Driver FixRecommendedSound, Wi-Fi or graphics acting up? Check drivers firstFind missing or outdated drivers fast.Check DriversOctober DealsAmazon USOctober deal check: compare before you payAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.Check DealsWindows FixRecommendedWindows errors stealing your time? Find the fix fastScan stability, cleanup and performance issues.Fix Now×
Skip to content
World desk4 min

5 Linux Distros Worth Paying For in 2026—and When You Shouldn’t

Some Linux payments buy desktop extras; others fund a project or pay for security maintenance and workstation support. Here’s how five options differ—and when a free distro is enough.
Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

There isn’t one answer to whether a Linux distro is worth paying for: payment can buy extra desktop features, fund a project voluntarily, or provide security maintenance and professional support. For most home users, paying is optional—Ubuntu Pro offers a no-cost personal tier for up to five machines, and Pop!_OS is free to download and use. The right choice depends on what you want the money to do.

What paying for a Linux distro actually buys

These options are not five equivalent paid operating systems. Zorin OS Pro is a paid consumer edition; elementary OS lets users choose what to pay to support its project; Ubuntu Pro is an optional security and management subscription for Ubuntu; Red Hat Enterprise Linux (RHEL) Workstation is a professional subscription with support tiers; and Pop!_OS is a free comparison. A one-time or voluntary contribution is not directly comparable to an annual, per-machine subscription.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

Option What payment buys Best-fit audience Price and billing unit Support or maintenance stated by the provider
Zorin OS Pro Additional features, apps, and support beyond the free Core edition Home desktop users who want the Pro extras Current price not stated on the retrieved official product page; check the live checkout. Zorin Group Zorin OS 18 updates and security patches until at least June 2029, according to Zorin Group
elementary OS Voluntary project funding through a pay-what-you-can purchase Users who want elementary OS and choose to support its development Pay what you want; the official page does not state a required license fee. elementary OS Community support and guides are available; the project also offers payment and download help. elementary OS help
Ubuntu Pro Expanded security maintenance and management capabilities for Ubuntu Personal users who want added maintenance, or organizations managing machines Personal use: no cost for up to five machines. Enterprise Workstation Pro: US$25 per machine per year on Canonical’s pricing page, accessed in 2026. Canonical Security maintenance and management capabilities; separate enterprise support tiers are priced separately. Canonical
RHEL Workstation A professional workstation subscription with a choice of support tier Advanced users working on powerful workstations, including graphics, animation, or scientific workloads Current U.S. store listing starts at US$196.90 for one year of self-support or US$328.90 for one year of standard support. Each includes one physical workstation and one guest VM entitlement. Red Hat store Support scope depends on the selected subscription tier. Red Hat store
Pop!_OS No OS purchase required; System76 says it is free to download and use Users who want a Linux desktop without buying an OS license Free. System76 System76 says Pop!_OS is developed in-house; the cited product page does not specify a maintenance horizon. System76

Prices and availability can change and vary by region. The Ubuntu Pro and RHEL figures above are the listed U.S. prices accessed in 2026, not a claim that all regions see the same terms.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Is Zorin OS Pro worth it?

Zorin OS Pro is the clearest fit if you want to pay for a more feature-rich consumer edition rather than a support contract. Zorin describes its free Core edition as the starting point and Pro as an upgrade that adds features, apps, and support. Its product page says Zorin OS 18 will receive updates and security patches until at least June 2029. Zorin Group

The available official product information does not establish a current Pro price, so compare the live checkout price with the specific extras you want before buying. If Core already meets your needs, there is no stated requirement to pay for the operating system.

Is elementary OS free?

elementary OS uses a pay-what-you-can purchase flow: the project says users fund its work by paying what they want for elementary OS and AppCenter apps. Treat a payment as voluntary support, not as a mandatory license fee. The official site offers elementary OS 8.1.1 Circe. elementary OS

The project says elementary OS 8.1 improves Secure Session, Dock, accessibility, and device support, and reports that more than 1,100 issue reports were fixed. That count is a project-reported maintenance figure, not a comparative measure of quality or performance. elementary OS

What’s actually slowing this PC down?

Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

For help, elementary OS points users to community support and guides, as well as payment and download help. elementary OS help

Do you need to pay for Ubuntu?

No. Ubuntu Pro is an optional service layered onto Ubuntu, not a paid Ubuntu desktop edition. Canonical’s pricing page lists a no-cost Personal tier for up to five machines. Its Enterprise Workstation Pro listing is US$25 per machine per year, while enterprise support tiers are priced separately. Canonical pricing and Ubuntu Pro pricing

For an individual choosing a desktop OS, the practical question is whether Ubuntu Pro’s added security maintenance and management capabilities are useful for your situation. A personal subscription is not a prerequisite to use Ubuntu; organizations that need formal support should check the separate enterprise support terms.

Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

Who should consider RHEL Workstation?

RHEL Workstation is aimed at a different decision from a paid consumer desktop. Red Hat positions it for advanced users with powerful hardware, including people doing graphics, animation, and scientific work. Its U.S. store lists one-year subscriptions starting at US$196.90 for self-support and US$328.90 for standard support. Both listed subscriptions include one physical workstation and one guest VM entitlement. Red Hat store and Red Hat Workstations

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Consider this option when the workstation context, subscription terms, and chosen support tier justify the cost. It is not directly comparable to a consumer edition’s feature upgrade or a voluntary donation: the listed price covers a one-year subscription, and the support level varies by tier.

When a free distro is the better choice

Pop!_OS demonstrates that a capable Linux system does not require purchasing an OS license. System76 says it is free to download and use and developed in-house. System76 If your goal is simply to install Linux on a personal computer, start with a free option and pay only if a particular extra, maintenance service, or support arrangement solves a real need.

To install a distro, you may need to create installation media on a USB flash drive; System76’s installation guidance describes using a USB drive for that task. System76 installation guidance This is an installation accessory, not a requirement to buy a particular brand or a distro-specific product.

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

More from the Wire

  1. World desk4 min
    How to Spot an AI Voice Scam Before Sending MoneyDon’t rely on how a caller sounds. Pause, call back through a known number, and verify the emergency with another trusted person before sending money.
  2. Mountain View desk4 min
    Google’s SynthID Detector: How to Check AI-Generated Images, Video and AudioGoogle’s SynthID Detector looks for an embedded watermark in supported images, video and audio. Here is what its results do—and do not—show.
  3. Redmond desk20 min
    How to create a link to File or Folder in Windows 11Windows 11 gives you several ways to point to a file or folder without moving or duplicating it. You can create a desktop shortcut,…
Recommended PC Tool
Recommended PC Tool
PC Slower Than It Used to Be?Free scan - under a minute
Crashes, No Sound, or Screen Glitches?Free driver scan

Two free Windows tools

One Free Minute Could Fix That PC

Before you go - each of these free tools takes about a minute and tackles what quietly slows a Windows PC down.

Special offer. View Outbyte info, uninstall instructions, EULA, and Privacy Policy.