Pay hourly only when you will reliably stop the server and destroy it. For a server that runs most of the month, compare the effective monthly cost of a capped hourly plan or a monthly plan. A prepaid annual plan lowers the displayed monthly figure, but the number that matters is the checkout total for the full term plus the renewal rate. Provider rules differ on what counts as “stopped,” how monthly caps work, and whether a longer term is refundable, so the comparison has to be made provider by provider.
What each billing model actually charges for
Hourly billing
Hourly billing charges for each hour, or fraction of an hour, the server exists in a billable state. It suits temporary servers, test environments, short build jobs, and projects whose end date is uncertain. Its cost is only predictable when two conditions hold: billing stops when you expect it to, and a monthly ceiling limits the total for a server that is left running.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
Free tools Windows power users keep installed
One-click scans. No signup required.
The first condition is where most surprises happen. A powered-off server is not automatically a free server. Vultr’s billing documentation says charges begin at deployment regardless of power state, and that stopped servers keep incurring charges for their reserved resources until the server is destroyed. Amazon Lightsail’s billing FAQ similarly says instances keep accruing charges while stopped until they are deleted.
Monthly billing
A monthly plan is a fixed recurring charge for a bundle of compute, memory, storage, and transfer. It is the simplest model to budget for an always-on service. The label “per month” still needs care: on some providers it is a fixed monthly price, on others it is the maximum an hourly plan can cost in a month. Those are different commitments, even when the number looks the same.
#1 Best Overall
Annual and other prepaid terms
A prepaid term is paid in one checkout for a fixed period. The displayed monthly figure is usually the total plan price divided by the number of months in the term, not a monthly payment. Hostinger’s US VPS page states that all plans are paid upfront and that the displayed monthly rate reflects the total plan price divided by plan length. It also shows a separate renewal price, which is the figure to plan around once the introductory term ends. The vendor’s own wording is the clearest statement of the model: “All plans are paid upfront.”
How four providers bill the same kind of server
The table below uses the billing documentation and pricing pages available for these four providers. Entries marked “Not stated” were not established in the provider material reviewed for this article, so check them in the provider’s current terms before you buy.
Rank #2
| Provider | Billing unit | Monthly ceiling | Server that is stopped or powered off | Minimum charge | Source and date |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Amazon Lightsail | Fixed hourly price per plan, from $0.0067/hour ($5/month) on the least expensive plan | Hourly charges capped at the monthly plan maximum | Keeps accruing charges until the instance is deleted | Not stated | AWS Lightsail billing FAQ, accessed in 2026 |
| DigitalOcean (v5 Droplets) | Per second, at the sum of configured resource rates | None; the monthly cost follows the actual hours in the calendar month | Not stated | 60 seconds or $0.01, whichever is higher | DigitalOcean pricing documentation, last verified 25 August 2026 |
| Vultr | Hourly, with a one-hour minimum billing unit | 672 hours for most server types; 730 hours for GPU instances | Continues billing reserved resources until the server is destroyed | One hour | Vultr billing documentation, updated 16 December 2025 |
| Hostinger (US VPS page) | Prepaid upfront for a set term; displayed monthly figure equals total price divided by term | Not applicable; the term is paid in advance | Not stated | Not stated | Hostinger US VPS pricing page, checked 7 October 2026 |
These values describe what each provider’s documentation says at the time it was checked. Prices, regions, and plan names change, so treat the table as a method for reading billing rules rather than a standing price list.
Working out the real cost of a server that runs continuously
Do not multiply an hourly rate by a guessed number of hours. Use the provider’s own cap or calendar rule, because the same server can cost different amounts in different months.
Rank #3
- HP MicroServer Gen10 Plus Tower Server for Business with Microsoft Windows Server 2019 OS!
- Intel Xeon E-2224 Quad-Core 3.4GHz 8MB CPU, Up To 4.6GHz Turbo
- 32GB (2 x 16GB) DDR4 PC4-21300 2666MHz Unbuffered Memory
- 16TB (4 x 4TB) 7.2K 6Gb/s SATA 3.5" HDDs in RAID
- Hard drives and memory upgrades included separately NOT installed, installation required.
Capped hourly plans
Lightsail’s billing FAQ says hourly charges are capped at the monthly plan maximum. At the $0.0067 hourly rate on its least expensive plan, a 730-hour month works out to about $4.89, which sits just below the $5 maximum. Vultr’s cap is 672 hours for most server types, which is 28 days of billable time. Under that rule, a 31-day month is billed at no more than 672 hours, so the hours beyond that cap are not charged. GPU instances on Vultr use a 730-hour cap instead.
Uncapped hourly plans
DigitalOcean’s v5 Droplets have no monthly usage cap. A v5 Droplet bills per second, so a 31-day month accumulates 744 billable hours, while a 30-day month accumulates 720. Any uptime pattern you expect should be multiplied by the rate for the specific configuration, not by a generic monthly estimate. Because there is no ceiling, a server left running by mistake keeps costing money for as long as it exists.
Quick wins for a faster PC:
Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteDriver Scan →Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsFree Scan →Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →Rank #4
Monthly and prepaid plans
For a plan with a fixed monthly price or a prepaid term, the calculation is simpler: take the amount charged at checkout, divide it by the number of months in the term, and compare that figure against the renewal rate. A low introductory rate and a higher renewal rate can produce a different ranking than the first-month price suggests.
Stopped does not mean free: ending billing correctly
Before you rely on an hourly server to stay cheap, confirm what ends billing on that provider. The usual sequence is:
Best Value
- Copy any data you need off the server, or make a backup. Backups and snapshots can be billed separately, so note whether they continue after the server is removed.
- Confirm whether the provider’s control panel distinguishes powering off from deleting. A power-off action can leave CPU, memory, storage, and addresses reserved.
- Use the provider’s destroy or delete action on the server itself. On Vultr, destroying the server stops billing; on Lightsail, the instance must be deleted to stop accrual.
- Check the next invoice or usage record. On Lightsail, deleting before the month ends produces a prorated charge based on the hours used, so a final partial-month charge is expected rather than an error.
Reading a prepaid checkout
Hostinger’s US VPS page, checked on 7 October 2026, showed the following promotional monthly equivalents and renewal rates for four KVM plans. These are page-displayed offers, not stable market prices. The term length, payment total, taxes, and regional pricing must be confirmed at checkout.
Recommended Free Tools
| Plan | Displayed promotional monthly equivalent | Displayed renewal rate (per month) |
|---|---|---|
| KVM 1 | $6.49 | $11.99 |
| KVM 2 | $8.99 | $14.99 |
| KVM 4 | $12.99 | $28.99 |
| KVM 8 | $25.99 | $49.99 |
Multiplying the displayed monthly figure by the number of months gives a rough checkout total only after the term is confirmed. For a 24-month term, KVM 1 at $6.49 per month would be about $155.76 paid upfront, but that is an illustration of the arithmetic, not a stated price for the plan. Before paying, record the full checkout total, the term length, the introductory price, the renewal rate and when it starts, and the cancellation and refund conditions. The page reviewed here did not establish refund terms, so read them in the provider’s terms at purchase.
Comparing equivalent resources
A monthly price means little unless the bundle is the same. Lightsail’s bundle documentation shows how much the included resources can differ between two price points. Its public IPv4 Linux bundles, which vary by region and availability, include the following examples:
| Price | Memory | vCPUs | Storage | Data transfer |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| $5/month | 0.5 GB | 2 | 20 GB | 1 TB |
| $12/month | 2 GB | 2 | 60 GB | 3 TB |
Before comparing two servers, record the following for each:
- vCPU count and type, and memory size
- Storage type and capacity
- Data-transfer allowance and whether overage is charged
- Included IP addressing
- Backups, snapshots, and any other add-ons billed separately
- Region, because prices and availability can differ by location
Choosing a billing model
- Short or uncertain lifetime: hourly billing is the natural fit, provided you destroy the server when the job ends and the provider’s billing unit is short enough for your task.
- Always-on with predictable load: compare a monthly plan with a capped hourly plan. If the capped rate and the monthly price are close, the monthly plan is easier to forecast.
- Long, steady use with a provider that prepays: an annual or longer term can lower the displayed monthly rate, but only after you have compared the renewal rate, the upfront total, and the refund terms against a month-to-month alternative.
- Uncapped hourly billing with an unknown end date: set a billing alert or review usage routinely, because nothing limits the monthly total.
The four providers above are examples, not a full market survey. Annual plans are not always cheaper than month-to-month plans, and not every VPS is billed per hour or capped monthly. Check the exact server family, region, and configuration you intend to buy.
Do these 3 things before closing this tab:
1Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errors2Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minute3Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsQuick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.




