug is a retrofit option for a device that can safely be switched by cutting and restoring power. It does not make every appliance suitable for remote switching: check the plug’s electrical rating and the appliance maker’s instructions, particularly for devices that need a manual reset, must not be left unattended, or should not lose power unexpectedly. The Kasa model adds schedules, timers, grouping, and remote control according to TP-Link. Wyze’s product page confirms Alexa and Google Assistant voice commands.
Quick wins for a faster PC:
Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteDriver Scan →Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsFix Now →Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →Do not assume features transfer across plug models. TP-Link’s Tapo/Kasa guidance distinguishes plugs with energy monitoring from models without it; verify the exact model page rather than attributing energy monitoring to either plug here.
#1 Best Overall
- Read Before You Buy — No Video Output: These adapters support charging and USB 2.0 data transfer, but cannot transmit video signals. Except for standard USB webcams (which use USB data only), they are not compatible with HDMI/DisplayPort cables, video-capable USB-C hubs, or docking stations with video output.
- Convert USB-A Ports to USB-C: Designed to connect USB-C earphones, cables, flash drives, card readers, and other USB-C accessories to standard USB-A ports. Plug-and-play with no drivers or software required.
- Aluminum Alloy Housing: Built with a sturdy aluminum alloy shell that aids in heat dissipation and protects against daily wear and scratches. Designed to maintain a stable and secure connection.
- Compact & Travel-Friendly: The ultra-compact design allows the adapter to stay plugged into your device without blocking adjacent ports or adding bulk, reducing wear and tear on your original USB ports.
- 12-Month Warranty: Backed by a 12-month manufacturer warranty for peace of mind. Designed to meet strict quality control standards for reliable everyday performance.
For room lighting: Tapo L530E or L535E
Both are RGBW bulbs listed for Alexa and Google Home. The L530E is the lower displayed per-bulb price in its two-pack; the Matter-certified L535E is available as either a single bulb or a two-pack in the cited Tapo listing. Before ordering, match the bulb’s base and socket to the fixture and check the current product listing for its electrical and network requirements.
For accent lighting: Tapo L930-5
The listed L930-5 strip is 16.4 feet long and supports RGBWIC lighting. Its displayed Tapo US-store price is higher than the per-bulb prices above, but these products serve different purposes and the figures are not a performance or value test. Confirm that the strip’s length and installation format suit the intended location.
Rank #2
- 5-in-1 USB-C Hub: Experience comprehensive connectivity featuring a Power Delivery input, two USB-A 2.0 ports, a USB-A 3.0 port, and an HDMI port. (Note: The USB-C power delivery input port is only for connecting an external wall charger to power your laptop and cannot power peripheral devices.)
- 90W Pass-Through Charging: Achieve optimal charging with 90W pass-through power to your laptop, supported by a total input of 100W, with the hub reserving 10W for operational efficiency. (Note: Wall charger not included.)
- Quick Data Transfers: Accelerate your productivity with rapid data transfers using a high-speed 5Gbps USB 3.0 port and two 480Mbps USB 2.0 ports.
- 4K HDMI Display: Enhance your visual experience with a hub capable of delivering 4K resolution at 30Hz in both mirror and extend modes. Please note that this hub is compatible with MacBook (macOS 12 and newer), Windows 10 and 11, ChromeOS, and laptops equipped with DP Alt Mode and Power Delivery. Note: This device is not compatible with Linux.
- What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (5-in-1, 4K HDMI), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
What Alexa and Google Home compatibility means
Compatibility does not always mean identical setup or identical controls. Amazon says devices carrying its “Works with Alexa” badge are certified to work with Alexa; the badge is a useful compatibility check, not a guarantee that every feature in a vendor app will appear in Alexa. Likewise, TP-Link says available Google Home platform features vary by product. For Tapo and Kasa devices, TP-Link describes linking through the vendor app or Google Home’s Works with Google Home flow; Matter-supported devices can also connect directly to Google Home. Camera streaming caveats in TP-Link’s guidance do not apply to these five lighting and plug examples.
Recommended Free Tools
For Wi-Fi setup, Amazon Customer Service says most smart-home Wi-Fi devices work only on 2.4 GHz bands. Check your router and each device’s own requirements before setup; compatibility with a voice assistant does not remove the device’s Wi-Fi requirements. Some Tapo smart plugs require initial configuration in the Tapo app before linking to Alexa or Google Home.
Rank #3
- Sleek 7-in-1 USB-C Hub: Features an HDMI port, two USB-A 3.0 ports, and a USB-C data port, each providing 5Gbps transfer speeds. It also includes a USB-C PD input port for charging up to 100W and dual SD and TF card slots, all in a compact design.
- Flawless 4K@60Hz Video with HDMI: Delivers exceptional clarity and smoothness with its 4K@60Hz HDMI port, making it ideal for high-definition presentations and entertainment. (Note: Only the HDMI port supports video projection; the USB-C port is for data transfer only.)
- Double Up on Efficiency: The two USB-A 3.0 ports and a USB-C port support a fast 5Gbps data rate, significantly boosting your transfer speeds and improving productivity.
- Fast and Reliable 85W Charging: Offers high-capacity, speedy charging for laptops up to 85W, so you spend less time tethered to an outlet and more time being productive.
- What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (7-in-1), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
When Matter changes the setup choice
The L535E is the only Matter-certified device in this group. Matter can make multi-platform control more straightforward: TP-Link says Matter devices may be set up in the Tapo/Kasa app or a supported third-party app, and Matter’s multi-admin capability allows a device to be controlled by more than one platform. It does not mean that every setup is hub-free. TP-Link says most third-party app setups require a Matter hub, and the supported controller, app, and current requirements still matter.
If you plan to use Matter, check that the controller or hub you intend to use supports the device and the platform you want. If you would rather use the manufacturer’s route, follow the product-specific vendor-app setup instructions, then link the account or device to Alexa or Google Home as directed.
Rank #4
- Dual Converters, Infinite Potential:Includes 2× USB C male to USB A female adapters and 2× USB A male to USB C female adapters. Perfect for a wide range of uses—tablets with Bluetooth keyboards, expand USB ports on macbook, and more. Two different converters for all your daily needs
- Next-Level 10Gbps & 3A Charging: No more slow 480Mbps, this usb to usb c adapter has a transfer speed of up to 10Gbps, allowing you to do more transferring in less time. This usb adapter fits both USB A and USB C charger, supporting up to 3A fast charging
- Upgraded Exquisite Craftsmanship: With an aluminum alloy housing and metal connector, the usbc to usb adapter is extremely durable and sturdy. Rigorously tested to withstand more than 10,000 times of plugging and unplugging, ensuring long-lasting performance
- Broad Compatible: The usb c to usb adapter widely supports all USB C/ USB A devices like laptops, tablets, cellphones, car chargers, and phone chargers. Such as compatible with MacBook Pro/Air 2023/2022, Thunderbolt 4/3 Devices,Apple MagSafe Watch 9/8/7/SE/Ultra, iPad Pro 2022/2021, Samsung Galaxy S23/S20/S10, and iPhone 17/16/15 Pro. Plug and play
- Please Note: To reach 10Gbps speed, keep the cable under 3.3 ft. For USB A Male to USB C adapters, try flipping the USB C connector. USB C Male to USB A adapters support bidirectional 10Gbps transfer within 3.3 ft
A practical setup checklist
- Check the exact model. Match the model number, bulb base or strip length, plug rating, pack size, and listed assistant compatibility. Brand-level compatibility does not establish that every product from that brand works the same way.
- Confirm network and controller needs. Verify 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi availability for a Wi-Fi device. For Matter setup through a third-party app, check whether a supported Matter hub is required.
- Install the required vendor app when applicable. Some Tapo plug models need initial setup in the Tapo app before assistant linking. Follow the individual model’s instructions.
- Link the device to your assistant. Use the product’s stated Alexa or Google Home linking method, or the supported Matter flow for the L535E. The route and available controls can differ by product.
- Test the intended use. Confirm that the assistant can perform the action you need, such as switching a plug, dimming a bulb, or controlling lights. Do not infer support for every vendor-app feature from basic voice compatibility.
Prices and expectations
Prices in the comparison are the US listings reported for Wyze and the Tapo store; no date for when those listings were checked was published. Retail prices and availability can change, so recheck the current listing, pack contents, and regional availability. The listed prices do not establish total ownership cost, reliable energy savings, or the best device for every home.
What’s actually slowing this PC down?
Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.
On the evidence available, the strongest budget fit by displayed unit price is the L530E two-pack, while the L535E is the choice here when Matter support is a priority. For plug control, choose between the Kasa and Wyze models based on the exact requirements and current listing; a comparable Kasa price was not provided.
Quick Recap
Best Value
- 5-in-1 Connectivity: Equipped with a 4K HDMI port, a 5 Gbps USB-C data port, two 5 Gbps USB-A ports, and a USB C 100W PD-IN port. Note: The USB C 100W PD-IN port supports only charging and does not support data transfer devices such as headphones or speakers.
- Powerful Pass-Through Charging: Supports up to 85W pass-through charging so you can power up your laptop while you use the hub. Note: Pass-through charging requires a charger (not included). Note: To achieve full power for iPad, we recommend using a 45W wall charger.
- Transfer Files in Seconds: Move files to and from your laptop at speeds of up to 5 Gbps via the USB-C and USB-A data ports. Note: The USB C 5Gbps Data port does not support video output.
- HD Display: Connect to the HDMI port to stream or mirror content to an external monitor in resolutions of up to 4K@30Hz. Note: The USB-C ports do not support video output.
- What You Get: Anker 332 USB-C Hub (5-in-1), welcome guide, our worry-free 18-month warranty, and friendly customer service.
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.




