Amazon’s Kindle Colorsoft models are the Kindles with color displays. The 12th-generation Kindle Paperwhite—not Colorsoft—is the model Amazon’s identification guide specifically lists as waterproof (IPX8) and rated for up to 12 weeks of battery life. Color and water resistance are separate features, so choose by the books you read and the protection you need.
Which Kindle has a color screen?
Amazon identifies two first-generation color-display models: Kindle Colorsoft and Kindle Colorsoft Signature Edition. The standard Colorsoft has 16 GB of storage; the Signature Edition has 32 GB and supports wireless charging, with the charging dock sold separately. Amazon’s guide also lists Colorsoft Kids (1st Generation) with a color display and 16 GB of storage. See Amazon’s Kindle device identification guide for model details.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
Amazon described Colorsoft at CES 2025 as “bringing vibrant color to your favorite books.” That is Amazon’s product characterization, not an independent assessment of display quality. The specifications available here do not establish how Colorsoft compares with other screens in color accuracy, contrast, or performance.
Quick wins for a faster PC:
Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsFree Scan →Is the Kindle Colorsoft waterproof?
Do not assume Colorsoft has the Paperwhite’s stated water-resistance specification. Amazon’s device identification guide lists the 12th-generation Kindle Paperwhite—including its Signature and Kids editions—as IPX8 waterproof, but does not list that rating for Colorsoft. The guide also rates those Paperwhite models for up to 12 weeks of battery life; that figure is specific to the 12th-generation Paperwhite family, not Colorsoft.
#1 Best Overall
- Read in color – The 7" Colorsoft display is high-contrast and easy on the eyes, with paper-like color that brings covers and content to life.
- A brand-new experience – The Kindle Colorsoft display is optimized for reading in color and is different from the Kindle Paperwhite display, which is optimized for black and white reading.
- Color your pages – Highlight your favorite scenes in yellow, orange, blue, and pink.
- Marathon reading – A single charge via USB-C lasts up to 8 weeks.
- Read in any light – Adjust the display from white to amber to read in bright sunlight or in the dark.
For Colorsoft Signature Edition, Amazon’s safety and compliance guidance says the device is not intended for underwater use and cautions against intentional immersion. A drop may compromise waterproofing. The guidance distinguishes brief accidental immersion from intended use; it should not be read as permission to take the Kindle underwater or as a guarantee against water damage.
Which is better for comics or illustrated books?
Choose Colorsoft when color matters
Colorsoft is the relevant choice among these models if you want book illustrations or other page content displayed in color. The standard model offers 16 GB; the Signature Edition offers 32 GB and wireless charging, with its dock sold separately. Amazon lists Colorsoft Kids as another color-display option. The available specifications do not establish which model delivers the best reading experience for a particular comic, illustration, or file.
Rank #2
- Great value - Includes a Kindle Colorsoft (16 GB), plant-based leather cover, and 9W power adapter–up to a $313 value.
- A brand-new experience – The Kindle Colorsoft display is optimized for reading in color and is different from the Kindle Paperwhite display, which is optimized for black and white reading.
- Color your pages – Highlight your favorite scenes in yellow, orange, blue, and pink.
- Marathon reading – A single charge via USB-C lasts up to 8 weeks.
- Read in any light – Adjust the display from white to amber to read in bright sunlight or in the dark.
Choose Paperwhite when its stated water resistance and battery life matter more
The 12th-generation Paperwhite is the model to consider if Amazon’s listed IPX8 rating and up-to-12-week battery specification are priorities. Its display is not identified as color-capable in the cited guide. These specifications help distinguish the models, but they are not results from independent comparative testing.
How to choose between Colorsoft and Paperwhite
| Feature | Kindle Colorsoft (1st Generation) | Kindle Colorsoft Signature Edition (1st Generation) | Kindle Paperwhite (12th Generation) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Display | Color display | Color display | Not listed as a color-display model in Amazon’s guide |
| Storage | 16 GB | 32 GB | Not stated here |
| Water resistance | Not listed in Amazon’s identification guide | Not listed in Amazon’s identification guide; safety guidance cautions against intentional immersion | IPX8 |
| Battery life | Not stated in Amazon’s identification guide | Not stated in Amazon’s identification guide | Up to 12 weeks |
| Wireless charging | Not listed | Yes; dock sold separately | Not stated here |
Specifications are from Amazon’s device identification guide; Colorsoft Signature handling cautions are from Amazon’s safety guidance. “Not listed” means the cited material does not establish the specification; it does not prove a feature is impossible.
Rank #3
- Great value - Includes a Kindle Colorsoft (16 GB), fabric cover, and 9W power adapter–up to a $307 value.
- A brand-new experience – The Kindle Colorsoft display is optimized for reading in color and is different from the Kindle Paperwhite display, which is optimized for black and white reading.
- Color your pages – Highlight your favorite scenes in yellow, orange, blue, and pink.
- Marathon reading – A single charge via USB-C lasts up to 8 weeks.
- Read in any light – Adjust the display from white to amber to read in bright sunlight or in the dark.
How to protect a Kindle when carrying it
Amazon advises keeping a cover on Colorsoft Signature Edition when carrying it in a bag or briefcase to help avoid scratches. Match any cover to the exact Kindle generation: a case that fits one model may not fit another. A cover helps protect against scratches in transit; it does not establish waterproofing or protection against drops.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Check the generation and local listing
Kindle names and generations matter: Amazon’s identification guide covers models through 2026 releases as well as first-generation Colorsoft and the 2024 Paperwhite, and notes that not every generation is available in every marketplace. Before buying, confirm the model generation, storage, and features on the listing for your country. Prices, stock, and regional availability can change, and the cited specifications do not provide a like-for-like price comparison.
Quick Recap
Best Value
- Kindle Colorsoft Signature Edition, now in aluminum: Thinner, 7" paper-like color display. New edge-to-edge color, auto-adjusting light, 32GB, no ads.
- Color your pages: Paper-like color perfect for comics, graphic novels, and more. Highlight your favorite scenes in yellow, orange, blue, pink, and green.
- Up to 8 weeks on a single charge: The display only uses power when you turn a page or use the front light. With double-tap page turns for effortless reading.
- Easy on the eyes: Read comfortably in bright sunlight or at night on a glare-free display with an adjustable warm light and Dark Mode.
- Waterproof and worry-free: Poolside, bedside, bathside, you decide. Take your stories anywhere.
Rank #4
- Great value - Includes a Kindle Colorsoft (16 GB), premium leather cover, and 9W power adapter–up to a $335 value.
- A brand-new experience – The Kindle Colorsoft display is optimized for reading in color and is different from the Kindle Paperwhite display, which is optimized for black and white reading.
- Color your pages – Highlight your favorite scenes in yellow, orange, blue, and pink.
- Marathon reading – A single charge via USB-C lasts up to 8 weeks.
- Read in any light – Adjust the display from white to amber to read in bright sunlight or in the dark.
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.




