October DealsAmazon USOctober deal check: compare before you payAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.Check DealsSlow PC?RecommendedPC slow today? Run a repair scan before it gets worseResolve common Windows issues and optimize system performance.Scan NowOctober DealsAmazon USDeal season is back - check today's better picksAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.See Picks×
Skip to content
World desk8 min

2024 Audi A6 e-tron: Everything You Need to Know

The Audi A6 e-tron debuted globally in 2024 but is generally a 2025 U.S. model. Here are its versions, range, charging speeds, body-style trade-offs and buying advice.
Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

The Audi A6 e-tron is Audi’s long-range electric executive car, built on the 800-volt Premium Platform Electric (PPE) architecture and offered as a sleek Sportback fastback or practical Avant wagon. Audi unveiled it globally on July 31, 2024. For U.S. shoppers, however, the production-market car is generally a 2025 model-year A6 Sportback e-tron, not a 2024 vehicle. Its headline strengths are efficient aerodynamics, up to 270-kW DC charging and strong range; the key cautions are market-specific availability, WLTP-versus-EPA range differences and a wide spread between variants.

What is the Audi A6 e-tron?

The A6 e-tron is Audi’s dedicated battery-electric executive car. It is not simply a battery version of the combustion-engine A6: its PPE platform was designed for electric propulsion, a flat battery floor and high-voltage charging. Audi developed PPE with Porsche, and the A6 e-tron is the second Audi model on that architecture after the Q6 e-tron.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

Two body styles were introduced:

  • A6 Sportback e-tron: a five-door fastback with a liftback-style rear opening.
  • A6 Avant e-tron: a wagon/estate aimed at buyers who need easier access to bulky cargo.

The range includes rear-wheel-drive A6 e-tron and A6 e-tron performance models, an all-wheel-drive A6 e-tron quattro, and the faster S6 e-tron. Audi’s launch announcement is at Audi.com.

What’s actually slowing this PC down?

Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Is it a 2024 or 2025 model?

Both descriptions can be correct, depending on the market. Audi revealed the vehicle globally in 2024 and announced more versions in October 2024. In the United States, Audi’s current information identifies the A6 Sportback e-tron and S6 Sportback e-tron as 2025 model-year vehicles. European naming, launch timing and body-style availability vary by country. Audi’s U.S. FAQ lists the 2025 cars among its Plug & Charge-capable models: Audi USA EV FAQ.

#1 Best Overall
USB-C to AMI MMI Aux Cable for iPhone 17/16/15 and Other Type C Devices
  • 【Upgraded 2 in 1 music & charging】AMI Aux Cord for Phone adopts the original DAC chips to ensures transmission stable and clear, supoort charging and play music while your devices is connected,you can enjoy music in full stereo sound
  • 【Universal Compatibility 】This Car Charging Music AUX Adapter Cord for iPhone 15/16, iPad Air/Pro, and more. Compatible with Audi A3/A4/A5/A6/A7/A8/S4/S6/S8/Q5/Q7/R8/TT (2011–2016), Volkswagen Jetta, Passat, CC, Tiguan, Touareg, EOS, Golf 6, Magotan, Skoda Jetta, GTI, GLI equipped with MDI-Box interface.
  • 【PLUG & PLAY】No additional software is required. Once connected, simply switch on the car stereo, manually switch to MEDIA mode and then switch the audio source to Aux mode (external audio input). It can control the songs conventionally from head unit like a CD CHANGER. Switch between songs and playlist via head unit or multi-function steering wheel
  • 【In the box】 You will Get 1 PACK 3.3FT AMI MMI MDI Aux interface adapter cord.Enough length allowing you to switch cell phone or MP3 songs freely. USB Charger Aux MP3 Cable, lightweight body, more durable than original device cables
  • 【Wide Compatible 】AMI Aux Cord compatible with iPhone16/ 16 Pro/ 16 Plus/ 16 Pro Max, 15/ 15 Pro/ 15 Plus/ 15 Pro Max and other USB C devices.

A6 e-tron versions explained

“A6 e-tron” is a family name, not one specification. Battery size, output, charging power and range change substantially by version.

Version Body style Battery (gross/usable) Drive Output 0–100 km/h Max DC Maximum quoted range
A6 e-tron performance Sportback 100/94.9 kWh Rear-wheel drive 270 kW; 280 kW Launch Control 5.4 s 270 kW 756 km WLTP
A6 e-tron performance Avant 100/94.9 kWh Rear-wheel drive 270 kW; 280 kW Launch Control 5.4 s 270 kW 720 km WLTP
A6 e-tron Sportback 83/75.8 kWh Rear-wheel drive 210 kW; 240 kW Launch Control 6.0 s 225 kW 627 km WLTP
A6 e-tron Avant 83/75.8 kWh Rear-wheel drive 210 kW; 240 kW Launch Control 6.0 s 225 kW 598 km WLTP
A6 e-tron quattro Sportback 100/94.9 kWh All-wheel drive 315 kW; 340 kW Launch Control 4.5 s 270 kW 716 km WLTP
A6 e-tron quattro Avant 100/94.9 kWh All-wheel drive 315 kW; 340 kW Launch Control 4.5 s 270 kW 685 km WLTP
S6 e-tron Sportback Large battery Quattro 370 kW; 405 kW Launch Control 3.9 s Not stated in the cited launch release 675 km WLTP
S6 e-tron Avant Large battery Quattro 370 kW; 405 kW Launch Control 3.9 s Not stated in the cited launch release 647 km WLTP

The battery capacities, outputs and ranges above come from Audi’s launch releases: performance and S6 details and entry and quattro details. Launch Control figures are temporary peak outputs, not continuous power.

Range: what “up to 756 km” really means

European WLTP figures

Audi quotes a maximum of 756 km for the rear-wheel-drive A6 Sportback e-tron performance and 720 km for the equivalent Avant. The smaller-battery rear-wheel-drive cars are rated at 627 km (Sportback) and 598 km (Avant). Quattro versions are rated at 716 km (Sportback) and 685 km (Avant). These are European WLTP test-cycle results for specified configurations, not promises of real-world distance.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

U.S. EPA estimate

Audi USA advertises up to 392 EPA-estimated miles for the U.S. rear-wheel-drive model with the Ultra package. Use that figure for U.S. comparisons rather than converting 756 km directly into miles. WLTP and EPA use different procedures, and EPA estimates are generally more conservative. See Audi’s U.S. electric-model page: Audi USA electric models.

What changes real-world range?

  • Highway speeds around 70–80 mph consume energy much faster than the test cycle.
  • Cold weather and cabin heating reduce usable range and can slow charging.
  • Large wheels and performance tires usually increase consumption.
  • The Avant’s less aerodynamic body gives up some range for cargo access.
  • Quattro adds traction and acceleration but can use more energy than rear-wheel drive.
  • Traffic, hills, wind, payload, battery condition and air-conditioning use all matter.

Battery and PPE technology

The principal launch cars use a 100-kWh gross battery with 94.9 kWh usable. Audi’s entry model uses an 83-kWh gross pack with 75.8 kWh usable. The large battery contains 12 modules and 180 prismatic cells; the smaller pack uses 10 modules. Gross capacity includes the buffer that the car reserves, so a “100-kWh battery” does not provide 100 kWh for driving.

The PPE system uses an 800-volt electrical architecture, liquid cooling and predictive thermal management. Audi says the car can condition the battery before and during charging. Preconditioning is important because maximum charging power depends on temperature, state of charge and the charger itself. Audi’s technical overview is available at Audi A6 e-tron facts.

Charging speed and charging requirements

DC fast charging

A6 e-tron versions with the large battery can accept up to 270 kW; the 83-kWh entry model is rated for up to 225 kW. Audi quotes approximately 10–80 percent in 21 minutes under suitable conditions. The headline is conditional: the battery must be warm, the starting state of charge relatively low, and the station capable of supplying the requested power. Charging normally tapers as the battery fills.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Audi’s claimed WLTP range added in 10 minutes is variant-specific:

Rank #2
Sale
OTOTEC AMI to USB 3.1 Type-C Charging Cable Compatible with Audi A1 A3 A4L A5 A6L A8 Q3 Q5 A7 TT 2009->30cm
  • Compatible with Audi A1 A3 A4L A5 A6L A8 Q3 Q5 A7 TT 2009->.
  • 30cm length design is easy to connect and not easy to tangle.
  • Convert the car AMI interface to a modern USB 3.1 Type-C interface, support high-speed data transmission and charging functions, and enhance the vehicle multimedia experience.
  • Support USB 3.1 standard, faster transmission speed, reduced latency, suitable for connecting mobile phones, tablets and other devices.
  • Small interface design, easy to carry and store, no space in the car, enhance neatness and beauty.
  • Performance Sportback: up to 310 km.
  • Entry Sportback: up to 260 km.
  • Entry Avant: up to 245 km.
  • Quattro Sportback: up to 290 km.
  • Quattro Avant: up to 280 km.

These are additions during a suitable high-power session, not a fixed distance every time. The figures and charging explanation are in Audi’s technical release: Audi charging information.

AC and 400-volt charging

Audi lists 11-kW AC charging and said 22-kW capability was planned during the vehicle’s lifecycle in the original launch material. The battery also supports charging at 400-volt stations. Such a station can be useful, but it may not deliver anything close to the 270-kW headline rate.

Plug & Charge

On compatible vehicles and chargers, Plug & Charge can authenticate automatically. Audi requires an active Audi charging contract, an activated Plug & Charge certificate, initial setup in the myAudi app and activation in the vehicle’s MMI system. Availability depends on market, vehicle configuration, account and network compatibility. Automatic authentication does not mean the electricity is free.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Performance and drivetrain choices

Rear-wheel drive

The A6 e-tron performance makes 270 kW, or 280 kW with Launch Control, reaches 100 km/h in 5.4 seconds and has a 210-km/h top speed according to Audi. The lower-output A6 e-tron makes 210 kW, or 240 kW with Launch Control, and reaches 100 km/h in six seconds. For many buyers, rear-wheel drive is the balanced choice: strong acceleration with the best quoted range.

Quattro

The A6 e-tron quattro produces 315 kW, or 340 kW with Launch Control, and reaches 100 km/h in 4.5 seconds. It is the more compelling choice for frequent snow, steep roads, heavy rain or drivers who value all-weather traction and quicker launches. The trade-offs are higher cost and potentially lower efficiency than the comparable rear-wheel-drive car.

S6 e-tron

The S6 e-tron raises output to 370 kW, or 405 kW with Launch Control, reaches 100 km/h in 3.9 seconds and has a 240-km/h top speed. Audi quotes 675 km WLTP for the Sportback and 647 km for the Avant. It is the performance choice, not the range or value choice.

Sportback or Avant?

Choose the Sportback when… Choose the Avant when…
Maximum efficiency and range matter most. Easy loading and wagon practicality matter more than the last few kilometres of range.
You prefer a low, sleek fastback shape. You regularly carry pets, strollers, bicycles, tall luggage or outdoor equipment.
Most cargo is ordinary luggage. You want a more traditional estate-car opening and proportions.
Long highway trips are a priority. A modest aerodynamic range penalty is acceptable.

Audi’s launch figures show the same pattern across drivetrains: the Avant gives up 36 km in performance form, 29 km in the entry model and 31 km in quattro form under WLTP. Cargo dimensions, rear-seat folding details, towing capacity, ground clearance, spare-tire equipment and roof-rail specifications should be checked in the technical sheet for your country; the cited global releases do not establish one universal specification.

Free tools Windows power users keep installed

One-click scans. No signup required.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

Interior, displays and driver assistance

The A6 e-tron is designed as a premium digital cabin with Audi’s MMI interface, a digital driver display and a central infotainment screen. Depending on market and trim, Audi offers features such as a passenger display, smartphone integration, advanced driver assistance, panoramic glass, configurable interior lighting, upgraded audio and camera-based exterior mirrors where regulations allow them.

Rank #3
Trrisaun Car Wireless Phone Charger for Audi A6 e-tron 2024-2026, Shockproof Silicone Base Non-Slip Wireless Charging Pad Fast Charging Pad,USB
  • 【Applicable Car Model】: For Audi A6 e-tron 2024 - 2026.
  • 【Stable non-slip silicone base】: Crafted from premium quality silicone material, this charging station offers a shockproof and anti-slip surface, preventing distractions while driving and ensuring your device remains stable and accessible throughout your entire journey.
  • 【Comprehensive safety protection system】: Drive with complete peace of mind knowing this charger features built-in safeguards against overvoltage, overheating.
  • 【Fast wireless charging】: Experience effortless power delivery with this advanced car charger that supports up to output road trips without the hassle of tangled cables.
  • 【Customer Service】: If you have any questions about our products, please contact us and we will respond within 24 hours.

Equipment is not globally uniform. U.S. and European order guides can differ, and options may change by battery, body style and trim. Confirm the exact regional build sheet before assuming a feature is standard.

A6 e-tron versus Q6 e-tron and other luxury EVs

The A6 e-tron and Q6 e-tron share PPE technology, but they serve different needs. The A6 is a low-slung executive fastback or wagon; the Q6 is a crossover with a higher seating position and SUV-style access. Choose the Q6 when ride height, crossover packaging and easier SUV entry are more useful than the A6’s aerodynamic profile.

The BMW i5, Mercedes-Benz EQE, Porsche Taycan and Tesla Model S are natural comparison vehicles, but equipment, pricing and range depend on country and configuration. The A6 e-tron’s strongest differentiators are its Sportback/Avant choice, 800-volt charging and long European range claims. Compare each rival using the same local test cycle, drivetrain and wheel size rather than headline numbers from different markets.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Pricing and availability

Audi’s October 2024 European announcement listed the entry A6 Sportback e-tron from €62,800 and the Avant from €64,450. The quattro Sportback started at €79,800 and the quattro Avant at €81,450. These are European launch prices, not current U.S. MSRP, and they should not be converted into a U.S. transaction price. See the original announcement at Audi.com.

U.S. shoppers should search Audi’s 2025 A6 Sportback e-tron listings and verify local inventory, options, destination charges, incentives and tax treatment. Do not assume the Avant, every drivetrain or the S6 is sold in the United States.

Who should buy the A6 e-tron?

Best fit

  • Long-distance commuters who can use reliable DC fast charging.
  • Drivers who want executive-car comfort without an SUV seating position.
  • Buyers prioritizing efficiency, fast road-trip charging and a premium interior.
  • Families and pet owners who need the Avant’s loading access.
  • Snow-belt or mountain drivers willing to pay for quattro traction.
  • Performance-focused buyers who specifically want the S6 e-tron.

Look elsewhere when…

  • You require a high seating position and SUV cargo access; the Q6 e-tron is the more natural Audi choice.
  • You have no dependable home or public charging plan.
  • You need a U.S.-available wagon and the Avant is not offered in your market.
  • You want the lowest purchase and running cost; larger wheels, quattro and S6 performance can reduce efficiency and raise price.

Verdict

The A6 e-tron is one of Audi’s most convincing electric platforms: a highly aerodynamic executive car with an 800-volt system, rapid DC charging, rear- or all-wheel drive and a genuinely useful Sportback-versus-Avant choice. The rear-wheel-drive Sportback is the efficiency and range leader, the Avant is the practical family road-trip tool, quattro adds traction and acceleration, and the S6 is for buyers who put speed first.

Read “2024 Audi A6 e-tron” as the year Audi introduced the model globally. In the United States, the car to research and shop is generally the 2025 A6 Sportback e-tron. Match every range, price and equipment claim to your market and exact variant.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Quick Recap

SaleBestseller No. 2
OTOTEC AMI to USB 3.1 Type-C Charging Cable Compatible with Audi A1 A3 A4L A5 A6L A8 Q3 Q5 A7 TT 2009->30cm
OTOTEC AMI to USB 3.1 Type-C Charging Cable Compatible with Audi A1 A3 A4L A5 A6L A8 Q3 Q5 A7 TT 2009->30cm
Compatible with Audi A1 A3 A4L A5 A6L A8 Q3 Q5 A7 TT 2009->.; 30cm length design is easy to connect and not easy to tangle.
$9.49

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

More from the Wire

  1. World desk4 min
    How to Spot an AI Voice Scam Before Sending MoneyDon’t rely on how a caller sounds. Pause, call back through a known number, and verify the emergency with another trusted person before sending money.
  2. Mountain View desk4 min
    Google’s SynthID Detector: How to Check AI-Generated Images, Video and AudioGoogle’s SynthID Detector looks for an embedded watermark in supported images, video and audio. Here is what its results do—and do not—show.
  3. Redmond desk20 min
    How to create a link to File or Folder in Windows 11Windows 11 gives you several ways to point to a file or folder without moving or duplicating it. You can create a desktop shortcut,…
Recommended PC Tool
Recommended PC Tool
Outdated Drivers Are Slowing You DownFree scan - exact matches
PC Slower Than It Used to Be?Free scan - under a minute

Two free Windows tools

One Free Minute Could Fix That PC

Before you go - each of these free tools takes about a minute and tackles what quietly slows a Windows PC down.

Special offer. View Outbyte info, uninstall instructions, EULA, and Privacy Policy.