What’s actually slowing this PC down?
Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.
Waymo has reportedly increased its first private debt raise from more than $3 billion to $5 billion, as the robotaxi company expands its fleet and operations. The terms, lender names and larger figure come from Bloomberg reporting republished by Investing.com; Waymo’s public announcement confirms a separate $16 billion equity round, not the debt deal.
What is reported about Waymo’s $5 billion debt raise?
Bloomberg, in a report republished by Investing.com on October 6, 2026, said Waymo expanded its inaugural private loan to $5 billion from an earlier target above $3 billion. The report named Pacific Investment Management Co. (Pimco), Blackstone and Sixth Street Partners as lenders, with Goldman Sachs assisting in arranging the loan. It put the loan’s pricing at 5.25 percentage points above a benchmark. Investing.com’s Bloomberg-attributed report is the source for these transaction details.
| # | Preview | Product | Price | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 |
|
The Tech Behind Self-Driving Cars (Tech on Wheels) | $10.99 | Buy on Amazon |
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
The 5.25-point figure is a margin over a benchmark, not the all-in interest rate: the benchmark itself is not specified in the available report. Waymo has not confirmed the reported amount or terms in the company announcement cited here, and the sources do not establish whether the loan has closed or how its proceeds will be allocated.
How does the reported debt compare with Waymo’s equity round?
Waymo announced a $16 billion equity investment round on February 2, 2026, at a $126 billion post-money valuation. That is a distinct financing from the reported private loan: equity and debt are different instruments, and the public company announcement states a valuation for the equity round while the debt report does not disclose one.
#1 Best Overall
| Detail | Reported private debt | Announced equity round |
|---|---|---|
| Amount | $5 billion, reportedly increased from more than $3 billion; Bloomberg reporting republished by Investing.com, October 6, 2026 | $16 billion; announced by Waymo, February 2, 2026 |
| Instrument | Private debt, according to Bloomberg reporting | Equity investment |
| Valuation | Not stated in the report | $126 billion post-money, per Waymo |
| Named capital providers | Pimco, Blackstone and Sixth Street Partners; Goldman Sachs reportedly assisted with arranging | Dragoneer Investment Group, DST Global and Sequoia Capital led the round; Alphabet remained Waymo’s majority investor |
| Confirmation status | Transaction details attributed to Bloomberg; not confirmed in Waymo’s cited announcement | Announced by Waymo |
Waymo’s co-CEOs, Tekedra Mawakana and Dmitri Dolgov, said in the equity announcement: “Today, Waymo enters a new era. We have raised a $16 billion investment round valuing the company at $126 billion post-money.” That statement concerns the equity round, not the reported debt.
Waymo’s February 2 announcement also says Alphabet remained its majority investor and identifies Dragoneer Investment Group, DST Global and Sequoia Capital as the equity round’s leaders.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Why is Waymo raising money as it expands?
The Investing.com account places the reported loan against rising AI and fleet-procurement costs. That offers context for why a capital-intensive robotaxi business may seek additional financing, but it does not establish that the loan is solely for computing, nor does it specify how the proceeds will be used. The available reporting provides no numerical figure for Waymo’s AI spending or fleet procurement costs.
Free tools Windows power users keep installed
One-click scans. No signup required.
Waymo’s expansion targets make the financing backdrop relevant. The company said it more than tripled its annual ride volume in 2025 to 15 million, exceeded 20 million lifetime rides, and was providing more than 400,000 rides per week across six U.S. metropolitan areas as of February 2026. These are company-reported operating figures, not independent measurements.
Waymo also said it planned to begin operating in more than 20 additional cities during 2026, including Tokyo and London, while expanding its fleet and team. These are announced plans, not confirmation that all those launches have happened.
Separately, the Associated Press reported in February 2026 that Waymo was rolling out in Dallas, Houston, San Antonio and Orlando, bringing its footprint to ten U.S. metropolitan markets. AP also reported the company’s goal of exceeding one million weekly paid trips by the end of 2026. That figure is a target, not a reported result. The Associated Press report provides that rollout and goal context.
Quick Recap
What remains uncertain about the loan?
- The reported $5 billion size, increase from more than $3 billion, lender identities and pricing remain attributed to Bloomberg via Investing.com; the cited Waymo announcement does not confirm them.
- The available sources do not say whether the loan closed, identify its benchmark, disclose an all-in rate, or detail the use of proceeds.
- No specific AI-cost or fleet-procurement figure is provided, so the relative contribution of those expenses to the financing decision cannot be quantified.
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.




